DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the space should be removed between “frost” and the period at the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “heating portion” in claim 11.
For the record:
“Heating portion” has been interpreted according to the corresponding structure of reference numeral 640 as described in the specification and shown in the figures, and equivalents thereof.
“Heating element” is considered a commonly used term of art, and thus is not deemed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (KR 1020050009380) in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0055181 A1).
As per claim 1, Cho et al. disclose a cooling apparatus comprising:
an evaporator (Fig. 9; etc.) through which a refrigerant moves to absorb heat from a cooling target fluid that is a fluid to be cooled, wherein the evaporator includes:
a first evaporator module 260 including: a first refrigerant tube through which the refrigerant moves, and a plurality of first cooling fins arranged on an outer surface of the first refrigerant tube (Fig. 9),
a second evaporator 260A module including: a second refrigerant tube through which the refrigerant moves, and a plurality of second cooling fins arranged on an outer surface of the second refrigerant tube, wherein the second evaporator module is spaced apart from the first evaporator module in a first direction (Fig. 9),
a surface heating element 265 extending along having a plate shape in a plane perpendicular to the first direction and arranged between the first evaporator module and the second evaporator module (Fig. 9).
Cho et al. do not teach a sensor module including: a voltage electrode between the first evaporator module and the second evaporator module, and a ground electrode spaced apart from the voltage electrode with the first evaporator module or the second evaporator module between the ground electrode and the voltage electrode. Kim et al. teach a sensor module including: a voltage electrode (170a-d) at an evaporator (paras. 0107-0115; etc.), and a ground electrode spaced apart from the voltage electrode (paras. 0102-0105; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to provide a similar electrode arrangement at the evaporator of Cho et al. for the same purpose of detecting frost on the evaporator. Further, the specific placement of the voltage electrode between the first evaporator module and the second evaporator module and providing the first evaporator module or the second evaporator module between the ground electrode and the voltage electrode constitute simply particular positioning of the sensing module of K et al. on the evaporator of Cho et al. and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application as a simple rearrangement of existing parts based on the location of the evaporator desired to be monitored for frost.
As per claim 6, Cho et al. do not teach further comprising a processor configured to control an operation of the surface heating element according to a state of frost formed on the first cooling fins and the second cooling fins, the state of the frost being sensed by the sensor module. Kim et al. teach a processor (controller 192) configured to control an operation of a surface heating element (heaters 161, 162) according to a state of frost formed on the evaporator, the state of the frost being sensed by the sensor module (Abstract; Figs. 12A-12B; paras. 0107-0115; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly apply such controls to the evaporator arrangement of Cho et al. for the same purpose of starting and stopping defrost operation according to the level of frost detected on the evaporator fins.
As per claim 12, Cho et al. disclose further comprises a bracket (270, 370) configured to support, from a side, the first evaporator module 260, the second evaporator module 260A, and the surface heating element 265 so that the first evaporator module and the second evaporator module are spaced apart from each other in the first direction (Figs. 5-9; etc.).
As per claim 13, Cho et al. do not teach detecting a state of frost formed on the first cooling fins and the second cooling fins; operating a surface heating element according to the detected state of the frost formed on the first cooling fins and the second cooling fins; detecting a removal state of the frost formed on the first cooling fins and the second cooling fins; and stopping the operation of the surface heating element according to the detected removal state of the frost formed on the first cooling fins and the second cooling fins. Kim et al. teach detecting a state of frost formed on the fins of an evaporator; operating the surface heating element (heaters 161, 162) according to the detected state of the frost formed on the fins (Abstract; Figs. 12A-12B; paras. 0107-0115; etc.); detecting a removal state of the frost formed on the first cooling fins and the second cooling fins; and stopping the operation of the surface heating element according to the detected removal state of the frost formed on the fins (para. 0008, lines 14-16; 0010, lines 13-16; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly apply such defrost controls to the evaporator arrangement of Cho et al. for the same purpose of starting and stopping defrost operation according to the level of frost detected on the evaporator fins.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. in view of Kim et al., and further in view of Senf, Jr. (US 2013/0086929 A1).
