DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-10, 19-20) in the reply filed on 06/12/2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the following ground(s):
“The Alleged Groups Do Not Have Materially Different Designs, Modes of Operation, Functions, or Effects. Claims 1 and 11 are directed to complementary decoder-side and encoder-side implementations of the same template-based multiple reference line intra prediction coding tool, namely, the TMRL_IP mode.” [Remarks: Page 12 of 15]
“The Claim Groups Are Not Mutually Exclusive and Substantially Overlap in Scope. The claim groups substantially overlap in technical subject matter.” [Remarks: Page 13 of 15]
“Restriction Would Not Reduce Any Meaningful Search or Examination Burden. Applicant further respectfully submits that no serious search or examination burden exists that would justify restriction.” [Remarks: Page 14 of 15]
This is not found persuasive for the following reasons:
This argument fails because video decoding (Group I) and video encoding (Group II) are opposite processes that involve different steps. Because of this, the inventions inherently possess materially different designs, modes of operation, and functions. For example, the encoder-side method in claim 11 explicitly requires “selecting, through rate-distortion optimization, a combination of a reference line and an intra prediction mode”. Conversely, the decoder-side method in claim 1 lacks a rate-distortion optimization step, instead determining the combination by decoding an MRL_IP mode flag and index.
This argument fails because sharing common technical subject matter does not mean the claims overlap in scope. The inventions are mutually exclusive and do not encompass overlapping subject matter. Group I is drawn exclusively to a video decoding method. Group II is drawn exclusively to an encoding method for a coding unit block. Because they cover opposite ends of the video transmission process, a single device or method cannot simultaneously infringe both claim scopes, rendering them mutually exclusive.
This argument fails because the distinct inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their differing classifications, which justifies the search burden. Group I is classified in CPC class H04N 11/146. Group II is classified in CPC class H04N 11/143. Because they possess recognized divergent subject matter and different classifications, examining them together requires searching different classes or subclasses, establishing a serious search and examination burden if the restriction were not required.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation: “… performing prediction on a current picture according to the selected combination …” (emphasis added to accentuate insufficient antecedent basis). All prior limitations appear to be referring to “the current block”, not “a current picture”. Claim 19 is analogous to claim 1, and claim 1 further suggests that the limitation is “the current block”. For the purposes of examination, claim 19 is interpreted as claim 1: “… performing prediction on the current block according to the selected combination …”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al., hereinafter referred to as Jeon (WO 2023/140547 A1) in view of Teng et al., hereinafter referred to as Teng (US 2023/0217019 A1).
As per claim 1, Jeon discloses a video decoding method (Jeon: Abstract.), comprising:
determining whether a multiple reference line intra prediction (MRL_IP) mode is used for a current block by decoding an MRL_IP mode flag for the current block (Jeon: Para. [0010] discloses “Multiple Reference Line (MRL) or Multiple Reference Line Prediction (MRLP)”; Jeon: Para. [0274] discloses “realization examples … equally applied to an image decoding device” and Jeon: Para. [0359] discloses “cclm_mrl_flag can be signaled … When this value is 1 … applies Realization Example 1-1 … 2-1 … so that both channels have reference lines”; [therefore, evaluating the signaled flag determines whether a multiple reference line intra prediction (MRL_IP) mode is used for a current block by decoding an MRL_IP mode flag for the current block].);
when the MRL_IP mode is determined to be used for the current block (Jeon: Para. [0140] discloses “The MRL technique performs intra prediction of a current block using pixels located on a selected reference line” and Jeon: Para. [0359] discloses “When this value is 1 [claimed when the MRL_IP mode is determined to be used for the current block]”.), further decoding an MRL_IP mode index for the current block (Jeon: Para. [0141] discloses “signals the reference line index intra_luma_ref_idx [claimed MRL_IP mode index for the current block] to the video decoding apparatus to indicate a reference line used when intra prediction is performed”.),
