This document is responsive to applicant’s amendments filed 2/17/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walter (US 2,408,246).
Regarding claim 1, Walter discloses:
An air delivery barrel system comprising: a strap system (45) that provides line stretch of the strap system when a force is exerted on the strap system, the strap system including a continuous strap (each strap 45 is a continuous length); and a load (5, 20) configured to be attached to the strap system (see fig 3), wherein the strap system absorbs the exerted force to protect the load (see col 2, lines 25-36).
Regarding claim 2, Walter discloses:
The air delivery barrel system of claim 1, wherein the load is a barrel system including a first barrel (5) and a second barrel (20), wherein the second barrel is removable from the first barrel.
Regarding claim 4, Walter discloses:
The air delivery barrel system of claim 1, wherein the strap system absorbs the exerted force to protect the load the strap system the by providing line stretch to absorbs a portion of the force (flexible straps 45 absorb force imparted by cap 40 that acts as a parachute).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter (US 2,408,246) in view of Tricau (US 1,935,339).
Regarding claim 8, Walter discloses the device of claim 1, but does not disclose:
wherein the strap system includes an integrated shock absorber configured to reduce a portion of a shock when the force is exerted on the strap system.
Tricau teaches a shock absorbing strap for parachutes wherein the strap system includes an integrated shock absorber configured to reduce a portion of a shock when the force is exerted on the strap system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the shock absorbing strap of Tricau in the device of Walter yielding the predictable result of providing shock absorption to the straps of Walter.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter (US 2,408,246).
Regarding claim 9, Walter discloses: The air delivery barrel system of claim 1, wherein the load includes an end cap (40) and a lid (22). Walter does not explicitly state that the arrangement is dust proof, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make the cargo arrangement of Walter dust proof for the purpose of protecting the contents from dust.
Regarding claim 10, Walter discloses the device of claim 1, but does not disclose the specific type of webbing utilized. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select type 8 webbing for the purpose of having a specification to which the strap meets for procurement purposes.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,465,745. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because present claim 1 is found in claims 1 and 4 of the parent patent. Claim 18 is made obvious by claim 18 of the parent patent. Claim 20 is made obvious by claim 20 of the parent patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is found in the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD G DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644