DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on December 30, 2024 Claims 1-32 have been examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 12/30/2024, 10/29/2025, 12/16/2025, and 1/22/2026, have been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-20 and 27-32 are drawn to a method and claims 21-26 are drawn to a device (i.e., a manufacture). As such, claims 1-32 are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Under Step 2A Prong 1, the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite any judicial exceptions including certain groupings of abstract ideas (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity such as a fundamental economic practice, or mental processes).
Claims 1, 11, 21, and 27 recite one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute image processing comprising: storing in a memory first volume data that is data for representing a first object in a virtual space and holds voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space, and second volume data that is data for representing a second object in the virtual space and holds the voxel data with respect to each voxel included in a second voxel space placed in the virtual space; if a first event for the first object occurs based on an operation input of a player, updating in the first volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a first range set based on a position where the first event occurs; if a second event for the second object occurs based on an operation input of the player, updating in the second volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a second range set based on a position where the second event occurs; and based on the first volume data and the second volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing surfaces of the first object and the second object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space. If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include a mental process and/or certain methods of organizing human activity, the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, 11, 21, and 27 recite abstract ideas.
Representative Claim 1: One or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute image processing comprising: storing in a memory first volume data that is data for representing a first object in a virtual space and holds voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space, and second volume data that is data for representing a second object in the virtual space and holds the voxel data with respect to each voxel included in a second voxel space placed in the virtual space; if a first event for the first object occurs based on an operation input of a player, updating in the first volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a first range set based on a position where the first event occurs; if a second event for the second object occurs based on an operation input of the player, updating in the second volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a second range set based on a position where the second event occurs; and based on the first volume data and the second volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing surfaces of the first object and the second object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space.
Representative Claim 11: An information processing system comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising: storing in a memory first volume data that is data for representing a first object in a virtual space and holds voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space, and second volume data that is data for representing a second object in the virtual space and holds the voxel data with respect to each voxel included in a second voxel space placed in the virtual space; if a first event for the first object occurs based on an operation input of a player, updates in the first volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a first range set based on a position where the first event occurs; if a second event for the second object occurs based on an operation input of the player, updating in the second volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a second range set based on a position where the second event occurs; and based on the first volume data and the second volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing surfaces of the first object and the second object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space.
Representative Claim 21: An information processing apparatus comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising: storing in a memory first volume data that is data for representing a first object in a virtual space and holds voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space, and second volume data that is data for representing a second object in the virtual space and holds the voxel data with respect to each voxel included in a second voxel space placed in the virtual space; if a first event for the first object occurs based on an operation input of a player, updating in the first volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a first range set based on a position where the first event occurs; if a second event for the second object occurs based on an operation input of the player, updating in the second volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a second range set based on a position where the second event occurs; and based on the first volume data and the second volume data, at least drawing a 6 polygon mesh representing surfaces of the first object and the second object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space.
Representative Claim 27: An information processing method for causing an information processing system to execute game processing, the information processing method causing the information processing system to execute: reading from a storage medium first volume data that is data for representing a first object in a virtual space and holds voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space, and second volume data that is data for representing a second object in the virtual space and holds the voxel data with respect to each voxel included in a second voxel space placed in the virtual space; if a first event for the first object occurs based on an operation input of a player, updating in the first volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a first range set based on a position where the first event occurs; if a second event for the second object occurs based on an operation input of the player, updating in the second volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a second range set based on a position where the second event occurs; and based on the first volume data and the second volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing surfaces of the first object and the second object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space.
(Examiner notes: The underlined claim terms above are interpreted as additional elements beyond the abstract idea and are further analyzed under Step 2A - Prong Two)
The additional elements are instructions for applying the judicial exceptions with a generic computing device as, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements of an information processing apparatus, processors, and non-transitory computer readable media are generic computer components for performing the above method, per MPEP 2106.05(f). Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements are generic components of a computing device used to apply the abstract idea.
Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the recited steps of one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute image processing comprising: storing in a memory first volume data and second volume data that represents a first object and a second object in a virtual space; updating volume data of a voxel based on a position of where a first event occurs; updating volume data of a voxel based on a position of where a second event occurs; and drawing a polygon mesh representing surfaces of the first and second objects thereby generating an image of the virtual space (i.e., one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions), then it also falls within the “Mental Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas. The recited steps are a simulation that applies an abstract idea, specifically mental processes (observation (storing in a memory first volume data and second volume data that represents a first object and a second object in a virtual space, drawing a polygon mesh representing surfaces of the first and second objects thereby generating an image of the virtual space), and/or evaluation (updating volume data of a voxel based on a position of where a first event occurs, updating volume data of a voxel based on a position of where a second event occurs). If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include a mental process and/or certain methods of organizing human activity (CMOHA), the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, 11, 21, and 27 recite abstract ideas.
Dependent Claims 2-10, 12-20, 22-26, and 28-32 further narrow the abstract ideas of storing in a memory first volume data and second volume data that represents a first object and a second object in a virtual space; updating volume data of a voxel based on a position of where a first event occurs; updating volume data of a voxel based on a position of where a second event occurs; and drawing a polygon mesh representing surfaces of the first and second objects thereby generating an image of the virtual space (i.e., one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions), then it also falls within the “Mental Processes” and is an abstract idea and then it also falls within the “Organizing Human Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas and then also falls within the “Organizing Human Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
Independent claim(s) 1, 11, 21, and 27 recite/describe nearly identical steps (and therefore also recite limitations that fall within this subject matter grouping of abstract ideas), and this/these claim(s) is/are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis.
As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 1, 11, 21, and 27 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Under Step 2A Prong 2 the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2A - Prong Two: In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “addition element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “storing in a memory first volume data and second volume data that represents a first object and a second object in a virtual space”, “updating volume data of a voxel based on a position of where a first event occurs”, “updating volume data of a voxel based on a position of where a second event occurs”, and “drawing a polygon mesh representing surfaces of the first and second objects thereby generating an image of the virtual space” etc. (Claims 1, 11, 21, and 27) are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer.
Similarly, the limitations of applying “storing in a memory first volume data and second volume data that represents a first object and a second object in a virtual space”, “updating volume data of a voxel based on a position of where a first event occurs”, “updating volume data of a voxel based on a position of where a second event occurs”, and “drawing a polygon mesh representing surfaces of the first and second objects thereby generating an image of the virtual space” etc. Independent Claim(s) 1, 11, 21, and 27, and dependent claims 2-10, 12-20, 22-26, and 28-32 are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components in a vehicle. This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serves merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, it/they serve(s) to limit the application of the abstract idea to computerized environments (e.g., storing in a memory first volume data and second volume data that represents a first object and a second object in a virtual space, updating volume data of a voxel based on a position of where a first event occurs, updating volume data of a voxel based on a position of where a second event occurs, and drawing a polygon mesh representing surfaces of the first and second objects thereby generating an image of the virtual space etc.). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The recited additional element(s) of storing in a memory first volume data and second volume data that represents a first object and a second object in a virtual space, updating volume data of a voxel based on a position of where a first event occurs, updating volume data of a voxel based on a position of where a second event occurs, and drawing a polygon mesh representing surfaces of the first and second objects thereby generating an image of the virtual space (Claim(s) 1, 11, 21, and 27), additionally and/or alternatively simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Dependent claims 2-10, 12-20, 22-26, and 28-32 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B: In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is/are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an "inventive concept." An "inventive concept" is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the identified additional elements in independent claim(s) 1, 11, 21, and 27, and dependent claims 2-10, 12-20, 22-26, and 28-32 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
The recited additional element(s) of storing in a memory first volume data and second volume data that represents a first object and a second object in a virtual space, updating volume data of a voxel based on a position of where a first event occurs, updating volume data of a voxel based on a position of where a second event occurs, and drawing a polygon mesh representing surfaces of the first and second objects thereby generating an image of the virtual space (Claim(s) 1, 11, 21, and 27), additionally and/or alternatively simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea) i.e. selecting users (i.e. using a user interface) is similar to “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data”, is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here) (See MPEP 2106.05(d) (II)).
