DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is in response to claims filed on 12/30/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 11-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2015/0327028) in view of Tonguz et al. (US 2017/0012883).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a method comprising:
detecting or predicting a change in positional relationship between a first vehicle and a second vehicle (additional techniques and processing are used to more accurately detect significant changes in inter-vehicle distances D(t) and in inter-vehicle speeds R(t) that warrant a change to the message transmission rate, [0018]; accurately detect significant changes in inter-vehicle relative distances D(t) and the relative speed between vehicles R(t) that warrant a change to the message transmission rate, [0027]);
based on the detected or predicted change in positional relationship, predicting a change in throughput for a wireless communication link between the first vehicle and the second vehicle (the determined transmission rate of V2V safety messages is selectively dynamically adjusted, preferably though not necessarily, in real time based on factors that directly impact how frequently the vehicles actually need to exchange safety messages, including factors such as vehicle speed, relative vehicle velocities, distances among vehicles, and on how quickly the distances are spreading or closing up, [0027]); and
based on the predicted change in throughput, adjusting a transmission rate for the wireless communication link (the transmission rate 320 of the signals 106 transmitted by the transmitter 122 as determined by the transmission rate control logic 130 is reduced in accordance with an embodiment from a first transmission rate TR1 when the inter-vehicle separation RD between the first and second vehicles 300, 302 is increased from a first relative distance D1 to a second relative distance D2, [0028]; the transmission rate 320 of the signals 106 transmitted by the transmitter 122 as determined by the transmission rate control logic 130 is increased from the second transmission rate TR2 when the inter-vehicle separation RD between the first and second vehicles 300, 302 is reduced from the second relative distance D2 to the first relative distance D1, [0028]).
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose adjusting a size of a congestion window for the wireless communication link.
Tonguz teaches based on a change in throughput, adjusting a size of a congestion window for a wireless communication link (window adapt modules 230, 240 adjust a size 290 of a receive window and a size 300 of a congestion window based on a value 280 associated with a round trip time (RTT), [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust congestion window size in the system/method of Zhang as suggested by Tonguz for better bandwidth utilization and prioritized delivery of messages over connections between vehicles. One would be motivated to combine these teachings to improve reliability and efficiency by adaptively allowing more data to be transmitted when inter-vehicle distance is closer together and prevent packet errors when the inter-vehicle distance is further apart.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the change in positional relationship between the first vehicle and the second vehicle comprises at least one of:
a change in positional relationship that hinders a line of sight between the first vehicle and the second vehicle;
over a threshold increase in distance between the first vehicle and the second vehicle (the transmission rate 320 of the signals 106 transmitted by the transmitter 122 as determined by the transmission rate control logic 130 is reduced in accordance with an embodiment from a first transmission rate TR1 when the inter-vehicle separation RD between the first and second vehicles 300, 302 is increased from a first relative distance D1 to a second relative distance D2, [0028]); and
at least one of the first vehicle and the second vehicle transitioning from a stationary state to a moving state.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches the method of claim 2, wherein predicting the change in throughput for the wireless communication link comprises predicting a decrease in throughput (the apparatus 102 recognizes that when two vehicles such as the first and second vehicles 300, 302 for example are far away from each other, they can receive safety messages from each other at a lower frequency, [0028]; the apparatus 102 recognizes that when two vehicles such as the first and second vehicles 300, 302 for example are far away from each other, they can transmit and receive safety messages between each other at a lower frequency, [0029]).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 4, wherein adjusting size of a congestion window comprises decreasing size of the congestion window.