As per claim 7, neither Cho et al. nor Kim et al. teach wherein when a flow rate of the cooling target fluid flowing between the first cooling fins and between the second cooling fins is lowered to 50% or less according to the state of the frost formed on the first cooling fins and the second cooling fins, the state of the frost being sensed by the sensor module, the processor is further configured to apply a control signal to operate the surface heating element. Senf, Jr. teaches controlling defrost operation based on fluid flow rate determined by frost detection being below a threshold (para. 0037; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly apply these controls to the evaporator arrangement of Cho et al. for the same purpose of ensuring proper heat exchange at the evaporator. While Senf, Jr. does not specify a particular flow rate threshold, such is considered a result effective variable such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to select 50% as a threshold as simply a particular value for the purpose of ensuring desired heat exchange efficiency.
As per claim 14, neither Cho et al. nor Kim et al. teach wherein when a flow rate of the cooling target fluid flowing between the first cooling fins and between the second cooling fins is lowered to 50% or less according to the detected state of the frost formed on the first cooling fins and the second cooling fins, the detected state of the frost being detected by the sensor module, the operation of the surface heating element is started. Senf, Jr. teaches controlling defrost operation based on fluid flow rate determined by frost detection being below a threshold (para. 0037; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly apply these controls to the evaporator arrangement of Cho et al. for the same purpose of ensuring proper heat exchange at the evaporator. While Senf, Jr. does not specify a particular flow rate threshold, such is considered a result effective variable such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to select 50% as a threshold as simply a particular value for the purpose of ensuring desired heat exchange efficiency.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. in view of Kim et al., and further in view of Tamai et al. (US 5761922).
As per claim 10, Cho et al. do not teach wherein the system further comprises a drain portion arranged below the first evaporator module and the second evaporator module in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and the drain portion includes a receiving case to receive frost and water released from the first evaporator module and the second evaporator module. Tamai et al. teach a refrigerator comprising a drain portion 18 arranged below evaporator 13 in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (i.e., in a vertical direction below the evaporator), and the drain portion includes a receiving case to receive frost and water released from the evaporator (Fig. 2; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly provide a drain portion below the evaporator modules of Cho et al. for the same purpose of collecting and discharging water and frost removed therefrom during the defrosting operation.
As per claim 11, Cho et al. do not teach wherein the drain portion includes: a drain hole configured so that the frost and water released from the first evaporator module and the second evaporator module moves outside the evaporator through the drain hole; and a heating portion configured to apply heat to an area around the drain hole to melt the frost. Tamai et al. teach wherein the drain portion includes: a drain hole 17 configured so that the frost and water released from the first evaporator module and the second evaporator module moves outside the evaporator through the drain hole; and a heating portion 19 configured to apply heat to an area around the drain hole to melt the frost. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly further provide a hole and heater within the drain pan for the purpose of effectively melting and removing the frost from the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 8-9, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As per claim 2 (and claims 3-4 which depend therefrom), there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art to further modify the system of Cho et al. wherein the voltage electrode has a plate shape in the plane perpendicular to the first direction and facing the surface heating element.
As per claim 5, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art to further modify the system of Cho et al. wherein the surface heating element is one surface heating element of a plurality of surface heating elements included in the evaporator, at least two surface heating elements of the plurality of surface heating elements have different heating densities, and
an operation of each surface heating element of the plurality of surface heating elements is individually controlled.
As per claim 8, (and claim 9 which depend therefrom), there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art to further modify the system of Cho et al. wherein the evaporator includes: a support plate and an adhesive layer, and the support plate and the adhesive layer are arranged between the voltage electrode and the surface heating element and have heat resistance for a heating temperature of 150°C or less.
As per claim 15, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art to further modify the system of Cho et al. wherein the surface heating element is one surface heating element of a plurality of surface heating elements included in the evaporator, the plurality of surface heating elements are spaced apart from each other by a predetermined interval in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, at least two surface heating elements of the plurality of surface heating elements have different heating densities, and an operation of each surface heating element of the plurality of surface heating elements is individually controlled.
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763