DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcinkowski et al. (US Pub 2019/0238355) in view of Schau (US Pub 2009/0313790) and further in view of Guarino (US Pub 2008/0013303).
As of claims 1, Marcinkowski discloses an electronic door system comprising:
a door frame (via door frame 102; see fig. 1);
a door hingedly coupled to the door frame (via door 101; see fig. 1);
an electronic locking mechanism coupled to the door (via smart lock 107; see paragraph [0034]);
one or more lights (via light; see paragraph [0076]);
a camera system including at least two of a camera, a proximity or motion sensor, or a doorbell (via cameras 113/114, microphone 115, proximity sensors, doorbell, motion detector; see fig. 2; also see paragraphs [0037], [0043]-[0044], [0048] and [0052]); and
a wiring harness extending through the door frame and the door, the wiring harness coupled to the electronic locking mechanism, the one or more lights, and the camera system, the wiring harness configured to electrically couple to an external power source (via disclosing that the intelligent frame 102 is hardwired into a building's electrical system. Such a configuration not only improves the intelligent door system's aesthetics but also prevents disconnection of a power source by accident, and a connector 106 providing power to intelligent door 101 and frame 102 from an exterior source, hence disclosing a power transfer mechanism; see fig. 1; also see paragraphs [0030] and [0078]).
Further with regard to the limitation of a wiring harness Marcinkowski discloses intelligent frame 102 can include an inductive or automatic electrical coupling mechanism, e.g., different embodiments of connector 106, that mate with a corresponding electrical coupling mechanism of intelligent door 101. For example, an electrical mating between door 101 and frame 102 can involve a male-female coupling (see paragraph [0031]). In order to further support the Examiner’s assertion, Schau a wiring harness extending through the door frame and the door, the wiring harness coupled to the electronic locking mechanism, the one or more lights, and the camera system, the wiring harness configured to electrically couple to an external power source (see paragraphs [0002] and [0006]).
From the teaching of Schau it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a power transfer mechanism as taught by Schau to facilitate pivotally coupled the door to a door jamb and facilitating electrically coupling the lock and the camera to an external power source.
With regards to the limitation of one or more lights coupled to the door frame, Marcinkowski discloses a light coupled to the door (see paragraph [0076]), however it does not explicitly disclose that the light is coupled to the door frame.
Guarino discloses a door system comprising a light coupled to the door jambs (see paragraph [0003]).
From the teaching of Guarino it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the combination of Marcinkowski and Schau to include lights in a door frame as taught by Guarino in order to illuminate the entryway of a house or other building with light that is primarily directed to the door jambs and other parts of the door.
As of claims 9, 11, 13 and 15, combination of the references applied discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as mentioned in claim 1 above, Marcinkowski further discloses that a backup battery is disposed within the door panel (via batteries being included in the door or frame; see paragraphs [0056] and [0074]). Marcinkowski further discloses that a doorbell 118 can include cameras (113 or 114) and motion detector 119 and actuation of the doorbell can initiate a routine which triggers one or more cameras to allow a user to see who is at the door, and can initiate a two-way communication between a user device and a person at intelligent door system 100 via microphone 115, speaker 120, camera(s) 113 and 114, and/or external display 121 (see paragraph [0052]). Marcinkowski further discloses a user interface coupled to an interior side of the door frame or the door (via user interface 411 and display 412; see fig. 4; also see paragraph [0070]).
As of claims 12, 14, 16 and 20, combination of the references applied discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as mentioned in claims 1 and 15 above, Marcinkowski further discloses one or more windows disposed within at least one of the door or the side panel (via hatch 130/display 121; see fig. 2; also see paragraph [0054] and [0061]). Even though the references applied does not explicitly disclose a side panel coupled to the door frame, the Examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art that door system comprises side panels (sidelights) to allow light ingress at the left and right sides of the door (see Olson (US Pub 2016/0053527; paragraph [0005])
As of claim 2, Guarino discloses that the one or more lights are disposed along a doorjamb of the door frame (via one or more lights disposed along a doorjamb; see abstract).
As of claim 3, Schau discloses that the wiring harness includes: a frame wiring harness extending through the door frame (via a flexible tube containing electrical wires in the frame; see paragraph [0006]); a door wiring harness extending through the door (via a flexible tube containing electrical wires in the door; see paragraph [0006]); and a power transfer assembly positioned between the door frame and the door, the power transfer assembly electrically coupling the frame wiring harness to the door wiring harness ( via disclosing that the wires 16 can vary in length but must be long enough to extend far enough out of the round holes 11,13 in the leaves 4,5 to enable the installer to connect them at one end to wires from a power source coming out of a 3/8 inch hole in the frame 2 and at the other end to wires connected to electrical appliances in the door 1 coming out of a 3/8 inch hole in the door face; see paragraph [0066]).
