NON-FINAL REJECTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 6-13, and 18-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5, 7, 9-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,220,277 B2 (hereinafter “Reference Patent 1”) either alone or in view of Frisa et al., US 2003/0023166 A1 (hereinafter “Frisa”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are obvious the claims of Reference Patent 1 either alone or in view of Frisa.
Instant Application
Reference Patent 1
1. An ultrasound diagnosis apparatus comprising:
a two-dimensional (2D) transducer array in which a plurality of transducers that transmit/receive an ultrasound signal to/from an object are arranged in two dimensions;
an analog beamformer configured to perform analog beamforming in a first direction, and perform analog beamforming in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction on signals respectively received by the plurality of transducers;
a digital beamformer configured to perform digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and perform digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction,
an image processor configured to
generate a first ultrasound image corresponding to a first cross-section of the object, by using a signal that is obtained by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and
generate a second ultrasound image corresponding to a second cross-section perpendicular to the first cross-section, by using a signal that is obtained by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction, and
a display configured to display
the first ultrasound image, the second ultrasound image and
a region, wherein the region includes a first indicator representing a location of the first cross-section and a second indicator representing a location of the second cross-section.
1. An ultrasound diagnosis apparatus comprising:
a two-dimensional (2D) transducer array in which a plurality of transducers that transmit/receive an ultrasound signal to/from an object are arranged in two dimensions;
an analog beamformer configured to perform analog beamforming in a first direction, and perform analog beamforming in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction on signals respectively received by the plurality of transducers;
a digital beamformer configured to perform digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and perform digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction, and
an image processor configured to
generate a first ultrasound image by using a signal that is obtained by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and
[cross sectional images are well-understood, routine, and conventional in ultrasound; e.g., B-mode echotomography]
generate a second ultrasound image by using a signal that is obtained by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction.
[see above regarding cross-sectional images; further, since the signals are beamformed in perpendicular directions, then the images would be perpendicular to each other]
[a display to display ultrasound images is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art]
[this is known from Frisa, ¶ [0032] and would have been obvious to provide in order to convey the relative locations of the cross-sections/images to the user]
6. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the analog beamformer comprises:
a first analog beamformer configured to perform the analog beamforming in the first direction by applying a same time delay value to transducers located at same locations in the second direction; and
a second analog beamformer configured to perform the analog beamforming in the second direction by applying a same time delay value to transducers located at same locations in the first direction.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the analog beamformer comprises:
a first analog beamformer configured to perform the analog beamforming in the first direction by applying a same time delay value to transducers located at same locations in the second direction; and
a second analog beamformer configured to perform the analog beamforming in the second direction by applying a same time delay value to transducers located at same locations in the first direction.
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the 2D transducer array comprises an M x N type 2D transducer array in which M 1D transducers are arranged in an elevation direction, and N 1D transducers are arranged in a lateral direction,
the analog beamformer is further configured to perform the analog beamforming in the lateral direction on each of the M 1D transducers arranged in the elevation direction, and perform the analog beamforming in the elevation direction on each of the N 1D transducers arranged in the lateral direction, and
the digital beamformer is further configured to perform digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the lateral direction and perform digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the elevation direction.
3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the 2D transducer array comprises an M×N type 2D transducer array in which M 1D transducers are arranged in an elevation direction, and N 1D transducers are arranged in a lateral direction,
the analog beamformer is further configured to perform the analog beamforming in the lateral direction on each of the M 1D transducers arranged in the elevation direction, and perform the analog beamforming in the elevation direction on each of the N 1D transducers arranged in the lateral direction, and
the digital beamformer is further configured to perform digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the lateral direction, and perform digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the elevation direction.
8. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein a number of channels input to the digital beamformer is M+N.
4. The apparatus of claim 3, wherein a number of channels input to the digital beamformer is M+N.
9. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the 2D transducer array is further configured to transmit an ultrasound signal to the object along one scan line, and receive an ultrasound signal reflected by the object, and
the digital beamformer is further configured to generate a signal corresponding to a plurality of scan lines arranged in the second direction by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and
generate a signal corresponding to a plurality of scan lines arranged in the first direction by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction.