This conclusion is based on a factual determination. Applicant’s own disclosure in paragraphs [0030], and [0076] acknowledges that “An example of a game system 1 according to the exemplary embodiment includes a main body apparatus (an information processing apparatus; which functions as a game apparatus main body in the exemplary embodiment) 2, a left controller 3, and a right controller 4. Each of the left controller 3 and the right controller 4 is attachable to and detachable from the main body apparatus 2. That is, the game system 1 can be used as a unified apparatus obtained by attaching each of the left controller 3 and the right controller 4 to the main body apparatus 2”, and “in a case where the shape of a terrain object may be changed as a result of the terrain object in a game being broken for some reason (e.g., the player object striking the terrain object), the game system 1 can freely change the shape of the terrain object by changing the voxel data used to generate the terrain object, rather than directly changing data representing the outer shape of the terrain object (e.g., the mesh to be described below” (i.e. conventional nature of using a computer and/or computer program). This additional element therefore does not ensure the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer or/and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, and/or simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
The dependent claims 2-10, 12-20, 22-26, and 28-32 are dependent from claims 1, 11, 21, and 27 and include all the limitations of the independent claims, but fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective independent claims is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). Therefore, the dependent claims recite the same abstract idea. The limitations of the dependent claims fail to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For example:
The limitations of claims 2-7, 9, 12-17, 19, 22-26, and 28-32 recite clarifications of indicating if an object occupies a space within a range, updating data to indicate whether or not an object is present, updating data to indicate whether or not an object is present within a range and indicating how much the value should decrease if the object is not completely within the range, indicating the material of an object (how/with what textures an object should be rendered), updating damage value(s) of an object, having data of different sizes from each other within a virtual space, and the object is a terrain in a virtual space. Such clarifications, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are merely defining/selecting a type of data to be manipulated which, per MPEP 2106.05(g), is insignificant extra-solution activity. Therefore, the limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claims is also applicable on these claims.
The limitations of claim 8, 10, 18, and 20 recite clarifications of changing a position and/or orientation of an object, and destroying an object with collateral damage in a video game. The limitations are further instructions for applying the judicial exceptions with a generic computing device/interface acting as an intermediary for performing the abstract ideas of storing in a memory first volume data and second volume data that represents a first object and a second object in a virtual space, updating volume data of a voxel based on a position of where a first event occurs, updating volume data of a voxel based on a position of where a second event occurs, and drawing a polygon mesh representing surfaces of the first and second objects thereby generating an image of the virtual space, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore, the limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claims is also applicable on these claims.
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Therefore, claims 1-32 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-13, 16-18, 20-23, 26-29, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penmatsa et al. (US 9,737,811 B1) in view of Kapulkin et al. (US 2014/0342823 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Penmatsa discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute image processing comprising (Col. 3 Lines 55-58 program instructions to perform some or all of the functionality of computing node 100 may be stored as code 1104 and/or data 1106 of memory 1102 executable by one or more processors 1100 of computing device 1000, Col. 4 Lines 23-30 . The terrain simulation component 102, the layer combination component 104, the rendering component 108, and the databases 106 may process the received graphics information and generate image data. Rendering component 108 may then render the image data for transmission and presentation to user via one or more output devices, such as a display device, speakers, etc. (not shown)):
storing in a memory first volume data that is data for representing a first object in a virtual space (Col. 2 Lines 12-13 the three dimensional volume (first volume data) may be represented by one or more voxels (holds voxel data), Col. 2 Lines 52-57 Using the described techniques, one or more three dimensional volumes, such as one or more portions of terrain (a first object), may be more effectively and efficiently modeled/simulated. By combining layers having one or more similar layer characteristics, the computation and memory involved in rendering and updating three dimensional simulations may be reduced), and
second volume data that is data for representing a second object in the virtual space (Col. 6 Lines 1-3 a plurality (at least a second) of three dimensional volumes, such as terrain (object) in a scene of a video game);
if a first event for the first object occurs based on an operation input of a player, updating in the first volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a first range set based on a position where the first event occurs (Col. 2 Lines 42-44 the event may include a destruction event, such as an explosion, weapons fire in a video game, etc., Col. 7 Lines 26-29 In some cases, the event detection component 208 may receive information relating to an event, for example, from one or more input devices (e.g., reacting to one or more user inputs in a video game), Col. 7 Lines 57-59 based on proximity of the area to a center of occurrence of the event, the source of the event (e.g., location or type of event), Col. 9 Lines 7-9 modify one or more textures/layer characteristics and/or the destructibility value of each affected layer of each affect area, Col. 12 Lines 50-55 destruction event 602 may be represented by a center 618 of a highest intensity value, with zones 620, 622, 624, 626 (e.g., areas or volumes) emanating outward from the center 618);
if a second event for the second object occurs based on an operation input of the player (Col. 2 Lines 42-44 the event may include a destruction event, such as an explosion, weapons fire in a video game, etc., Col. 7 Lines 26-29 In some cases, the event detection component 208 may receive information relating to an event, for example, from one or more input devices (e.g., reacting to one or more user inputs in a video game), Col. 7 Lines 41-43 The texture updating component 210 may then determine which area/areas or portions (range set) of the simulated space are affected by the event (based on an event occurring), Col. 7 Lines 57-59 based on proximity of the area to a center of occurrence of the event, the source of the event (e.g., location or type of event), Col. 9 Lines 7-9 modify one or more textures/layer characteristics and/or the destructibility value of each affected layer of each affect area, Col. 12 Lines 50-55 destruction event 602 may be represented by a center 618 of a highest intensity value, with zones 620, 622, 624, 626 (e.g., areas or volumes) emanating outward from the center 618)); and
based on the first volume data and the second volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing surfaces of the first object and the second object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space (Col. 8 Lines 5-7 the rendering component 212 may then render the information into image data to be displayed to a user, Col. 8 Lines 26- According to one example, the terrain simulation component 102 and/or the texture component 202 may receive or obtain graphic information associated with a three dimensional volume of a simulated space, such as terrain, for example, to be presented to a user in multiple scenes. The graphics information may include terrain information, for example divided into multiple three dimensional volumes or voxels, Col. 14 Lines 22-24 The terrain model (image of the virtual space) may be rendered using, for example, a voxel-based mesh generation technique (applying voxel-based mesh generation to multiple voxels will generate a polygon mesh)).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing holds the voxel data with respect to each voxel included in a second voxel space placed in the virtual space; and updating in the second volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a second range set based on a position where the second event occurs.
Kapulkin teaches holds the voxel data with respect to each voxel included in a second voxel space placed in the virtual space ([0010] create and manage a voxel grid (a voxel space) associated with the player, the voxel grid comprising a plurality of cells in a three-dimensional array (each voxel included) occupying the a portion of the space of the virtual world, [0014] creating and managing a second voxel grid associated with a second player of the video game); and
updating in the second volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a second range set based on a position where the second event occurs ([0010] one or more of the objects (one or more volume data) movable in the defined space of the virtual world… create and manage a voxel grid associated with the player, the voxel grid (voxel data of a voxel in a range) comprising a plurality of cells in a three-dimensional array (makes it possible to find position of second event) occupying the a portion of the space of the virtual world, [0081] Assume that a small movement (event occurs) is made with an avatar, for example, in region 804. Some cells will have to be recalculated in region 804, and perhaps some cells in region808 as well, as the prevailing light source is parallel directly down ward from above regions 802, 803, 804 and 805, [0086] Movement of the avatar (event occurs) 902 will typically require recalculation of illumination values of at least a plurality of cells in voxel grid 901).
Penmatsa and Kapulkin are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of voxel management in virtual worlds and videogames. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying a computer-implemented method, one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute image processing, as disclosed by Penmatsa, further including holds the voxel data with respect to each voxel included in a second voxel space placed in the virtual space; and updating in the second volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a second range set based on a position where the second event occurs, as taught by Kapulkin for the purpose of storing illumination data pertinent to the region of space in the virtual world that is represented by each cell in the grid (Kapulkin, [0036]).
Regarding Claim 2, Penmatsa discloses wherein the image processing further comprises:
if the first event occurs, updating the voxel data so that the degree of a voxel included in the first range decreases in the first volume data (Fig. 7 partial destruction (degree of voxel in first range decreases) of the surface (the volume data)); and
if the second event occurs, updating the voxel data so that the degree of a voxel included in the second range decreases in the second volume data (Fig. 7 partial destruction (degree of voxel in first range decreases) of the surface (the volume data)).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing wherein the voxel data includes a value indicating an occupancy of an object inside a space defined by a voxel.