determining, according to (Jeon: Para. [0140] discloses “multiple reference line (MRL) technology can use not only a reference line adjacent to the current block but also pixels further away from the current block as reference pixels when predicting the current block according to intra prediction … The MRL technique performs intra prediction [claimed intra prediction mode selected] of a current block using pixels located on a selected reference line [claimed extended reference line]” and Jeon: Para. [0141] discloses “signals the reference line index intra_luma_ref_idx [claimed according to MRL_IP mode index] to the video decoding apparatus to indicate a reference line used when intra prediction is performed”.), and performing prediction on the current block according to the selected (Jeon: Para. [0140] discloses “The MRL technique performs intra prediction [claimed performing prediction] of a current block using pixels located on a selected reference line [claimed according to the selected]”.);
wherein the MRL_IP mode index indicates a position of the selected (Jeon: Para. [0141] discloses “signals the reference line index intra_luma_ref_idx [claimed wherein the MRL_IP mode index] to the video decoding apparatus to indicate a reference line [claimed indicates a position of the selected … extended reference line]”.);
However, Jeon does not explicitly disclose “… and constructing an MRL_IP mode candidate list for the current block, wherein the MRL_IP mode candidate list is filled with combinations of candidate extended reference lines and candidate intra prediction modes for the current block … according to the MRL_IP mode candidate list … a combination of an extended reference line and an intra prediction mode selected … and performing prediction on the current block according to the selected combination … the MRL_IP mode index indicates a position of the selected combination of an extended reference line and an intra prediction mode in the MRL_IP mode candidate list … wherein the MRL_IP mode candidate list is a template-based MRL_IP (TMRL_IP) mode candidate list constructed according to the following:
obtaining N×M combinations of extended reference lines and intra prediction modes according to N extended reference lines and M intra prediction modes for the current block, wherein N≥1, M≥1, and N×M≥2; performing prediction on a template region for the current block according to each of the N×M combinations, and calculating differences between a reconstructed value of the template region and prediction values obtained by prediction; and filling K combinations corresponding to the differences into the TMRL_IP mode candidate list for the current block in ascending order of the differences, wherein 1≤K≤N×M; wherein K is a set value, or K is determined according to an TMRL_IP mode index, wherein the MRL_IP mode index is the TMRL_IP mode index, and when the TMRL_IP mode index indicates that the selected combination of an extended reference line and an intra prediction mode is located at the L-th position in the candidate list, K=L, wherein L is a positive integer.”
Further, Teng is in the same field of endeavor and teaches and constructing an MRL_IP mode candidate list for the current block (Teng: Para. [0084] discloses “determines, for the block unit, a second mode list [claimed constructing an MRL_IP mode candidate list]”), wherein the MRL_IP mode candidate list is filled with combinations of candidate extended reference lines and candidate intra prediction modes for the current block (Teng: Para. [0075] discloses “intra template modes … indicate one of the intra candidate modes [claimed candidate intra prediction modes] … and one of a plurality of template reference lines [claimed candidate extended reference lines]” and Para. [0077] discloses “template neighboring line may be a … extended reference line in the MRL mode”; [therefore, populating the mode list with intra template modes equates to wherein the MRL_IP mode candidate list is filled with combinations of candidate extended reference lines and candidate intra prediction modes].);
according to the MRL_IP mode candidate list, a combination of an extended reference line and an intra prediction mode selected (Teng: Para. [0098] discloses “determine the prediction mode based on the selected intra template mode indicating a specific one of the plurality of intra candidate modes and a specific one of the plurality of template reference lines [claimed a combination of an extended reference line and an intra prediction mode selected]”.); and
performing prediction on the current block according to the selected combination (Teng: Para. [0098] discloses “generate a predicted block of the block unit based on the specific intra candidate mode and the specific template reference line [claimed and performing prediction on the current block according to the selected combination]”);
wherein the MRL_IP mode index indicates a position of the selected combination of an extended reference line and an intra prediction mode in the MRL_IP mode candidate list (Teng: Para. [0096] discloses “template mode index may indicate a prediction mode of the block unit from the intra template modes ordered based on the arrangement in the second mode list [claimed wherein the MRL_IP mode index indicates a position of the selected combination of an extended reference line and an intra prediction mode in the MRL_IP mode candidate list]”);
wherein the MRL_IP mode candidate list is a template-based MRL_IP (TMRL_IP) mode candidate list constructed according to the following (Teng: Para. [0002] discloses “template-based intra candidate list derivation”.):
