DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea(s) without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 1, analyzed as the representative claim:
[Step 1] Claim 1 recites “A method…” which falls within the “process” statutory category of invention under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
[Step 2A – Prong 1] Claim 1 recites “A method for predicting problematic betting behavior of users of an electronic betting platform, comprising: receiving, using a network interface of betting behavior monitoring software, betting data associated with a user of the electronic betting platform, wherein the betting data is generated by processing one or more electronic bets placed by the user via the electronic betting platform into the betting data; inputting the betting data into at least one trained machine learning model and outputting from the at least one trained machine learning model at least one respective betting behavior value, the at least one respective betting behavior value representative of a likelihood that the user is to self-exclude from the electronic betting platform for problematic betting behavior by the user, the at least one trained machine learning model comprising at least a first trained machine learning model, a second trained machine learning model, and a third trained machine learning model; identifying, from the at least one respective betting behavior value, at least one intervention operation to provide electronic support resources to the user in connection with the identified problematic betting behavior; and executing, using the network interface, the at least one intervention operation by at least in part transmitting the electronic support resources to the user via a computer-implemented network.” The bolded limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, encompass methods of organizing human activity (including managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people) or mental processes (including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion). That is, other than reciting that the method is performed using a “network interface,” “software,” an “electronic betting platform,” and “trained machine learning models,” nothing in the claim precludes the steps from practically being performed by a human and/or in the human mind. Specifically, the claim encompasses a casino employee reviewing measured betting data, determining whether a player appears likely to self-exclude due to problematic betting behaviors, determining an intervention method, and conducting that intervention. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea(s).
[Step 2A – Prong 2] The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Specifically, the claim recites the additional element of a program executing on a computing device for performing the method steps, wherein the computing device and executed computer program are recited at a high level of generality and merely automate the receiving, inputting, outputting, identifying, and executing steps. Therefore, these additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computing device, which does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea(s). Additionally and/or alternatively, the limitations of receiving betting data and transmitting electronic support resources are drawn to insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering and data transmission). See MPEP § 2106.05(g). Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea(s).
[Step 2B] The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea(s) into a practical application, the additional elements of network interface, software, an electronic betting platform, and trained machine learning models used to perform the method steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computing device, which cannot provide an inventive concept. Taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, improves any other technology, and/or implements the use of a particular machine. Instead, their collective functions appear to merely provide conventional computer implementation. Accordingly, representative claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Claims 2-8 are dependent on representative claim 1 and include all of the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, the dependent claims recite the same abstract idea(s) as those recited in the independent claim or contain limitations drawn to generic computer components and/or reciting extra solution activities. While the dependent claims may have a narrower scope than the representative claim, no claim contains an additional element to integrate the abstract idea(s) into a practical application or to render an inventive concept that transforms the corresponding claim into a patent eligible application of the otherwise ineligible abstract idea(s). Thereby, claims 2-8 are also patent ineligible. Independent claims 9 and 15 (and dependent claims 10-14 and 16-20) are rejected under similar reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 13, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0137577 (hereinafter “Anbazhagan”) in view of US 2025/0157284 (hereinafter “Wolfe”).
