DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
This communication is in response to the amendments filed on 25 June 2026:
Claims 1, 11 and 20 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s remarks filed on 25 June 2026:
a. Applicant’s arguments that Stapleton and Canedo do not teach or suggest “the response indicator suggesting an alternative response, which is configured to replace a portion of an AI response that is received from the AI model as a result of the AI prompt being processed with a replacement portion, as a response to the AI prompt” regarding claims 1-19 has been fully considered and is deemed fully persuasive. Applicant’s attention is directed to the allowable subject matter presented below.
b. Applicant’s arguments that Stapleton and Canedo do not teach or suggest “as a result of the response indicator suggesting the alternative response in lieu of the AI response as the response to the AI prompt, provide the alternative response in lieu of the AI response as the response to the AI prompt” has been fully considered and is deemed fully persuasive with respect to claims 1-19, which require the alternative response comprising a replacement portion for an AI response that is received from the AI model. As for claim 20, the arguments have been fully considered but are deemed not-persuasive. Applicant’s attention is directed to Stapleton, Paragraph [0093], see “…the system may cause one or more computing devices to provide output that indicates that the one or more parameters of the trained machine learning model have been compromised…”, which is being read as providing the alternative response (e.g., model has been compromised) in lieu of the AI response as the response to the AI prompt. The indication that the model has been compromised (e.g., alternative response) is responsive to the AI prompt, whether the AI prompt had malicious input or was a directed prompt injection. The Examiner suggests amending claim 20 to include the limitation of the alternative response being configured to replace a portion of the AI response that is received from the AI model as a result of the AI prompt being processed with a replacement portion, as a response to the AI prompt.
c. Applicant’s arguments that Stapleton and Canedo do not teach or suggest “the response indicator suggesting an alternative response that is responsive to the AI prompt in lieu of the an AI response, which is received from the AI model as a result of the AI prompt being processed, as a response to the AI prompt” regarding claim 20 has been fully considered but is deemed not-persuasive. Applicant’s attention is directed to Stapleton, Paragraph [0093], see “…the system may analyze the decrypted output data to determine whether one or more of the parameters of the trained machine learning model have been compromised…the analysis may include determining whether the decrypted output data complies with an expected output structure…If these constraints are not satisfied by decrypted data, that may indicate that the model has been compromised…the system may cause one or more computing devices to provide output that indicates that the one or more parameters of the trained machine learning model have been compromised…”, where the response indicator suggests an alternative response in lieu of an AI response (e.g., providing an output that indicates that the model has been compromised).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STAPLETON et al. (WO 2020/151964), hereinafter Stapleton, in view of Canedo et al. (U.S. PGPub. 2021/0150359), hereinafter Canedo.
Regarding claim 20, Stapleton teaches A computing system comprising:
a memory that stores an operating system and an artificial intelligence (AI) model (Stapleton, Paragraph [0013], see “…execute instructions stored in associated memory…”) (Stapleton, Paragraph [0035], see “…one or more ML models may be stored by AI provider system 100 in a ML model database 104…”) (Stapleton, Paragraph [0040], see “…a ML model is stored remotely from AI provider system 100, e.g., in database 116, one or more clients…may host a software application that is operable by end users 114 to make use of the ML model…”), the operating system including a utility that is configured to transfer encrypted communications between a (Stapleton, Fig. 1, see “102”, “110”, and “100”, wherein the utility (the connection between 102 and 110) is configured to transfer encrypted communications between a processing unit (comprised in 102) and a cloud-based security service (“AI PROVIDER SYSTEM 100”)); and
the
execute the AI model (Stapleton, Paragraph [0038], see “…Application engine 107 may apply this input data across one or more ML models…to generate output”, which is being read as executing the AI model);