Kapulkin teaches wherein the voxel data includes a value indicating an occupancy of an object inside a space defined by a voxel ([0013] computing an occupancy value for individual ones of the cells of the voxel grid, [0055] for occupancy less than 100% an occupancy value for a cell may be adjusted down ward as well).
Regarding Claim 3, Penmatsa discloses wherein the image processing further comprises:
if the first event occurs, updating the voxel data so that at least one of a plurality of voxels included in the first range in the first volume data is set to a value indicating that the first object is not present (Col. 12 Lines 60-65 the blocks 700-708… may be removed (not present) as a result of the destruction event 602, for example, destroyed, Col. 13 Lines 1-8 having a destructibility value of 0 (setting a value)… destruction event 602 (event occurring) may change or destroy enough blocks 604 to shift bigger portions of the simulated space or terrain); and
if the second event occurs, updating the voxel data so that at least one of a plurality of voxels included in the second range in the second volume data is set to a value indicating that the second object is not present (Col. 12 Lines 65-67 replaced by free space (indicating that the object is not present)… Col. 13 Lines 1-8 having a destructibility value of 0 (setting a value)… destruction event 602 (event occurring) may change or destroy enough blocks 604 to shift bigger portions of the simulated space or terrain).
Regarding Claim 6, Penmatsa discloses wherein voxels included in the first volume data are different from each other in size defined in the virtual space (Fig. 7 Elements 604 and 724 are different sizes from each other in the defined virtual space 600, Col. 13 Lines 20-34 represented by a multiple of smaller blocks 724).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing wherein a single voxel included in the first volume data and a single voxel included in the second volume data are different from each other.
Kapulkin teaches wherein a single voxel included in the first volume data and a single voxel included in the second volume data are different from each other ([0013] a plurality of cells in a three-dimensional array occupying the a portion of the space of the virtual world, [0081] Each region depicted in FIG. 8 has four fringe planes, each comprising a layer of cells in a planar array. Consider that an object, for example an avatar character, wholly contained in region 808 moves by a few cell dimensions in a frame time interval, but stays entirely in region 808… Some cells will have to be recalculated in region 804, and perhaps some cells in region808 as well, as the prevailing light source is parallel directly down ward from above regions 802, 803, 804 and 805 (each region comprises different volume data). If an avatar that partially occupies regions 802 and 804 moves, at may be necessary to recalculate values in 802, 804, 806 and 808, but perhaps still just four of the eight regions).
Regarding Claim 7, Penmatsa discloses wherein the first object is a terrain in the virtual space, and the first range is greater than the second range (Figs. 6-7: “zones 620, 622, 624, 626… emanating outward from the center 618” (618 < 620 < 622 < 624 < 626 – each range is greater than the one before it)).
Regarding Claim 8, Penmatsa discloses wherein the second range is smaller than the first range (Figs. 6-7: “zones 620, 622, 624, 626… emanating outward from the center 618” (618 < 620 < 622 < 624 < 626 – each range is greater than the one before it or each preceding range is smaller than the one after it)).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing wherein the second object is an object capable of moving in the virtual space by changing a position and/or an orientation of the second voxel space in the virtual space.
Kapulkin teaches wherein the second object is an object capable of moving in the virtual space by changing a position and/or an orientation of the second voxel space in the virtual space ([0013] one or more of the objects movable in the defined space of the virtual world by the player through one or more input mechanisms of the computerized appliance, [0015] moving the voxel grid in the virtual world in the direction and by the dimension that the object is moved by the player (changing a position and/or orientation)).
Regarding Claim 10, Penmatsa discloses wherein the image processing further comprises based on an operation input of the player, causing a player character to perform a destruction action for destroying the first object and the second object, the first event is a state where the destruction action hits the first object, and the second event is a state where the destruction action hits the second object (Col. 7 Lines 23-24 The event detection component 208 may detect an event that affects an area of simulated space (affecting the struck object/area), Col. 7 Lines 28-29 e.g., reacting to one or more user inputs (input of the player) in a video game, Col. 7 Lines 34-36 The destruction causing event may be associated with an intensity, and may include an explosion, weapons fire (destruction action) such as missiles, grenades, bombs, and so on, Col. 15 Lines 4-16 In another embodiment of process 900, if the destruction causing event is found to affect multiple areas of terrain at operation 908, then process 900 may proceed to operation 918, where the intensity of the destruction causing event may be mapped to multiple adjacent areas of terrain (at least a first object and second object) based on a distance from a center of the destruction causing event. Next, one or more textures and/or one or more destructibility 10 values associated with one or more of the multiple adjacent areas may be changed based on the mapped intensity of the destruction causing event at operation 920, as described above in greater detail in reference to FIG. 7. The updated textures may then be rendered into image data and presented to a user at operation 912).
Regarding Claim 11, Penmatsa discloses an information processing system comprising:
one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising (Col. 18 Lines 55-63 In the illustrated embodiment, computing device 1000 includes one or more processors 1100a, 1100b through 1100n, Col. 3 Lines 58-61 In other cases, the components of computing node 100 may be located across multiple devices and or servers, for example described in reference to FIG. 10):
storing in a memory first volume data that is data for representing a first object in a virtual space (Col. 2 Lines 12-13 the three dimensional volume (first volume data) may be represented by one or more voxels (holds voxel data), Col. 2 Lines 52-57 Using the described techniques, one or more three dimensional volumes, such as one or more portions of terrain (a first object), may be more effectively and efficiently modeled/simulated. By combining layers having one or more similar layer characteristics, the computation and memory involved in rendering and updating three dimensional simulations may be reduced), and
second volume data that is data for representing a second object in the virtual space and holds the voxel data with respect to each voxel included in a second voxel space placed in the virtual space (Col. 6 Lines 1-3 a plurality (at least a second) of three dimensional volumes, such as terrain (object) in a scene of a video game);
if a first event for the first object occurs based on an operation input of a player, updates in the first volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a first range set based on a position where the first event occurs (Col. 2 Lines 42-44 the event may include a destruction event, such as an explosion, weapons fire in a video game, etc., Col. 7 Lines 26-29 In some cases, the event detection component 208 may receive information relating to an event, for example, from one or more input devices (e.g., reacting to one or more user inputs in a video game), Col. 7 Lines 57-59 based on proximity of the area to a center of occurrence of the event, the source of the event (e.g., location or type of event), Col. 9 Lines 7-9 modify one or more textures/layer characteristics and/or the destructibility value of each affected layer of each affect area, Col. 12 Lines 50-55 destruction event 602 may be represented by a center 618 of a highest intensity value, with zones 620, 622, 624, 626 (e.g., areas or volumes) emanating outward from the center 618);
if a second event for the second object occurs based on an operation input of the player (Col. 2 Lines 42-44 the event may include a destruction event, such as an explosion, weapons fire in a video game, etc., Col. 7 Lines 26-29 In some cases, the event detection component 208 may receive information relating to an event, for example, from one or more input devices (e.g., reacting to one or more user inputs in a video game), Col. 7 Lines 41-43 The texture updating component 210 may then determine which area/areas or portions (range set) of the simulated space are affected by the event (based on an event occurring), Col. 7 Lines 57-59 based on proximity of the area to a center of occurrence of the event, the source of the event (e.g., location or type of event), Col. 9 Lines 7-9 modify one or more textures/layer characteristics and/or the destructibility value of each affected layer of each affect area, Col. 12 Lines 50-55 destruction event 602 may be represented by a center 618 of a highest intensity value, with zones 620, 622, 624, 626 (e.g., areas or volumes) emanating outward from the center 618)); and
based on the first volume data and the second volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing surfaces of the first object and the second object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space (Col. 8 Lines 5-7 the rendering component 212 may then render the information into image data to be displayed to a user, Col. 8 Lines 26- According to one example, the terrain simulation component 102 and/or the texture component 202 may receive or obtain graphic information associated with a three dimensional volume of a simulated space, such as terrain, for example, to be presented to a user in multiple scenes. The graphics information may include terrain information, for example divided into multiple three dimensional volumes or voxels, Col. 14 Lines 22-24 The terrain model (image of the virtual space) may be rendered using, for example, a voxel-based mesh generation technique (applying voxel-based mesh generation to multiple voxels will generate a polygon mesh)).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing holds voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space; and updating in the second volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a second range set based on a position where the second event occurs.