obtaining N×M combinations of extended reference lines and intra prediction modes according to N extended reference lines and M intra prediction modes for the current block (Teng: Para. [0078] discloses “when the number of the intra candidate modes is equal to N [claimed according to N … and M intra prediction modes] and the number of the template reference lines is equal to M [claimed extended reference lines], the number of the intra template modes may be equal to N×M [claimed obtaining N × M combinations of extended reference lines and intra prediction modes]”), wherein N≥1 (“number N is equal to three”), M≥1 (“the number M is equal to two”), and N×M≥2 (Teng: Para. [0087] discloses “number N is equal to three and the number M is equal to two [claimed N × M ⩾ 2]”.);
performing prediction on a template region for the current block according to each of the N×M combinations (Teng: Para. [0078] discloses “predict the at least one template region [claimed performing prediction on a template region]” and Teng: Para. [0083] discloses “template predictions each generated for the at least one template region based on a corresponding one of the intra template modes [claimed according to each of the N × M combinations]”.), and calculating differences between a reconstructed value of the template region and prediction values obtained by prediction (Teng: Para. [0082] discloses “calculated based on a difference between the reconstructed result [claimed reconstructed value of the template region] and each of the template predictions [claimed calculating differences between a reconstructed value of the template region and prediction values obtained by prediction]”.); and
filling K combinations corresponding to the differences into the TMRL_IP mode candidate list for the current block in ascending order of the differences (Teng: Para. [0089] discloses “select K intra template modes having the least template cost values from the intra template modes and add the selected intra template modes into the second mode list [claimed filling K combinations corresponding to the differences into the TMRL_IP mode candidate list]”), wherein 1≤K≤N×M (Teng: Para. [0089] discloses “The number K, being a positive integer [claimed wherein 1 ⩽ K], may be equal to the number of the intra template modes in the second mode list and less than the total quantity of the intra template modes [claimed K ⩽ N × M]”.);
wherein K is a set value, or K is determined according to an TMRL_IP mode index, wherein the MRL_IP mode index is the TMRL_IP mode index, and when the TMRL_IP mode index indicates that the selected combination of an extended reference line and an intra prediction mode is located at the L-th position in the candidate list, K=L, wherein L is a positive integer value (Teng: Para. [0089] discloses “The number K, being a positive integer [claimed wherein K is a set value]”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Jeon and Teng before him or her, to modify the MRL intra prediction method of Jeon to include the template-based combination candidate list derivation feature as described in Teng. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the coding efficiency by providing a configuration that adjusts the order of modes dynamically based on neighboring information matching algorithms.
As per claim 19, the claim(s) recites analogous limitations to claim(s) 1 above, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
As per claim 2, Jeon-Teng disclose the video decoding method according to claim 1, comprising:
before decoding the MRL_IP mode flag for the current block, the method further comprises:
decoding the MRL_IP mode flag for the current block when all conditions for allowing use of the MRL_IP mode for the current block are met (Jeon: Paras. [0145]-[0146] disclose “sps_mrl_enabled_flag && ( (y0 % CtbSizeY) > 0 ) [claimed decoding the MRL_IP mode flag for the current block when all conditions for allowing use of the MRL_IP mode for the current block are met]”), wherein the conditions for allowing use of the MRL_IP mode comprise any one or more of the following:
the current block is a block in a luma picture;
MRL is allowed for the current block;
the current block is not located at an upper boundary of a coding tree unit (CTU); or
template based intra mode derivation (TIMD) is not used for the current block (Jeon: Paras. [0145]-[0146] disclose “sps_mrl_enabled_flag [claimed MRL is allowed for the current block]”).
As per claim 3, Jeon-Teng disclose the video decoding method according to claim 1, comprising:
when it is determined, according to the MRL_IP mode flag, that the MRL_IP mode is used for the current block, the method further comprises:
skipping decoding of syntax elements of any one or more of the following: a most probable mode (MPM), an intra sub-partitions (ISP) mode, a multiple transform selection (MTS) mode, a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) mode, or a TIMD mode (Jeon: Para. [0149] discloses “does not parse ISP-related information [claimed skipping decoding of syntax elements of any one or more of the following: … an intra sub-partitions (ISP) mode] when the reference line index is not 0”.).