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the 2D transducer array is further configured to transmit an ultrasound signal to the object along one scan line, and receive an ultrasound signal reflected by the object, and
the digital beamformer is further configured to generate a signal corresponding to a plurality of scan lines arranged in the second direction by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and
generate a signal corresponding to a plurality of scan lines arranged in the first direction by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction.
10. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image comprises one of a brightness (B) mode image, a color flow image, and an elastic image.
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image comprises one of a brightness (B) mode image, a color flow image, and an elastic image.
11. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the display is further configured to display at least one of a first adjustment bar that adjusts frame rates of the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image, and a second adjustment bar that adjusts resolutions of the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image.
8. The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a display configured to display the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image.
9. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the display is further configured to display at least one of a first adjustment bar that adjusts frame rates of the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image, and a second adjustment bar that adjusts resolutions of the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image.
12. The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
an input device configured to receive a user input that selects a region of interest from the first ultrasound image,
wherein the display is further configured to display the second ultrasound image comprising the selected region of interest.
10. The apparatus of claim 8, further comprising:
an input device configured to receive a user input that selects a region of interest from the first ultrasound image,
wherein the display is further configured to display the second ultrasound image comprising the selected region of interest.
13. A method of operating an ultrasound diagnosis apparatus comprising a two-dimensional (2D) transducer array in which a plurality of transducers are arranged in two dimensions, the method comprising:
performing analog beamforming in a first direction, and performing analog beamforming in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction on signals respectively received by the plurality of transducers;
performing digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and performing digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction;
generating a first ultrasound image corresponding to a first cross-section of the object, by using a signal that is obtained by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and
generating a second ultrasound image corresponding to a second cross-section perpendicular to the first cross-section, by using a signal that is obtained by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction; and
displaying the first ultrasound image, the second ultrasound image and
a region, wherein the region includes a first indicator representing a location of the first cross-section and a second indicator representing a location of the second cross-section.
11. A method of operating an ultrasound diagnosis apparatus comprising a two-dimensional (2D) transducer array in which a plurality of transducers are arranged in two dimensions, the method comprising:
performing analog beamforming in a first direction, and performing analog beamforming in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction on signals respectively received by the plurality of transducers;
performing digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and performing digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction; and
generating a first ultrasound image by using a signal that is obtained by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and
[cross sectional images are well-understood, routine, and conventional in ultrasound; e.g., B-mode echotomography]
generating a second ultrasound image by using a signal that is obtained by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction.
[see above regarding cross-sectional images; further, since the signals are beamformed in perpendicular directions, then the images would be perpendicular to each other]
[displaying ultrasound images is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art]
[this is known from Frisa, ¶ [0032] and would have been obvious to provide in order to convey the relative locations of the cross-sections/images to the user]
18. The method of claim 13, wherein the performing of the analog beamforming in the first direction, and the performing of the analog beamforming in the second direction perpendicular to the first direction comprises:
performing the analog beamforming in the first direction by applying a same time delay value to transducers located at a same location in the second direction; and
performing the analog beamforming in the second direction by applying a same time delay value to transducers located at a same location in the first direction.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the performing of the analog beamforming in the first direction, and the performing of the analog beamforming in the second direction perpendicular to the first direction comprises:
performing the analog beamforming in the first direction by applying a same time delay value to transducers located at a same location in the second direction; and
performing the analog beamforming in the second direction by applying a same time delay value to transducers located at a same location in the first direction.
19. The method of claim 13, wherein the 2D transducer array comprises an M x N type 2D transducer array in which M 1D transducers are arranged in an elevation direction, and N 1D transducers are arranged in a lateral direction,
the performing of the analog beamforming in the first direction, and the performing of the analog beamforming in the second direction perpendicular to the first direction comprise:
performing the analog beamforming in the lateral direction on each of the M 1D transducers arranged in the elevation direction, and performing the analog beamforming in the elevation direction on each of the N 1D transducers arranged in the lateral direction, and
the performing of the digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and the performing of the digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction comprises:
performing digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the lateral direction, and performing digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the elevation direction.
