DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2024, 10/31/2025 and 06/10/2026 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Savolainen (U.S PUB. 2016/0134709) in view of Qi et al. (U.S PAT. 11,490,242 hereinafter, “Qi”).
Consider claim 1, Savolainen teaches an electronic device (100), comprising: communication circuitry; memory storing one or more computer programs; and one or more processors (124/125) communicatively coupled to the communication circuitry and the memory, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when individually or collectively executed by the one or more processors (fig. 1A, pages 6-7 [0141]), cause the electronic device to: receive a second advertising signal (page 8 [0153] i.e. the first scanning device 102A does not respond to the advertising packet 150(2)"; therefore, said first scanning device 102A also receives said advertising packet 150(2)), related to a second service (page 8 [0152] i.e., a wireless advertising message 150(2) having the second wireless communication device address, Address(2) and a second unique identifier representing the second service profile, Profile(2)), identify that a first Bluetooth connection (fig. 1B, “CONNECT REQUEST 160A" and page 7 [0144] i.e., "when the wireless communication device 102A receives an advertising packet with the device address, Address(1), this triggers connection establishment procedures for connecting the wireless communication device 102A to the advertiser, the mobile wireless device 100") for a first service (page 7 [0151] i.e., the first service profile, Profile(1)) is established with an external electronic device based on a first advertising signal and the second advertising signal is broadcast from the external electronic device (page 7 [0151]).
Savolainen does not explicitly show that it performs a service search procedure for the second service through the first Bluetooth connection, and at least one of transmit or receive data packets for the second service at least one of to or from the external electronic device through the first Bluetooth connection.
In the same field of endeavor, Qi teaches perform a service search procedure for the second service through the first Bluetooth connection, and at least one of transmit or receive data packets for the second service at least one of to or from the external electronic device through the first Bluetooth connection (col. 21 lines 26-46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use, perform a service search procedure for the second service through the first Bluetooth connection, and at least one of transmit or receive data packets for the second service at least one of to or from the external electronic device through the first Bluetooth connection, as taught by Qi, in order for wireless communication devices may consume power using different types of operations.
Consider claim 2, Savolainen further teaches wherein the first advertising signal includes a first random private address (RPA), wherein the second advertising signal includes a second RPA, and wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer- executable instructions that, when individually or collectively executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to: identify that the first advertising signal and the second advertising signal are broadcast from the external electronic device based on the first RPA and the second RPA (page 8 [0153]).
Consider claim 3, Savolainen further teaches wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when individually or collectively executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to: obtain an identity resolving key (IRK) list including at least one IRK, store the IRK list in the memory, and identify that the first advertising signal and the second advertising signal are broadcast from the external electronic device based on resolving a first random private address (RPA) and a second RPA using a first IRK of the IRK list (page 8 [0153]).
Consider claim 4, Savolainen further teaches wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when individually or collectively executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to: identify that the external electronic device supports the first service based on the first advertising signal, and identify that the external electronic device supports the second service based on the second advertising signal (page 7 [0151]).
Consider claim 5, Savolainen further teaches wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when individually or collectively executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to: identify that the external electronic device supports the first service or the second service based on a designated data pattern and a manufacturer identifier included in the first advertising signal or the second advertising signal (page 7 [0151]).
Consider claim 6, Savolainen further teaches wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when individually or collectively executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to: identify that the external electronic device supports the first service or the second service based on a service universally unique identifier (UUID) included in the first advertising signal or the second advertising signal (page 7 [0151]).
Consider claim 7, Savolainen further teaches wherein the service search procedure includes: transmitting a generic attribute profile (GATT) service discovery packet for the second service to the external electronic device and receiving a GATT service discovery response packet for the second service from the external electronic device (fig. 1B, i.e., CONNECT REQUEST 160A; since the wireless communication device 102A implements the Bluetooth standard, the wireless communication device 102A follows said connect request 160A with a "Discover services" request).
Consider claim 8, Savolainen further teaches wherein the service search procedure includes: transmitting a logical link control and adaptation protocol (L2CAP) connection request (L2CAP_CONNECTION REQ) packet for the second service to the external electronic device and receiving an L2CAP connection response packet for the second service from the external electronic device (page 5 [0109] (fig. 1B, i.e., CONNECT REQUEST 160A"; since the wireless communication device 102A implements the Bluetooth standard, the wireless communication device 102A transmits a L2CAP connect request).
Consider claim 9, Savolainen further teaches wherein the first service includes any one of a continuity service or a file share service, and wherein the second service includes another one of the continuity service or the file share service (page 5 [0120]).
Consider claim 10, Savolainen further teaches wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when individually or collectively executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to: perform a connection procedure for establishing a second Bluetooth connection with the external electronic device in response to identifying that the electronic device is not connected to the external electronic device, and the second advertising signal is broadcast from the external electronic device (page 7 [0151]).
Consider claim 11, the subject-matter of independent claim 11 relates to a method performed by an electronic device with features fully corresponding to the characteristics of claim 1. Therefore, the same argumentation presented in relation to claim 1 is, mutatis mutandis, of application to claim 11.
Consider claim 12, the previous rejections of claim 2 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 12.
Consider claim 13, the previous rejections of claim 3 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 13.
Consider claim 14, Savolainen further teaches identifying that the external electronic device supports the first service based on the first advertising signal (page 7 [0151]); and identifying that the external electronic device supports the second service based on the second advertising signal, wherein the identifying includes: identifying that the external electronic device supports the first service or the second service based on a designated data pattern and a manufacturer identifier included in the first advertising signal or the second advertising signal (page 7 [0151]); or identifying that the external electronic device supports the first service or the second service based on a service universally unique identifier (UUID) included in the first advertising signal or the second advertising signal (page 7 [0151]).
Consider claim 15, Savolainen further teaches wherein the first advertising signal includes a plurality of advertising data fields including at least one of a length field, a type field, and a data field (page 7 [0151]).
Consider claim 16, Savolainen further teaches wherein the type field indicates at least one of a UUID, manufacturer specific data, a transmission power level, a slave connection interval range, a service solicitation, service data, or a uniform resource identifier (page 7 [0151]).
Consider claim 17, the previous rejections of claim 9 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 17.
Consider claim 18, the previous rejections of claim 7 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 18.
Consider claim 19, the previous rejections of claim 8 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 19.
Consider claim 20, the previous rejections of claim 10 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 20.
Conclusion
5. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop_________ (Explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22313
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/TUAN H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649