DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Buckley et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0240095) (hereinafter “Buckley”). Regarding claims 1, 7, 9, and 17, Buckley discloses photographing a desktop display of a second terminal device to acquire feature information of said second terminal device, acquiring a payment channel identifier which is pre-associated with a predetermined payment application; and broadcasting communication information comprising said feature information and said payment channel identifier via wireless communication, to enable said second terminal device to generate a payment code based on said communication information, without opening a predetermined payment application in the second terminal device. Buckley states that “[e]mbodiments of the mobile device 111 may request payment be processed in response to receiving information from portable device 115, wherein portable device 115 scans, captures, photographs, or otherwise obtained transactional details and information from the unique identifier, depicted as QR code 165, displayed on a POS device display 160 of the POS device, as shown in FIG. 2. Embodiments of the communications module 133 may receive a request from the user smartphone 111 running a mobile payment software application to complete the transaction, wherein the request from the user smartphone 111 is generated and sent without the user physically interacting with the user smartphone 111. The request can be generated and sent in response to the user smartphone 111 receiving digital data from a portable device 115 that the user physically interacts with to retrieve the transaction details associated with the transaction.” (See paragraph [0029]). This photographing of transactions details is what is considered by the present invention via its specification to be “feature information.” This photograph information is captured by the second terminal device.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Buckley discloses capturing and acquiring image information displayed on said second terminal device and extracting feature information from said image information. Buckley states that “[e]mbodiments of the mobile device 111 may request payment be processed in response to receiving information from portable device 115, wherein portable device 115 scans, captures, photographs, or otherwise obtained transactional details and information from the unique identifier, depicted as QR code 165, displayed on a POS device display 160 of the POS device, as shown in FIG. 2. Embodiments of the communications module 133 may receive a request from the user smartphone 111 running a mobile payment software application to complete the transaction, wherein the request from the user smartphone 111 is generated and sent without the user physically interacting with the user smartphone 111. The request can be generated and sent in response to the user smartphone 111 receiving digital data from a portable device 115 that the user physically interacts with to retrieve the transaction details associated with the transaction.” (See paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Buckley discloses presenting at least one payment channel identifier, selecting the payment channel identifier from said at least one payment channel identifier in response to a user operation, and including the selected payment channel identifier in the communication information. Buckley states that “[e]mbodiments of the mobile device 111 may request payment be processed in response to receiving information from portable device 115, wherein portable device 115 scans, captures, photographs, or otherwise obtained transactional details and information from the unique identifier, depicted as QR code 165, displayed on a POS device display 160 of the POS device, as shown in FIG. 2. Embodiments of the communications module 133 may receive a request from the user smartphone 111 running a mobile payment software application to complete the transaction, wherein the request from the user smartphone 111 is generated and sent without the user physically interacting with the user smartphone 111. The request can be generated and sent in response to the user smartphone 111 receiving digital data from a portable device 115 that the user physically interacts with to retrieve the transaction details associated with the transaction.” (See paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 4, Buckley discloses broadcasting, via wireless communication, a connection identifier of said first terminal device for establishing a wireless communication connection; and transmitting, upon establishment of the wireless communication connection based on said connection identifier, the communication information via the established wireless communication connection. Buckley states that “[e]mbodiments of the mobile device 111 may request payment be processed in response to receiving information from portable device 115, wherein portable device 115 scans, captures, photographs, or otherwise obtained transactional details and information from the unique identifier, depicted as QR code 165, displayed on a POS device display 160 of the POS device, as shown in FIG. 2. Embodiments of the communications module 133 may receive a request from the user smartphone 111 running a mobile payment software application to complete the transaction, wherein the request from the user smartphone 111 is generated and sent without the user physically interacting with the user smartphone 111. The request can be generated and sent in response to the user smartphone 111 receiving digital data from a portable device 115 that the user physically interacts with to retrieve the transaction details associated with the transaction.” (See paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Buckley discloses that the communication information further comprises a device identifier of said first terminal device, and said payment code comprises said device identifier. Buckley states that “[e]mbodiments of the mobile device 111 may request payment be processed in response to receiving information from portable device 115, wherein portable device 115 scans, captures, photographs, or otherwise obtained transactional details and information from the unique identifier, depicted as QR code 165, displayed on a POS device display 160 of the POS device, as shown in FIG. 2. Embodiments of the communications module 133 may receive a request from the user smartphone 111 running a mobile payment software application to complete the transaction, wherein the request from the user smartphone 111 is generated and sent without the user physically interacting with the user smartphone 111. The request can be generated and sent in response to the user smartphone 111 receiving digital data from a portable device 115 that the user physically interacts with to retrieve the transaction details associated with the transaction.” (See paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 6, Buckley discloses scanning said payment code and sending a payment request to a payment server based on said payment code, when the device identifier of said first terminal device matches the device identifier in said payment code. Buckley states that “[e]mbodiments of the mobile device 111 may request payment be processed in response to receiving information