13. The method of claim 11, wherein the 2D transducer array comprises an M×N type 2D transducer array in which M 1D transducers are arranged in an elevation direction, and N 1D transducers are arranged in a lateral direction,
the performing of the analog beamforming in the first direction, and the performing of the analog beamforming in the second direction perpendicular to the first direction comprise:
performing the analog beamforming in the lateral direction on each of the M 1D transducers arranged in the elevation direction, and performing the analog beamforming in the elevation direction on each of the N 1D transducers arranged in the lateral direction, and
the performing of the digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and the performing of the digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction comprises:
performing digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the lateral direction, and performing digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the elevation direction.
20. An ultrasound diagnosis apparatus comprising:
a two-dimensional (2D) transducer array in which a plurality of transducers that transmit/receive an ultrasound signal to/from an object are arranged in two dimensions;
a beamformer configured to perform beamforming on signals respectively received by the plurality of transducers; and
an image processor configured to
generate a first ultrasound image corresponding to a first cross-section of the object, by using a signal that is obtained by beamforming, and
generate a second ultrasound image corresponding to a second cross-section by using a signal that is obtained by beamforming; and
a display configured to display the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image.
1. An ultrasound diagnosis apparatus comprising:
a two-dimensional (2D) transducer array in which a plurality of transducers that transmit/receive an ultrasound signal to/from an object are arranged in two dimensions;
an analog beamformer configured to perform analog beamforming in a first direction, and perform analog beamforming in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction on signals respectively received by the plurality of transducers;
a digital beamformer configured to perform digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and perform digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction, and
an image processor configured to
generate a first ultrasound image by using a signal that is obtained by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and
[cross sectional images are well-understood, routine, and conventional in ultrasound; e.g., B-mode echotomography]
generate a second ultrasound image by using a signal that is obtained by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction.
[see above regarding cross-sectional images; further, since the signals are beamformed in perpendicular directions, then the images would be perpendicular to each other]
[a display to display ultrasound images is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art]
Claims 1, 6-11, 13, 18-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4, 12, 13, 16-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,504,090 B2 (hereinafter, “Reference Patent 2”) either alone or in view of Frisa. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are obvious the claims of Reference Patent 1 either alone or in view of Frisa.
Instant Application
Reference Patent 2
1. An ultrasound diagnosis apparatus comprising:
a two-dimensional (2D) transducer array in which a plurality of transducers that transmit/receive an ultrasound signal to/from an object are arranged in two dimensions;
an analog beamformer configured to perform analog beamforming in a first direction, and
perform analog beamforming in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction on signals respectively received by the plurality of transducers;
a digital beamformer configured to perform digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and
perform digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction,
an image processor configured to
generate a first ultrasound image corresponding to a first cross-section of the object, by using a signal that is obtained by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and
generate a second ultrasound image corresponding to a second cross-section perpendicular to the first cross-section, by using a signal that is obtained by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction, and
a display configured to display
the first ultrasound image, the second ultrasound image and
a region, wherein the region includes a first indicator representing a location of the first cross-section and a second indicator representing a location of the second cross-section.