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Teng, and further in view of Ko et al., hereinafter referred to as Ko (US 2020/0322601 A1).
As per claim 5, Jeon-Teng disclose the video decoding method according to claim 1, wherein:
the M intra prediction modes are selected by the following process (Teng: [0066]):
step 1: determining intra prediction modes for prediction blocks at multiple neighbouring positions around the current block, selecting in sequence intra prediction modes that are allowed to be selected, (Teng: Para. [0066] discloses “intra candidate modes may be selected from the intra default modes based on at least one intra neighboring mode of a plurality of neighboring blocks [claimed step 1: determining intra prediction modes for prediction blocks at multiple neighbouring positions around the current block, selecting in sequence intra prediction modes that are allowed to be selected”.);
ending the process when a number of the intra prediction modes selected in step 1 is equal to M; proceeding to step 2 when the number of the intra prediction modes selected in step 1 is less than M and the intra prediction modes selected in step 1 include an angular mode (Teng: Para. [0069] discloses “maximum number of the intra candidate modes in the first mode list may be equal to a positive integer N [claimed ending the process when a number of the intra prediction modes selected in step 1 is equal to M]” and Teng: Para. [0069] discloses “When the number of the at least one intra neighboring mode regarded as the intra candidate modes is equal to a positive Nn less than the positive integer N, the decoder module 124 may derive (N-Nn) intra candidate modes [claimed proceeding to step 2 when the number of the intra prediction modes selected in step 1 is less than M and the intra prediction modes selected in step 1 include an angular mode]”); and
However, Jeon-Teng do not explicitly disclose “… removing repeated modes … step 2, obtaining extended angular modes by performing an extension operation on angular modes in sequence starting from a first angular mode that has been selected, and selecting an extended angular mode that is different from all selected angular modes until a total number of selected intra prediction modes is equal to M.”.
Further, Ko is in the same field of endeavor and teaches removing repeated modes (Ko: Para. [0091] discloses “intra prediction mode already included in the MPM list may not be newly added [claimed removing repeated modes]”.);
step 2, obtaining extended angular modes by performing an extension operation on angular modes in sequence starting from a first angular mode that has been selected, and selecting an extended angular mode that is different from all selected angular modes until a total number of selected intra prediction modes is equal to M (Ko: Para. [0091] discloses “when m MPM modes are not filled by the above method, the MPM list may be filled [claimed until a total number of selected intra prediction modes is equal to M] … the intra prediction mode already included in the MPM list may not be newly added [claimed selecting an extended angular mode that is different from all selected angular modes]” and Ko: Para. [0095] discloses “adding angle modes [claimed step 2, obtaining extended angular modes] to a second prediction mode list by adding a predefined offset (e.g., -1, +1) [claimed performing an extension operation] to the angle mode of neighbor blocks [claimed on angular modes in sequence starting from a first angular mode that has been selected]”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Jeon-Teng and Ko before him or her, to modify the candidate list configuration of Jeon-Teng to include the extension operation and duplicate removal feature as described in Ko. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve signaling efficiency by minimizing signaling overhead due to changes in intra prediction mode configuration.
As per claim 6, Jeon-Teng-Ko disclose the video decoding method according to claim 5, wherein in step 1, for a current block located at an upper boundary of a CTU and a current block not located at the upper boundary of the CTU, prediction blocks at multiple neighbouring positions around the current block comprise some or all of the following:
a prediction block on a left of the current block, a prediction block on an upper of the current block, a prediction block on an upper left of the current block, a prediction block on a bottom left of the current block, and a prediction block on an upper right of the current block, wherein M≥5 (Teng: Para. [0066] discloses “Left position [claimed a prediction block on a left of the current block] located to the left side … Above position [claimed a prediction block on an upper of the current block] located above … Bottom-Left position [claimed a prediction block on a bottom left of the current block] located below … Above-Left position [claimed a prediction block on an upper left of the current block] located to the above-left side … Above-Right position [claimed a prediction block on an upper right of the current block] located to the right side [claimed prediction blocks at multiple neighbouring positions around the current block comprise some or all of the following: … wherein M >= 5]”.).
