Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 20210307186 A1, and Hong hereinafter) in view of Hsiu (US 20130229753 A1, and Hsiu hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Hong discloses an electronic device comprising:
a first housing (21, fig. 2);
a second housing (23, fig. 2);
a hinge module (25, fig. 2) disposed between the first housing and the second housing and rotatably connecting the second housing to the first housing (figs. 1-2 and 27);
a flexible display (30, fig. 2) disposed across one surface of the first housing, the hinge module, and one surface of the second housing (fig. 2);
Hong does not explicitly disclose a foot structure disposed adjacent to an outer surface of the first housing and comprising a first member on which a guide slot is formed; and a link structure comprising a first link member connected to the hinge module and a second link member connecting the first link member and the guide slot, wherein the second link member is configured to move along the guide slot in conjunction with rotation of at least one of the first housing or the second housing by the hinge module, and wherein the foot structure is configured to move in a first direction toward an exterior of the first housing or in a second direction opposite to the first direction in conjunction with movement of the second link member.
Hsiu discloses a foot structure (including 2 and 3 shown in figs. 3-4 and 6) disposed adjacent to an outer surface of a first housing (11, fig. 4) and comprising a first member (21, fig. 4) on which a guide slot (213, fig. 4) is formed; and
a link structure comprising a first link member (32, fig. 4) connected to a hinge module (13, fig. 7; connected via 31 and also via 111) and a second link member (23, fig. 4) connecting the first link member and the guide slot (figs. 5 and 8),
wherein the second link member is configured to move along the guide slot in conjunction with rotation of at least one of the first housing or the second housing by the hinge module (figs. 8-9), and
wherein the foot structure is configured to move in a first direction toward an exterior of the first housing or in a second direction opposite to the first direction in conjunction with movement of the second link member (figs. 8-9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill I the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hong to incorporate the teachings of Hsiu so that it comprises a foot structure disposed adjacent to an outer surface of the first housing and comprising a first member on which a guide slot is formed; and a link structure comprising a first link member connected to the hinge module and a second link member connecting the first link member and the guide slot, wherein the second link member is configured to move along the guide slot in conjunction with rotation of at least one of the first housing or the second housing by the hinge module, and wherein the foot structure is configured to move in a first direction toward an exterior of the first housing or in a second direction opposite to the first direction in conjunction with movement of the second link member, in order to provide adequate support and clearance under the device when connectors having a portion thicker than the housing (e.g., USB-C to VGA adapters, power banks, microphones, etc.) of the device need to be attached to it (“When a plug connector 93 is connected to the socket connector 92, the plug connector 93 protrudes out of a bottom surface 911 (FIG. 2) of the housing body 91 and in contact with the desktop 90. As a result, a user cannot easily insert or remove the plug connector 93 into or from the socket connector 92 due to interference with the desktop 90”, [0003] of Hsiu). Said modification could be implemented by adding foot 2 and cam/link mechanism 3 of Hsiu (figs.3-4 and 6) in an inner space of the first housing of Hong as well as providing a hole at the bottom surface (fig. 6 of Hsiu) of it to allow retractable movement of 221 into and out of the first housing.
Regarding Claim 10, Hong/Hsiu discloses the electronic device of claim 1,
wherein the first housing comprises:
an inner space defined between the one surface and an outer surface opposite to the one surface (Hong as modified incorporates the inner space housing elements 2-3 shown in fig. 3 of Hsiu, defined by bottom and top horizontal surfaces shown in fig. 8 of Hsiu. See also rejection of claim 1 above), and
a through hole formed in a portion of the outer surface to be connected to the inner space (2141, fig. 6 of Hsiu; see also rejection of claim 1 above), and
wherein the foot structure is at least partially accommodated in the inner space and is disposed to be movable in the first direction or the second direction through the through hole (figs. 6-8, and 9 of Hsiu; see also rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 11, Hong/Hsiu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising:
a foot structure holder (Hong as modified incorporates element 214 shown fig. 6 of Hsiu. See also, rejection of claim 1 above) comprising a guide hole (2141, fig. 6 of Hsiu) connected to the first housing and configured to accommodate the foot structure (fig. 6 of Hsiu),
wherein the guide hole penetrates in the first direction (vertical direction, fig. 6 of Hsiu), and
wherein the foot structure is configured to move in the first direction or the second direction through the guide hole (figs. 6 and 8-9 of Hsiu. See also rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Hsiu, further in view of Wang et al. (US 20210089077 A1, and Wang hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 15, Hong/Hsiu the electronic device of claim 1,
wherein the foot structure further comprises a second member that extends from the first member and is configured to protrude from the outer surface of the first housing (Hong as modified, includes 222 shown in fig. 6 of Hsiu).