from portable device 115, wherein portable device 115 scans, captures, photographs, or otherwise obtained transactional details and information from the unique identifier, depicted as QR code 165, displayed on a POS device display 160 of the POS device, as shown in FIG. 2. Embodiments of the communications module 133 may receive a request from the user smartphone 111 running a mobile payment software application to complete the transaction, wherein the request from the user smartphone 111 is generated and sent without the user physically interacting with the user smartphone 111. The request can be generated and sent in response to the user smartphone 111 receiving digital data from a portable device 115 that the user physically interacts with to retrieve the transaction details associated with the transaction.” (See paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 10, Buckley discloses receiving a connection identifier broadcasted via wireless communication and receiving, upon establishment of a wireless communication connection based on said connection identifier, the communication information via the established wireless communication connection. Buckley states that “[e]mbodiments of the mobile device 111 may request payment be processed in response to receiving information from portable device 115, wherein portable device 115 scans, captures, photographs, or otherwise obtained transactional details and information from the unique identifier, depicted as QR code 165, displayed on a POS device display 160 of the POS device, as shown in FIG. 2. Embodiments of the communications module 133 may receive a request from the user smartphone 111 running a mobile payment software application to complete the transaction, wherein the request from the user smartphone 111 is generated and sent without the user physically interacting with the user smartphone 111. The request can be generated and sent in response to the user smartphone 111 receiving digital data from a portable device 115 that the user physically interacts with to retrieve the transaction details associated with the transaction.” (See paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 12, Buckley discloses acquiring state information of said terminal device, and wherein generating the payment code based on said payment channel identifier comprises: generating the payment code based on said payment channel identifier, when said state information meets a preset condition and the acquired feature information matches the feature information in said communication information. Buckley states that “[e]mbodiments of the mobile device 111 may request payment be processed in response to receiving information from portable device 115, wherein portable device 115 scans, captures, photographs, or otherwise obtained transactional details and information from the unique identifier, depicted as QR code 165, displayed on a POS device display 160 of the POS device, as shown in FIG. 2. Embodiments of the communications module 133 may receive a request from the user smartphone 111 running a mobile payment software application to complete the transaction, wherein the request from the user smartphone 111 is generated and sent without the user physically interacting with the user smartphone 111. The request can be generated and sent in response to the user smartphone 111 receiving digital data from a portable device 115 that the user physically interacts with to retrieve the transaction details associated with the transaction.” (See paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 13, Buckley discloses ignoring said communication information, when the acquired feature information does not match the feature information in said communication information. Buckley states that “[e]mbodiments of the mobile device 111 may request payment be processed in response to receiving information from portable device 115, wherein portable device 115 scans, captures, photographs, or otherwise obtained transactional details and information from the unique identifier, depicted as QR code 165, displayed on a POS device display 160 of the POS device, as shown in FIG. 2. Embodiments of the communications module 133 may receive a request from the user smartphone 111 running a mobile payment software application to complete the transaction, wherein the request from the user smartphone 111 is generated and sent without the user physically interacting with the user smartphone 111. The request can be generated and sent in response to the user smartphone 111 receiving digital data from a portable device 115 that the user physically interacts with to retrieve the transaction details associated with the transaction.” (See paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 14, Buckley discloses ignoring said communication information, when said state information does not meet the preset condition. B uckley states that “[e]mbodiments of the mobile device 111 may request payment be processed in response to receiving information from portable device 115, wherein portable device 115 scans, captures, photographs, or otherwise obtained transactional details and information from the unique identifier, depicted as QR code 165, displayed on a POS device display 160 of the POS device, as shown in FIG. 2. Embodiments of the communications module 133 may receive a request from the user smartphone 111 running a mobile payment software application to complete the transaction, wherein the request from the user smartphone 111 is generated and sent without the user physically interacting with the user smartphone 111. The request can be generated and sent in response to the user smartphone 111 receiving digital data from a portable device 115 that the user physically interacts with to retrieve the transaction details associated with the transaction.” (See paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 15, Buckley discloses invoking a payment application associated with said payment channel identifier and generating a payment code corresponding to said payment channel identifier by said payment application. Buckley states that “[e]mbodiments of the mobile device 111 may request payment be processed in response to receiving information from portable device 115, wherein portable device 115 scans, captures, photographs, or otherwise obtained transactional details and information from the unique identifier, depicted as QR code 165, displayed on a POS device display 160 of the POS device, as shown in FIG. 2. Embodiments of the communications module 133 may receive a request from the user smartphone 111 running a mobile payment software application to complete the transaction, wherein the request from the user smartphone 111 is generated and sent without the user physically interacting with the user smartphone 111. The request can be generated and sent in response to the user smartphone 111 receiving digital data from a portable device 115 that the user physically interacts with to retrieve the transaction details associated with the transaction.” (See paragraph [0029]).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Gart can be reached at (571) 272-3955. The Examiner’s fax number is (571) 273-6087. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Amit Patel/
Examiner, Art Unit 3696
/MATTHEW S GART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3696