Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chih et al. (US 20080043411 A1).
Re claim 16: Chih discloses a display device comprising:
a display panel (LCD panel in fig 3 and paragraph 29);
a frame (housing 100 in fig 3) positioned behind the display panel;
a back cover (back plate 110 in fig 3) covering a rear of the frame;
a bracket (pivot end 410 in fig 3) rotatably coupled to an arm (support member body 430 in fig 3);
an inner cover (base plate 300 in fig 3) coupled to the bracket; and
an outer cover (cover 500 in fig 3) disposed to surround the inner cover;
wherein the back cover is shaped to define a position (see circular opening 130 in fig 3) configured to (i.e., functional language) accommodate the outer cover.
Re claim 17: Chih discloses the display device, wherein the bracket (410) is positioned behind the back cover (110) and is coupled to the back cover (see figs 2-3).
Re claim 18: Chih discloses the display device, wherein the back cover (110) comprises a recessed portion (circular opening 130 in fig 3) which is recessed from a rear surface of the back cover, and to which the bracket (410) is coupled.
Re claim 19: Chih discloses the display device, wherein the inner cover (300) covers a rear of the bracket (410) and is coupled to the bracket (see fig 3).
Re claim 21: Chih discloses the display device, wherein the outer cover (500) is detachably coupled (i.e., indirectly coupled via pivot end 410 and base plate 300) to the back cover (110).
Claim(s) 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (US 20190327841 A1).
Re claim 27: Li discloses a display device (display device 100 in fig 1) comprising:
a head (back cover 20 in fig 1) including a display panel;
a bracket (connecting plate 80 + rotating member 50 in fig 2) coupled to the head;
an inner cover (cover 71 in fig 3 and paragraphs 19, 17) coupled to the bracket (see paragraph 17; herein, at least one fixing member is passed through the at least one through hole 56 of the rotating member 50 and received within the at least one fixing hole 38 of the support frame 32 to fix the rotating member 50 to the support frame 32); and
an outer cover (protective plate 73 in fig 3 and paragraph 19) disposed to surround the inner cover,
wherein the outer cover (73) is pivoted along with the head (see fig 3 and paragraph 19; herein, the protective plate 73 is coupled to the connecting plate 80, which is fixed to the back cover 20), and the inner cover (71) does not be pivoted along with the head (see paragraph 17; herein, cover 71 is fixed to the rotating member 50 via a fixing member/screw passing through fixing hole 38 and hole 56. Since rotating member 50 is rotatable with respect to the back cover 20, cover 71 is also rotatable with respect to the back cover 20).
Re claim 28: Li discloses the display device, wherein the bracket comprises: a front bracket (connecting plate 80) fixed (i.e., via at least one tab 82 being received within the at least one accommodating hole 27; see paragraph 15) to the head (20); and a rear bracket (rotating member 50) coupled to the front bracket and to which the inner cover (71) is fixed (see paragraph 17; herein, cover 71 is fixed to the rotating member 50 via a fixing member/screw passing through fixing hole 38 and hole 56), wherein the outer cover (73) is fixed to the head (see fig 3 and paragraph 19; herein, the protective plate 73 is coupled to the connecting plate 80, which is fixed to the back cover 20), wherein the front bracket is pivotable with respect to the rear bracket (see paragraph 16).
Re claim 29: Lin discloses the display device, wherein the outer cover (73) has a ring shape (see shape of protective plate 73 with receiving hole 75 in fig 3), wherein an inner circumferential surface of the outer cover (i.e., surface of protective plate 73 surrounding receiving hole 75 in fig 3) is slidable along a lateral side of the inner cover (according to paragraph 19, cover 71 is received within the receiving hole 75. Also, since protective plate 73 is coupled to the connecting plate 80 and cover 71 is coupled to the rotating member 50, cover 71 is rotatable within the receiving hole 75 of the protective plate 73).
Claim(s) 31-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 20120162570 A1).
Re claim 31: Lee discloses a display device, comprising:
a display panel (liquid crystal panel 21 in fig 5);
a back cover (first cover 31 + second cover 32 in fig 3) positioned behind the display panel;
a locking unit (bracket 45 in fig 3) disposed between the display panel and back cover;
a bracket (upper pedestal 42 in fig 11 and paragraph 76) coupled to the back cover;
an inner cover (connection member 43 in fig 11; herein, “inner cover” is not defined in the claim) coupled to the bracket; and
an outer cover (lower pedestal 41 in fig 11; herein, “outer cover” is not defined in the claim) disposed to surround the inner cover,
wherein the locking unit comprises a hooking portion (first stand guide portions 71 in figs 7, 12), wherein the back cover comprises a hole (second stand guide portions 72 in figs 11-12) corresponding to the hooking portion (see fig 12 and paragraph 77),
wherein the hooking portion (71 in fig 12) penetrates the hole (72 in fig 12).
