DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Parent data
19005818 filed 12/30/2024 is a Continuation of 17706411, filed 03/28/2022, now U.S. Patent # 12213101 17706411 is a Continuation of PCT/CN2019/109255, filed 09/29/2019.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 01/13/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Circosta et al (US 2019/0230503) in view of Wang et al (US 2021/0029534).
Regarding claim 1, Circosta et al discloses paging method (Information about a socket created by the client device for the secure communication session may be passed from the client device to the anonymous host via the broadcast (paging) address or the multicast address, [0027], lines 5-7), comprising:
receiving, by a first access network device, downlink data of a terminal from a first core network device, wherein the first access network device and the first core network device belong to a first network (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. Each AP 150 may include a radio frequency transceiver and one or more antennas for connecting to the wireless interface 102 via a wireless communications protocol, such as the IEEE 802.11 protocols. The APs 150 may be configured as a network switch such that the wireless device(s) 110 connected to a first AP 150-0 can communicate with the wireless device(s) 110 connected to a second AP 150-1; thus is seen as first wireless device 110-0 receives communication data of a terminal from first access point 150-0, wherein the first wireless device 110-0 and the first access point 150-0 belongs to a first wireless network 100, [0034], lines 1-5); and
sending, by the first access network device, a first message to a second access network device, wherein the second access network device belongs to a second network (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10).
Circosta et al does not specifically disclose concept of first message indicates the second access network device to assist in paging the terminal.
However, Wang et al specifically teaches concept of first message indicates the second access network device to assist in paging the terminal (core network sends an inquiry message for the UE capability information to the mobile terminal to determine whether the mobile terminal supports adjusting the paging period in the standby state; thus is seen as sending an inquiry message to the mobile terminal (second access network device) to support (assist) adjusting the paging period in the standby state for the UE (terminal), [0047], lines 2-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Circosta et al with concept of first message indicates the second access network device to assist in paging the terminal of Wang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve monitoring of mobile terminal, (Wang et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 2, Circosta et al discloses method (fig. 3, method), wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10).:
network identification information of the first network, an identifier of the terminal in the first network, or identification information of one or more cells of the first network (anonymity of the host refers to the client device communicating with the host without using an address that uniquely identifies the host on the wireless network, [0048], lines 9-10).
Regarding claim 3, Circosta et al discloses method (fig. 3, method), wherein the network identification information comprises one or more of the following (anonymity of the host refers to the client device communicating with the host without using an address that uniquely identifies the host on the wireless network, [0048], lines 9-10):
a public land mobile network identifier (PLMN ID), a network identifier (NID), a closed access group identifier (CAG ID), a human readable network name (HRNN) corresponding to the NID, or an HRNN corresponding to the CAG ID (APs can be configured to transmit beacon frames periodically to announce the presence of a wireless network to any devices within range of a particular AP. The beacon frame can include, among other data, a Service Set Identifier (SSID) associated with the wireless network, a timestamp, a beacon interval, capability information, and other parameters, [0052], lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 4, Circosta et al discloses method (fig. 3, method), wherein the first message further comprises first indication information, and the first indication information indicates the second access network device to page the terminal in a cell of the second network (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 5, Circosta et al discloses method (fig. 3, method), wherein the second access network device further belongs to the first network (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 6, Circosta et al discloses method (fig. 3, method), wherein the first message further comprises second indication information, the second indication information indicates a paging policy for the second access network device to page the terminal, and the paging policy comprises (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10).:
performing paging in a cell of the first network, performing paging in a cell of the second network, or performing paging in both the cell of the first network and the cell of the second network (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 7, Circosta et al discloses method (fig. 3, method), wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10):
network identification information of the second network, an identifier of the terminal in the second network, or identification information of one or more cells of the second network (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 8, Circosta et al discloses method (fig. 3, method), wherein the method (fig. 3, method) further comprises (Information about a socket created by the client device for the secure communication session may be passed from the client device to the anonymous host via the broadcast (paging) address or the multicast address, [0027], lines 5-7):
sending, by the first access network device, context information of the terminal in the first network to the second access network device (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 9, Circosta et al discloses method (fig. 3, method), wherein the first message further comprises one or more of the following information (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10):
a cause for sending the first message, an identifier of the second access network device, a tracking area code corresponding to one or more cells of the second access network device, a radio network area code corresponding to the one or more cells of the second access network device, or timer information used to indicate the terminal to access the first network within a specified time (The beacon frame can include, among other data, a Service Set Identifier (SSID) associated with the wireless network, a timestamp, a beacon interval, capability information, and other parameters, [0052], lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 12, Circosta et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1, item 110, wireless device), comprising:
a receiver, the receiver configured to receive downlink data of a terminal from a first core network device, wherein the apparatus and the first core network device belong to a first network (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. Each AP 150 may include a radio frequency transceiver and one or more antennas for connecting to the wireless interface 102 via a wireless communications protocol, such as the IEEE 802.11 protocols. The APs 150 may be configured as a network switch such that the wireless device(s) 110 connected to a first AP 150-0 can communicate with the wireless device(s) 110 connected to a second AP 150-1; thus is seen as first wireless device 110-0 receives communication data of a terminal from first access point 150-0, wherein the first wireless device 110-0 and the first access point 150-0 belongs to a first wireless network 100, [0034], lines 1-5); and a transmitter, the transmitter configured to send a first message to a second access network device, wherein the second access network device belongs to a second network (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10).