Tonguz teaches wherein adjusting size of the congestion window comprises decreasing size of the congestion window (If, however, the RTT is greater than D at 630, then the congestion window size 300 is reduced at 640, [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust congestion window size in the system/method of Zhang as suggested by Tonguz for better bandwidth utilization and prioritized delivery of messages over connections between vehicles. One would be motivated to combine these teachings to improve reliability and efficiency by adaptively reducing the congestion window to prevent packet errors when the inter-vehicle distance is further apart.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein detecting or predicting the change in positional relationship between the first vehicle and the second vehicle comprises predicting the change in positional relationship based on at least one of:
intent messages from at least one of the first vehicle, the second vehicle, and a third vehicle predicted to merge in between the first vehicle and the second vehicle;
detected driving behavior of at least one of the first vehicle, the second vehicle, and the third vehicle (The first operational data 140 is representative of one or more of a current speed of the associated first vehicle 102, a current position of the associated first vehicle 102, and a current first driving direction of the associated first vehicle 102, [0025]; real time based on factors that directly impact how frequently the vehicles actually need to exchange safety messages, including factors such as vehicle speed, relative vehicle velocities, distances among vehicles, and on how quickly the distances are spreading or closing up, [0027]); and
navigation data from at least one of the first vehicle and the second vehicle.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches a vehicle comprising:
one or more processors; and
memory storing machine-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the vehicle to:
establish a wireless communication link with a second vehicle (signals 116 containing V2V safety messages being sent by the one or more similarly configured corresponding systems 110 of the one or more associated second vehicles 112 are received by the receiver 124. Also in the example embodiment illustrated, the wireless transmitter 122 of the apparatus 102 is configured to transmit a first signal 106 comprising data representative of a message; preferably a V2V safety message to the one or more associated second vehicles 112, [0023]);
detect or predict a change in positional relationship between the vehicle and the second vehicle (additional techniques and processing are used to more accurately detect significant changes in inter-vehicle distances D(t) and in inter-vehicle speeds R(t) that warrant a change to the message transmission rate, [0018]; accurately detect significant changes in inter-vehicle relative distances D(t) and the relative speed between vehicles R(t) that warrant a change to the message transmission rate, [0027]);
based on the detection or prediction, adjust a transmission rate for the wireless communication link (the transmission rate control logic 130 determines a first message transmission rate for transmitting the first signal 106 by the wireless transmitter 122 in accordance with a processing of the first operational data 140 and the one or more of the speed data 220 representative of the speed of the associated second vehicle 112, the position data 222 representative of the position of the associated second vehicle 112, and the driving direction data 224 representative of the driving direction of the associated second vehicle 112, [0026]; the determined transmission rate of V2V safety messages is selectively dynamically adjusted, preferably though not necessarily, in real time based on factors that directly impact how frequently the vehicles actually need to exchange safety messages, including factors such as vehicle speed, relative vehicle velocities, distances among vehicles, and on how quickly the distances are spreading or closing up, [0027]); and
transmit packets to the second vehicle over the wireless communication link in accordance with the adjusted transmission rate (Thereafter, the wireless transmitter 122 selectively transmits the first signal 106 at the first message transmission rate determined by the transmission rate control logic, [0026]).
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose adjusting a size of a congestion window for the wireless communication link, and transmitting packets over the wireless communication link in accordance with the adjusted size of the congestion window.
Tonguz teaches a vehicle to:
based on a detection or prediction, adjust size of a congestion window for a wireless communication link (window adapt modules 230, 240 adjust a size 290 of a receive window and a size 300 of a congestion window based on a value 280 associated with a round trip time (RTT), [0021]); and
transmit packets to the second vehicle over the wireless communication link in accordance with the adjusted size of the congestion window (the second window adapt module 240 adjusts the size 300 of a congestion window used in the communication methods (e.g., TCP, or other methods) to send information (data packets) to the remote device (also referred to as an upload (UL)), [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust congestion window size in the system/method of Zhang as suggested by Tonguz for better bandwidth utilization and prioritized delivery of messages over connections between vehicles. One would be motivated to combine these teachings to improve reliability and efficiency by adaptively allowing more data to be transmitted when inter-vehicle distance is closer together and prevent packet errors when the inter-vehicle distance is further apart.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches the vehicle of claim 11, wherein the change in positional relationship between the vehicle and the second vehicle comprises at least one of:
a change in positional relationship that un-obstructs a line of sight between the vehicle and the second vehicle;
over a threshold decrease in distance between the vehicle and the second vehicle (the transmission rate 320 of the signals 106 transmitted by the transmitter 122 as determined by the transmission rate control logic 130 is increased from the second transmission rate TR2 when the inter-vehicle separation RD between the first and second vehicles 300, 302 is reduced from the second relative distance D2 to the first relative distance D1, [0028]); and
the vehicle and the second vehicle transitioning from moving states to stationary states.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang does not explicitly disclose the vehicle of claim 12, wherein adjusting size of a congestion window comprises at least one of increasing size of the congestion window, and reducing a rate of decrease in size for the congestion window.
