DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US Pub. 2021/0298070).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 20, Zhang teaches a method for sidelink communication, comprising: determining, by a first device, a first channel access priority class (CAPC) value for sidelink communication (“determining what CAPC to apply for the DRB on a sidelink communication” in [0103]), wherein the first CAPC value is associated with a PC5 quality of service index (PQI) (“translate to PQI values and from there to CAPC values from which to select” in [0103]).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Zhang teaches that the first CAPC value is associated with a PQI comprises: the first CAPC value is determined based on a first parameter (“translate to PQI values and from there to CAPC values from which to select” in [0103]).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Zhang teaches the first parameter comprises one or more of following: a value of the PQI; a type of the PQI; a packet delay budget corresponding to the PQI; or a packet error rate corresponding to the PQI; wherein the type of the PQI comprises a standard PQI and a non-standard PQI (“translate to PQI values and from there to CAPC values from which to select” in [0103]).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Zhang teaches the first CAPC value is a CAPC value of a first radio bearer/logical channel, the first radio bearer/logical channel comprises one or more QoS flows (“determine the channel access priority (CAPC) to use for a data radio bearer (DRB, e.g., a common DRB for the multiple QoS flows combined into it)” in [0029]), and the CAPC value of the first radio bearer/logical channel is determined based on CAPC values of the one or more QoS flows or implementation of the first device (“select the CAPC based on the lowest access priority of the QoS flows on the DRB” in [0031]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Zhang teaches the CAPC value of the first radio bearer/logical channel is determined based on one or more of following: a maximum value in the CAPC values of the one or more QoS flows; a minimum value in the CAPC values of the one or more QoS flows; or a CAPC value of a QoS flow whose packet delay budget is the shortest in the one or more QoS flows (“select the CAPC based on the lowest access priority of the QoS flows on the DRB” in [0031]).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Zhang teaches the first CAPC value is configured by a network device, is pre-configured, or is independently determined by a terminal device (“the CAPC determined by the BS” in [0124]).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches the first CAPC value is configured in following manner: for a terminal device in a connected state, being configured based on radio resource control RRC signalling transmitted by the network device; or for a terminal device in an idle state or an inactive state, being configured based on system information transmitted by the network device; or for a terminal device outside coverage of the network device, being configured based on pre-configuration information (“BS 402 may transmit the CAPC indication, for example, as part of a DCI message, or in a packet header, MAC CE, or RRC signal, etc” in [0073]).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang teaches that the first CAPC value is configured by a network device or is independently determined by a terminal device is determined based on one or more of following: a connection state of the terminal device; whether the terminal device is in coverage of the network device; configuration information of the network device; or a rule predefined in a protocol (“BS 402 may transmit the CAPC indication, for example, as part of a DCI message, or in a packet header, MAC CE, or RRC signal, etc” in [0073]).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang teaches the first CAPC value is determined based on one of following: for a terminal device in a connected state, the first CAPC value is configured by the network device; for a terminal device in a non-connected state, the first CAPC value is independently determined by the terminal device; for a terminal device in a connected state, a terminal device in an idle state, and a terminal device in an inactive state, the first CAPC value is configured by the network device; or for a terminal device outside coverage of the network device, the first CAPC value is independently determined by the terminal device (“BS 402 may transmit the CAPC indication, for example, as part of a DCI message, or in a packet header, MAC CE, or RRC signal, etc” in [0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. in view of Han et al. (US Pub. 2025/0274952).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Zhang teaches the limitations in claims 2 and 10 as shown above. Zhang, however, does not teach if the PQI is a non-standard PQI, the first CAPC value is a fixed value; or if the PQI is a non-standard PQI, the first CAPC value corresponds to a value range of the first parameter. Han teaches if the PQI is a non-standard PQI, the first CAPC value is a fixed value; or if the PQI is a non-standard PQI, the first CAPC value corresponds to a value range of the first parameter (“CAPC used for a non-standardized 5QI should be the CAPC of the standardized 5QIs which best matches the traffic class, or QoS characteristics, of the non-standardized 5QI” in [0057]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to have if the PQI is a non-standard PQI, the first CAPC value is a fixed value; or if the PQI is a non-standard PQI, the first CAPC value corresponds to a value range of the first parameter as taught by Han in order to use suitable CAPC based on the table [0057].
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Han teaches if the PQI is a standard PQI, the first CAPC value corresponds to a value of the first parameter (“Each standard 5QI is mapped to a CAPC according to Table 1” in [0057]).
Conclusion
/CLEMENCE S HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414