1. An ultrasound diagnosis apparatus comprising:
a two-dimensional (2D) transducer array in which a plurality of transducers are arranged two dimensionally, the plurality of transducers transmitting ultrasound signals to a target object along one scan line, and receiving ultrasound echo signals reflected from the target object;
a first analog beamformer configured to perform analog beamforming in a first direction on the ultrasound echo signals to generate a plurality of first analog signals, based on first focus points;
a second analog beamformer configured to perform analog beamforming in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction on the ultrasound echo signals to generate a plurality of second analog signals, based on second focus points;
a digital beamformer configured to perform digital beamforming on the plurality of first analog signals to generate a plurality of first digital signals corresponding to a plurality of first scan lines based on the first analog signals beamformed in the first direction, for a first ultrasound image, and
perform digital beamforming on the plurality of second analog signals to generate a plurality of second digital signals corresponding to a plurality of second scan lines based on the second analog signals beamformed in the second direction, for a second ultrasound image; and
an image processor configured to
generate the first ultrasound image based on the plurality of first digital signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and
[cross sectional images are well-understood, routine, and conventional in ultrasound; e.g., B-mode echotomography]
generate the second ultrasound image based on the plurality of second digital signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction; and
[see above regarding cross-sectional images; further, since the signals are beamformed in perpendicular directions, then the images would be perpendicular to each other]
a display configured to display
the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image.
[this is known from Frisa, ¶ [0032] and would have been obvious to provide in order to convey the relative locations of the cross-sections/images to the user]
6. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the analog beamformer comprises:
a first analog beamformer configured to perform the analog beamforming in the first direction by applying a same time delay value to transducers located at same locations in the second direction; and
a second analog beamformer configured to perform the analog beamforming in the second direction by applying a same time delay value to transducers located at same locations in the first direction.
2. The apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the first analog beamformer performs the analog beamforming in the first direction by applying a same time delay value to transducers located at same locations in the second direction; and
wherein the second analog beamformer performs the analog beamforming in the second direction by applying a same time delay value to transducers located at same locations in the first direction.
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the 2D transducer array comprises an M x N type 2D transducer array in which M 1D transducers are arranged in an elevation direction, and N 1D transducers are arranged in a lateral direction,
the analog beamformer is further configured to perform the analog beamforming in the lateral direction on each of the M 1D transducers arranged in the elevation direction, and perform the analog beamforming in the elevation direction on each of the N 1D transducers arranged in the lateral direction, and
the digital beamformer is further configured to perform digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the lateral direction and perform digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the elevation direction.
3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the 2D transducer array comprises an M×N 2D transducer array in which M 1D transducers are arranged in an elevation direction, and N 1D transducers are arranged in a lateral direction,
wherein the first analog beamformer performs the analog beamforming in the lateral direction on each of the M 1D transducers arranged in the elevation direction, and wherein the second analog beamformer performs the analog beamforming in the elevation direction on each of the N 1D transducers arranged in the lateral direction.
[implied since the digital beamformer(s) are configured to perform digital beamforming the analog beamformed signals as discussed above regarding claim 1]
8. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein a number of channels input to the digital beamformer is M+N.
4. The apparatus of claim 3, wherein a number of channels input to the digital beamformer is M+N.
9. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the 2D transducer array is further configured to transmit an ultrasound signal to the object along one scan line, and receive an ultrasound signal reflected by the object, and
the digital beamformer is further configured to generate a signal corresponding to a plurality of scan lines arranged in the second direction by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and
generate a signal corresponding to a plurality of scan lines arranged in the first direction by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction.
From claim 1:
a two-dimensional (2D) transducer array in which a plurality of transducers are arranged two dimensionally, the plurality of transducers transmitting ultrasound signals to a target object along one scan line, and receiving ultrasound echo signals reflected from the target object
From claim 1:
a digital beamformer configured to perform digital beamforming on the plurality of first analog signals to generate a plurality of first digital signals corresponding to a plurality of first scan lines based on the first analog signals beamformed in the first direction, for a first ultrasound image, and
perform digital beamforming on the plurality of second analog signals to generate a plurality of second digital signals corresponding to a plurality of second scan lines based on the second analog signals beamformed in the second direction, for a second ultrasound image; and
10. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image comprises one of a brightness (B) mode image, a color flow image, and an elastic image.
12. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image comprises one of a brightness (B) mode image, a color flow image, and an elastic image.
11. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the display is further configured to display at least one of
a first adjustment bar that adjusts frame rates of the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image, and
a second adjustment bar that adjusts resolutions of the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image.
13. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the display is further configured to display
an adjustment bar that adjusts resolutions of the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image.