Regarding Claims 1, 9, and 15, Anbazhagan discloses receiving, using a network interface of betting behavior monitoring software, betting data associated with a user of the electronic betting platform, wherein the betting data is generated by processing one or more electronic bets placed by the user via the electronic betting platform into the betting data (par. 0126: “the betting POS 1326 may include a wager database 1332 that is local to the data center 160a and tracks wagers made by the user connected to the data center… the betting POS 1326 may provide communications with an external bet placement service 1340 that is within the central data center 160b”);
inputting the betting data into at least one trained machine learning model (par. 0146: “the machine learning service 412 may utilize information, including information from data streams 150, 150a, 150b, 150c… to detect patterns, and may consider several factors in determining a user's level of risk… such factors include: if a player tends to spend more when losing; if a player spends/loses more at certain times… the amounts of a player's bets”) and outputting from the at least one trained machine learning model at least one respective betting behavior value, the at least one respective betting behavior value representative of a likelihood that the user is to self-exclude from the electronic betting platform for problematic betting behavior by the user (par. 0146: “the machine learning service 412… may consider several factors in determining a user's level of risk;” par. 0145: “the machine learning service 412 may detect unusual and/or potentially detrimental player activity and, upon detecting such activity, initiate action to encourage the player to engage in more responsible gameplay;” Examiner notes a user’s level of risk and a user’s likelihood of self-excluding are well-known within the field to directly correlate);
identifying, from the at least one respective betting behavior value, at least one intervention operation to provide electronic support resources to the user in connection with the identified problematic betting behavior (fig. 22: different intervention operations are presented depending on the determined level of concern; par. 0017: “the machine learning component may determine that a user is a particularly high risk user and the server may be configured to place a restriction on the user's account”); and
executing, using the network interface, the at least one intervention operation by at least in part transmitting the electronic support resources to the user via a computer-implemented network (par. 0145: “a system may provide education (via documents or other materials informing a player of potential risks and tools available to reduce such risks), intervention (prompting player interaction with the system, providing opportunities to implement optional tools to reduce risk), and prevention (automatically preventing a player from engaging in potentially detrimental activity;” par. 0162: “FIGS. 20A and 20B show an exemplary message 2002 sent to a user's inbox in a mobile application associated with the system. The message may include information 2004 regarding gambling control tools, may encourage the user to use such tools, and may include an interface, or a link 2006 to an interface, that allows the user to access and implement such tools;” par. 0068: “The users access services provided by way of the system 100 via the Internet or other network 110 using a variety of user devices 120;” fig. 18: system components configured to monitor gameplay, provide warnings, promote responsible gameplay, and prevent detrimental gaming activity according to embodiments).
Anbazhagan does not disclose the machine learning model comprises three learning models. However, Wolfe discloses the at least one trained machine learning model comprising at least a first trained machine learning model, a second trained machine learning model, and a third trained machine learning model (par. 0077: “an optimal ML model set (e.g., the subset of models from the library that produces the most accurate prediction(s) for a target function specified by target variable output(s)). The subset of optimal ML models may be referred to herein as the ‘developed ML model set’… each developed ML model set 142 can include the subset of ML models that best fit the casino-specific gaming data and/or the specified target variable outputs;” par. 0043: “the gaming data aggregator 122 obtains gaming data from database 124, which stores historical data related to players (e.g., stored in SQL or other relational type database) or database 126 which stores real-time data related to players. In one embodiment, the gaming data aggregator 133 (also referred to as “aggregator 133”) aggregates the historical data (e.g., from database 124) and/or the real-time data (e.g., database 126) prior to injecting into an ML model… ingested real-time data (e.g., real-time performance of a player or patron) may be… evaluated in combination with ingested historical data (e.g., past performance of player/patron) into a single ingestion event prior to being provided to an ML model(s) (e.g., prior to being provided to an ML model from the developed ML model set 142);” Examiner notes a trained machine learning model comprising a subset of trained machine learning models is described, in which historical data, recent data, and combined historical/recent data are each fed into one of three subset learning models).
Anbazhagan and Wolfe are analogous arts because they both teach using a machine learning model(s) to make predictions regarding a casino player’s behaviors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the subset of three machine learning models of Wolfe with the predictive model of Anbazhagan in order to increase the accuracy of the prediction model (Wolfe, par. 0077) using various periods of time of the player’s gambling history (Wolfe, par. 0043).
Further regarding Claim 9, Anbazhagan modified by Wolfe discloses at least one computer readable storage medium storing processor executable instructions that, when executed by at least one hardware processor (Anbazhagan, figs. 1, 4; par. 0068: “software running on a user device 120. Such software may be an application, such as a mobile app, a desktop computer application, or other software application suitable to access the services and applications described herein, which may be on the user device 120”), cause the at least one hardware processor to perform a method comprising the above steps (see claim 1).
Further regarding Claim 15, Anbazhagan modified by Wolfe discloses at least one hardware processor; and at least one computer-readable storage medium storing processor executable instructions, that, when executed by the at least one hardware processor (Anbazhagan, figs. 1, 4; par. 0068: “software running on a user device 120. Such software may be an application, such as a mobile app, a desktop computer application, or other software application suitable to access the services and applications described herein, which may be on the user device 120”), cause the at least one hardware processor to perform a method comprising the above steps (see claim 1).