Re claim 32: Lee discloses the display device, wherein the bracket (42) comprises a projection (third stand guide portions 73 in fig 11 and paragraph 77) protruding from an edge of the bracket, wherein the projection is coupled to the hooking portion (see fig 12).
Re claim 33: Lee discloses the display device, wherein the back cover comprises a recessed portion (see 72 in fig 12) recessed from a rear surface of the back cover and having the hole, wherein the projection (73 in fig 12) is inserted into a gap between a rear surface of the recessed portion and the hooking portion (71 in fig 12), and is coupled to the hooking portion.
Re claim 34: Lee discloses the display device,
wherein the projection comprises a first projection (left 73 in fig 11) and a second projection (right 73 in fig 11) which are spaced apart from each other along the edge of the bracket,
wherein the hooking portion comprises: a first hooking portion (left 71 in fig 7) to which the first projection is coupled; and a second hooking portion (left 71 in fig 7) to which the second projection is coupled,
wherein the hole comprises: a first hole (left 72 in fig 9) through which the first hooking portion passes; and a second hole (right 72 in fig 9) through which the second hooking portion passes.
Re claim 35: Lee discloses the display device, comprising a frame (bottom chassis 25 in fig 5) positioned between the display panel (liquid crystal panel 21 in fig 5) and the locking unit (bracket 45 in fig 6), wherein the locking unit is positioned below a central portion of the frame (see figs 4, 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-22 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20190327841 A1) in view of Chih et al. (US 20080043411 A1).
Re claim 16: Li discloses a display device (display device 100 in fig 1) comprising:
a display panel (see “display screen” in paragraph 2);
a back cover (back cover 20 in fig 1) covering a rear of the display panel;
a bracket (connecting plate 80 + rotating member 50 in fig 2) coupled to an arm (34 in fig 3);
an inner cover (cover 71 in figs 2-3 and paragraphs 19, 17) coupled to the bracket (see paragraph 17; herein, at least one fixing member is passed through the at least one through hole 56 of the rotating member 50 and received within the at least one fixing hole 38 of the support frame 32 to fix the rotating member 50 to the support frame 32); and
an outer cover (protective plate 73 in figs 2-3 and paragraph 19) disposed to surround the inner cover,
wherein the back cover is shaped to define a position (see accommodation area 28 in fig 3 and paragraph 19; herein, the protective plate 73 is received within the accommodation area 28) configured to (i.e., functional language) accommodate the outer cover.
Lin fails to disclose a frame positioned behind the display panel and the back cover covering a rear of the frame. Li further fails to disclose that the bracket is rotatably coupled to the arm.
Chih discloses a display device comprising a display panel (LCD panel in fig 3 and paragraph 29); a frame (housing 100 in fig 3) positioned behind the display panel; a back cover (back plate 110 in fig 3) covering a rear of the frame; and a bracket (pivot end 410 in fig 3) rotatably coupled to an arm (support member body 430 in fig 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a frame behind the display panel and have the back cover covering a rear of the frame in order to provide further protection to the display panel. Also, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a rotatable coupling between the bracket and the arm in order to provide additional tilt rotation axis to the display panel for enhancing a user’s viewing experience.
Re claim 17: Li in view of Chih discloses the display device, wherein the bracket is positioned behind the back cover and is coupled to the back cover (Lin: see fig 3 and paragraph 15; herein, connecting plate 80 is coupled to back cover 20 via at least one tab 82 being received within the at least one accommodating hole 27).
Re claim 18: Li in view of Chih discloses the display device, wherein the back cover comprises a recessed portion (Lin: accommodation area 28 in fig 3) which is recessed from a rear surface of the back cover, and to which the bracket is coupled (Lin: see fig 3 and paragraph 15; herein, connecting plate 80 is coupled to back cover 20 via at least one tab 82 being received within the at least one accommodating hole 27).
Re claim 19: Li in view of Chih discloses the display device, wherein the inner cover covers a rear of the bracket and is coupled to the bracket (Lin: see paragraph 17; herein, cover 71 is fixed to the rotating member 50 via a fixing member/screw passing through fixing hole 38 and hole 56).
Re claim 20: Li in view of Chih discloses the display device, wherein the inner cover comprises a cover coupling portion (Lin: fixing hole 38 in fig 2 and paragraph 17) protruding from the inner cover toward the bracket (Lin: 50), wherein the display device further comprises a fastening member (Lin: fixing member/ screw in paragraph 17) that couples the bracket to the inner cover.
Re claim 21: Li in view of Chih discloses the display device, wherein the outer cover (Lin: 73) is detachably coupled to the back cover (Lin: see figs 2-3 and paragraph 19).