Kapulkin teaches holds voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space ([0010] create and manage a voxel grid (a voxel space) associated with the player, the voxel grid comprising a plurality of cells in a three-dimensional array (each voxel included) occupying the a portion of the space of the virtual world, [0014] creating and managing a second voxel grid associated with a second player of the video game); and
updating in the second volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a second range set based on a position where the second event occurs ([0010] one or more of the objects (one or more volume data) movable in the defined space of the virtual world… create and manage a voxel grid associated with the player, the voxel grid (voxel data of a voxel in a range) comprising a plurality of cells in a three-dimensional array (makes it possible to find position of second event) occupying the a portion of the space of the virtual world, [0081] Assume that a small movement (event occurs) is made with an avatar, for example, in region 804. Some cells will have to be recalculated in region 804, and perhaps some cells in region808 as well, as the prevailing light source is parallel directly down ward from above regions 802, 803, 804 and 805, [0086] Movement of the avatar (event occurs) 902 will typically require recalculation of illumination values of at least a plurality of cells in voxel grid 901).
Regarding Claim 12, Penmatsa discloses wherein the image processing further comprises:
if the first event occurs, updating the voxel data so that the degree of a voxel included in the first range decreases in the first volume data (Fig. 7 partial destruction (degree of voxel in first range decreases) of the surface (the volume data)); and
if the second event occurs, updating the voxel data so that the degree of a voxel included in the second range decreases in the second volume data (Fig. 7 partial destruction (degree of voxel in first range decreases) of the surface (the volume data)).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing wherein the voxel data includes a value indicating an occupancy of an object inside a space defined by a voxel.
Kapulkin teaches wherein the voxel data includes a value indicating an occupancy of an object inside a space defined by a voxel ([0013] computing an occupancy value for individual ones of the cells of the voxel grid, [0055] for occupancy less than 100% an occupancy value for a cell may be adjusted down ward as well).
Regarding Claim 13, Penmatsa discloses wherein the image processing further comprises:
if the first event occurs, updating the voxel data so that at least one of a plurality of voxels included in the first range in the first volume data is set to a value indicating that the first object is not present (Col. 12 Lines 60-65 the blocks 700-708… may be removed (not present) as a result of the destruction event 602, for example, destroyed, Col. 13 Lines 1-8 having a destructibility value of 0 (setting a value)… destruction event 602 (event occurring) may change or destroy enough blocks 604 to shift bigger portions of the simulated space or terrain); and
if the second event occurs, updating the voxel data so that at least one of a plurality of voxels included in the second range in the second volume data is set to a value indicating that the second object is not present (Col. 12 Lines 65-67 replaced by free space (indicating that the object is not present)… Col. 13 Lines 1-8 having a destructibility value of 0 (setting a value)… destruction event 602 (event occurring) may change or destroy enough blocks 604 to shift bigger portions of the simulated space or terrain).
Regarding Claim 16, Penmatsa discloses wherein voxels included in the first volume data are different from each other in size defined in the virtual space (Fig. 7 Elements 604 and 724 are different sizes from each other in the defined virtual space 600, Col. 13 Lines 20-34 represented by a multiple of smaller blocks 724).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing wherein a single voxel included in the second volume data are different from each other in size defined in the virtual space.
Kapulkin teaches wherein a single voxel included in the second volume data are different from each other in size defined in the virtual space ([0013] a plurality of cells in a three-dimensional array occupying the a portion of the space of the virtual world, [0081] Each region depicted in FIG. 8 has four fringe planes, each comprising a layer of cells in a planar array. Consider that an object, for example an avatar character, wholly contained in region 808 moves by a few cell dimensions in a frame time interval, but stays entirely in region 808… Some cells will have to be recalculated in region 804, and perhaps some cells in region808 as well, as the prevailing light source is parallel directly down ward from above regions 802, 803, 804 and 805 (each region comprises different volume data). If an avatar that partially occupies regions 802 and 804 moves, at may be necessary to recalculate values in 802, 804, 806 and 808, but perhaps still just four of the eight regions).
Regarding Claim 17, Penmatsa discloses wherein the first object is a terrain in the virtual space, and the first range is greater than the second range (Figs. 6-7: “zones 620, 622, 624, 626… emanating outward from the center 618” (618 < 620 < 622 < 624 < 626 – each range is greater than the one before it)).
Regarding Claim 18, Penmatsa discloses wherein the second range is smaller than the first range (Figs. 6-7: “zones 620, 622, 624, 626… emanating outward from the center 618” (618 < 620 < 622 < 624 < 626 – each range is greater than the one before it or each preceding range is smaller than the one after it)).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing wherein the second object is an object capable of moving in the virtual space by changing a position and/or an orientation of the second voxel space in the virtual space.
Kapulkin teaches wherein the second object is an object capable of moving in the virtual space by changing a position and/or an orientation of the second voxel space in the virtual space ([0013] one or more of the objects movable in the defined space of the virtual world by the player through one or more input mechanisms of the computerized appliance, [0015] moving the voxel grid in the virtual world in the direction and by the dimension that the object is moved by the player (changing a position and/or orientation)).
Regarding Claim 20, Penmatsa discloses wherein the image processing further comprises based on an operation input of the player, further causing a player character to perform a destruction action for destroying the first object and the second object, the first event is a state where the destruction action hits the first object, and the second event is a state where the destruction action hits the second object (Col. 7 Lines 23-24 The event detection component 208 may detect an event that affects an area of simulated space (affecting the struck object/area), Col. 7 Lines 28-29 e.g., reacting to one or more user inputs (input of the player) in a video game, Col. 7 Lines 34-36 The destruction causing event may be associated with an intensity, and may include an explosion, weapons fire (destruction action) such as missiles, grenades, bombs, and so on, Col. 15 Lines 4-16 In another embodiment of process 900, if the destruction causing event is found to affect multiple areas of terrain at operation 908, then process 900 may proceed to operation 918, where the intensity of the destruction causing event may be mapped to multiple adjacent areas of terrain (at least a first object and second object) based on a distance from a center of the destruction causing event. Next, one or more textures and/or one or more destructibility 10 values associated with one or more of the multiple adjacent areas may be changed based on the mapped intensity of the destruction causing event at operation 920, as described above in greater detail in reference to FIG. 7. The updated textures may then be rendered into image data and presented to a user at operation 912).
