Detailed Action
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 2/6/26. Claims 409-432 are pending.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 409-413 in the reply filed on 2/6/26 is acknowledged. Thus Claims 414-432 are withdrawn from further consideration being drawn to the nonelected invention.
Applicant’s election of the following compound is acknowledged herewith:
As a result, claims 409-413 are being examined in this Office Action.
Priority
The applicant claims benefit as follows:
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103
Claims 409-413 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarman et al. (Anti-Cancer Drug Design, 1986, 1, 259-268).
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Jarman et al. teaches the following tamoxifen analogue in both the trans and cis configurations, in particular the trans configuration as shown below. Jarman et al. teaches the equivalency of both methyl and hydrogen substitution (H and Me equivalency for R1 substitution) for the phenol ring (R2 = OH). For another similar tamoxifen analogue (7b), Jarman et al. teaches that the trans isomer binds 10-fold more strongly than the cis counterpart. (abstract; page 260, second column, see Figures and Table, specifically Compound No. 6; page 264, first column, last line of the first paragraph)
Compound No. 6
This reads on applicant’s claims when
R4 = C2 alkyl (ethyl)
n = 2
R1 = R2 = R3 = C1 alkyl (methyl)
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.012)
Jarman et al. is deficient in the sense that the phenol ring includes methyl substitution, instead of hydrogen substitution at the R1 position.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
However, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to substitute a hydrogen for the methyl group at the R1 position of Jarman et al.’s Compound No. 6, since Jarman et al. teaches the equivalency of hydrogen and methyl at the R1 position of Jarman et al.’s Compound No. 6.
Note that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Thus with regard to applicant’s particular elected species, it is the position of the examiner that one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, would through routine and normal experimentation determine the appropriate R1 substitution on the phenol ring of Jarman et al.’s Compound No. 6. The applicant does not show any unusual and/or unexpected results for the limitations stated. It would be reasonable to expect that Jarman et al.’s Compound No. 6, a tamoxifen analogue, with a hydrogen at the R1 position instead of a methyl, would have similar tamoxifen activity.
With regard to applicant’s limitation for at least 75% of the compound of Formula (IIa), in claim 412, the examiner interprets this to mean at least 75% of applicant’s compound of Formula (IIa) contains the trans isomer. It would be obvious to form at least 75% of the trans isomer for applicant’s compound of Formula (IIa), since Jarman et al. teaches that for another tamoxifen analogue, the trans isomer binds 10-fold more strongly than the cis counterpart, a beneficial property of the trans isomer.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Jennifer Cho Sawyer
Patent Examiner
Art Unit: 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691