Circosta et al does not specifically disclose concept of first message indicates the second access network device to assist in paging the terminal.
However, Wang et al specifically teaches concept of first message indicates the second access network device to assist in paging the terminal (core network sends an inquiry message for the UE capability information to the mobile terminal to determine whether the mobile terminal supports adjusting the paging period in the standby state; thus is seen as sending an inquiry message to the mobile terminal (second access network device) to support (assist) adjusting the paging period in the standby state for the UE (terminal), [0047], lines 2-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Circosta et al with concept of first message indicates the second access network device to assist in paging the terminal of Wang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve monitoring of mobile terminal, (Wang et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 13, Circosta et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1, item 110, wireless device), wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10).:
network identification information of the first network, an identifier of the terminal in the first network, or identification information of one or more cells of the first network (anonymity of the host refers to the client device communicating with the host without using an address that uniquely identifies the host on the wireless network, [0048], lines 9-10).
Regarding claim 14, Circosta et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1, item 110, wireless device), wherein the network identification information comprises one or more of the following (anonymity of the host refers to the client device communicating with the host without using an address that uniquely identifies the host on the wireless network, [0048], lines 9-10):
a public land mobile network identifier (PLMN ID), a network identifier (NID), a closed access group identifier (CAG ID), a human readable network name (HRNN) corresponding to the NID, or an HRNN corresponding to the CAG ID (APs can be configured to transmit beacon frames periodically to announce the presence of a wireless network to any devices within range of a particular AP. The beacon frame can include, among other data, a Service Set Identifier (SSID) associated with the wireless network, a timestamp, a beacon interval, capability information, and other parameters, [0052], lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 15, Circosta et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1, item 110, wireless device), wherein the first message further comprises first indication information, and the first indication information indicates the second access network device to page the terminal in a cell of the second network (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 16, Circosta et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1, item 110, wireless device), wherein the second access network device further belongs to the first network (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 17, Circosta et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1, item 110, wireless device), wherein the first message further comprises second indication information, the second indication information indicates a paging policy for the second access network device to page the terminal, and the paging policy comprises (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10):
performing paging in a cell of the first network, performing paging in a cell of the second network, or performing paging in both the cell of the first network and the cell of the second network (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 18, Circosta et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1, item 110, wireless device), wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10):
network identification information of the second network, an identifier of the terminal in the second network, or identification information of one or more cells of the second network (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 19, Circosta et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1, item 110, wireless device), wherein the transmitter is further configured to (Information about a socket created by the client device for the secure communication session may be passed from the client device to the anonymous host via the broadcast (paging) address or the multicast address, [0027], lines 5-7):
send context information of the terminal in the first network to the second access network device (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 20, Circosta et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1, item 110, wireless device), wherein the first message further comprises one or more of the following information (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10):
a cause for sending the first message, an identifier of the second access network device, a tracking area code corresponding to one or more cells of the second access network device, a radio network area code corresponding to the one or more cells of the second access network device, or timer information used to indicate the terminal to access the first network within a specified time (The beacon frame can include, among other data, a Service Set Identifier (SSID) associated with the wireless network, a timestamp, a beacon interval, capability information, and other parameters, [0052], lines 4-5).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Circosta et al (US 2019/0230503) in view of Byun et al (US 12075482).