13. A method of operating an ultrasound diagnosis apparatus comprising a two-dimensional (2D) transducer array in which a plurality of transducers are arranged in two dimensions, the method comprising:
performing analog beamforming in a first direction, and performing analog beamforming in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction on signals respectively received by the plurality of transducers;
performing digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and performing digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction;
generating a first ultrasound image corresponding to a first cross-section of the object, by using a signal that is obtained by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and
generating a second ultrasound image corresponding to a second cross-section perpendicular to the first cross-section, by using a signal that is obtained by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction; and
displaying the first ultrasound image, the second ultrasound image and
a region, wherein the region includes a first indicator representing a location of the first cross-section and a second indicator representing a location of the second cross-section.
16. A method of operating an ultrasound diagnosis apparatus comprising a two-dimensional (2D) transducer array in which a plurality of transducers are arranged two dimensionally, the method comprising:
transmitting ultrasound signals to a target object along one scan line, and receiving ultrasound echo signals reflected from the target object;
performing analog beamforming in a first direction on the ultrasound echo signals to generate a plurality of first analog signals, based on first focus points, and performing analog beamforming in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction on the ultrasound echo signals to generate a plurality of second analog signals, based on second focus points;
performing digital beamforming on the plurality of first analog signals to generate a plurality of first digital signals corresponding to a plurality of first scan lines based on the first analog signals beamformed in first direction, for a first ultrasound image, and performing digital beamforming on the plurality of second analog signals to generate a plurality of second digital signals corresponding to a plurality of second scan lines based on the second analog signals beamformed in the second direction, for a second ultrasound image;
generating the first ultrasound image based on the plurality of first digital signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and
[cross sectional images are well-understood, routine, and conventional in ultrasound; e.g., B-mode echotomography]
generating the second ultrasound image based on the plurality of second digital signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction; and
[see above regarding cross-sectional images; further, since the signals are beamformed in perpendicular directions, then the images would be perpendicular to each other]
displaying the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image.
[this is known from Frisa, ¶ [0032] and would have been obvious to provide in order to convey the relative locations of the cross-sections/images to the user]
18. The method of claim 13, wherein the performing of the analog beamforming in the first direction, and the performing of the analog beamforming in the second direction perpendicular to the first direction comprises:
performing the analog beamforming in the first direction by applying a same time delay value to transducers located at a same location in the second direction; and
performing the analog beamforming in the second direction by applying a same time delay value to transducers located at a same location in the first direction.
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the performing of the analog beamforming in the first direction, and the performing of the analog beamforming in the second direction perpendicular to the first direction comprises:
performing the analog beamforming in the first direction by applying a same time delay value to transducers located at a same location in the second direction; and
performing the analog beamforming in the second direction by applying a same time delay value to transducers located at a same location in the first direction.
19. The method of claim 13, wherein the 2D transducer array comprises an M x N type 2D transducer array in which M 1D transducers are arranged in an elevation direction, and N 1D transducers are arranged in a lateral direction,
the performing of the analog beamforming in the first direction, and the performing of the analog beamforming in the second direction perpendicular to the first direction comprise:
performing the analog beamforming in the lateral direction on each of the M 1D transducers arranged in the elevation direction, and performing the analog beamforming in the elevation direction on each of the N 1D transducers arranged in the lateral direction, and
the performing of the digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and the performing of the digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction comprises:
performing digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the lateral direction, and performing digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the elevation direction.
18. The method of claim 16, wherein the 2D transducer array comprises an M×N 2D transducer array in which M 1D transducers are arranged in an elevation direction, and N 1D transducers are arranged in a lateral direction,
the performing of the analog beamforming in the first direction, and the performing of the analog beamforming in the second direction perpendicular to the first direction comprise:
performing the analog beamforming in the lateral direction on each of the M 1D transducers arranged in the elevation direction, and performing the analog beamforming in the elevation direction on each of the N 1D transducers arranged in the lateral direction.