Regarding Claims 2, 10, and 16, Anbazhagan modified by Wolfe further discloses the first trained machine learning model is trained to classify betting behavior of the user in a first time period (Wolfe, par. 0043: “the gaming data aggregator 122 obtains gaming data from database 124, which stores historical data related to players (e.g., stored in SQL or other relational type database)… aggregates the historical data (e.g., from database 124)… prior to injecting into an ML model”),
the second trained machine learning model is trained to classify betting behavior of the user in a second time period, the second time period different from the first time period (Wolfe, par. 0043: “the gaming data aggregator 122 obtains gaming data from… database 126 which stores real-time data related to players… aggregates… the real-time data (e.g., database 126) prior to injecting into an ML model”), and
the third trained machine learning model is trained to classify betting behavior of the user in a third time period, the third time period comprising at least a portion of the first time period and a portion of the second time period (Wolfe, par. 0043: “ingested real-time data (e.g., real-time performance of a player or patron) may be… evaluated in combination with ingested historical data (e.g., past performance of player/patron) into a single ingestion event prior to being provided to an ML model(s) (e.g., prior to being provided to an ML model from the developed ML model set 142)”).
The combination of the problematic betting behavior prediction method/system of Anbazhagan with the particular subset of trained machine learning models of Wolfe described above for Claims 1, 9, and 15 would have included these time periods.
Regarding Claims 3, 11, and 17, Anbazhagan modified by Wolfe further discloses the first time period is an initial time period that the user engaged with the electronic betting platform (Wolfe, par. 0043: “the gaming data aggregator 122 obtains gaming data from database 124, which stores historical data related to players (e.g., stored in SQL or other relational type database)… aggregates the historical data (e.g., from database 124)… prior to injecting into an ML model;” par. 0044: “historical data may include data that occurs within the casino system 130 a certain time period in the past… e.g., events that occurred in the past before a current date;” Examiner notes the historical data includes the user’s earliest/initial data),
the second time period is a recent time period that the user engaged with the electronic betting platform (Wolfe, par. 0043: “the gaming data aggregator 122 obtains gaming data from… database 126 which stores real-time data related to players… aggregates… the real-time data (e.g., database 126) prior to injecting into an ML model;” par. 0044: “real-time data may include data that occurs most recently (e.g., today, for a current trip, etc.)”), and
the third time period is a continuous time period that spans from the initial time period through the recent time period (Wolfe, par. 0043: “ingested real-time data (e.g., real-time performance of a player or patron) may be distinguished (e.g., separately classified) and evaluated in combination with ingested historical data (e.g., past performance of player/patron) into a single ingestion event prior to being provided to an ML model(s) (e.g., prior to being provided to an ML model from the developed ML model set 142)”).
The combination of the problematic betting behavior prediction method/system of Anbazhagan with the particular subset of trained machine learning models of Wolfe described above for Claims 1, 9, and 15 would have included these time periods.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Anbazhagan further discloses the at least one intervention operation comprises transmitting, to the user, an electronic message comprising the electronic support resources (Anbazhagan, par. 0162: “a scenario for raising awareness of gambling control tools, and ensuring that users have access to such tools… determines that a user is a low risk user… FIGS. 20A and 20B show an exemplary message 2002 sent to a user's inbox in a mobile application associated with the system. The message may include information 2004 regarding gambling control tools, may encourage the user to use such tools, and may include an interface, or a link 2006 to an interface, that allows the user to access and implement such tools;” par. 0145: “a system may provide education (via documents or other materials informing a player of potential risks and tools available to reduce such risks)”).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Anbazhagan further discloses the at least one intervention operation comprises implementing restrictions on betting behavior of the user (Anbazhagan, par. 0017: “the machine learning component may determine that a user is a particularly high risk user and the server may be configured to place a restriction on the user's account;” par. 0182: “a restriction may automatically be placed on the user's account. For example, a monthly deposit limit may be automatically placed on the user's account… any restrictions placed on the user's account may remain in place until the system confirms that the user has communicated with an agent”).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Anbazhagan further discloses the at least one intervention operation comprises disabling access for the user to the electronic betting platform (Anbazhagan, par. 0155: “if the user's level of risk is determined to be higher… may force a user to take a break, such as by preventing certain gameplay or certain application use… the player may be blocked from betting on sporting events, blocked from playing games like bingo, casino games… player activity may be stopped while a player is using an application or playing a game, such as by blocking a casino game launch or blocking a spin in such a game, or by blocking a launch or draw in bingo or poker… preventing a player from using, betting, or depositing more money”).