Regarding claim 10, Circosta et al discloses paging method (Information about a socket created by the client device for the secure communication session may be passed from the client device to the anonymous host via the broadcast (paging) address or the multicast address, [0027], lines 5-7), wherein the method is applied to an access network device, the access network device belongs to a first network (Fig. 1, first wireless device 110-0 (access network device) belongs to a first wireless network 100, [0034], lines 1-5), method comprises (external network 180 devices include a CU and a DU in a fifth generation (5G) advanced cellular wireless networks and belongs to the external network 180 (second network), [0034], lines 11-12, [0132], lines 6-8):
receiving, by the CU, downlink data of a terminal from a first core network device, wherein the first core network device belongs to the first network (fig. 1, wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. Each AP 150 may include a radio frequency transceiver and one or more antennas for connecting to the wireless interface 102 via a wireless communications protocol, such as the IEEE 802.11 protocols. The APs 150 may be configured as a network switch such that the wireless device(s) 110 connected to a first AP 150-0 can communicate with the wireless device(s) 110 connected to a second AP 150-1; thus is seen as first wireless device 110-0 (access network device) receives communication data of a terminal from first access point 150-0 (first core network device), wherein the first access point 150-0 (first core network device) belongs to a first wireless network 100, [0034], lines 1-5) and receiving, by the CU, downlink data of a terminal from of a second core network device, wherein the second core network device belongs to the second network (fig. 1, wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet; thus is seen as wireless interface 102 receives data from one of the external network 180 devices (second core network device), wherein the one of the external network 180 devices (second core network device) belongs to the external network 180 (second network), [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10); and
Circosta et al does not specifically disclose concept of in a second network, the access network device comprises a central unit (CU) and a distributed unit (DU), and
sending, by the CU, a first message to the DU, wherein the first message indicates a paging policy for paging the terminal, and the paging policy comprises performing paging in a cell of the first network, performing paging in a cell of the second network, or performing paging in both the cell of the first network and the cell of the second network.
However, Byun et al specifically teaches concept of in a second network, the access network device comprises a central unit (CU) and a distributed unit (DU) (Referring to FIG. 7, a gNB may include a gNB-CU (hereinafter, gNB-CU may be simply referred to as CU) and one or more gNB-DU (hereinafter, gNB-DU may be simply referred to as DU), (col. 13, lines 11-14)), and
sending, by the CU, a first message to the DU, wherein the first message indicates a paging policy for paging the terminal, and the paging policy comprises performing paging in a cell of the first network, performing paging in a cell of the second network, or performing paging in both the cell of the first network and the cell of the second network (gNB-CU requests the gNB-DU to setup or change of the special cell (SpCell) for the UE, and the gNB-DU either accepts or rejects the request with appropriate cause value. gNB-CU provides paging information to enable the gNB-DU to calculate the exact paging occasion (PO) and paging frame (PF). The gNB-CU determines the paging attempt (PA). The gNB-DU consolidates all the paging records for a particular PO, PF and PA, and encodes the final RRC message and broadcasts the paging message on the respective PO, PF in the PA. (6) Warning Messages Information Transfer Function; thus is seen as providing, by the gNB-CU, paging information (first message) to the gNB-DU, wherein the paging information (first message) is to calculate PO and PF, consolidate all paging records for PO, PF and PA and encodes the final RRC message and broadcasts (perfoming) the paging message on the respective PO, PF in the PA. (6) Warning Messages Information Transfer Function (paging policy) in a cell of the first network, col. 15, lines 13-21 and 37-50).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Circosta et al with concept of in a second network, the access network device comprises a central unit (CU) and a distributed unit (DU), and sending, by the CU, a first message to the DU, wherein the first message indicates a paging policy for paging the terminal, and the paging policy comprises performing paging in a cell of the first network, performing paging in a cell of the second network, or performing paging in both the cell of the first network and the cell of the second network of Byun et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve random access channel (RACH) related information for connection failure detection in a new radio access technology (NR), (Byun et al, col. 1, lines 14-16).
Regarding claim 11, Circosta et al discloses method (fig. 3, method), wherein the first message comprises (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10):
at least one of network identification information of the first network, an identifier of the terminal in the first network, or identification information of one or more cells of the first network (anonymity of the host refers to the client device communicating with the host without using an address that uniquely identifies the host on the wireless network, [0048], lines 9-10); or
at least one of network identification information of the second network, an identifier of the terminal in the second network, or identification information of one or more cells of the second network (wireless devices 110 may be configured to communicate with one or more APs 150-0 to 150-1 via a wireless interface 102. One or more APs 150 may be connected to a gateway 170 via a network interface 104, which may be either a wired network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.3—Ethernet) or a wireless network interface (e.g., IEEE 802.11—Wi-Fi). Gateway 170 is a device that allows data to be relayed between the wireless network 100 and an external network 180 via network interface 108. In some embodiments, the gateway 170 is a network router. The network router may be configured to relay Internet Protocol (IP) packets (first message) originating within the wireless network 100 to a device within the external network 180, such as the Internet, [0034], lines 1-2, [0035], lines 1-3, [0036], lines 1-4, [0088], lines 1-10).; and
wherein the network identification information comprises at least one of a public land mobile network identifier (PLMN ID), a network identifier (NID), a closed access group identifier (CAG ID), a human readable network name (HRNN) corresponding to the NID, or an HRNN corresponding to the CAG ID (APs can be configured to transmit beacon frames periodically to announce the presence of a wireless network to any devices within range of a particular AP. The beacon frame can include, among other data, a Service Set Identifier (SSID) associated with the wireless network, a timestamp, a beacon interval, capability information, and other parameters, [0052], lines 3-5).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681