Regarding Claim 21, Penmatsa discloses an information processing apparatus comprising:
one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising (Col. 18 Lines 55-63 In the illustrated embodiment, computing device 1000 includes one or more processors 1100a, 1100b through 1100n, Col. 3 Lines 58-61 In other cases, the components of computing node 100 may be located across multiple devices and or servers, for example described in reference to FIG. 10):
storing in a memory first volume data that is data for representing a first object in a virtual space and holds voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space (Col. 2 Lines 12-13 the three dimensional volume (first volume data) may be represented by one or more voxels (holds voxel data), Col. 2 Lines 52-57 Using the described techniques, one or more three dimensional volumes, such as one or more portions of terrain (a first object), may be more effectively and efficiently modeled/simulated. By combining layers having one or more similar layer characteristics, the computation and memory involved in rendering and updating three dimensional simulations may be reduced), and
second volume data that is data for representing a second object in the virtual space (Col. 6 Lines 1-3 a plurality (at least a second) of three dimensional volumes, such as terrain (object) in a scene of a video game);
if a first event for the first object occurs based on an operation input of a player, updating in the first volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a first range set based on a position where the first event occurs (Col. 2 Lines 42-44 the event may include a destruction event, such as an explosion, weapons fire in a video game, etc., Col. 7 Lines 26-29 In some cases, the event detection component 208 may receive information relating to an event, for example, from one or more input devices (e.g., reacting to one or more user inputs in a video game), Col. 7 Lines 57-59 based on proximity of the area to a center of occurrence of the event, the source of the event (e.g., location or type of event), Col. 9 Lines 7-9 modify one or more textures/layer characteristics and/or the destructibility value of each affected layer of each affect area, Col. 12 Lines 50-55 destruction event 602 may be represented by a center 618 of a highest intensity value, with zones 620, 622, 624, 626 (e.g., areas or volumes) emanating outward from the center 618);
if a second event for the second object occurs based on an operation input of the player (Col. 2 Lines 42-44 the event may include a destruction event, such as an explosion, weapons fire in a video game, etc., Col. 7 Lines 26-29 In some cases, the event detection component 208 may receive information relating to an event, for example, from one or more input devices (e.g., reacting to one or more user inputs in a video game), Col. 7 Lines 41-43 The texture updating component 210 may then determine which area/areas or portions (range set) of the simulated space are affected by the event (based on an event occurring), Col. 7 Lines 57-59 based on proximity of the area to a center of occurrence of the event, the source of the event (e.g., location or type of event), Col. 9 Lines 7-9 modify one or more textures/layer characteristics and/or the destructibility value of each affected layer of each affect area, Col. 12 Lines 50-55 destruction event 602 may be represented by a center 618 of a highest intensity value, with zones 620, 622, 624, 626 (e.g., areas or volumes) emanating outward from the center 618)); and
based on the first volume data and the second volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing surfaces of the first object and the second object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space (Col. 8 Lines 5-7 the rendering component 212 may then render the information into image data to be displayed to a user, Col. 8 Lines 26- According to one example, the terrain simulation component 102 and/or the texture component 202 may receive or obtain graphic information associated with a three dimensional volume of a simulated space, such as terrain, for example, to be presented to a user in multiple scenes. The graphics information may include terrain information, for example divided into multiple three dimensional volumes or voxels, Col. 14 Lines 22-24 The terrain model (image of the virtual space) may be rendered using, for example, a voxel-based mesh generation technique (applying voxel-based mesh generation to multiple voxels will generate a polygon mesh)).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing holds the voxel data with respect to each voxel included in a second voxel space placed in the virtual space; and updating in the second volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a second range set based on a position where the second event occurs.
Kapulkin teaches holds the voxel data with respect to each voxel included in a second voxel space placed in the virtual space ([0010] create and manage a voxel grid (a voxel space) associated with the player, the voxel grid comprising a plurality of cells in a three-dimensional array (each voxel included) occupying the a portion of the space of the virtual world, [0014] creating and managing a second voxel grid associated with a second player of the video game); and
updating in the second volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a second range set based on a position where the second event occurs ([0010] one or more of the objects (one or more volume data) movable in the defined space of the virtual world… create and manage a voxel grid associated with the player, the voxel grid (voxel data of a voxel in a range) comprising a plurality of cells in a three-dimensional array (makes it possible to find position of second event) occupying the a portion of the space of the virtual world, [0081] Assume that a small movement (event occurs) is made with an avatar, for example, in region 804. Some cells will have to be recalculated in region 804, and perhaps some cells in region808 as well, as the prevailing light source is parallel directly down ward from above regions 802, 803, 804 and 805, [0086] Movement of the avatar (event occurs) 902 will typically require recalculation of illumination values of at least a plurality of cells in voxel grid 901).
Regarding Claim 22, Penmatsa discloses wherein the image processing further comprises:
if the first event occurs, updating the voxel data so that the degree of a voxel included in the first range decreases in the first volume data (Fig. 7 partial destruction (degree of voxel in first range decreases) of the surface (the volume data)); and
if the second event occurs, updating the voxel data so that the degree of a voxel included in the second range decreases in the second volume data (Fig. 7 partial destruction (degree of voxel in first range decreases) of the surface (the volume data)).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing wherein the voxel data includes a value indicating an occupancy of an object inside a space defined by a voxel.
Kapulkin teaches wherein the voxel data includes a value indicating an occupancy of an object inside a space defined by a voxel ([0013] computing an occupancy value for individual ones of the cells of the voxel grid, [0055] for occupancy less than 100% an occupancy value for a cell may be adjusted down ward as well).
Regarding Claim 23, Penmatsa discloses wherein the image processing further comprises:
if the first event occurs, updating the voxel data so that at least one of a plurality of voxels included in the first range in the first volume data is set to a value indicating that the first object is not present (Col. 12 Lines 60-65 the blocks 700-708… may be removed (not present) as a result of the destruction event 602, for example, destroyed, Col. 13 Lines 1-8 having a destructibility value of 0 (setting a value)… destruction event 602 (event occurring) may change or destroy enough blocks 604 to shift bigger portions of the simulated space or terrain); and
if the second event occurs, updating the voxel data so that at least one of a plurality of voxels included in the second range in the second volume data is set to a value indicating that the second object is not present (Col. 12 Lines 65-67 replaced by free space (indicating that the object is not present)… Col. 13 Lines 1-8 having a destructibility value of 0 (setting a value)… destruction event 602 (event occurring) may change or destroy enough blocks 604 to shift bigger portions of the simulated space or terrain).
Regarding Claim 26, Penmatsa discloses wherein voxels included in the first volume data are different from each other in size defined in the virtual space (Fig. 7 Elements 604 and 724 are different sizes from each other in the defined virtual space 600, Col. 13 Lines 20-34 represented by a multiple of smaller blocks 724).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing wherein a single voxel included in the first volume data and a single voxel included in the second volume data are different from each other.
Kapulkin teaches wherein a single voxel included in the first volume data and a single voxel included in the second volume data are different from each other ([0013] a plurality of cells in a three-dimensional array occupying the a portion of the space of the virtual world, [0081] Each region depicted in FIG. 8 has four fringe planes, each comprising a layer of cells in a planar array. Consider that an object, for example an avatar character, wholly contained in region 808 moves by a few cell dimensions in a frame time interval, but stays entirely in region 808… Some cells will have to be recalculated in region 804, and perhaps some cells in region808 as well, as the prevailing light source is parallel directly down ward from above regions 802, 803, 804 and 805 (each region comprises different volume data). If an avatar that partially occupies regions 802 and 804 moves, at may be necessary to recalculate values in 802, 804, 806 and 808, but perhaps still just four of the eight regions).
Regarding Claim 27, Penmatsa discloses an information processing method for causing an information processing system to execute game processing, the information processing method causing the information processing system to execute (Col. 13 Lines 45-50 by identifying and/or receiving three-dimensional volume information including a plurality of voxels... this information may be associated with and/or retrieved from a content item, such as a video game or other):
reading from a storage medium first volume data that is data for representing a first object in a virtual space and holds voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space (Col. 2 Lines 12-13 the three dimensional volume (first volume data) may be represented by one or more voxels (holds voxel data), Col. 2 Lines 52-57 Using the described techniques, one or more three dimensional volumes, such as one or more portions of terrain (a first object), may be more effectively and efficiently modeled/simulated. By combining layers having one or more similar layer characteristics, the computation and memory involved in rendering and updating three dimensional simulations may be reduced), and
second volume data that is data for representing a second object in the virtual space (Col. 6 Lines 1-3 a plurality (at least a second) of three dimensional volumes, such as terrain (object) in a scene of a video game);
if a first event for the first object occurs based on an operation input of a player, updating in the first volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a first range set based on a position where the first event occurs (Col. 2 Lines 42-44 the event may include a destruction event, such as an explosion, weapons fire in a video game, etc., Col. 7 Lines 26-29 In some cases, the event detection component 208 may receive information relating to an event, for example, from one or more input devices (e.g., reacting to one or more user inputs in a video game), Col. 7 Lines 57-59 based on proximity of the area to a center of occurrence of the event, the source of the event (e.g., location or type of event), Col. 9 Lines 7-9 modify one or more textures/layer characteristics and/or the destructibility value of each affected layer of each affect area, Col. 12 Lines 50-55 destruction event 602 may be represented by a center 618 of a highest intensity value, with zones 620, 622, 624, 626 (e.g., areas or volumes) emanating outward from the center 618);
if a second event for the second object occurs based on an operation input of the player (Col. 2 Lines 42-44 the event may include a destruction event, such as an explosion, weapons fire in a video game, etc., Col. 7 Lines 26-29 In some cases, the event detection component 208 may receive information relating to an event, for example, from one or more input devices (e.g., reacting to one or more user inputs in a video game), Col. 7 Lines 41-43 The texture updating component 210 may then determine which area/areas or portions (range set) of the simulated space are affected by the event (based on an event occurring), Col. 7 Lines 57-59 based on proximity of the area to a center of occurrence of the event, the source of the event (e.g., location or type of event), Col. 9 Lines 7-9 modify one or more textures/layer characteristics and/or the destructibility value of each affected layer of each affect area, Col. 12 Lines 50-55 destruction event 602 may be represented by a center 618 of a highest intensity value, with zones 620, 622, 624, 626 (e.g., areas or volumes) emanating outward from the center 618)); and
based on the first volume data and the second volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing surfaces of the first object and the second object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space (Col. 8 Lines 5-7 the rendering component 212 may then render the information into image data to be displayed to a user, Col. 8 Lines 26- According to one example, the terrain simulation component 102 and/or the texture component 202 may receive or obtain graphic information associated with a three dimensional volume of a simulated space, such as terrain, for example, to be presented to a user in multiple scenes. The graphics information may include terrain information, for example divided into multiple three dimensional volumes or voxels, Col. 14 Lines 22-24 The terrain model (image of the virtual space) may be rendered using, for example, a voxel-based mesh generation technique (applying voxel-based mesh generation to multiple voxels will generate a polygon mesh)).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing holds the voxel data with respect to each voxel included in a second voxel space placed in the virtual space; and updating in the second volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a second range set based on a position where the second event occurs.