[implied since the digital beamformer(s) are configured to perform digital beamforming the analog beamformed signals as discussed above regarding claim 16]
20. An ultrasound diagnosis apparatus comprising:
a two-dimensional (2D) transducer array in which a plurality of transducers that transmit/receive an ultrasound signal to/from an object are arranged in two dimensions;
a beamformer configured to perform beamforming on signals respectively received by the plurality of transducers; and
an image processor configured to
generate a first ultrasound image corresponding to a first cross-section of the object, by using a signal that is obtained by beamforming, and
generate a second ultrasound image corresponding to a second cross-section by using a signal that is obtained by beamforming; and
a display configured to display the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image.
1. An ultrasound diagnosis apparatus comprising:
a two-dimensional (2D) transducer array in which a plurality of transducers are arranged two dimensionally, the plurality of transducers transmitting ultrasound signals to a target object along one scan line, and receiving ultrasound echo signals reflected from the target object;
a first analog beamformer configured to perform analog beamforming in a first direction on the ultrasound echo signals to generate a plurality of first analog signals, based on first focus points; a second analog beamformer configured to perform analog beamforming in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction on the ultrasound echo signals to generate a plurality of second analog signals, based on second focus points;
a digital beamformer configured to perform digital beamforming on the plurality of first analog signals to generate a plurality of first digital signals corresponding to a plurality of first scan lines based on the first analog signals beamformed in the first direction, for a first ultrasound image, and perform digital beamforming on the plurality of second analog signals to generate a plurality of second digital signals corresponding to a plurality of second scan lines based on the second analog signals beamformed in the second direction, for a second ultrasound image; and
an image processor configured to
generate the first ultrasound image based on the plurality of first digital signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and
[cross sectional images are well-understood, routine, and conventional in ultrasound; e.g., B-mode echotomography]
generate the second ultrasound image based on the plurality of second digital signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction; and
[see above regarding cross-sectional images; further, since the signals are beamformed in perpendicular directions, then the images would be perpendicular to each other]
a display configured to display the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frisa.
Regarding claim 20: Frisa discloses an ultrasound diagnosis apparatus comprising:
a two-dimensional (2D) transducer array (500, Figs. 2A and 3) in which a plurality of transducers that transmit/receive an ultrasound signal to/from an object are arranged in two dimensions;
a beamformer (502 and 116, Fig. 3) configured to perform beamforming on signals respectively received by the plurality of transducers; and
an image processor (318, 322, 324, Fig. 3) configured to generate a first ultrasound image corresponding to a first cross-section (plane 510, Figs. 2A and 2B) of the object, by using a signal (beam 504) that is obtained by beamforming, and generate a second ultrasound image corresponding to a second cross-section (plane 512, Figs. 2A and 2B) by using a signal (beam 505, Fig. 2A) that is obtained by beamforming (see ¶ [0018]-[0020]); and
a display (150, Fig. 3) configured to display the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 1-19 would be allowable if a proper terminal disclaimer is filed to overcome the non-statutory double patenting rejections articulated above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1 (and dependent claims thereof): The prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest to the ordinarily skilled artisan an ultrasound diagnosis apparatus comprising:
a two-dimensional (2D) transducer array in which a plurality of transducers that transmit/receive an ultrasound signal to/from an object are arranged in two dimensions;
an analog beamformer configured to perform analog beamforming in a first direction, and perform analog beamforming in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction on signals respectively received by the plurality of transducers;
a digital beamformer configured to perform digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and perform digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction,
an image processor configured to generate a first ultrasound image corresponding to a first cross-section of the object, by using a signal that is obtained by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and generate a second ultrasound image corresponding to a second cross-section perpendicular to the first cross-section, by using a signal that is obtained by digital-beamforming the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction, and
a display configured to display the first ultrasound image, the second ultrasound image and a region,
wherein the region includes a first indicator representing a location of the first cross-section and a second indicator representing a location of the second cross-section.
Kim et al., US 2012/0179043 A1; Yu et al., US 5,808,967; Frisa et al., US 2003/0023166 A1; and Friemel et al., US 2003/0055308 A1 are cited as prior art closest to the claimed invention.