Hong/Hsiu does not explicitly disclose the second member has a friction coefficient greater than a friction coefficient of at least one of the first housing or the first member.
Wang discloses a second member (“pad”, [0053]) has a friction coefficient greater than a friction coefficient of at least one of a first housing or a first member (“In some examples, the actuation component includes metal and/or plastic and a foot or a pad of the deployable feature (meant to contact the support surface) includes from rubber”, [0053]; where rubber is a material well known in the art to have a coefficient of friction frater than metal).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill I the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hong to incorporate the teachings of Hsiu so that the second member has a friction coefficient greater than a friction coefficient of at least one of the first housing or the first member, in order to provide a contact pad that prevents accidental slipping relative to the support surface on which the device is placed (“a pad of the deployable feature (meant to contact the support surface) includes from rubber”, [0053] of Wang).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Cipolla (US 6097595 A, and Cipolla hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 16, Hong discloses an electronic device comprising:
a first housing (21, fig. 2);
a second housing (23, fig. 2);
a hinge module (25, fig. 2) disposed between the first housing and the second housing and rotatably connecting the second housing to the first housing (figs. 1-2 and 27);
a flexible display (30, fig. 2) disposed on one surface of the first housing, the hinge module, and one surface of the second housing (fig. 2).
Hong does not explicitly disclose the hinge comprising a pin member disposed within the first housing and slidably moving in conjunction with the rotation of at least one of the first housing or the second housing; a foot structure disposed adjacent to an outer surface of the first housing and comprising a guide slot and configured such that at least a portion of the foot structure protrude from the outer surface of the first housing, a link member connected to the pin member and the guide slot and configured to move along the guide slot in conjunction with the sliding of the pin member, wherein the foot structure is configured to move in a first direction toward an exterior of the first housing or in a second direction opposite to the first direction in conjunction with movement of the link member.
Cipolla discloses a hinge module comprising a pin member (32, fig. 4) disposed within a first housing (14, fig. 4) and slidably moving in conjunction with the rotation of at least one of a first housing or a second housing (12, fig. 6; fig. 7 shows that pin 32 slides up/down with motion of plunger 24 as 12 rotates: “as the display is rotated, the cam on the display applies force to the cam surface on the plunger, causing the plunger to move downward in the view shown in FIG. 4”, Col. 7, ln. 9-12);
a foot structure (including 20 and 26, fig. 4) disposed adjacent to an outer (bottom) surface of the first housing and comprising a guide slot (triangular region of 26 where 34 is disposed, fig. 4) and configured such that at least a portion of the foot structure protrude from the outer surface of the first housing (fig. 7),
a link member (34, fig. 4) connected to the pin member and the guide slot (fig. 4) and configured to move along the guide slot in conjunction with the sliding of the pin member (figs. 4-6),
wherein the foot structure is configured to move in a first direction toward an exterior of the first housing or in a second direction opposite to the first direction in conjunction with movement of the link member (figs. 4-7, movement of 20 in the up/down direction is linked to movement of 34).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill I the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hong to incorporate the teachings of Cipolla so that the hinge comprising a pin member disposed within the first housing and slidably moving in conjunction with the rotation of at least one of the first housing or the second housing; a foot structure disposed adjacent to an outer surface of the first housing and comprising a guide slot and configured such that at least a portion of the foot structure protrude from the outer surface of the first housing, a link member connected to the pin member and the guide slot and configured to move along the guide slot in conjunction with the sliding of the pin member, wherein the foot structure is configured to move in a first direction toward an exterior of the first housing or in a second direction opposite to the first direction in conjunction with movement of the link member, in order to provide a mechanism for automatically deploying and retracting legs