Kapulkin teaches holds the voxel data with respect to each voxel included in a second voxel space placed in the virtual space ([0010] create and manage a voxel grid (a voxel space) associated with the player, the voxel grid comprising a plurality of cells in a three-dimensional array (each voxel included) occupying the a portion of the space of the virtual world, [0014] creating and managing a second voxel grid associated with a second player of the video game); and
updating in the second volume data the voxel data of a voxel included in a second range set based on a position where the second event occurs ([0010] one or more of the objects (one or more volume data) movable in the defined space of the virtual world… create and manage a voxel grid associated with the player, the voxel grid (voxel data of a voxel in a range) comprising a plurality of cells in a three-dimensional array (makes it possible to find position of second event) occupying the a portion of the space of the virtual world, [0081] Assume that a small movement (event occurs) is made with an avatar, for example, in region 804. Some cells will have to be recalculated in region 804, and perhaps some cells in region808 as well, as the prevailing light source is parallel directly down ward from above regions 802, 803, 804 and 805, [0086] Movement of the avatar (event occurs) 902 will typically require recalculation of illumination values of at least a plurality of cells in voxel grid 901).
Regarding Claim 28, Penmatsa discloses the information processing method causes the information processing system to:
if the first event occurs, update the voxel data so that the degree of a voxel included in the first range decreases in the first volume data (Fig. 7 partial destruction (degree of voxel in first range decreases) of the surface (the volume data)); and
if the second event occurs, update the voxel data so that the degree of a voxel included in the second range decreases in the second volume data (Fig. 7 partial destruction (degree of voxel in first range decreases) of the surface (the volume data)).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing wherein the voxel data includes a value indicating an occupancy of an object inside a space defined by a voxel.
Kapulkin teaches wherein the voxel data includes a value indicating an occupancy of an object inside a space defined by a voxel ([0013] computing an occupancy value for individual ones of the cells of the voxel grid, [0055] for occupancy less than 100% an occupancy value for a cell may be adjusted down ward as well).
Regarding Claim 29, Penmatsa discloses wherein the information processing method causes the information processing system to:
if the first event occurs, update the voxel data so that at least one of a plurality of voxels included in the first range in the first volume data is set to a value indicating that the first object is not present (Col. 12 Lines 60-65 the blocks 700-708… may be removed (not present) as a result of the destruction event 602, for example, destroyed, Col. 13 Lines 1-8 having a destructibility value of 0 (setting a value)… destruction event 602 (event occurring) may change or destroy enough blocks 604 to shift bigger portions of the simulated space or terrain); and
if the second event occurs, update the voxel data so that at least one of a plurality of voxels included in the second range in the second volume data is set to a value indicating that the second object is not present (Col. 12 Lines 65-67 replaced by free space (indicating that the object is not present)… Col. 13 Lines 1-8 having a destructibility value of 0 (setting a value)… destruction event 602 (event occurring) may change or destroy enough blocks 604 to shift bigger portions of the simulated space or terrain).
Regarding Claim 32, Penmatsa discloses wherein voxels included in the first volume data are different from each other in size defined in the virtual space (Fig. 7 Elements 604 and 724 are different sizes from each other in the defined virtual space 600, Col. 13 Lines 20-34 represented by a multiple of smaller blocks 724).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing wherein a single voxel included in the first volume data and a single voxel included in the second volume data are different from each other.
Kapulkin teaches wherein a single voxel included in the first volume data and a single voxel included in the second volume data are different from each other ([0013] a plurality of cells in a three-dimensional array occupying the a portion of the space of the virtual world, [0081] Each region depicted in FIG. 8 has four fringe planes, each comprising a layer of cells in a planar array. Consider that an object, for example an avatar character, wholly contained in region 808 moves by a few cell dimensions in a frame time interval, but stays entirely in region 808… Some cells will have to be recalculated in region 804, and perhaps some cells in region808 as well, as the prevailing light source is parallel directly down ward from above regions 802, 803, 804 and 805 (each region comprises different volume data). If an avatar that partially occupies regions 802 and 804 moves, at may be necessary to recalculate values in 802, 804, 806 and 808, but perhaps still just four of the eight regions).
Claims 4, 9, 14, 19, 24, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penmatsa et al. (US 9,737,811 B1) in view of Kapulkin et al. (US 2014/0342823 A1), and in further view of Geiss, Ryan ‘Chapter 1. Generating Complex Procedural Terrains Using the GPU’, GPU Gems 3 [online]. Retrieved from the Internet: Nvidia Developer [retrieved on 2026-07-08]. <URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20231216091052/https:/developer.nvidia.com/gpugems/gpugems3/part-i-geometry/chapter-1-generating-complex-procedural-terrains-using-gpu>.
Regarding Claim 4, Penmatsa discloses wherein the image processing further comprises:
if the first event occurs, updating the voxel data so that a voxel completely included in the first range in the first volume data is set to a value indicating that the first object is not present, and the degree of a voxel partially included in the first range decreases (Col. 12 Lines 60-65 the blocks 700-708 associated with the center 618 and the first two zones 620 and 622… may be removed as a result of the destruction event 602, for example, destroyed, Col. 13 Lines 1-8 having a destructibility value of 0 (setting a value)… destruction event 602 (event occurring) may change or destroy enough blocks 604 to shift bigger portions of the simulated space or terrain).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing if the second event occurs, updating the voxel data so that a voxel completely included in the second range in the second volume data is set to a value indicating that the second object is not present, and the degree of a voxel partially included in the second range decreases.
Geiss teaches if the second event occurs, updating the voxel data so that a voxel completely included in the second range in the second volume data is set to a value indicating that the second object is not present, and the degree of a voxel partially included in the second range decreases (1.2 Paras. 1-2 Conceptually, the terrain surface can be completely described by a single function, called the density function. For any point in 3D space (x, y, z), the function produces a single floating-point value. These values vary over space—sometimes positive, sometimes negative. If the value is positive, then that point in space is inside the solid terrain. If the value is negative, then that point is located in empty space (such as air or water). The boundary between positive and negative values (between positive and negative values is a range)—where the density value is zero (set to a value indicating that the second object is not present)—is the surface of the terrain. It is along this surface that we wish to construct a polygonal mesh).
Penmatsa and Geiss are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of computerized terrain modeling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying a computer-implemented method, one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute image processing, as disclosed by Penmatsa, further including if the second event occurs, updating the voxel data so that a voxel completely included in the second range in the second volume data is set to a value indicating that the second object is not present, and the degree of a voxel partially included in the second range decreases, as taught by Geiss for the purpose of generating procedural terrains with a high level of complexity (Geiss, 1.1 Paras 1-2).
