DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 04/23/2026.
Claim Status
Claim 1 is currently amended
Claims 2-13 have been presented in original form.
Claims 1-13 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shiau et al. (US 2026/0110832 A1) (hereinafter referred to as Shiau).
Regarding claim 1, Shiau discloses a backlight panel (para. 0003), comprising:
a substrate (110);
a plurality of first structures (111) disposed on a surface (S1) of the substrate (110); and
a plurality of second structures (112) disposed on the surface (S1) of the substrate (110), and between the plurality of first structures (111), wherein the plurality of second structures (112) have a different profile from the plurality of first structures (111),
wherein the plurality of first structures (111) and the plurality of second structures (112) are protruding structures. (See figs. 6A-6B; and paras. 0049-0051)
Regarding claim 2, Shiau further discloses the backlight panel according to claim 1, wherein one of the plurality of second structures (112) is surrounded by an even number of the plurality of first structures (111) (figs. 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 3, Shiau further discloses the backlight panel according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of first structures (111) surrounding the one of the plurality of second structures (112) are mirror-arranged along a symmetry plane, and the symmetry plane passes through the one of the plurality of second structures (see figs. 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 5, Shiau further discloses the backlight panel according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of first structures (111) surrounding the one of the plurality of second structures (112) comprises a first unit component and a second unit component, wherein a first distance between the first unit component and the one of the plurality of second structures is shorter than a second distance between the second unit component and the one of the plurality of second structures (see figs. 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 8, Shiau further discloses the backlight panel according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of first structures (111) are arranged in at least two columns, and the plurality of second structures (112) are located between the at least two columns (figs. 6A-6B shows a plurality of structures (111, 112) arranged in columns).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Shiau further discloses wherein one of the plurality of second structures (112) has a bottom surface and a curved surface connected to the bottom surface; and wherein the plurality of second structures (112) are an arc-shaped structure (see figs. 6A-6B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6-7, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiau.
Regarding claim 4, Shiau discloses the claimed invention except for wherein an angle between the symmetry plane and a connection line between the one of the plurality of second structures and one of the plurality of first structures surrounding the one of the plurality of second structures is between 35 degrees and 55 degrees.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select an angle between 35 degrees and 55 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Shiau discloses the claim invention except for wherein the first distance is between 20 micrometers and 35 micrometers; and wherein the second distance is between 31 micrometers and 46 micrometers.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select a first distance between 20 micrometers and 35 micrometers and a second distance between 31 micrometers and 46 micrometers, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 9, Shiau discloses the claimed invention except for
wherein a structure quantity ratio of the plurality of first structures to the plurality of second structures is between 6:1 and 10:1.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select a structure quantity ratio of the plurality of first structures to the plurality of second structures is between 6:1 and 10:1, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 10, Shiau discloses the claimed invention except for wherein an angle between a bottom surface and an inclined surface connected to the bottom surface of one of the plurality of first structures is between 20 degrees and 90 degrees.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select an angle between 20 degrees and 90 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 11, Shiau discloses wherein the plurality of first structures are a ridge-shaped structure (see fig. 4C-4D and 6A-6B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/APRIL A TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876