DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 07/30/2026.
Claims 1-18 are pending and examined.
Claims 16-18 are newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/30/2026 have been fully considered. However, applicant’s arguments are moot in light of new grounds of rejection with new reference applied (Ramu).
The double patenting rejection is withdrawn.
The examiner is available for a phone interview with applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US PGPUB 2019/0095181), in view of Sipek et al. (Enhancing Performance of Cloud-based Software Applications with GraalVM and Quarkus, 43rd International Convention on Information, Communication and Electronic Technology, 2020), in view of Ramu et al. (US PGPUB 2012/0246316) hereinafter Ramu.
Per claim 1, Jang discloses a system for use with a microservice or other computing environment, comprising: a computer including one or more processors, that provides access to the microservice or other computing environment for use with software applications or services (paragraphs [0009][0015]; a system comprising one or more processors that providing access to a Java environment for executing software applications); a compile-time dependency injection and service activation framework including source code generation, which is usable to build applications or cloud-native services (paragraphs [0009][0014]; a framework for generating source code, and injecting dependency object at compile-time, using lazy loading indicator, a compiler to build applications); wherein for an application being developed: one or more objects are made available for injection; within the application being developed, injection points operate as an assignment of an object instance to an annotated field or method setter (paragraphs [0009][0010][0014][0048][0057]; Fig. 4; providing at least one dependency object for injecting into the application code; determining dependency injection indicators (annotated injection points) in a method of the application code, injecting a dependency object at a dependency injection indicator (i.e. assigning the dependency object to the method)); the service activation framework: generates an activator to activate service instances to handle resolving dependencies required to be satisfied as part of that activation process (paragraphs [0009][0010][0014][0048][0057]; determining whether the target application code is a code related with a dependency injection function (required dependency); providing a dependency object injection code that injects a dependency object (i.e. service instance) which resolves required dependency for execution of the application code); assesses injection points at compile-time; and generates the dependencies into the source code of the application being developed (paragraphs [0009][0010][0014]; determining the annotated injection point at compile-time, injecting dependency object into the target application code).
Jang discloses in a Java execution framework, injecting objects into an application code. Jang does not explicitly teach the injected objects are microservice objects, and the application being developed is a microservice application. However, Sipek discloses (page 1749, left column, section E; Helidon is an open-source set of Java libraries for writing microservices in a Java execution environment). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jang and Sipek to incorporate Helidon into the Java execution framework, to insert microservice objects into an application code (building a microservice application); it would enhance features of the Java execution environment (allowing it to build microservice and other types of applications).
Jang does not explicitly teach wherein the compile-time dependency injection and service activation framework includes a services registry that describes a functionality of services known to the framework and their dependencies on other services. However, Ramu suggests the above (paragraphs [0004]; OSGi is a dynamic module system for building modular, service-oriented Java applications. OSGi provides a service registry where developers can register and unregister services. Related services are often deployed in OSGi as a group of implementing classes known as a bundle or module. Such a module may define a set of capabilities (functionality), requirements (dependencies). OSGi includes a lifecycle layer that enables modules to be dynamically installed, started, stopped, updated, and uninstalled during runtime, which enables reconfiguration without system downtime). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jang, Sipek and Ramu to include a service registry (that describes a functionality of services known to the framework and their dependencies on other services) in the frame, so the activator can activate service instances from the service registry; as the service registry acts as a library to provide different needs of a user in the framework.
Per claim 2, Ramu further suggests wherein the service registry that provides lazy service activation and meta-information associated with one or more services, in terms of interfaces or APIs describing the functionality of each service” (paragraphs [0004]; OSGi is a dynamic module system for building modular, service-oriented Java applications. OSGi provides a service registry where developers can register and unregister services. Related services are often deployed in OSGi as a group of implementing classes (interfaces) known as a bundle or module. Such a module may define a set of capabilities (functionality), requirements (dependencies). OSGi includes a lifecycle layer that enables modules to be dynamically installed, started (i.e. lazy loading) stopped, updated, and uninstalled during runtime, which enables reconfiguration without system downtime).
Per claim 3, Jang further suggests “wherein the application's use of particular services can be intercepted and accommodated during code generation at compile-time, avoiding the need to use reflection” (paragraphs [0009][0014][0004]; the framework injects at compile-time, allows lazy loading (intercept-able) of the injected objects (microservices), and it avoids reflection which degrades performance).
Per claim 4, Jang further suggests “wherein the compile-time dependency injection and lazy service activation framework is provided for use” (paragraphs [0009][0014][0004]; the framework injects dependency objects at compile-time, allows lazy loading of the injected objects). Sipek further suggests a Helidon microservice development environment (page 1749, left column, section E; Helidon is an open-source set of Java libraries for writing microservices in a Java execution environment).
Per claim 5, Sipek further suggests wherein the framework is used to build microservice applications or cloud-native services, for execution within a cloud computing environment (page 1749, left column, section E; Helidon is an open-source set of Java libraries for writing microservices in a Java execution environment).
Per claim 16, Jang in view of Sipek further suggests “wherein the injection points are at compile-time resolved by the compile-time dependency injection and service activation framework according to an injection plan to one or more of a plurality of services, and to provide a plurality of service instances respectively” (paragraphs [0009][0017][0054]; the framework injects dependency objects at dependency injection indicators (injection points) included in the target code during compile-time, allows lazy loading of the injected objects (activating object instances), includes determine dependency relationships). Sipek further discloses (page 1749, left column, section E; Helidon is an open-source set of Java libraries for writing microservices in a Java execution environment).
Claims 6-10, 17 are rejected under similar rationales as claims 1-5, 16.
Claims 11-15, 18 are rejected under similar rationales as claims 1-5, 16.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HANG PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2193