DETAILED ACTION
This final Office action is in response to the claims filed on July 23, 2026.
Status of claims: claims 10 and 12 are cancelled; claims 1-9, 11 and 13-22 are hereby examined below.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “planar baffle plates”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 11, 13-18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP S6160344A to Sugiyama et al. (hereinafter “Sugiyama”) in view of JP 200848525A to Masayuki et al. (hereinafter “Masayuki”).
Sugiyama discloses a fastening apparatus, comprising:
a multi-stage telescopic member comprising planar baffle plates 26,27,26a,27a wherein the planar baffle plates are slidably and sequentially sleeved, and wherein the planar baffle plates comprise a top component 27 configured to couple to a mobile apparatus 20; (see FIGS. 1-3 below)
(note: the specification fails to define “baffle.” Thus, the examiner relied upon the Merriam Webster Dictionary for a definition of baffle (see below). And the examiner submits that the components of Sugiyama deflect the passage of at least sound; thus reading on the recited term “baffle.”)
BAFFLE Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster
a connecting member 28 configured to:
be disposed between the top component and the mobile apparatus; and
(see FIGS. 1 and 3 below; note a portion of the elastic connecting member 28 is disposed between a portion of the top component 27 and the mobile apparatus 20)
extend or retract the multi-stage telescopic member as the mobile apparatus moves;
at least one fastening point 29 disposed on the multi-stage telescopic member and configured to fasten a harness 25, (see FIG. 3 below)
an accommodation portion 11 (see FIGS. 1 and 2 below) comprising a first opening disposed opposite to the multi-stage telescopic member, wherein a range of the first opening covers the at least one fastening point; and
wherein a first end of the harness is configured to couple to the mobile apparatus, and
wherein a second end of the harness is configured to couple to a power supply apparatus to supply power to the mobile apparatus through the harness. (see FIG. 3 below and page 2 of the applicant provided translation of Sugiyama)
Sugiyama fails to disclose a pressure plate.
Marayuki teaches of a pressure plate 21 (see FIG. 1) disposed on the top component and extending outward to prevent the harness 6 from overflowing from the muti-state telescopic member in a process of retracting the multi-state telescopic member. (see FIG. 1 and paragraph [0026] below)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the top component disclosed in Sugiyama with the pressure plate taught in Marayuki with a reasonable expectation of success in order to guide the harness upon exit from the top component, preventing entanglement of the harness within the vehicle door, and to prevent overflow of the harness from the multi-state telescopic member.
Furthermore, by combing the teachings of Marayuki with Sugiyama, Sugiyama, as applied above, discloses the pressure plate disposed on the top component and extending to an inside of the accommodation portion to prevent the harness from overflowing from the first opening in a process of retracting the multi-state telescopic member. (claim 1)
[AltContent: textbox (First opening)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Accommodation portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second end)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First end)][AltContent: arrow]
Sugiyama, as applied above, further discloses wherein a quantity of the at least one fastening point is the same as a quantity of the planar baffle plates, and wherein one fastening point (see points 29 and 30 in FIG. 3 above) of the at least one fastening point is disposed on each of the planar baffle plates. (claim 4)
Sugiyama, as applied above, further discloses wherein each of the planar baffle plates is of a hollow structure and is configured to accommodate the harness. (see FIG. 3 above) (claim 5)
Sugiyama, as applied above, further discloses wherein the planar baffle plates further comprises a bottom component 26, wherein the top component comprises a first hole (see FIG. 3 above) configured to lead out the first end and wherein the bottom component comprises a second hole configure to lead out the second end. (claim 6)
Sugiyama, as applied above, further discloses wherein the at least one fastening point comprises:
a first fastening point 29 disposed on the top component; (see FIG. 3 above) and
a second fastening point 30 disposed on the bottom component,
wherein a portion of the harness between the first fastening point and the second fastening point is configured to be distributed in a U shape (see FIG. 4 of Sugiyama) when the multi-stage telescopic member is retracted to be shortest. (claim 7)
Sugiyama, as applied above, further discloses wherein the accommodation portion further comprises an upper end and a lower end, wherein the planar baffle plates further comprise a bottom component 26, and wherein the fastening component further comprises:
a first hole provided at the upper end or the top component and configured to lead out the first end; (see FIG. 3 above) and