Tonguz teaches wherein adjusting size of the congestion window comprises at least one of:
increasing size of the congestion window (If, however, there is a packet loss at 660, the congestion window size 300 is increased at 670 and 680, [0036]); and
reducing a rate of decrease in size for the congestion window.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust congestion window size in the system/method of Zhang as suggested by Tonguz for better bandwidth utilization and prioritized delivery of messages over connections between vehicles. One would be motivated to combine these teachings to improve reliability and efficiency by adaptively increasing a congestion window to allow more data to be transmitted when inter-vehicle distance is closer together.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches the vehicle of claim 11, wherein the memory stores further instructions, that when executed by the one or more processors, cause the vehicle to:
based on the detected or predicted change in positional relationship between the vehicle and the second vehicle, predict a change in throughput for the wireless communication link (the determined transmission rate of V2V safety messages is selectively dynamically adjusted, preferably though not necessarily, in real time based on factors that directly impact how frequently the vehicles actually need to exchange safety messages, including factors such as vehicle speed, relative vehicle velocities, distances among vehicles, and on how quickly the distances are spreading or closing up, [0027]);
wherein adjusting the transmission rate is based on the predicted change in throughput (the transmission rate 320 of the signals 106 transmitted by the transmitter 122 as determined by the transmission rate control logic 130 is reduced in accordance with an embodiment from a first transmission rate TR1 when the inter-vehicle separation RD between the first and second vehicles 300, 302 is increased from a first relative distance D1 to a second relative distance D2, [0028]; the transmission rate 320 of the signals 106 transmitted by the transmitter 122 as determined by the transmission rate control logic 130 is increased from the second transmission rate TR2 when the inter-vehicle separation RD between the first and second vehicles 300, 302 is reduced from the second relative distance D2 to the first relative distance D1, [0028]).
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose adjusting size of a congestion window.
Tonguz teaches wherein adjusting size of the congestion window is based on a change in throughput (window adapt modules 230, 240 adjust a size 290 of a receive window and a size 300 of a congestion window based on a value 280 associated with a round trip time (RTT), [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust congestion window size in the system/method of Zhang as suggested by Tonguz for better bandwidth utilization and prioritized delivery of messages over connections between vehicles. One would be motivated to combine these teachings to improve reliability and efficiency by adaptively allowing more data to be transmitted when inter-vehicle distance is closer together and prevent packet errors when the inter-vehicle distance is further apart.
Regarding claim 15, the system claim comprises limitations equivalent to those of method claim 1, and therefore is rejected in view of the same rationale.
Regarding claim 16, the system claim comprises limitations equivalent to those of method claim 2, and therefore is rejected in view of the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18, the system claim comprises limitations equivalent to those of method claims 4 and 5, and therefore is rejected in view of the same rationale.
Regarding claim 19, the system claim comprises limitations equivalent to those of method claim 12, and therefore is rejected in view of the same rationale.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang teaches the system claim 19, wherein:
predicting the change in throughput for the wireless communication link comprises predicting an increase in throughput (the transmission rate 320 of the signals 106 transmitted by the transmitter 122 as determined by the transmission rate control logic 130 is increased from the second transmission rate TR2 when the inter-vehicle separation RD between the first and second vehicles 300, 302 is reduced, [0028]).
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose adjusting size of a congestion window comprises at least one of increasing size of the congestion window or reducing a rate of decrease in size for the congestion window.
Tonguz teaches adjusting size of the congestion window comprises at least one of:
increasing size of the congestion window (If, however, there is a packet loss at 660, the congestion window size 300 is increased at 670 and 680, [0036]); and
reducing a rate of decrease in size for the congestion window.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust congestion window size in the system/method of Zhang as suggested by Tonguz for better bandwidth utilization and prioritized delivery of messages over connections between vehicles. One would be motivated to combine these teachings to improve reliability and efficiency by adaptively increasing a congestion window to allow more data to be transmitted when inter-vehicle distance is closer together.
3. Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang-Tonguz in view of Gulati et al. (US 2020/0007247) and in further view of Switkes et al. (US 2020/0135032).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang-Tonguz do not explicitly disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the change in positional relationship hinders a line of sight between the first and the second vehicle.
Gulati teaches wherein a change in positional relationship hinders a line of sight between a first and a second vehicle (Vehicles may travel an high relative speeds, which may lead to a channel changes in channel conditions between transmissions, [0006]; accurate link adaptation by enabling a UE to more accurately determine whether a line-of-sight (LOS) condition exists with another UE and/or to perform link adaptation based on a prediction of a location or trajectory of a UE, [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider line-of-sight between vehicles in the system/method of Zhang-Tonguz as suggested by Gulati when factoring an inter-vehicle distance between the vehicles for adapting transmission parameters. One would be motivated to combine these teachings to recognize a line-of-sight condition as an indicator of the proximity between the vehicles and how the transmission of messages should be prioritized between them.
