DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 5/23/2025 was/were in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 7-10 and 13 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites “fluidly connect to the heating flow path” and should recite - - fluidly connecting to the heating flow path - - .
Claim 8, line 4, recites “chill-heating unit” and should recite - - cooling-heating unit - - .
Claim 13 recites “the secondary cooling-heating units are shutdown in the second mode” and should recite - - the one or more of the secondary cooling-heating units are shutdown in the second mode - -
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 9-10 are objected to as being dependent from an objected claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a supplemental heating unit in claim 11 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 5, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recite(s) “wherein when operating at least one of the one or more primary cooling-heating units, the at least one of the one or more primary cooling-heating units operate at or about maximum conditioning capacity prior to activating any of the one or more secondary cooling-heating units”. Said recitation is a method step in an apparatus claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p), section II “A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph”.
Claim limitation “supplemental heating unit” in claim 11 and 17 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-9, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rosen et al. (US 2022/0003427).
Per claim 1, Rosen teaches a heating-cooling system, comprising:
a heating flow path (40) for a first process fluid (fluid in 40),
a cooling flow path (60) for a second process fluid,
cooling-heating units (plurality of 70) each fluidly connected to the heating flow path and to the cooling flow path,
each of the cooling-heating units including a refrigerant circuit with
a compressor (“compressor”, para. 0019),
an expander (inherent),
a condenser (71) for heating the first process fluid, and
an evaporator (72) for cooling the second process fluid,
the cooling-heating units including:
a primary cooling-heating unit (uppermost 70 shown in figure 1), and
one or more secondary cooling-heating units (second uppermost 70 shown in figure 1),
the primary cooling-heating unit (uppermost 70) and the secondary cooling-heating units (second uppermost 70) being fluidly connected to the heating flow path (40) such that when active, a heating load is prioritized to the primary cooling-heating unit (uppermost 70) over the secondary cooling-heating unit (second uppermost 70) (i.e. when only the uppermost 70 is used during heating) (“The control unit 80 is configured to individually control each of the plurality of heat pumps 70. The control unit 80 may individually set each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in an on mode or in an off mode. Hence, the control unit 80 may control each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in a binary manner setting each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in either the on mode or in the off mode. Alternatively, the control unit 80 may be configured to individually adjust the heat pumping capacity of each of the plurality of heat pumps 70.”, para. 0085).
Per claim 3, Rosen meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Rosen teaches wherein the primary cooling-heating unit (uppermost 70 as shown in figure 1) is a single primary cooling-heating unit and the secondary cooling-heating unit (second uppermost 70 as shown in figure 1) is a single secondary cooling-hearing unit.
Per claim 4, Rosen meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Rosen teaches
wherein the one or more primary cooling-heating units are two or more primary cooling-heating units (uppermost 70 and third uppermost 70 as shown in figure 1) fluidly connected to the heating flow path (40) in parallel (see figure 1), and the one or more secondary cooling-heating units are two or more of secondary cooling-heating units (second uppermost and fourth uppermost 70 as shown in figure 1) fluidly connected to the cooling flow path (60) in parallel (see figure 1).
Per claim 6, Rosen meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Rosen teaches wherein the primary cooling-heating unit has an inlet (see annotated figure below) and an outlet (see annotated figure below) each fluidly connected to the heating flow path (40), and the one or more secondary cooling-heating units have an inlet that fluidly connects to the heating flow path between the inlet and the outlet of the one or more primary cooling-heating units (see annotated figure below).
Per claim 7, Rosen meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 6. Further, Rosen teaches wherein the secondary cooling-heating unit has an outlet fluidly (see annotated figure below) connecting to the heating flow path (40), and the outlet of primary cooling-heating unit (see annotated figure below) fluidly connect to the heating flow path (40) between the inlet (see annotated figure below) and the outlet (see annotated figure below) of the secondary cooling-heating unit (second uppermost 70 as shown in figure 1).
Per claim 8, Rosen meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Rosen teaches
a controller (80) for the heating-cooling system,
the controller configured to selectively operate the heating-cooling system in each of a plurality of modes that include:
a first mode in which the primary cooling-heating unit is shutdown and the secondary cooling-heating unit is active (when the uppermost 70 is off and the second uppermost 70 is on as shown in figure 1) (“The control unit 80 is configured to individually control each of the plurality of heat pumps 70. The control unit 80 may individually set each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in an on mode or in an off mode. Hence, the control unit 80 may control each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in a binary manner setting each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in either the on mode or in the off mode. Alternatively, the control unit 80 may be configured to individually adjust the heat pumping capacity of each of the plurality of heat pumps 70.”, para. 0085),
a second mode in which the secondary cooling-heating unit is shutdown and the one or more primary cooling-heating unit is active (when the uppermost 70 is active and the second uppermost 70 is off as shown in figure 1) (“The control unit 80 is configured to individually control each of the plurality of heat pumps 70. The control unit 80 may individually set each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in an on mode or in an off mode. Hence, the control unit 80 may control each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in a binary manner setting each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in either the on mode or in the off mode. Alternatively, the control unit 80 may be configured to individually adjust the heat pumping capacity of each of the plurality of heat pumps 70.”, para. 0085), and
a third mode in which the secondary cooling-heating unit is active and the primary cooling-heating unit is active (when the uppermost and second uppermost 70 are active as shown in figure 1) (“The control unit 80 is configured to individually control each of the plurality of heat pumps 70. The control unit 80 may individually set each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in an on mode or in an off mode. Hence, the control unit 80 may control each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in a binary manner setting each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in either the on mode or in the off mode. Alternatively, the control unit 80 may be configured to individually adjust the heat pumping capacity of each of the plurality of heat pumps 70.”, para. 0085).
