Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Herzog (7,661,544). Herzog discloses a substrate support apparatus (50; Fig. 3) comprising a lower support (14) having a plate shape and having a first axis as a central axis (13) extending in a vertical direction perpendicular to a horizontal plane of the lower support, an upper support (16) on the lower support, and a connector (52a, 52b) connecting the lower support to the upper support. The connector comprises a connection pillar (52) extending parallel to the first axis and at least one substrate support (59) connected to the connection pillar and extending from the connection pillar toward the first axis. Herzog further discloses an upper surface of the at least one substrate support includes a first upper surface (62) connected to the connection pillar and a second upper surface (66) positioned at a vertical level lower than a vertical level of the first upper surface, and a first distance between the first upper surface and the first axis is larger than a second distance between the second upper surface and the first axis.
Claim(s) 1, 8, 10 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Asari et al. (8,940,096; hereinafter Asari).
As to claim 1, Asari discloses a substrate support apparatus (10; Figs. 3-7) comprising a lower support (34) having a plate shape and having a first axis as a central axis (Fig. 6A) extending in a vertical direction perpendicular to a horizontal plane of the lower support, an upper support (35) on the lower support, and a connector (31a, 31b) connecting the lower support to the upper support. The connector comprises a connection pillar (31a, 31b) extending parallel to the first axis and at least one substrate support (32) connected to the connection pillar and extending from the connection pillar toward the first axis. Asari further discloses an upper surface of the at least one substrate support includes a first upper surface (33a; Fig. 3) connected to the connection pillar and a second upper surface (32a; Fig. 3) positioned at a vertical level lower than a vertical level of the first upper surface, and a first distance between the first upper surface and the first axis is larger than a second distance between the second upper surface and the first axis.
As to claim 8, Asari further discloses the connection pillar includes a second groove (37; Fig. 3) recessed from an inner surface of the connection pillar toward an outer surface of the connection pillar.
As to claim 10, Asari discloses the at least one substrate support includes a plurality of substrate supports (32) and each of the plurality of substrate supports includes a first substrate support (33a) and a second substrate support (32a) on the first substrate support, and the second groove (37; Fig. 3) is at a vertical level between the first substrate support and the second substrate support.
As to claim 19, Asari discloses a substrate support apparatus (10; Figs. 3-7) comprising a lower support (34) having a plate shape and having a first axis as a central axis (Fig. 6A) extending in a vertical direction perpendicular to a horizontal plane of the lower support, an upper support (35) on the lower support, and a connector (31a, 31b) connecting the lower support to the upper support. The connector comprises a connection pillar (31a, 31b) extending parallel to the first axis and at least one substrate support (32) connected to the connection pillar and extending from the connection pillar toward the first axis, and the connection pillar includes a groove (37; Fig. 3) recessed from an inner surface of the connection pillar toward an outer surface of the connection pillar.
As to claim 20, Asari discloses the at least one substrate support includes a plurality of substrate supports (32) and each of the plurality of substrate supports includes a first substrate support (33a) and a second substrate support (32a) on the first substrate support, and the groove (37; Fig. 3) is at a vertical level between the first substrate support and the second substrate support.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9, 11-14 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herzog or Asari in view of Cotutsca (6,059,123).
As to claim 2, Herzog or Asari discloses the vertical level of the second upper surface is lower than the vertical level of the first upper surface. However, Herzog or Asari fails to disclose the vertical level of the second upper surface is about 0.1 mm to 0.7 mm lower than the vertical level of the first upper surface as claimed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate support apparatus of Herzog or Asari so the substrate support apparatus is constructed with the vertical level of the second upper surface is about 0.1 mm to 0.7 mm lower than the vertical level of the first upper surface as claimed because the selection of the specific height for each of first and second upper surfaces would appear to have been an obvious matter of design choice based upon conventional design considerations, such as for better supporting at least one article.
As to claim 9, Asari discloses the second groove as above. However, Asari fails to disclose the second groove has a depth of about 0.1 mm to 0.5 mm as claimed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate support apparatus of Asari so the substrate support apparatus is constructed with the second groove has a depth of about 0.1 mm to 0.5 mm as claimed because the selection of the specific depth for the second groove would appear to have been an obvious matter of design choice based upon conventional design considerations, such as for better protecting and supporting an annular article.
As to claim 11, Herzog or Asari further fails to disclose the substrate support includes one of silicon (Si), silicon nitride (SiN), and silicon phosphide (SiP) as claimed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate support apparatus of Herzog or Asari so the substrate support apparatus is constructed with the substrate support comprises one of silicon (Si), silicon nitride (SiN), and silicon phosphide (SiP) since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
As to claim 12, Herzog or Asari discloses the substrate support apparatus as above comprises the lower support, the upper support, the connector includes the connection pillar and the at least one substrate support and other claimed limitations as claimed. However, Herzog or Asari fails to show each of the at least one substrate support includes at least one first groove recessed from a lower surface of the at least one substrate support toward an upper surface of the at least one substrate support. Cotutsca shows a support apparatus (10) for at least one article (20-26) comprising at least one article support (11, 16, 17; Figs. 1-5) and each of the at least one article support includes at least one first groove recessed (13) from a lower surface of the at least one substrate support toward an upper surface of the at least one substrate support. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Cotutsca to modify the substrate support apparatus of Herzog or Asari so the substrate support apparatus is constructed with each of the at least one substrate support includes at least one first groove recessed from a lower surface of the at least one substrate support toward an upper surface of the at least one substrate support for supporting various sizes articles and/or to reduce the material and the cost of manufacture.
As to claims 13 and 14, see Fig. 3 or 4 of Cotutsca.
As to claim 17, Asari discloses the connection pillar comprises the second groove recessed as above.
As to claim 18, see Fig. 3 of Asari.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LUAN K BUI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736