As of claims 4 and 17, Marcinkowski discloses that the intelligent door system is hardwired into building electrical system and power sources include AC power source (see paragraphs [0030] and [0074]). Even though Marcinkowski does not explicitly disclose a power converter configured to be positioned between the external power source and the wiring harness, the power converter configured to receive AC power from the external power source and convert the AC power to DC power, The Examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art that a device that is connected to a AC power sources comprise an AC power to DC power converter to rectify the AC to provide DC (see Sivasankaran et al. (US Pub 2023/0141568), paragraph [0047]).
As of claim 5, Marcinkowski discloses a backup battery, wherein the wiring harness is coupled to the backup battery (via one or more rechargeable batteries providing a backup power source; see paragraph; see paragraph [0056]).
As of claims 6 and 18, Marcinkowski discloses a controller configured to selectively deactivate at least one of the one or more lights or the camera system when the external power source stops providing power to the electronic door system (Marcinkowski discloses that the batteries provide backup power to intelligent door, even though it does not explicitly state selectively deactivating some components but Examiner takes official notice that would have been an obvious design choice that the installer can use to have certain components that are absolutely require for the function of the intelligent door system to be powered while not providing power to certain components in case of power failure for reducing power consumption form battery during power outage; also see Ion (US Pub 2020/0141172, paragraph [0032]).
As of claim 7, Marcinkowski discloses that the backup battery is coupled to the door frame or the door (via one or more rechargeable batteries providing a backup power source; see paragraph; see paragraph [0056]).
As of claims 8 and 19, Marcinkowski discloses that the door system includes a backup up battery (see paragraphs [0056]), however it does not explicitly disclose that the backup battery is configured to be positioned remote from the door frame and the door. The Examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art that a backup battery can be located locally or remotely based on the design on the door system (see Wray et al. (US Pub 2018/0266172, paragraphs [0129] and [0131] and Berkeley (US Pub 2022/0132073; paragraphs [0022]-[0023]).
As of claim 10, Marcinkowski discloses that the doorbell is coupled to the frame (see fig. 2). The Examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art that the video doorbell is coupled to the door (see Swartzmiller (US Pub 2025/0297515) fig. 3A).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,385,318 in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,922,748. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Present Application (19/005649) Claim 1:
An electronic door system comprising: a door frame; a door hingedly coupled to the door frame; an electronic locking mechanism coupled to the door; one or more lights coupled to the door frame; a camera system including at least two of a camera, a proximity or motion sensor, or a doorbell; anda wiring harness extending through the door frame and the door, the wiring harness coupled to the electronic locking mechanism, the one or more lights, and the camera system, the wiring harness configured to electrically couple to an external power source.
Conflicting Patent (12,385,318) Claim 1:
An electronic door system comprising: a door frame including a first side jamb, a second side jamb, a head jamb, and a sill, and wherein at least one of the first side jamb or the second side jamb defines a light channel extending substantially along an entire longitudinal length thereof; a frame wiring harness extending through the door frame; a light strip disposed within and extending along the light channel, a portion of the light strip extending into the head jamb and connected to the frame wiring harness; and a light cover enclosing the light strip within the light channel; a door hingedly coupled to the door frame, the door defining a channel extending along at least a portion of a peripheral edge thereof; an electrically-controllable component coupled to or disposed within the door; a door wiring harness including a wire extending along and within the channel, the wire coupled to the electrically-controllable component; a power transfer assembly positioned between the door frame and the door, the power transfer assembly electrically coupling the frame wiring harness to the door wiring harness; and a cover extending along the peripheral edge and covering the channel.
Comments
The patent claims of 318’ patent include all of the limitations of the instant application claims, except electronic locking mechanism and camera system. However, 748’ patent claims disclose an electronic door system comprising a locking mechanism and a camera (see claim 1). From the teaching of 748’ it would have been obvious to include electronically controllable component including a lock and a camera in since it is well known in the art to include a locking mechanism on a door and a camera to view surrounding of the door.
Present Application 18/780134
Conflicting Patent (12,385,318)
2
1
3, 4, 17
24
5, 6, 18
11
6
1
7-8, 19
24
9-11
318’ in view of Marcinkowski as disclosed in the rejection above.
12
2
13
25
14, 16
24
15, 20
318’ in view of 748’ patent claims as explained above
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,373,471 in view of U.S. Patent No. 12,385,318 in the same manner as rejected above.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,073,674 in view of U.S. Patent No. 12,385,318 in the same manner as rejected above.
Conclusion
/NABIL H SYED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686