Regarding Claim 9, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing wherein the image processing further comprises: determining a vertex position of a polygon based on the voxel data between a voxel in which the first object or the second object is not present and a voxel in which the first object or the second object is present, thereby generating the polygon mesh; and based on occurrence of the first event or the second event, recalculating a vertex of the polygonmesh in a range including a voxel in which at least the voxel data is updated.
Kapulkin teaches based on occurrence of the first event or the second event, recalculating a vertex of the polygonmesh in a range including a voxel in which at least the voxel data is updated ([0015] dividing the voxel grid into individual regions (polygonmeshes) and redetermining (recalculating)… only in one of the individual regions (polygonmesh in a range) in response to the player causing an object (including a voxel) to be moved (voxel data is updated))
However, Kapulkin is not relied upon teaching determining a vertex position of a polygon based on the voxel data between a voxel in which the first object or the second object is not present and a voxel in which the first object or the second object is present, thereby generating the polygon mesh.
Geiss teaches determining a vertex position of a polygon based on the voxel data between a voxel in which the first object or the second object is not present and a voxel in which the first object or the second object is present, thereby generating the polygon mesh (1.2 Para. 1 Conceptually, the terrain surface can be completely described by a single function, called the density function. For any point in 3D space (x, y, z), the function produces a single floating-point value. These values vary over space—sometimes positive, sometimes negative. If the value is positive, then that point in space is inside the solid terrain, 1.2 Para. 2 If the value is negative, then that point is located in empty space (such as air or water). The boundary between positive (object is present) and negative (object is not present) values—where the density value is zero—is the surface of the terrain. It is along this surface that we wish to construct a polygonal mesh, 1.2 Para. 3 The marching cubes algorithm allows us to generate the correct polygons within a single voxel (generating a polygon mesh), given, as input, the density value at its eight corners (vertex position)).
Regarding Claim 14, Penmatsa discloses wherein the image processing further comprises:
if the first event occurs, updating the voxel data so that a voxel completely included in the first range in the first volume data is set to a value indicating that the first object is not present, and the degree of a voxel partially included in the first range decreases (Col. 12 Lines 60-65 the blocks 700-708 associated with the center 618 and the first two zones 620 and 622… may be removed as a result of the destruction event 602, for example, destroyed, Col. 13 Lines 1-8 having a destructibility value of 0 (setting a value)… destruction event 602 (event occurring) may change or destroy enough blocks 604 to shift bigger portions of the simulated space or terrain).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing if the second event occurs, updating the voxel data so that a voxel completely included in the second range in the second volume data is set to a value indicating that the second object is not present, and the degree of a voxel partially included in the second range decreases.
Geiss teaches if the second event occurs, updating the voxel data so that a voxel completely included in the second range in the second volume data is set to a value indicating that the second object is not present, and the degree of a voxel partially included in the second range decreases (1.2 Paras. 1-2 Conceptually, the terrain surface can be completely described by a single function, called the density function. For any point in 3D space (x, y, z), the function produces a single floating-point value. These values vary over space—sometimes positive, sometimes negative. If the value is positive, then that point in space is inside the solid terrain. If the value is negative, then that point is located in empty space (such as air or water). The boundary between positive and negative values (between positive and negative values is a range)—where the density value is zero (set to a value indicating that the second object is not present)—is the surface of the terrain. It is along this surface that we wish to construct a polygonal mesh).
Regarding Claim 19, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing wherein the image processing further comprises: determining a vertex position of a polygon based on the voxel data between a voxel in which the first object or the second object is not present and a voxel in which the first object or the second object is present, thereby generating the polygon mesh; and based on occurrence of the first event or the second event, recalculating a vertex of the polygon mesh in a range including a voxel in which at least the voxel data is updated.
Kapulkin teaches based on occurrence of the first event or the second event, recalculating a vertex of the polygon mesh in a range including a voxel in which at least the voxel data is updated ([0015] dividing the voxel grid into individual regions (polygonmeshes) and redetermining (recalculating)… only in one of the individual regions (polygonmesh in a range) in response to the player causing an object (including a voxel) to be moved (voxel data is updated))
However, Kapulkin is not relied upon teaching determining a vertex position of a polygon based on the voxel data between a voxel in which the first object or the second object is not present and a voxel in which the first object or the second object is present, thereby generating the polygon mesh.
Geiss teaches determining a vertex position of a polygon based on the voxel data between a voxel in which the first object or the second object is not present and a voxel in which the first object or the second object is present, thereby generating the polygon mesh (1.2 Para. 1 Conceptually, the terrain surface can be completely described by a single function, called the density function. For any point in 3D space (x, y, z), the function produces a single floating-point value. These values vary over space—sometimes positive, sometimes negative. If the value is positive, then that point in space is inside the solid terrain, 1.2 Para. 2 If the value is negative, then that point is located in empty space (such as air or water). The boundary between positive (object is present) and negative (object is not present) values—where the density value is zero—is the surface of the terrain. It is along this surface that we wish to construct a polygonal mesh, 1.2 Para. 3 The marching cubes algorithm allows us to generate the correct polygons within a single voxel (generating a polygon mesh), given, as input, the density value at its eight corners (vertex position)).
Regarding Claim 24, Penmatsa discloses wherein the image processing further comprises:
if the first event occurs, updating the voxel data so that a voxel completely included in the first range in the first volume data is set to a value indicating that the first object is not present, and the degree of a voxel partially included in the first range decreases (Col. 12 Lines 60-65 the blocks 700-708 associated with the center 618 and the first two zones 620 and 622… may be removed as a result of the destruction event 602, for example, destroyed, Col. 13 Lines 1-8 having a destructibility value of 0 (setting a value)… destruction event 602 (event occurring) may change or destroy enough blocks 604 to shift bigger portions of the simulated space or terrain).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing if the second event occurs, updating the voxel data so that a voxel completely included in the second range in the second volume data is set to a value indicating that the second object is not present, and the degree of a voxel partially included in the second range decreases.
Geiss teaches if the second event occurs, updating the voxel data so that a voxel completely included in the second range in the second volume data is set to a value indicating that the second object is not present, and the degree of a voxel partially included in the second range decreases (1.2 Paras. 1-2 Conceptually, the terrain surface can be completely described by a single function, called the density function. For any point in 3D space (x, y, z), the function produces a single floating-point value. These values vary over space—sometimes positive, sometimes negative. If the value is positive, then that point in space is inside the solid terrain. If the value is negative, then that point is located in empty space (such as air or water). The boundary between positive and negative values (between positive and negative values is a range)—where the density value is zero (set to a value indicating that the second object is not present)—is the surface of the terrain. It is along this surface that we wish to construct a polygonal mesh).
Regarding Claim 30, Penmatsa discloses wherein the information processing method causes the information processing system to:
if the first event occurs, update the voxel data so that a voxel completely included in the first range in the first volume data is set to a value indicating that the first object is not present, and the degree of a voxel partially included in the first range decreases (Col. 12 Lines 60-65 the blocks 700-708 associated with the center 618 and the first two zones 620 and 622… may be removed as a result of the destruction event 602, for example, destroyed, Col. 13 Lines 1-8 having a destructibility value of 0 (setting a value)… destruction event 602 (event occurring) may change or destroy enough blocks 604 to shift bigger portions of the simulated space or terrain).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing if the second event occurs, update the voxel data so that a voxel completely included in the second range in the second volume data is set to a value indicating that the second object is not present, and the degree of a voxel partially included in the second range decreases.
Geiss teaches if the second event occurs, update the voxel data so that a voxel completely included in the second range in the second volume data is set to a value indicating that the second object is not present, and the degree of a voxel partially included in the second range decreases (1.2 Paras. 1-2 Conceptually, the terrain surface can be completely described by a single function, called the density function. For any point in 3D space (x, y, z), the function produces a single floating-point value. These values vary over space—sometimes positive, sometimes negative. If the value is positive, then that point in space is inside the solid terrain. If the value is negative, then that point is located in empty space (such as air or water). The boundary between positive and negative values (between positive and negative values is a range)—where the density value is zero (set to a value indicating that the second object is not present)—is the surface of the terrain. It is along this surface that we wish to construct a polygonal mesh).
Claims 5, 15, 25, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penmatsa et al. (US 9,737,811 B1) in view of Kapulkin et al. (US 2014/0342823 A1), and in further view of Haskell (US 9,744,461 B1).
