DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5, 7-15, 17, 19, 20 of copending Application No. 18/452,988. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference between the copending application 18/452,988 and current application is that application ‘988 discloses a narrower claim 1 by combining the same subject matter provided in claim 16. Hence there is no difference between subject matter claimed from current applicant and application ‘988.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Reference to Claim 1
In line 1 the claim is indefinite for lacking a transitional phrase. It’s unclear what is supposed to be preamble. For examination purposes the claim is being interpreted “governor comprising programming configured to”.
In Reference to Claim 5 and 15
In line 1 the claim recites “min-max demand governor type/mode” is unclear if the governor is required or not. It’s unclear if the governor is that of an alternative or the same governor being claim in the independent claim. For examination purposes claims 5 and 15 are being interpreted as not requiring the claim limitation “min/max demand governor”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0040804 to Atterberry et al. (Atterberry).
In Reference to Claim 1
Atterberry discloses:
A virtual dual fuel governor configured to:
receive driver input 92 from a vehicle controller area network;
calculate a total fuel demand, paragraph [0020] and [0026] (total governed fueling amount);
calculate 98 a control diesel fuel demand, 104 delivery commands;
calculate a secondary fuel demand,104;
send the secondary fuel demand 104 to a secondary fuel flow controller 102 to control a flow of secondary fuel to a diesel engine 10; and
send the control diesel fuel demand 104 to a diesel electronic control module 102 which uses the diesel fuel demand to control a flow of diesel fuel to the diesel engine 10, see paragraph [0012-0016], [0018-0027] and Fig.1, 2 and 4.
In Reference to Claim 2 and 12
Atterberry discloses:
The virtual dual fuel governor is further configured to select a governor type/mod (liquid mode or mixed liquid, see paragraph [0012], [0016], [0021]-[0022], [0024] and [0026])
In Reference to Claim 3 and 13
Atterberry discloses:
wherein the selection is based on one of an automatic selection and user input, see paragraph [0022] and [0026], based on operating conditions such as during startup or conditions suitable for gathering engine power output data.
In Reference to Claim 4 and 14
Atterberry discloses:
wherein the governor type/mode is at least one of a min/max demand, a full-range demand, a VCC demand, and an engine speed demand 92.
In Reference to Claim 5 and 15
Atterberry discloses, see rejection of claim 5 and 15 above:
wherein the min/max demand governor type/mode allows a driver to control total fuel demand directly via a pedal position when the diesel engine is operating between a pre-defined minimum and a maximum speed and up to a pre-defined fueling limit, the limit being based on at least one of intake manifold air pressure, temperature, and barometric conditions.
In Reference to Claim 8 and 18
Atterberry discloses, above:
wherein driver input includes at least one of a pedal position and a vehicle cruise control input (depressing an accelerator pedal see paragraph [0018])
In Reference to Claim 9 and 19
Atterberry discloses, above:
wherein the virtual dual fuel governor is configured to receive data related to engine operating parameters, see paragraph [0020].
In Reference to Claim 10 and 20
Atterberry discloses, above:
wherein the operating parameters include at least one of engine speed, diesel fuel consumption rate, MAP, and MAT; see paragraph [0058]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Claims 6-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Furthermore, the prior art of record does not teach “the combination including the virtual dual fuel governor calculating a diesel demand using a measured secondary fuel flow” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 6 and 16;
Therefore, the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY AYALA DELGADO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746