DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Preliminary amendment filed on 06/23/2025 is acknowledged. Pending claims are 2-21.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,778,271. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are broader and inclusive to the patented claims.
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,211. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are broader and inclusive to the patented claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vaughn et al. (hereinafter ‘Vaughn’, Pub. No. 2021/0073264).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Vaughn teaches a system (100, Fig. 1) (with corresponding method) comprising:
memory storing instructions; control circuitry configured (These elements are inherent in computing devices as seen on fig. 6) to execute the instructions to:
receive one or more user commands indicative of a user's characteristic reaction to one or more segments of content having an associated level of impropriety ([0018]; [0019];[0028]-[0030]);
based on the received commands, generate user sensibility data associating one or more restrictive actions for segments of content having an associated level of impropriety ([0016]-[0018]; [0028]-[0030], where after monitoring user’s reactions, interactions, on viewing sessions, social network reactions to media, etc.; the system generates user profiles with limits and tolerances for different topics and media, and the respective restrictive action);
determine a first level of impropriety for a first segment of content (every content is analyzed per segments, classified and scored for their impropriety/adequacy, [0031]-[0035]);
determine whether the user sensibility data includes one or more restrictive actions associated with the first level of impropriety of the first segment of content ([0016]-[0018]; [0028]-[0030]);
in response to determining that the user sensibility data does include one or more restrictive actions associated with the first level of impropriety of the first segment of content, perform the one or more restrictive actions on the first segment of content (the system dynamically evaluates if a segment of the content is appropriate for the user based on both segment scores and users’ tolerances, and modifies it accordingly. A given segment is accessed if there is no corresponding restriction after evaluation, [0011]; [0022]; [0034]);
determine a second level of impropriety for a second segment of content (every content is analyzed per segments, classified and scored for their impropriety/adequacy, [0031]-[0035]);
determine whether the user sensibility data includes one or more restrictive actions associated with the second level of impropriety of the second segment of content ([0016]-[0018]; [0028]-[0030]); and
in response to determining that the user sensibility data does not include one or more restrictive actions associated with the second level of impropriety of the second segment of content, generate the second segment of content for display without restricting viewing of the second segment of content (the system dynamically evaluates if a segment of the content is appropriate for the user based on both segment scores and users’ tolerances, and modifies it accordingly. A given segment is not accessed if there is corresponding restriction after evaluation, [0011]; [0022]; [0034]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Vaughn teaches further comprising generating for display samples of content from each of a plurality of levels of impropriety to trigger the receiving of one or more user commands indicative of a user's characteristic reaction to one or more of the levels of impropriety of content ([0023]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Vaughn teaches further comprising:
receiving a user command selecting a content item for display; generating the content item for display; and updating the user sensibility data based on commands received in response to generating the content item for display ([0016]-[0021]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Vaughn teaches wherein each segment of content has an associated level of impropriety in relation to each of a plurality of aspects of impropriety (Fig. 5; [0033]; [0034]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Vaughn teaches further comprising classifying a level of impropriety of an upcoming segment of a content item whilst generating for display a current segment of the same content item ([0016]; where the filtering could be live).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Vaughn teaches further comprising generating for display an invitation to the user to override the one or more restrictive actions associated with determined level of impropriety of the first segment of content (warning message, [0015]; [0018]; [0021]; [0023]).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Vaughn teaches further comprising generating for display an invitation to the user to accept the one or more restrictive actions associated with determined level of impropriety of the first segment of content (warning message, [0015]; [0021]; [0023]).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Vaughn teaches wherein the first segment of content comprises audio content, and the one or more restrictive actions comprise muting the audio content, and masking the audio content with a sound ([0015]; [0016]; [0018]; [0020]).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Vaughn teaches wherein the one or more restrictive actions comprise any one of: fast forward the first segment, blur the first segment, skip the first segment, and play an advertisement in place of the first segment ([0015]; [0016]; [0018]; [0020]).
Regarding claims 11 and 21, Vaughn teaches further comprising generating for display a notification notifying the user of imminent display of the first segment, and the first level of impropriety of the first segment (warning message, [0015]; [0018]; [0021]; [0023]).
Conclusion
/OMAR S PARRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421