As per claim 7, Jeon-Teng-Ko disclose the video decoding method according to claim 5, wherein: in a case where the number of intra prediction modes selected based on the intra prediction modes for the prediction blocks at the multiple neighbouring positions around the current block is less than M, step 1 further comprises:
continuing to select an intra prediction mode for participating in combination in at least one of the following (Teng: Para. [0069] discloses “When the number of the at least one intra neighboring mode [claimed in a case where the number of intra prediction modes selected based on the intra prediction modes for the prediction blocks at the multiple neighbouring positions around the current block] regarded as the intra candidate modes is equal to a positive Nn less than the positive integer N [claimed is less than M, step 1 further comprises: continuing to select an intra prediction mode for participating in combination in at least one of the following]”.):
deriving two intra prediction modes using a gradient histogram for decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD) according to reconstructed values around the current block, and selecting from the two derived intra prediction modes an intra prediction mode that is different from all the selected intra prediction modes; and
selecting a direct current (DC) mode when the selected intra prediction modes do not comprise the DC mode (Ko: Para. [0090] discloses “DC mode [claimed a direct current (DC) mode] selected from the neighbor blocks … added to the MPM list [claimed selecting]” and Ko: Para. [0091] discloses “intra prediction mode already included in the MPM list may not be newly added [claimed when the selected intra prediction modes do not comprise the DC mode]”; [therefore, the direct current mode is selected and added to the list only when the selected intra prediction modes do not already comprise the DC mode].).
As per claim 8, Jeon-Teng-Ko disclose the video decoding method according to claim 5, wherein the intra prediction modes allowed to be selected comprise only angular modes, or comprise only angular modes and a DC mode, or comprise angular modes, the DC mode, and a planar mode (Teng: Para. [0064] discloses “non-angular modes may include at least one of a Planar mode [claimed a planar mode], a DC mode [claimed the DC mode] … angular modes [claimed comprise angular modes]”.).
As per claim 9, Jeon-Teng-Ko disclose the video decoding method according to claim 5, wherein the extended operation on the angular modes comprises any one or more of the following operations:
an +/−1 operation on the angular modes;
an +/−2 operation on the angular modes;
an +/−3 operation on the angular modes; or
an +/−4 operation on the angular modes (Ko: Para. [0095] discloses “adding a predefined offset (e.g., -1, +1) [claimed an +/-1 operation] to the angle mode [claimed on the angular modes]”.).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Teng, and further in view of Jun et al., hereinafter referred to as Jun (US 2020/0366900 A1).
As per claim 10, Jeon-Teng disclose the video decoding method of claim 1, wherein
performing prediction on the template region for the current block according to each of the N×M combinations comprises:
(Teng: Fig. 4 & Para. [0071] disclose “first adjacent region 411 may be an above adjacent region located above the block unit 400 [claimed performing prediction on a template region on an upper side of the current block]” and Teng: Para. [0072] discloses “decoder module 124 may only use one of the adjacent regions 411-413 as the template region [claimed skipping performing prediction on a template region … of the current block]”.).
However, Jeon-Teng do not explicitly disclose “… when the current block is located at a left boundary of a picture … skipping performing prediction on a template region on a left side …”.
Further, Jun is in the same field of endeavor and teaches when the current block is located at a left boundary of a picture and skipping performing prediction on a template region on a left side (Jun: Para. [0442] discloses “The predetermined region may be at least any one of a picture” and Jun: Para. [0443] discloses “When the left boundary of the first color component corresponding block is the boundary of the predetermined region, the reference samples at the left side may not be used for the restructuring but only the reference samples at the upper side may be used for the restructuring”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Jeon-Teng, and Jun before him or her, to modify the template prediction method of Jeon-Teng to include the boundary-dependent location skipping logic feature as described in Jun. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve prediction reliability by providing a configuration that reduces unnecessary memory access when decoding blocks at the picture edge.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 & 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim provided that the rejections pertinent to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are overcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be viewed in the list of references.
/PEET DHILLON/Primary Examiner
Art Unit: 2488
Date: 07-31-2026