Regarding Claims 13 and 19, modified Anbazhagan further discloses the at least one intervention operation comprises at least one of (i) transmitting, to the user, an electronic message comprising the electronic support resources (Anbazhagan, par. 0145: “a system may provide education (via documents or other materials informing a player of potential risks and tools available to reduce such risks)”), (ii) implementing restrictions on betting behavior of the user (par. 0017: “the machine learning component may determine that a user is a particularly high risk user and the server may be configured to place a restriction on the user's account;” par. 0182: “a restriction may automatically be placed on the user's account. For example, a monthly deposit limit may be automatically placed on the user's account… any restrictions placed on the user's account may remain in place until the system confirms that the user has communicated with an agent”), or (iii) disabling access for the user to the electronic betting platform (par. 0155: “if the user's level of risk is determined to be higher… may force a user to take a break, such as by preventing certain gameplay or certain application use… the player may be blocked from betting on sporting events, blocked from playing games like bingo, casino games… player activity may be stopped while a player is using an application or playing a game, such as by blocking a casino game launch or blocking a spin in such a game, or by blocking a launch or draw in bingo or poker… preventing a player from using, betting, or depositing more money”).
Claims 4, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anbazhagan in view of Wolfe as applied to claims 1, 9, and 15 above, and further in view of US 2025/0384743 (hereinafter “Latifi”).
Regarding Claims 4, 12, and 18, modified Anbazhagan does not explicitly teach a neural network integrated with XGBoost. However, Latifi discloses at least one of the first trained machine learning model, the second trained machine learning model, or the third trained machine learning model comprises a neural network integrated with XGBoost (par. 0141: “a preferred AI model for models 408, 412, and 416 is a… neural network trained with time series data in a timely manner… machine learning algorithms that may be employed include… XGBoost;” par. 0137: “secondary game prediction data model 416 can be modified or trained using the observed player behavior”).
Anbazhagan and Latifi are analogous arts because they both teach using a machine learning model(s) to make predictions regarding a casino player’s behaviors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the neural network integrated with XGBoost with the prediction model of modified Anbazhagan because such a model is ideal for time series data (Latifi, pars. 0033, 0141). Furthermore, XGBoost is well-known within the industry to be an optimal framework for prediction models due to its speed and predictive accuracy.
Claims 8, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anbazhagan in view of Wolfe as applied to claims 1, 9, and 15 above, and further in view of US 2008/0090645 (hereinafter “Walker”).
Regarding Claims 8, 14, and 20, modified Anbazhagan implies but does not explicitly disclose displaying a betting behavior value to a team member (Anbazhagan, par. 0173). However, Walker discloses displaying, on at least one display device, the at least one respective betting behavior value to a member of a responsible gaming team (par. 0048: “casino employees may be equipped with or otherwise utilize one or more casino personnel devices 125A, such as personal digital assistants (PDAs) or other computing devices (e.g., personal computer terminals). A casino personnel device 125A may comprise…an LCD screen… a casino personnel device may be configurable to, among other things, (i) read from… one or more databases of the present invention… to (i) obtain, display and/or view information about a player who has provided an input that may indicate that the player qualifies as a problem gambler;” par. 0179: “The player database 400 may also define fields for each of the entries or records. The fields specify… a problem gambler status field 430 that indicates a status of the player with respect to a problem gambler designation; and… a problem gambler score 435, if any, that is associated with the player;” figs. 4A-4B & 9).
Anbazhagan and Walker are analogous arts because they both teach determining a user’s risk level regarding problematic gambling activities and implementing intervention and/or prevention methods. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the displaying of the betting behavior value to a team member in order to allow the team member to intervene based on the determined level of risk (Walker, figs. 6A-6B; pars. 0048, 0187).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2024/0177562 (Mouridsen) teaches systems and methods of identifying possible problematic behavior in gambling using machine learning techniques.
US 2025/0087044 (Jovanovic) teaches a risk profiling system used in wagering systems which inputs collected biometric data into a machine learning model.
US 2017/0169656 (Froy) teaches a method of determining whether a player is exhibiting problematic gambling behavior by analyzing collected physiological data and player betting history. Machine learning algorithms, such as statistical classifying, are utilized.
/J.G.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/STEVE ROWLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715