However, Zhang-Tonguz-Gulati do not explicitly disclose the change in positional relationship comprises at least one of a third vehicle merging in between the first vehicle and the second vehicle, and over a threshold change in heading for the first vehicle relative to a heading of the second vehicle.
Switkes teaches a change in positional relationship comprises at least one of:
a third vehicle merging in between the first vehicle and the second vehicle (intervening traffic (e.g., cut-ins, also referred to as the situation when a vehicle enters an area between a lead vehicle and a rear vehicle causing a dissolve), [0040]), and
over a threshold change in heading for the first vehicle relative to a heading of the second vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to detect intervening vehicle traffic in the system/method of Zhang-Tonguz-Gulati as suggested by Switkes because a vehicle entering between two other vehicles could impact quality of a communication link between the two other vehicles. One would be motivated to combine these teachings to increase efficiency by recognizing vehicle cut-ins as a condition considered to adversely impact packets transmitted between communicating vehicles.
Regarding claim 17, the system claim comprises limitations equivalent to those of method claim 3, and therefore is rejected in view of the same rationale.
4. Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang-Tonguz in view of Ingerman (US 2022/0132283) and in further view of Kulkarni et al. (US 2019/0182170).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising adjusting the size of a congestion window or controlling size of the congestion window in accordance with a congestion control algorithm.
Tonguz teaches adjusting the size of the congestion window (window adapt modules 230, 240 adjust a size 290 of a receive window and a size 300 of a congestion window based on a value 280 associated with a round trip time (RTT), [0021]); and
controlling size of the congestion window in accordance with a congestion control algorithm of a communication protocol governing the wireless communication link (CWND=CWND*Y, [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust congestion window size in the system/method of Zhang as suggested by Tonguz for better bandwidth utilization and prioritized delivery of messages over connections between vehicles. One would be motivated to combine these teachings and to utilize a congestion algorithm as a consistent way to adaptively adjust a congestion window based on network conditions or inter-vehicle distance.
However, Zhang-Tonguz do not explicitly disclose detecting the first vehicle and the second vehicle have both come to stationary states, are within a threshold distance of each other, and have an unobstructed line of sight to each other, and responsive detecting the first vehicle and the second vehicle have both come to stationary states, are within the threshold distance of each other, and have an unobstructed line of sight to each other controlling transfer parameters in accordance with a communication protocol governing the wireless communication link.
Ingerman teaches detecting a first vehicle and a second vehicle have both come to stationary states, are within a threshold distance of each other, and have an unobstructed line of sight to each other (Proximity—based on location; i.e., are the vehicles in range of each other's wireless radios?, [0044]); and
responsive detecting the first vehicle and the second vehicle have both come to stationary states, are within the threshold distance of each other, and have an unobstructed line of sight to each other:
controlling transfer parameters in accordance with a communication protocol governing the wireless communication link (Say vehicle A is heading north, and vehicle B is heading west. They are both stopped at a traffic light. Either there is a turn signal so neither can proceed or a walk light. Either way, the cars are likely stopped for 15 seconds. If the connection negotiation and coordination takes 5 seconds, there is still 10 seconds of data transfer. Because WiFi can send data at rates from 200 Mbps to just over 1 Gbps, even a slow rate. 200 Mbps that lasts 10 seconds can send 200 MB of information, [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize stopped vehicles in proximity of one another in the system/method of Zhang-Tonguz as suggested by Ingerman as an opportunity for the vehicles to efficiently exchange messages. One would be motivated to combine these teaching to utilize network conditions during certain circumstances to securely and effectively communicate between vehicles.
However, Zhang-Tonguz-Ingerman do not explicitly disclose a default congestion control algorithm.
Kulkarni teaches controlling size of a congestion window in accordance with a default congestion control algorithm (see TABLE 1, [0055]) of a communication protocol governing the wireless communication link (a network protocol with congestion control, [0022])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a default congestion control algorithm in the system/method of Zhang-Tonguz-Ingerman as suggested by Kulkarni given the teachings of Tonguz for specifying use of congestion algorithm. One would be motivated to combine these teachings to provide a standard congestion setting to apply during certain vehicle and network circumstances, such as an initial or uncongested state.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang-Tonguz-Ingerman do not explicitly disclose the method of claim 6, wherein the communication protocol comprises a congestion control-based network protocol.