Kim teaches in one embodiment an analog beamformer configured to perform analog beamforming in first direction (i.e., elevation direction) and a digital beamformer configured to perform digital beamforming on the analog beamformed signal in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (i.e., lateral direction); see Figs. 5A and 7, ¶ [0105]-[0114].
Kim also contemplate alternate embodiment wherein the directions of the beamforming are reversed (analog in lateral direction and digital in elevation direction); see Fig 5B, ¶ [0115]-[0116].
For a more in-depth discussion of the Kim reference, see the prosecution history of 15/206,773.
However, Kim does not disclose combining both embodiments so as to generate and display perpendicular cross-sectional images.
Yu describes connecting perpendicular beamformers to a 2D transducer array similar to Applicant (see Yu’s Fig. 4 compared to Applicant’s Fig. 4). However, Yu is not in the same field of endeavor as the invention of the current application (medical diagnostic ultrasound imaging); rather, Yu’s field of endeavor is sonar for measuring measurement of velocity in two or three dimensions. Yu first describes a prior art transducer arrangement for traditional sonar configurations called the “Janus” configuration (see Fig. 1 of Yu) which produces transmission/reception beams in a downward direction (toward the sea floor) diagonally in the fore, after, port, and starboard directions of a ship (see illustration below). This traditional configuration is not electronically steerable; however, Yu then describes another prior art embodiment which uses phased array techniques (see Fig. 2). For describing this prior art embodiment, Yu cites Simmons et al., US 4,641,291 which teaches a 1D phased array that utilizes a unique geometry of multiplicity of staves to provide enchanced grating lobes 50 in the ±30° directions as shown in Fig. 9 (see col. 4, lines 31-34). Simmons teaches using phased array techniques to one dimensionally steer the sonar beam pair. However, Yu states that Simmons only provides two sonar beams which correspond to only half the Janus configuration, and that there is a need to provide 1D steering to all four sonar beams corresponding to the full Janus configuration (e.g., as shown in Fig. 3). In this sense, Yu is not necessarily pertinent to the problem faced by the inventors (and solutions thereof; i.e., generating orthogonally arranged first and second cross-sectional images using beamforming which may be steered relative to each other using said beamforming); rather, Yu is pertinent to the problem of how to improve upon the Janus configuration by implementing one or more pairs of beams in the X direction with 1D steering in the X direction, and one or more pairs of beams in the Y direction with 1D steering in the Y direction, on a 2D phased array sonar transducer, in order to implement one or more sonar beams corresponding to each of the 4 sonar beams in the Janus configuration that are steerable along its respective direction (e.g., one or more pairs of fore and aft beams that are steerable along the fore-aft axis and one or more pairs of port and starboard beams that are steerable along the port-starboard axis; see Yu’s Fig. 9). Since Yu is neither in the same field of endeavor, nor pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, Yu is therefore not considered to be analogous prior art.
Additionally, the person having ordinary skill in the art, trying to improve upon Kim would not have looked to Yu for ideas on how to improve Kim because Yu is not concerned with ultrasound imaging per se, let alone generating orthogonally arranged ultrasound images; rather, Yu is concerned with improving upon the “Janus” configuration in sonar by providing for multiple pairs of sonar beams in X direction with 1D steering in the X direction, and multiple pairs of sonar beams in the Y direction with 1D steering in the Y direction. While Yu does teach simultaneous beams, it is unclear how the teachings of Yu could be used to improve Kim because the beams in Kim must be beamformed/steered in two dimensions while Yu only provides for beamforming/steering of each respective beam in one dimension.
Frisa teaches beamforming (via beamformers 502 and 116, Fig. 3) to generate images of perpendicular cross-sections (510 and 512, Figs. 2A and 2B).
For a more detailed discussion of Frisa, see the prosecution history of 15/206,773.