to enhance cooling capacity (“automatically deploying and retracting legs of a portable personal computer to enhance cooling capacity”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9, 12-14, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 2 and 17, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “the guide slot comprises a first section, a second section having one end connected to the first section, and a third section connected to the other end of the second section, wherein the first section comprises a first diagonal area extending away from the one end of the second section in a direction away from the display, and wherein the third section comprises a second diagonal area extending away from the other end of the second section in a direction away from the display”. Hsiu (US 20130229753 A1), Chen (US 9354669 B2), Cipolla (US 6097595 A), Jiang (US 10503214 B2), Cheng (US 20190317552 A1), Chen (US 9354669 B2), Hsu (US 20200142456 A1) Lin (US 10416727 B2), Ye (US 10582638 B2) Gaddy (US 20100041448 A1), Huang (US 11269383 B2), Elsey (US 11169575 B2), Lu (US 20110222233 A1), Tani (US 20130308268 A1), and Kim (US 10852775 B1) are cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including a first and second housing, a hinge module, a flexible display, and/or a foot structure. However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
For instance, Hsiu discloses a guide slot (slot area of 32 located between instances of 322, fig. 4), comprising a first section (fig. 4: diagonal portion of the guide slot), a second section (fig. 4: flat portion of the guide slot) having one end connected to the first section (fig. 4), wherein the first section comprises a first diagonal area extending away from the one end of the second section in a direction away from a display (fig. 4) but lacks a third section connected to the other end of the second section, and wherein the third section comprises a second diagonal area extending away from the other end of the second section in a direction away from the display. Chen discloses a guide slot (132a, fig. 7) comprising a first section (inclined section of 132a, fig. 7), a second section having one end connected to the first section (top end portion of 132a, fig. 7), wherein the first section comprises a first diagonal area extending away from the one end of the second section in a direction away from the display (fig. 7). However, Chen lacks a third section connected to the other end of the second section, and wherein the third section comprises a second diagonal area extending away from the other end of the second section in a direction away from the display.
Regarding Claim 12, Hong/Hsiu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “a rotation member connected to the first housing and comprising a pin slot, and a pin member configured to slide within the pin slot in conjunction with movement of the second housing, and wherein the first member is connected to the pin member and moves with the pin member”, Hsiu (US 20130229753 A1), Jiang (US 10503214 B2), Cheng (US 20190317552 A1), Chen (US 9354669 B2), Hsu (US 20200142456 A1) Lin (US 10416727 B2), Ye (US 10582638 B2) Gaddy (US 20100041448 A1), Huang (US 11269383 B2), Elsey (US 11169575 B2), Lu (US 20110222233 A1), Tani (US 20130308268 A1), Kim (US 10852775 B1), Trang (US 8139357 B2), and Brocklesby (US 10558244 B1) are cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including a first and second housing, a hinge module, a flexible display, a foot structure, a pin, and/or a pin slot. However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
For instance, Hsiu discloses a rotation member (13, fig. 7) connected to a first housing (2, fig. 7) and comprising a pin slot (portion of 13 where 133 is disposed, fig. 7), and a pin member (133, fig. 7) but lacks (the pin member) configured to slide within the pin slot in conjunction with movement of the second housing, and wherein a first member is connected to the pin member and moves with the pin member. Jiang discloses a rotation member (422, fig. 4A) connected to a first housing (20, fig. 4A) and comprising a pin slot (423, fig. 4A), and a pin member (portion of 433 that slides along 432/423, fig. 4A) that is located in configured to slide within the pin slot in conjunction with movement of the second housing (figs. 4A-4B), and a first member (433, fig. 4A) is connected to the pin member and moves with the pin member (figs. 4A-4B). However, given that the first member of Jiang has structural and functional features fundamentally different from those of the first member of Hsiu (21, fig. 4 of Hsiu) in reference to Claim 1; combination of Jiang with Hsiu would require modifications that would be considered beyond obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/MARTIN ANTONIO ASMAT UCEDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2841