DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by U. S. Publication No. 2004/0022350 to Gregerson et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Gregerson a method of operating an imaging system, comprising: translating a second portion of the imaging system relative to a first portion of the imaging system; rotating the second portion to a first angular position with respect to the second portion (fig. 1 elements 16 and 11 are two portion, that can move relative to one another); and engaging a locking mechanism to prevent the first portion from translating relative to the second portion when the second portion is in the first angular position (para 037 and 039 teaches a locking mechanism).
Regarding Claim 2, Gregerson teaches engaging the locking mechanism comprises translating the second portion relative to the first portion to a first translation position along a length dimension of the imaging system (fig. 1 elements 16 and 11 are two portion, that can move relative to one another in a length dimension).
Regarding Claim 3 and 4, Gregerson teaches that the locking mechanism does not engage when the second portion is translated to the first translation position when the second portion is not rotated to the first angular position (fig. 1 elements 16 needs to be rotated to an angular position to be in locking state).
Regarding Claim 5-7, Gregerson teaches that at least one cable that provides an electrical connection between the first portion and second portion of the system, wherein the at least one cable is fixed at a first position on the first portion of the system and is fixed at a second position on the second portion of the cable (fig. 1 element 13 has xray source as such a cable is directly connected to the xray source 13).
Regarding Claim 8, Gregerson teaches that the imaging system comprises a mobile x-ray CT device having a gantry containing at least one imaging component and a gimbal supporting the gantry (para 037 teaches ct scanner gantry).
Regarding Claim 9, Gregerson teaches a method of operating an imaging system having a second portion that rotates with respect to a first portion and at least one cable that provides an electrical connection between the first and second portions of the system, the method comprising: rotating the second portion of the system in a first direction relative to the first portion to feed the at least one cable into a service loop located in a housing of the second portion(fig. 1 elements 16 and 11 are two portion, that can move relative to one another; fig. 1 element 13 has xray source as such a cable is directly connected to the xray source 13); and rotating the second portion of the imaging system in a second direction, opposite the first direction, relative to the first portion to feed the at least one cable out of the service loop in the housing of the second portion of the system (fig. 1 elements 16 needs to be rotated to an angular position to be in locking state).
Regarding Claim 10, Gregerson teaches that the imaging system comprises a mobile x-ray CT device having a gantry containing at least one imaging component and a gimbal supporting the gantry (para 037 teaches ct scanner gantry).
Regarding Claim 11, 13, 14, Gregerson teaches that the imaging system further comprising engaging a locking mechanism to prevent the first portion from translating relative to the second portion when the second portion is in a first angular position (fig. 1 elements 16 and 11 are two portion, that can move relative to one another in an angular position).
Regarding Claim 12, Gregerson teaches engaging the locking mechanism comprises translating the second portion relative to the first portion to a first translation position along a length dimension of the system (fig. 1 elements 16 and 11 are two portion, that can move relative to one another in a length dimension).
Regarding Claim 15, Gregerson teaches that the at least one cable is fixed at a first position on the first portion of the system and is fixed at a second position on the second portion of the cable (fig. 1 element 13 has xray source as such a cable is directly connected to the xray source 13).
Regarding Claim 16 and 19, Gregerson teaches that the first portion of the imaging system is a carriage connected with a drive mechanism (para 0042 teaches a drive system).
Regarding Claim 17, Gregerson teaches that the second portion is a portion of the gimbal (fig. 1 and para 0042 teaches gantry and gimbal).
Regarding Claim 18, Gregerson teaches that the gimbal comprises a base portion and at least two arms extending from the base portion and supporting the gantry on opposite sides of the gantry (fig. 1 element 20 is a base).
Regarding Claim 20, Gregerson teaches that the drive mechanism is configured to translate the gimbal in a transport mode when the gantry is in the first position, and a locking mechanism prevents the gimbal from translating when the imaging system is in the second position (para 0037 and 039 teaches a locking mechanism).
Conclusion
/SANJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798