encrypt AI interaction data (Stapleton, Paragraph [0008], see “…applying the encrypted input data as input across the encrypted training machine learning model to generate encrypted output”, where “encrypted output” is being read as comprising encrypted AI interaction data), which includes an AI prompt (Stapleton, Paragraph [0008], see “…applying the encrypted input data as input across the encrypted training machine learning model…”, where “encrypted input data” is being read as comprising an AI prompt), using a cryptographic key to provide encrypted AI interaction data (Stapleton, Paragraph [0057], see “Before or during input stage 438, an encryption key 446 may be provided, e.g., by AI provider system 100 to one or more remote computing systems 102…This encryption key 446 may be used by one or more users to generate, from data provided by sources 444, encrypted data 448. When the time comes to apply the encrypted input data 448 across one or more ML models…various actions may be taken”, where “encryption key” is being read as a cryptographic key which is used to provide the encrypted AI interaction data);
provide the encrypted AI interaction data to the cloud-based security service (Stapleton, Paragraph [0033], see “…AI provider system 100 may provide, to one or more individuals access to one or more machine learning (“ML”) models”, wherein the AI models (machine learning models) are stored locally on the cloud-based security service (e.g., AI provider system), hence the input/output data is provided to the AI provider system) via the utility in the operating system (Stapleton, Paragraph [0032], see “…AI provider system 100 may be communicatively coupled with one or more remote computing systems…over one or more wired and/or wireless computing networks”);
receive a response indicator from the cloud-based security service via the utility in the operating system (Stapleton, Paragraph [0093], see “…the system may analyze the decrypted output data to determine whether one or more of the parameters of the trained machine learning model have been compromised”), the response indicator representing a result of an analysis of a decrypted representation of the encrypted AI interaction data, the analysis including at least one of a security analysis or a sensitivity analysis, the response indicator suggesting an alternative response that is responsive to the AI prompt in lieu of an AI response, which is received from the AI model as a result of the AI prompt being processed, as a response to the AI prompt (Stapleton, Paragraph [0093], see “…the system may analyze the decrypted output data to determine whether one or more of the parameters of the trained machine learning model have been compromised…the analysis may include determining whether the decrypted output data complies with an expected output structure…If these constraints are not satisfied by decrypted data, that may indicate that the model has been compromised…the system may cause one or more computing devices to provide output that indicates that the one or more parameters of the trained machine learning model have been compromised…”, where “analyze the decrypted output data” is being read as indicating a result of an analysis of a decrypted representation of the encrypted AI interaction data, the analysis including at least one of a security analysis, and the response indicator suggesting an alternative response in lieu of an AI response (e.g., providing an output that indicates that the model has been compromised)); and
as a result of the response indicator suggesting the alternative response in lieu of the AI response as the response to the AI prompt, provide the alternative response in lieu of the AI response as the response to the AI prompt (Stapleton, Paragraph [0093], see “…the system may cause one or more computing devices to provide output that indicates that the one or more parameters of the trained machine learning model have been compromised…”, which is being read as providing the alternative response (e.g., model has been compromised) in lieu of the AI response as the response to the AI prompt).
Stapleton does not teach the following limitation(s) as taught by Canedo: the operating system including a utility that is configured to transfer encrypted communications between a neural processing unit and a cloud-based security service (Canedo, FIG. 2, where encrypted communications are transferred between a neural processing unit and a cloud-based security service) (Canedo, Paragraph [0033], see “…the training and testing process for neural networks can be performed either in the host system (e.g., laptop or the cloud) or in the neural co-processor(s)…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the techniques disclosed of Stapleton, by implementing techniques of communications between a neural processor and a cloud service, disclosed of Canedo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to implement techniques for secure execution of an AI model of a neural processing unit, comprising of communications between a neural processor and a cloud service. This allows for a more optimal performance and improved model accuracy by combining real-time capabilities of the neural processor with the virtually limitless resources of the cloud service. Canedo is deemed as analogous art due to the art disclosing techniques of communications between a neural processor and a cloud service (Canedo, FIG. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-19 are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RODMAN ALEXANDER MAHMOUDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2499