DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 27-33 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Rhee WO 2008/016983.
As to claim 27, Rhee teaches a method for treating an injury in a patient, the method comprising:
providing a hemostatic porous composite sponge (Fig. 10; paras. 0028, 0131, 0142),
wherein the hemostatic porous composite sponge comprising a matrix of biomaterial (para. 0142) and a bioadhesive material (para. 0187) stably associated with at least one surface of the hemostatic porous composite sponge (paras. 0028, 0131, 0142).
Rhee does not specifically teach the bioadhesive material is present in a range of 2 to 50 mg/cm² of the biomaterial administering the hemostatic porous composite sponge to a site of the injury. Rhee does teach a small amount of sealant matrix composition is required to create an effective sealant matrix barrier, for example only about 0.5-1.0 g fixed on a surface created a 3cm x 3cm page with very good hemostatic properties (para. 0218). However, one having ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine through routine experimentation the amount of bioadhesive material needed for effective hemostasis.
Rhee further teaches the method includes maintaining the hemostatic porous composite sponge to the site of the injury for a pharmaceutically sufficient amount of time so that the injury is treated (para. 0021, claim 34).
As to claims 28, the injury is selected from the group consisting of a wound, a hemorrhage, a damaged tissue and a bleeding tissue (Rhee paras. 0016-0017).
As to claim 29, the bioadhesive material is capable of covalently reacting with tissue of the patient (para. 0240, 0271, 0277).
As to claim 30, the bioadhesive is selected from the group consisting of polyethylene glycol, derivatives of polyethylene glycol, and combinations thereof (paras. 0187-0190)
As to claim 31, the hemostatic porous composite sponge comprises multiple polymers (para. 0219 )
As to claim 32, Rhee teaches the bioadhesive is in the form of a powder (paras. 0026-0028, 0131).
As to claim 33, Rhee teaches the method according to claim 27, wherein the bioadhesive material comprises a mixture of two pre-polymers comprising a first cross-linkable component and a second cross-linkable component that cross-links with the first cross-linkable component under reaction enabling conditions (para. 0023), and the second cross-linkable component comprises a two or more succinimidyl groups (para. 0019, 0022-0023, 0181-0182,190-193).
Double Patenting
Claims 27-30, 32, and 33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-8, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,071,804. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent contain each and every limitation of the aforementioned claims of the instant application as well as additional features. The claims of the US Patent are narrower than the claims of the instant application, and effectively anticipate the instant claims. Thus, the invention of the patent claims 1 and 7 are in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of the instant claim 1. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species". See ln re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claims 27-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-9, and 12-13 of U.S. Patent No. 9,872,934. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent contain each and every limitation of the aforementioned claims of the instant application as well as additional features. The claims of the US Patent are narrower than the claims of the instant application, and effectively anticipate the instant claims. Thus, the invention of the patent claims 1 and 7 are in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of the instant claim 1. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species". See ln re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 5874500, USPN 6166130, USPN 6312725, and USPN 6458889 are cited to show biocompatible polymer compositions for use in tissue augmentations and surgical methods.
/JACQUELINE F STEPHENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781