a second hole provided at the lower end or the bottom component and configured to lead out the second end. (see FIG. 3 above) (claim 11)
Sugiyama, as applied above, further discloses the accommodation portion is configured to mount a slide rail of the mobile apparatus. (Note: “configured to mount a slide rail of the mobile apparatus” constitutes an intended use recitation. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.) (claim 13)
Sugiyama, as applied above, further discloses wherein the harness is a flat harness. (Note, when lying flat, the harness is in fact a “flat harness.”) (claim 14)
Sugiyama discloses a vehicle door 10, comprising:
a mobile apparatus 20 configured to move; (see FIGS. 1-3 above)
a harness 25 comprising:
a first end configured to couple to the mobile apparatus; and
a second end configured to couple to a power supply apparatus to supply power to the mobile apparatus through the harness; and
a fastening apparatus, comprising:
a multi-stage telescopic member comprising planar baffle plates 26,27,26a,27a wherein the planar baffle plates are slidably and sequentially sleeved, wherein the planar baffle plates comprise a top component 27 configured to couple to the mobile apparatus;
a connecting member 22,28 configured to:
be disposed between the top component and the mobile apparatus; and
(see FIGS. 1 and 3 above; note a portion of the elastic connecting member 28 is disposed between a portion of the top component 27 and the mobile apparatus 20)
to extend or retract the multi-stage telescopic member as the mobile apparatus moves;
at least one fastening point 29 disposed on the multi-stage telescopic member and configured to fasten the harness;
an accommodation portion 11 (see FIGS. 1 and 2 above) comprising an opening disposed opposite to the multi-stage telescopic member, wherein a range of the opening covers the at least one fastening point.
Sugiyama fails to disclose a pressure plate.
Marayuki teaches of a pressure plate 21 disposed on the top component and extending outward to prevent the harness 6 from overflowing from the muti-state telescopic member in a process of retracting the multi-state telescopic member. (see FIG. 1 and paragraph [0026] below)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the top component disclosed in Sugiyama with the pressure plate taught in Marayuki with a reasonable expectation of success in order to guide the harness upon exit from the top component, preventing entanglement of the harness within the vehicle door, and to prevent overflow of the harness from the multi-state telescopic member.
Furthermore, by combing the teachings of Marayuki with Sugiyama, Sugiyama, as applied above, discloses the pressure plate disposed on the top component and extending to an inside of the accommodation portion to prevent the harness from overflowing from the opening in a process of retracting the multi-state telescopic member. (claim 15)
Sugiyama, as applied above, further discloses wherein the mobile apparatus is a liftable vehicle door glass 20 (see FIG. 1 above) coupled to the fastening apparatus. (claim 16)
Sugiyama, as applied above, further discloses wherein the liftable vehicle door glass is coupled to the fastening apparatus through the elastic connecting member. (see FIGS. 1-3 above) (claim 17)
Sugiyama discloses a vehicle comprising:
a vehicle door 10, comprising:
a mobile apparatus 20 configured to move; (see FIGS 1-3 above)
a harness 25 comprising:
a first end configured to couple to the mobile apparatus; and
a second end configured to couple to a power supply apparatus to supply power to the mobile apparatus through the harness; (see FIGS 1-3 above) and
a fastening apparatus comprising:
a multi-stage telescopic member comprising planar baffle plates 26,27,26a,27a wherein the planar baffle plates are slidably and sequentially sleeved, wherein the planar baffle plates comprise a top component configured to couple to the mobile apparatus;
a connecting member 28 configured to:
be disposed between the top component and the mobile apparatus; and
(see FIGS. 1 and 3 above; note a portion of the elastic connecting member 28 is disposed between a portion of the top component 27 and the mobile apparatus 20)
to extend or retract the multi-stage telescopic member as the mobile apparatus moves;
at least one fastening point 29 disposed on the multi-stage telescopic member and configured to fasten the harness;
an accommodation portion 11 (see FIGS. 1 and 2 above) comprising an opening disposed opposite to the multi-stage telescopic member, wherein a range of the opening covers the at least one fastening point.
Sugiyama fails to disclose a pressure plate.
Marayuki teaches of a pressure plate 21 disposed on the top component and extending outward to prevent the harness 6 from overflowing from the muti-state telescopic member in a process of retracting the multi-state telescopic member. (see FIG. 1 and paragraph [0026] below)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the top component disclosed in Sugiyama with the pressure plate taught in Marayuki with a reasonable expectation of success in order to guide the harness upon exit from the top component, preventing entanglement of the harness within the vehicle door, and to prevent overflow of the harness from the multi-state telescopic member.