Regarding Claim 5, Penmatsa discloses wherein the voxel data further includes material data indicating a material of an object and an amount of damage indicating caused damage (Col. 10 Lines 17-18 each layer (object) associated with a height value, a material, and a destructibility value (amount of damage indicating caused damage)), and the image processing further comprises:
if the first event occurs, updating the amount of damage of a voxel included in the first range in the first volume data (Col. 9 Lines 20-25 store the updated destructibility value for each of the remaining affected layers (material(s)) of each affected area in database 106/206 (updating amount of damage of a voxel in the first range), so that the effects of subsequent destruction events may be determined); and
if the second event occurs, updating the amount of damage of a voxel included in the second range in the second volume data (Col. 9 Lines 20-25 store the updated destructibility value for each of the remaining affected layers (material(s)) of each affected area in database 106/206 (updating amount of damage of a voxel in the first range), so that the effects of subsequent destruction events may be determined).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing further update a value indicating the degree of a voxel in which the amount of damage exceeds an upper limit set for the material.
Haskell teaches further update a value indicating the degree of a voxel in which the amount of damage exceeds an upper limit set for the material (Col. 8 Lines 9-16 At block 308, the points are recorded. The points (indicating the degree in the amount of damage) where the physics trace hits the object are recorded. Other data may be recorded. For example, the type of weapon/tool used to strike the object, the angle of the initial hit on the object, the location of the initial hit on the object, the number of hits (further update a value for each hit) (e.g., it may be possible for the player to strike the object multiple times before the method 300 is completed; such multiple strikes may impact the weakpoint determination), Col. 13 Lines 7-13 In various embodiments, following a strike of the weakpoint 702, another animation may occur to indicate the direction of a subsequent weakpoint. Weakpoints may continue to be generated until the vehicle 408 is destroyed (e.g., it has taken a maximum amount of damage (damage exceeds upper limit set for the material) and/or has no more resources to provide).
Penmatsa and Haskell are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of destruction of objects in videogames. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying a computer-implemented method, one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute image processing, as disclosed by Penmatsa, further including further update a value indicating the degree of a voxel in which the amount of damage exceeds an upper limit set for the material, as taught by Haskell for the purpose of clearing a path or changing the layout of the game universe (Haskell, Col. 7 Lines 14-21).
Regarding Claim 15, Penmatsa discloses wherein the voxel data further includes material data indicating a material of an object and an amount of damage indicating caused damage (Col. 10 Lines 17-18 each layer (object) associated with a height value, a material, and a destructibility value (amount of damage indicating caused damage)), and the image processing further comprises:
if the first event occurs, updating the amount of damage of a voxel included in the first range in the first volume data (Col. 9 Lines 20-25 store the updated destructibility value for each of the remaining affected layers (material(s)) of each affected area in database 106/206 (updating amount of damage of a voxel in the first range), so that the effects of subsequent destruction events may be determined); and
if the second event occurs, updating the amount of damage of a voxel included in the second range in the second volume data (Col. 9 Lines 20-25 store the updated destructibility value for each of the remaining affected layers (material(s)) of each affected area in database 106/206 (updating amount of damage of a voxel in the first range), so that the effects of subsequent destruction events may be determined).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing further update a value indicating the degree of a voxel in which the amount of damage exceeds the upper limit set for the material.
Haskell teaches further update a value indicating the degree of a voxel in which the amount of damage exceeds the upper limit set for the material (Col. 8 Lines 9-16 At block 308, the points are recorded. The points (indicating the degree in the amount of damage) where the physics trace hits the object are recorded. Other data may be recorded. For example, the type of weapon/tool used to strike the object, the angle of the initial hit on the object, the location of the initial hit on the object, the number of hits (further update a value for each hit) (e.g., it may be possible for the player to strike the object multiple times before the method 300 is completed; such multiple strikes may impact the weakpoint determination), Col. 13 Lines 7-13 In various embodiments, following a strike of the weakpoint 702, another animation may occur to indicate the direction of a subsequent weakpoint. Weakpoints may continue to be generated until the vehicle 408 is destroyed (e.g., it has taken a maximum amount of damage (damage exceeds upper limit set for the material) and/or has no more resources to provide).
Regarding Claim 25, Penmatsa discloses wherein the voxel data further includes material data indicating a material of an object and an amount of damage indicating caused damage (Col. 10 Lines 17-18 each layer (object) associated with a height value, a material, and a destructibility value (amount of damage indicating caused damage)), and the image processing further comprises:
if the first event occurs, updating the amount of damage of a voxel included in the first range in the first volume data (Col. 9 Lines 20-25 store the updated destructibility value for each of the remaining affected layers (material(s)) of each affected area in database 106/206 (updating amount of damage of a voxel in the first range), so that the effects of subsequent destruction events may be determined); and
if the second event occurs, updating the amount of damage of a voxel included in the second range in the second volume data (Col. 9 Lines 20-25 store the updated destructibility value for each of the remaining affected layers (material(s)) of each affected area in database 106/206 (updating amount of damage of a voxel in the first range), so that the effects of subsequent destruction events may be determined).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing further update a value indicating the degree of a voxel in which the amount of damage exceeds an upper limit set for the material.
Haskell teaches further update a value indicating the degree of a voxel in which the amount of damage exceeds an upper limit set for the material (Col. 8 Lines 9-16 At block 308, the points are recorded. The points (indicating the degree in the amount of damage) where the physics trace hits the object are recorded. Other data may be recorded. For example, the type of weapon/tool used to strike the object, the angle of the initial hit on the object, the location of the initial hit on the object, the number of hits (further update a value for each hit) (e.g., it may be possible for the player to strike the object multiple times before the method 300 is completed; such multiple strikes may impact the weakpoint determination), Col. 13 Lines 7-13 In various embodiments, following a strike of the weakpoint 702, another animation may occur to indicate the direction of a subsequent weakpoint. Weakpoints may continue to be generated until the vehicle 408 is destroyed (e.g., it has taken a maximum amount of damage (damage exceeds upper limit set for the material) and/or has no more resources to provide).
Regarding Claim 31, Penmatsa discloses wherein the voxel data further includes material data indicating a material of an object and an amount of damage indicating caused damage (Col. 10 Lines 17-18 each layer (object) associated with a height value, a material, and a destructibility value (amount of damage indicating caused damage)), and the information processing method causes the information processing system to:
if the first event occurs, update the amount of damage of a voxel included in the first range in the first volume data (Col. 9 Lines 20-25 store the updated destructibility value for each of the remaining affected layers (material(s)) of each affected area in database 106/206 (updating amount of damage of a voxel in the first range), so that the effects of subsequent destruction events may be determined); and
if the second event occurs, update the amount of damage of a voxel included in the second range in the second volume data (Col. 9 Lines 20-25 store the updated destructibility value for each of the remaining affected layers (material(s)) of each affected area in database 106/206 (updating amount of damage of a voxel in the first range), so that the effects of subsequent destruction events may be determined).
However, Penmatsa is not relied upon disclosing further update a value indicating the degree of a voxel in which the amount of damage exceeds an upper limit set for the material.
Haskell teaches further update a value indicating the degree of a voxel in which the amount of damage exceeds an upper limit set for the material (Col. 8 Lines 9-16 At block 308, the points are recorded. The points (indicating the degree in the amount of damage) where the physics trace hits the object are recorded. Other data may be recorded. For example, the type of weapon/tool used to strike the object, the angle of the initial hit on the object, the location of the initial hit on the object, the number of hits (further update a value for each hit) (e.g., it may be possible for the player to strike the object multiple times before the method 300 is completed; such multiple strikes may impact the weakpoint determination), Col. 13 Lines 7-13 In various embodiments, following a strike of the weakpoint 702, another animation may occur to indicate the direction of a subsequent weakpoint. Weakpoints may continue to be generated until the vehicle 408 is destroyed (e.g., it has taken a maximum amount of damage (damage exceeds upper limit set for the material) and/or has no more resources to provide).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Moloney et al. (US 11,532,117 B2) is in the field of density coordinate hashing for volumetric data (Abstract).
/HAMID TARIQ HAFIZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/ROBERT J UTAMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715