However, Frisa does not teach the details of the claimed analog beamformer and digital beamformer as recited in the claims:
an analog beamformer configured to perform analog beamforming in a first direction, and perform analog beamforming in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction on signals respectively received by the plurality of transducers;
a digital beamformer configured to perform digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and perform digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction,
It is noted that Frisa at ¶ [0021] does reference Pesque, US 6,436,048 which does teach successively beamforming the signals in orthogonal directions (i.e., first in the elevation direction and then in the azimuth direction, Figs. 9); however, Pesque does not teach both analog beamforming functions as claimed (i.e., performing analog beamforming in a first direction, and performing analog beamforming in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction on signals respectively received by the plurality of transducers), let alone both of the digital beamformer functions as claimed (i.e., performing digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the first direction, and performing digital beamforming on the signals that are analog-beamformed in the second direction).
Yu is not combinable with Frisa for the same reasons why it’s not combinable with Kim as discussed above.
Friemel teaches what appears to be a 2D transducer array (200) (however, as discussed below, this isn’t a true 2D array). Friemel further teaches performing beamforming in first and second directions which are orthogonal to each other in order to form orthogonally arranged images (720 and 740) similar to Applicant’s invention (see Friemel’s Fig. 6 compared to Applicant’s Fig. 7).
It is noted that signal line connections (230-235; 702 and 704) between the array (200) and the beamformer (1540) on orthogonal sides of the array (see Friemel’s Figs. 2 and 6 above) appear to resemble the signal connections of Applicant’s invention which are also on orthogonal sides of the array (see Applicant’s Fig. 4 below).
One key difference between Friemel and Applicant’s invention is that the array of in Friemel is not a true 2D array like in Applicant’s invention; rather, the array in Friemel is essentially two interleaved 1D arrays are that are orthogonal to each other:
The shaded elements are connected along the elevation direction to form elevation columns arranged side by side in the azimuth direction. Since the shaded elements in a given column are connected to each other, they functionally behave as a single column element. The plurality of columns arranged side by side in the azimuth direction essentially form a 1D array in the azimuth direction.
Furthermore, unshaded elements are connected along the azimuth direction to form azimuth rows arranged side by side in the elevation direction. Since the unshaded elements in a given row are connected to each other, they functionally behave as a single row element. The plurality of rows arranged side by side in the elevation direction essentially form a 1D array in the elevation direction.
On the other hand, the 2D array in Applicant’s invention appear to be individually addressable and each element is common to both orthogonal beamforming processes (i.e., a common set of elements between the first and second analog beamformer).
As a result, another key difference between Friemel and Applicant’s invention is that Friemel doesn’t teach the details of the analog beamformer, let alone the digital beamformer. For example, claim 1 recites in part: “a two-dimensional (2D) transducer array in which a plurality of transducers that transmit/receive an ultrasound signal to/from an object are arranged in two dimensions; an analog beamformer configured to perform analog beamforming in a first direction, and perform analog beamforming in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction on signals respectively received by the plurality of transducers”. Although Friemel teaches beamforming the azimuth and elevation direction, the beamforming in these two directions are not performed on the signals respectively received by the same plurality of transducers in the array because the array in Friemel is not a true 2D array, but rather two interleaved 1D arrays. In other words, Friemel teaches beamforming in a first direction on signals respectively received by a first plurality of transducers in a first 1D array, and perform analog beamforming in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction on signals respectively received by a second plurality of transducers in a second 1D wherein the first and second 1D arrays orthogonally arranged in an interleaved manner.
Even though these structures are known from Kim (as previously discussed; albeit, in separate embodiments), the ordinarily skilled artisan, short of improper hindsight, would not have applied Kim’s 2D beamforming technique (either elevation direction first and then lateral direction second, or lateral direction first and elevation direction second) to the array of Friemel because the array of Friemel consists of two interleaved 1D arrays as discussed above; i.e., there is no need for 2D beamforming as described in one of the two embodiments in Kim, let alone a combination of both embodiments.
The discussion above similarly applies to the method claims (e.g., claim 13 and dependent claims thereof).
Conclusion
COLIN T. SAKAMOTO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3798
/COLIN T. SAKAMOTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798