Per claim 9, Rosen meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 8. Further, Rosen teaches wherein the controller (80) is configured to selectively operate the heating-cooling system in each of a plurality of modes based on one or more of a heating demand for the first process fluid (40) and a cooling demand for the second process fluid (60) (“The number of heat pumps 70 of the thermal energy extraction assembly 1 may be selected based on a heat pump capacity needed for providing a maximum desired heating and/or cooling demands”, para. 0077).
Per claim 12, Rosen teaches a method of controlling a heating-cooling system, the heating-cooling system including
a heating flow path (40) for a first process fluid (fluid circulating in 40),
a cooling flow path (60) for a second process fluid (fluid circulating in 60), and
cooling-heating units (plurality of 70) that are each fluidly connected to the heating flow path and to the cooling flow path (see figure 1),
the cooling-heating units including
a primary cooling-heating units (uppermost 70 shown in figure 1) and
a secondary cooling-heating units (second uppermost 70 shown in figure 1),
the method comprising:
selectively operating the heating-cooling system in a plurality of modes including:
a first mode,
wherein operating the heating-cooling system in a first mode includes the secondary cooling-heating unit heating the first process fluid and cooling the second process fluid (when the second uppermost 70 is operating) (“The control unit 80 is configured to individually control each of the plurality of heat pumps 70. The control unit 80 may individually set each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in an on mode or in an off mode. Hence, the control unit 80 may control each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in a binary manner setting each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in either the on mode or in the off mode. Alternatively, the control unit 80 may be configured to individually adjust the heat pumping capacity of each of the plurality of heat pumps 70.”, para. 0085),
a second mode,
wherein operating in the second mode includes the primary cooling-heating unit heating the first process fluid and cooling the second process fluid (when the uppermost 70 is operating) (“The control unit 80 is configured to individually control each of the plurality of heat pumps 70. The control unit 80 may individually set each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in an on mode or in an off mode. Hence, the control unit 80 may control each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in a binary manner setting each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in either the on mode or in the off mode. Alternatively, the control unit 80 may be configured to individually adjust the heat pumping capacity of each of the plurality of heat pumps 70.”, para. 0085),
a third mode,
wherein operating in the third mode include the secondary cooling-heating unit and the primary cooling-heating unit each heating the first process fluid and cooling the second process fluid (when the uppermost and second uppermost 70 are operating) (“The control unit 80 is configured to individually control each of the plurality of heat pumps 70. The control unit 80 may individually set each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in an on mode or in an off mode. Hence, the control unit 80 may control each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in a binary manner setting each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in either the on mode or in the off mode. Alternatively, the control unit 80 may be configured to individually adjust the heat pumping capacity of each of the plurality of heat pumps 70.”, para. 0085; “The control unit 80 may be configured to set the thermal energy extraction assembly 1 in both the heating mode and in the cooling mode at a specific point in time”, para. 0086),
wherein the primary cooling-heating unit operating at or about maximum conditioning capacity in the third mode (when the uppermost is operating a maximum capacity and the second uppermost 70 is operating) (“The control unit 80 is configured to individually control each of the plurality of heat pumps 70. The control unit 80 may individually set each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in an on mode or in an off mode. Hence, the control unit 80 may control each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in a binary manner setting each of the plurality of heat pumps 70 in either the on mode or in the off mode. Alternatively, the control unit 80 may be configured to individually adjust the heat pumping capacity of each of the plurality of heat pumps 70.”, para. 0085).
Per claim 13, Rosen meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 12. Further, Rosen teaches wherein the primary cooling-heating unit is shutdown in the first mode (when only the second uppermost 70 is operating), and the secondary cooling-heating unit is shutdown in the second mode (when only the uppermost 70 is operating).
Per claim 14, Rosen meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 12. Further, Rosen teaches wherein the selectively operating of the heating-cooling system in the plurality of modes is based on a conditioning demand for one or more of the first process fluid and the second process fluid (“The number of heat pumps 70 of the thermal energy extraction assembly 1 may be selected based on a heat pump capacity needed for providing a maximum desired heating and/or cooling demands”, para. 0077).