Furthermore, by combing the teachings of Marayuki with Sugiyama, Sugiyama, as applied above, discloses the pressure plate disposed on the top component and extending to an inside of the accommodation portion to prevent the harness from overflowing from the opening in a process of retracting the multi-state telescopic member. (claim 18)
Sugiyama, as applied above, further discloses wherein a first quantity of the at least one fastening point 29,30 is the same as a second quantity of the planar baffle plates 26,27,26a,27a and wherein one fastening point of the at least one fastening point is disposed on each of the planar baffle plates. (see Fig. 3 above) (claim 20)
Sugiyama, as applied above, further discloses wherein each of the planar baffle plates is a hollow structure and is configured to accommodate the harness. (see FIG. 3 above) (claim 21)
Sugiyama, as applied above, further discloses wherein the accommodation portion further comprises an upper end and a lower end, wherein the planar baffle plates further comprise a bottom component 26, and wherein the fastening component further comprises:
a first hole provided at the upper end or the top component and configured to lead out the first end; (see FIG. 3 above) and
a second hole provided at the lower end or the bottom component and configured to lead out the second end. (see FIG. 3 above) (claim 22)
Claims 2, 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama in view of Marayuki, as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, in view of US 335286 to Jones.
Sugiyama, as applied above, discloses wherein the baffle plates further comprise a bottom component 26 (see FIG. 3 above) configured to couple to a support base 23 wherein the fastening apparatus further comprises a connector disposed between the bottom component and the support base to rotate the multi-stage telescopic member along an axis of the connector. (see FIG. 1 and 3 above. Note a connector, extending through the hole in element 26a illustrated in FIG. 3, connects the bottom component 26 to the support base 23.) However, Sugiyama fails to disclose a rotating shaft.
Jones teaches of a rotating shaft. (screw; see FIG. 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the Sugiyama bottom component and support base with a rotating shaft, as taught by Jones, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to assist with assembly of the fastening apparatus to the vehicle door and to ensure a strong, yet removable, connection between the bottom component and support base. (Note: when disposing the shaft between the bottom component and the support base, the shaft must rotate to ensure the connection between the bottom component, support base, and door panel.) (claims 2 and 19)
Sugiyama, as applied above, further discloses wherein the rotating shaft comprises a rotating rod or pivot rotating shaft a. (see FIG. 1 of Jones) (claim 3)
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama in view of Marayuki, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US 20230151670 to Carl et al. (hereinafter “Carl”)
Sugiyama, as applied above, fails to disclose the harness is a drag chain harness.
Carl teaches of a drag chain harness (“drag chain-like guide element for guiding the cable”: the examiner has interpreted the “drag chain-like guide element” and “cable” to read on a “drag chain harness;” see [0011])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the harness disclosed in Sugiyama with the drag chain harness taught in Kida with a reasonable expectation of success in order to assist with guiding of the harness during movement of the telescoping member. (claim 8)
Sugiyama, as applied above, further discloses wherein each of the baffle plates further comprises a surface having a second opening. (see FIG. 3 above; each end of each component has a surface with an opening, wherein the harness extends through each opening) (claim 9)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 12 of the applicant’s response filed July 23, 2026, the applicant contends
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
“A cylindrical tube has no planar surface that functions as a baffle” is problematic. Applicant’s specification fails to define “baffle” and the examiner relied upon the Merriam Webster Dictionary for a definition of baffle (see below). And the examiner submits that the components of Sugiyama deflect the passage of at least sound; thus reading on the recited term “baffle.”)
BAFFLE Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster
Also, portions 26a,27a, which are part of the Sugiyama baffle plates, are in fact planar, as noted in at least FIGS. 3 and 4.
Furthermore, the applicant failed to articulate why it is critical for the baffle plates to be planar. It should be noted that a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Additionally, applicant’s allegation that “the harness is fastened to the outer face of each plate and constrained within the accommodation portion” is not recited in the claims.
Pages 14 and 15 of applicant’s response filed July 23, 2026 are dedicated to the point that the Masayuki element 22 is not a plate and cannot read on the “pressure plate” recitation. The examiner acknowledges a typ0 in the prior rejection and notes that element 21, not 22, of Masayuki, constitutes a pressure plate that reads on applicant’s claims. Note element 21 is defined as a plate by Masayuki and is plate shaped. See also paragraph [0026] below.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Marcus Menezes/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634