DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9, 11-12, 14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pellenc (US 20180160622 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pellenc discloses a mower (10), comprising:
a body (24) comprising a housing assembly;
a cutting element used for performing a cutting function and comprising a first blade (46) and a second blade (46);
a chassis (12) for accommodating at least part of the cutting element;
a drive assembly comprising a first electric motor (60) configured to drive the first blade and a second electric motor (paragraph 0088 lines 10-15) configured to drive the second blade;
a battery pack (22) configured to power the drive assembly; and
a synchronization member (70) drivingly connected to the first electric motor and the second electric motor.
Regarding claim 2, Pellenc discloses the mower according to claim 1, wherein a phase difference between the first electric motor and the second electric motor remains substantially constant, and the phase difference is greater than 0 degrees and less than 90 degrees (paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 3, Pellenc discloses the mower according to claim 1, wherein a distance between an axis of the first electric motor and an axis of the second electric motor is less than a blade length of the first blade or less than a blade length of the second blade (see fig. 3, paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 9, Pellenc discloses the mower according to claim 1, wherein transmission wheels (72, 74) are disposed on an output shaft of the first electric motor and an output shaft of the second electric motor, respectively, and the synchronization member (70) is mounted on the transmission wheels (see fig. 4a-4c).
Regarding claim 11, Pellenc discloses the mower according to claim 9, further comprising: stop elements (56, 80) for stopping the transmission wheels (72, 74) from falling off the output shaft of the first electric motor and the output shaft of the second electric motor.
Regarding claim 12, Pellenc discloses the mower according to claim 9, wherein a transmission wheel on the output shaft of the first electric motor and a transmission wheel on the output shaft of the second electric motor have the same dimension (see fig. 4a-4c) so that the first electric motor rotates a first rotational speed and the second electric motor also rotates at the first rotational speed (paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 14, Pellenc discloses the mower according to claim 1, wherein the synchronization member is a timing belt (100).
Regarding claim 16, Pellenc discloses a mower (10), comprising:
a body (24) comprising a housing assembly;
a cutting element used for performing a cutting function and comprising a first blade (46) and a second blade (46);
a chassis (12) for accommodating at least part of the cutting element;
a drive assembly comprising a first electric motor (60) configured to drive the first blade and a second electric motor (paragraph 0088 lines 10-15) configured to drive the second blade;
a battery pack (22) configured to power the drive assembly; and
a synchronization member (70) drivingly connected to the first electric motor and the second electric motor,
wherein the synchronization member, the first electric motor, and the second electric motor rotate synchronously (paragraph 0032, 0088).
Regarding claim 17, Pellenc discloses the mower according to claim 16, wherein a phase difference between the first electric motor and the second electric motor remains substantially constant, and the phase difference is greater than 0 degrees and less than 90 degrees (paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 18, Pellenc discloses a mower (10), comprising:
a body (24) comprising a housing assembly;
a cutting element used for performing a cutting function and comprising a first blade (46) and a second blade (46);
a chassis (12) for accommodating at least part of the cutting element;
a drive assembly comprising a first electric motor (60) configured to drive the first blade and a second electric motor (paragraph 0088 lines 10-15) configured to drive the second blade;
a battery pack (22) configured to power the drive assembly; and
a synchronization member (70) drivingly connected to the first electric motor and the second electric motor,
wherein the synchronization member drives the first electric motor to drive at a first rotational speed and the second electric motor to also rotate at the first rotational speed (paragraph 0032, 0088).
Regarding claim 19, Pellenc discloses the mower according to claim 18, wherein transmission wheels (72, 74) are disposed on an output shaft of the first electric motor and an output shaft of the second electric motor, respectively, and the synchronization member is mounted on the transmission wheels (see fig. 4a-4c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8, 10, 15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pellenc (US 20180160622 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Pellenc discloses the mower according to claim 3.
Pellenc does not disclose wherein a ratio of the distance to the blade length of the first blade or the blade length of the second blade is higher than or equal to 0.9 and lower than 1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the ratio of the distance to either blade length, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Refer to MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 5, Pellenc discloses the mower according to claim 1, further comprising walking wheels, wherein the walking wheels comprise a front walking wheel assembly and a rear walking wheel assembly, a left front walking wheel has a first center line and a right front walking wheel has a second center line along a front and rear direction (see fig. 1).
Pellenc does not disclose wherein a distance from the first center line to the second center line is greater than or equal to 360 mm and less than or equal to 380 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the distance between the front wheels, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Refer to MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Pellenc discloses the mower according to claim 5, wherein a left rear walking wheel has a third center line along the front and rear direction (see fig. 1).
Pellenc does not disclose wherein a distance from the first center line to the third center line is greater than or equal to 0 mm and less than or equal to 5 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the distance offsetting the front wheel from the rear wheel, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Refer to MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, Pellenc discloses the mower according to claim 5.
Pellenc does not disclose wherein in a left and right direction, a distance from a leftmost cutting trajectory of a cutting assembly to the first center line is greater than or equal to 0 mm and less than or equal to 15 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the distance offsetting the front wheel to the cutting trajectory, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Refer to MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 8, Pellenc discloses the mower according to claim 5,
Pellenc does not disclose wherein in a left and right direction, a distance from a rightmost cutting trajectory of a cutting assembly to the second center line is greater than or equal to 0 mm and less than or equal to 15 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the distance offsetting the wheel to the cutting trajectory, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Refer to MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 10, Pellenc discloses the mower according to claim 9, wherein an anti-rotation structure is disposed or formed on each of the output shaft of the first electric motor and the output shaft of the second electric motor.
Examiner takes official notice that it is old and well known to use an anti-rotation structure when attaching a transmission wheel/pulley to a rotating shaft. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided Pellenc with anti-rotation structures to ensure the output shafts rotate with the transmission wheels.
Regarding claim 15, Pellenc discloses the mower according to claim 14, further comprising a tensioner device abutting against the timing belt to adjust the tension of the timing belt.
Examiner takes official notice that it is old and well known to use tensioning devices in belt and pulley drive arrangements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the belt of Pellenc with a tensioner to prevent the belt slipping.
Regarding claim 20, Pellenc discloses the mower according to claim 18.
Pellenc does not disclose wherein an overall weight of the mower that is fully loaded is less than or equal to 80 kg.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adjust the size of the mower so that its total weight is less than or equal to 80 kg, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20180192580 A1 discloses motor blades that have independently adjustable speeds.
/MADELINE I RUNCO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3671