Per claim 15, Rosen meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 12. Further, Rosen teaches wherein the conditioning demand includes a heating demand for the first process fluid (“The number of heat pumps 70 of the thermal energy extraction assembly 1 may be selected based on a heat pump capacity needed for providing a maximum desired heating and/or cooling demands”, para. 0077).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen et al. (US 2022/0003427) in view of Funakoshi et al. (JP2005-337626) and Meister (US 20100287960).
Per claim 2, Rosen meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Rosen teaches the primary and secondary cooling-heating units but fails to explicitly teach wherein one or more of: the one or more secondary cooling-heating units have a smaller load capacity than the primary cooling-heating units, and the compressor in each of the one or more secondary cooling-heating units is a different compressor type from the compressor in the primary cooling-heating units.
Regarding the use of different capacity heat pumps, Funakoshi teaches a heat pump system wherein a secondary unit has a smaller load capacity than a primary unit (“And the maximum capacity of heat output of at least one heat pump circuit of the plurality of heat pump circuits is set to be larger than the maximum capacity of heat output of other heat pump circuits”) for reduced power consumption and increased efficiency (pg. 7 of translation). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a secondary unit with a smaller load capacity than a primary unit, as taught by Funakoshi in the invention of Rosen, in order to advantageously reduce power consumption and increase efficiency (pg. 7 of translation).
When the different capacity heat pumps of Funakoshi are combined with the primary and secondary cooling-heating units of Rosen, the result is wherein one or more of: the one or more secondary cooling-heating units have a smaller load capacity than the primary cooling-heating units, as claimed.
Regarding the different compressors, Meister teaches using different types of compressors in primary (M1) and secondary (M2) cooling-heating units (“As desired, different compressor makes can be installed in the same modules,”, para. 0031) for easily matching cooling/heating requirements of a space (para. 0006). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a different type of compressor as taught by Meister in the primary and secondar cooling-heating units of Rosen, as modified, in order to advantageously easily match cooling/heating requirements of a space (para. 0006).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen et al. (US 2022/0003427) in view of Saeguse et al. (WO2024062536).
Per claim 5, Rosen meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Rosen fails to explicitly teach wherein when operating at least one of the one or more primary cooling-heating units, the at least one of the one or more primary cooling-heating units operate at or about maximum conditioning capacity prior to activating any of the one or more secondary cooling-heating units.
However, Saegusa teaches an air conditioning system wherein when operating a primary cooling-heating unit (5a), the primary cooling-heating unit operates at maximum prior to activating a secondary cooling-heating unit (5b) (“When the target capacity assigned to the first heat source machine among the operating heat source machines reaches the maximum operating capacity, the stopped second heat source machine is activated”, pg. 10 of translation) for increasing the efficiency of the system (pg. 9 of translation). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to, when operating a primary cooling-heating unit, operate the primary cooling-heating unit at a maximum prior to activating a secondary cooling-heating unit, as taught by Seagusa in the invention of Rosen, in order to advantageously increase the efficiency of the system (pg. 9 of translation).
Claim(s) 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen et al. (US 2022/0003427) in view of He et al. (US 20210206235).
Per claim 11, Rosen meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Rosen fails to explicitly teach one or more of:
one or more supplemental heating units fluidly connected to the heating flow path, the one or more supplemental heating units configured to provide supplemental heating of the first process fluid; and
one or more supplemental cooling units fluidly connected to the cooling flow path, the one or more supplemental cooling units configured to provide supplemental cooling of the second process fluid.
However, He teaches a heating-cooling system including a supplemental heating unit (40) connected to a heating flow path (46), the supplemental heating unit configured to provide supplemental heating of a first process fluid (“coolant”, para. 0057) for maintaining a desired temperature of the process fluid (para. 0057). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a supplemental heating unit connected to a heating flow path, the supplemental heating unit configured to provide supplement heating of a first process fluid, as taught by He in the invention of Rosen, in order to advantageously maintain a desired temperature of the process fluid (para. 0057).
Per claim 17, Rosen meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 12. Further, Rosen teaches the operation of the heating-cooling system in the third mode but herein the operation of heating-cooling system in the third mode includes one or more of: heating, with one or more supplemental heating units of the heating-cooling system, the first process fluid, and cooling, with one or more supplemental cooling units of the heating-cooling system, the second process fluid.
However, He teaches operating a heating-cooling system includes heating, with a supplemental heating unit (40) of the heating-cooling system, a first process fluid (“coolant”, para. 0057) for maintaining a desired temperature of the process fluid (para. 0057). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to operate a heating-cooling system include, with a supplemental heating unit, a first process fluid, as taught by He in the invention of Rosen, in order to advantageously maintain a desired temperature of the process fluid (para. 0057).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 10 and 16 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Brockmann et al. (EP 3076110) teaches a heating and cooling system including a primary and secondary cooling-heating unit.
Moreau (US 20120125039) teaches a heating and cooling system including a primary and secondary cooling-heating unit.
/DAVID J TEITELBAUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763