Kulkarni teaches wherein the communication protocol comprises a congestion control-based network protocol (a network protocol with congestion control, [0022])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize a network protocol with congestion control in the system/method of Zhang-Tonguz-Ingerman as suggested by Kulkarni given the desirability for adaptable network parameters between vehicles. One would be motivated to combine these teachings to utilize a protocol that enables control and adjustment of network transmission links.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 6, wherein controlling size of a congestion window in accordance with a congestion control algorithm comprises increasing size of the congestion window.
Tonguz teaches wherein controlling size of the congestion window in accordance with the congestion control algorithm (CWND=CWND*Y, [0036]) comprises increasing size of the congestion window (If, however, there is a packet loss at 660, the congestion window size 300 is increased at 670 and 680, [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust congestion window size in the system/method of Zhang as suggested by Tonguz for better bandwidth utilization and prioritized delivery of messages over connections between vehicles. One would be motivated to combine these teachings and to utilize a congestion algorithm as a consistent way to adaptively adjust a congestion window based on network conditions or inter-vehicle distance.
However, Zhang-Tonguz-Ingerman do not explicitly disclose a default congestion control algorithm.
Kulkarni teaches the default congestion control algorithm (see TABLE 1, [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a default congestion control algorithm in the system/method of Zhang-Tonguz-Ingerman as suggested by Kulkarni given the teachings of Tonguz for specifying use of congestion algorithm. One would be motivated to combine these teachings to provide a standard congestion setting to apply during certain vehicle and network circumstances, such as an initial or uncongested state.
5. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang-Tonguz in view of Avedisov et al. (US 2022/0116820).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang-Tonguz do not explicitly disclose the method of claim 9, wherein at least two of the first vehicle, the second vehicle, and the third vehicle form a vehicular micro-cloud (VMC) and the intent messages are transmitted among members of the VMC.
Avedisov teaches wherein at least two of the first vehicle, the second vehicle, and the third vehicle form a vehicular micro-cloud (VMC) (a vehicular micro cloud includes as a group of connected vehicles where vehicles perform task(s) cooperatively/collaboratively, [0062]) and the intent messages are transmitted among members of the VMC (A vehicular micro cloud includes a group of connected vehicles that communicate with one another via V2X messages to provide a location data correction service, [0066]; The vehicular micro cloud includes multiple members. A member of the vehicular micro cloud includes a connected vehicle that sends and receives V2X messages via the serverless ad-hoc vehicular network, [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a vehicular micro cloud in the system/method of Zhang-Tonguz as suggested by Avedisov for enabling a group of connected vehicles to cooperatively collaborate. One would be motivated to combine these teachings for vehicles in a designated vicinity or distance from one another to efficiently exchange relevant location and safety messages.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Grimm et al. US 2011/0205943 – adaptive data modulation rate optimization to increase throughput dependent on distance between vehicles.
Fukuyama US 2013/0179056 – exchanging significant information between vehicles in a vehicular network.
Lee et al. US 2014/0092735 – controlling congestion in vehicular communication based on a vehicles position information.
Huang et al. US 2015/0092661 – adjusting size of a congestion window to avoid congestion.
Jiang et al. US 2018/0261097 – determining a vehicle is less than a threshold distance away and increasing channel congestion to get better communication performance.
Wigard et al. US 2019/0184993 – determining intervehicle distance based on measured network latency.
Axmon et al. US 2019/0319723 – evaluating channel occupancy rate more as a device moves towards other vehicles.
Magzimof et al. US 2019/0320328 – adjusting a network congestion window dependent on a location of a vehicle to optimize network performance.
Cheng et al. US 2020/0260512 – reconfiguring a link due to changing radio conditions such, such as moving closer or further away from each other.
Rajab et al. US 2021/0385684 – channel congestion control based on estimating a level of channel congestion and selecting a MCS level based on a congestion level being higher than a threshold.
Zhu et al. US 2023/0219581 – a vehicle updating a channel bandwidth based on factors such as vehicle position and distance between a neighboring vehicle.
Magzimof et al. US 2023/0247443 - decrease the value of the TCP congestion window parameter as the vehicle 102 approaches a location with poor wireless connectivity.
Zhou et al. WO 2019/137622 – determining V2X communication parameters associated with a congestion control scheme implemented on a vehicular user equipment for communicating with other vehicular user equipment.
MADHU WOOLCOCK
Examiner
Art Unit 2451
/MADHU WOOLCOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451