Re claim 22: Li in view of Chih discloses the display device, comprising: a slit (Lin: accommodating hole 27 in fig 3) formed at the back cover; and a rib (Lin: tab 82 in fig 3) protruding from the bracket (Lin: 80 in fig 3), and inserted into the slit. Li in view of Chih further discloses the outer cover (Lin: 73 in fig 3) fixed to the bracket (Lin: see paragraph 19).
Lin in view of Chih fails to disclose the rib protruding from the outer cover instead of the bracket.
However, the examiner herein notes that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rib on the outer cover, while the outer cover is fixed to the bracket, for coupling the bracket and the outer cover to the back cover via the rib engaging with the slit of the back cover, since rearrangement of parts is considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art and has a little patentable significance unless a new and an unexpected result is produced.
Re claim 25: Li in view of Chih discloses the display device, wherein the bracket comprises: a front bracket (Lin: 80) fixed to a rear of the back cover; and a rear bracket (Lin: 50) coupled to a rear of the front bracket, wherein the front bracket (Lin: 80) is rotatable about a pivot axis orthogonal to a front surface of the display panel (Lin: herein, pivot axis of hook portion 54 moved along the sliding rail 22 is orthogonal to the front surface of the display panel).
Re claim 26: Li in view of Chih discloses the display device, comprising a head including the display panel (Lin: “display screen” in paragraph 2), the frame (Chih: housing 100 in fig 3), and the back cover (Lin: back cover 20),
wherein the inner cover is fixed to the rear bracket (Lin: see paragraph 17; herein, cover 71 is fixed to the rotating member 50 via a fixing member/screw passing through fixing hole 38 and hole 56), and the outer cover is fixed to the head (Lin: see fig 3 and paragraph 19; herein, the protective plate 73 is coupled to the connecting plate 80, which is fixed to the back cover 20),
wherein the head and the outer cover are rotatable about the pivot axis independently of the rear bracket and the inner cover (Lin: see paragraph 16; herein, the rotating member 50 is rotatable with respect to connecting plate 80 via hook portion 54 being inserted into the big curved hole 84 and rotated toward the small curved hole 81. Since cover 71 is fixed to the rotating member 50 and protective plate 73 fixed to the connecting plate 80, the back cover 20 and the protective plate 73 are rotatable about the pivot axis independently of the rotating member 50 and the cover 71).
Claim(s) 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20190327841 A1) modified by Chih et al. (US 20080043411 A1) and further in view of Helot et al. (US 6816364 B2).
Re claim 23: Li in view of Chih discloses the display device.
Li in view of Chih fails to disclose a cable positioned around the bracket, wherein a portion of the cable is positioned between the back cover and the outer cover.
Helot discloses a display device comprising a display panel (screen surface 13), a back cover (12 in fig 1) covering a rear of the display panel, and a bracket (mounting plate 23 in fig 1) coupled to the back cover, wherein a cable (cables 20 in fig 1) positioned around the bracket, and wherein a portion of the cable is positioned between the back cover (12) and an outer cover (30 in fig 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position a cable around the bracket such that a portion of the cable is positioned between the back cover and the outer cover in order to provide a highly aesthetically-pleasing assembly in which the cables are concealed from view, which still allows for a great degree of operational versatility such as display panel rotating between portrait and landscape positions.
Re claim 24: Li in view of Chih and Helot discloses the display device, comprising a board (Helot: according to column 3, lines 11-16, the connector bay 15 has, on a downwardly-extending part 16 thereof, a plurality of sockets by which image signals and electrical power may be supplied to the flat-panel display from a main computer unit such as a PC desktop unit. Herein, it is well known in the art of engineering to provide the sockets on a printed circuit board) positioned between the frame and the back cover, wherein the back cover comprises a recessed portion (Helot: connector bay 15 in fig 1) which is recessed from a rear surface of the back cover, and to which the outer cover (Helot: 30 in fig 1) is coupled, wherein the cable (Helot: 20 in fig 1) is electrically connected to the board through a sidewall (Helot: downwardly-extending part 16 in fig 1) of the recessed portion.
Claim(s) 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20190327841 A1) in view of Helot et al. (US 6816364 B2).
Li discloses the display device.
Li fails to disclose a cable positioned around the bracket and electrically connected to the head, wherein a portion of the cable is positioned between the head and the outer cover.
Helot discloses a display device comprising a head (11 in fig 1) including a display panel (screen surface 13), and a bracket (mounting plate 23 in fig 1) coupled to the head, wherein a cable (cables 20 in fig 1) positioned around the bracket and electrically connected (i.e., via plugs 26 in fig 1) to the head, and wherein a portion of the cable is positioned between the head (11) and an outer cover (30 in fig 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position a cable around the bracket such that a portion of the cable is positioned between the head and the outer cover in order to provide a highly aesthetically-pleasing assembly in which the cables are concealed from view, which still allows for a great degree of operational versatility such as display panel rotating between portrait and landscape positions.
Conclusion
/NIDHI THAKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841