DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2024 has been considered by examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by LADDU (WO 2021254638 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, LADDU discloses a method for cell handover, applicable to a terminal, the method comprising:
receiving first indication information (page 15, paragraph [0051], Fig.2, "At step 270, UE 110 may receive a mobility trigger from first TRP 120a…" (i.e., receiving a mobility trigger.));
and performing a handover action based on the first indication information (page 15, paragraph [0051], Fig.2, "…The mobility trigger may for example indicate switching the serving TRP of UE 110, from first TRP 120a to second TRP 120b…" (i.e., mobility trigger meaning to perform handover.)),
wherein the handover action comprises switching a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (page 15, paragraph [0051], Fig.2, "…Consequently, UE 110 may swap the primary and secondary sets of activated TCI states associated with the CORESETPoolIndex. That is to say, UE 110 may set the primary set of TCI states as a new secondary set of TCI states and the secondary set of TCI states as a new primary set of TCI states upon receiving the mobility trigger, wherein the new primary and the new secondary sets are associated with the CORESETPoolIndex as well. Hence the secondary set of activated TCI states (the new primary set of TCI states) may be used to interpret DCI indication of the codepoint after receiving the mobility trigger…" (i.e., switching TCI states.)).
Regarding Claim 5, LADDU discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
LADDU further discloses or wherein the first indication information is used for instructing the terminal to perform a layer 1/layer 2 (L1/L2) handover (page 9, paragraph [0029], Fig.2, "Embodiments of the present invention therefore facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) downlink/uplink beam management to support higher intra/inter-cell layerl/2-centric mobility and/or a larger number of configured TCI states. Moreover, Quasi Co-Location, QCL, and TCI-related enhancements are provided to enable inter-cell multi- TRP operations, e.g., assuming multi-DCI based multi-PDSCH reception." and page 11, paragraph [0036], "…The mobility trigger may be a layer 1/2 -centric mobility trigger for example. As the mobility trigger is associated with the CORESETPoolIndex, the mobility trigger may be only valid to a given set of activated TCI states which are associated with the CORESETPoolIndex." (i.e., mobility can be a layer 1/2 mobility trigger.)).
Regarding Claim 10, LADDU discloses A terminal, comprising: a processor; a transceiver, communicably connected to the processor; and a memory (paragraph [0064], Fig.4), configured to store one or more executable instructions;
wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the one or more executable instructions, to cause the terminal to perform: receiving first indication information (paragraph [0051], Fig.2, "At step 270, UE 110 may receive a mobility trigger from first TRP 120a…" (i.e., receiving a mobility trigger.));
and performing a handover action based on the first indication information (paragraph [0051], Fig.2, "…The mobility trigger may for example indicate switching the serving TRP of UE 110, from first TRP 120a to second TRP 120b…" (i.e., mobility trigger meaning to perform handover.)),
wherein the handover action comprises switching a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (paragraph [0051], Fig.2, "…Consequently, UE 110 may swap the primary and secondary sets of activated TCI states associated with the CORESETPoolIndex. That is to say, UE 110 may set the primary set of TCI states as a new secondary set of TCI states and the secondary set of TCI states as a new primary set of TCI states upon receiving the mobility trigger, wherein the new primary and the new secondary sets are associated with the CORESETPoolIndex as well. Hence the secondary set of activated TCI states (the new primary set of TCI states) may be used to interpret DCI indication of the codepoint after receiving the mobility trigger…" (i.e., switching TCI states.)).
Regarding Claim 16, LADDU discloses A network device, comprising: a processor; a transceiver, communicably connected to the processor; and a memory (paragraph [0064], Fig.4), configured to store one or more executable instructions; wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the one or more executable instructions, to cause the network device to perform: transmitting first indication information (paragraph [0051], Fig.2, "At step 270, UE 110 may receive a mobility trigger from first TRP 120a…" (i.e., receiving a mobility trigger.));
wherein the first indication information is used for instructing a terminal to perform a handover action (paragraph [0051], Fig.2, "…The mobility trigger may for example indicate switching the serving TRP of UE 110, from first TRP 120a to second TRP 120b…" (i.e., mobility trigger meaning to perform handover.)),
wherein the handover action comprises switching a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (paragraph [0051], Fig.2, "…Consequently, UE 110 may swap the primary and secondary sets of activated TCI states associated with the CORESETPoolIndex. That is to say, UE 110 may set the primary set of TCI states as a new secondary set of TCI states and the secondary set of TCI states as a new primary set of TCI states upon receiving the mobility trigger, wherein the new primary and the new secondary sets are associated with the CORESETPoolIndex as well. Hence the secondary set of activated TCI states (the new primary set of TCI states) may be used to interpret DCI indication of the codepoint after receiving the mobility trigger…" (i.e., switching TCI states.)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LADDU (WO 2021254638 A1) in view of Wang (WO 2023011545 A1) (English translation provided).
Regarding Claim 2, LADDU discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
However, LADDU does not disclose wherein switching the TCI state comprises at least one of: switching a TCI state of a common channel of the terminal.
Wang discloses wherein switching the TCI state comprises at least one of:
switching a TCI state of a common channel of the terminal (page 12, paragraph [0137], Fig.2, "Optionally, in this embodiment of the present application, PCI switching means that some or all data received by the UE is converted from being sent by the source cell/TRP to being sent by the target cell/TRP. Specifically, it can be understood that the unified TCI state of all or part of the data channels or control channels is determined according to the indication of the unified TCI state in the indication information, and RSs directly or indirectly associated with the unified TCI state belong to neighboring cells." (i.e., discloses of switching TCI state of a common channel. Other limitations were given no patentable weight as its optional because the claim recites an “or”.)).
LADDU and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field handover/mobility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LADDU to implement the method of Wang switching the TCI state comprises switching a TCI state of a common channel of the terminal in order to reduce cell switching delay, and improve cell switching flexibility (Wang, paragraph [0054], “An embodiment of the present application provides a method for L1 based cell handover and rate matching mode handover in a CA scenario, which improves the flexibility of the system and reduces cell handover delay compared to conventional networks that explicitly transmit RRC reconfiguration signaling to inform the UE of cell handover.”).
Regarding Claim 3, LADDU in view of Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
Wang further discloses wherein switching the TCI state of the common channel of the terminal comprises at least one of: or receiving the common channel based on a second TCI state, wherein the second TCI state is associated with a target cell (paragraph [0137], Fig.2, "Optionally, in this embodiment of the present application, PCI switching means that some or all data received by the UE is converted from being sent by the source cell/TRP to being sent by the target cell/TRP. Specifically, it can be understood that the unified TCI state of all or part of the data channels or control channels is determined according to the indication of the unified TCI state in the indication information, and RSs directly or indirectly associated with the unified TCI state belong to neighboring cells." (i.e., the TCI state associated with the target cell or neighboring cells.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LADDU (WO 2021254638 A1) in view of Manolakos (US 20200351055 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, LADDU discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
However, LADDU does not explicitly disclose wherein the handover action further comprises: switching a primary transmission reception point (TRP) and/or a secondary TRP; wherein switching the primary TRP and/or the secondary TRP comprises at least one of: switching a TRP of a source cell from the primary TRP to the secondary TRP.
Manolakos discloses wherein the handover action further comprises: switching a primary transmission reception point (TRP) (paragraph [0129], Fig.4, "At 435, the network may, in some cases, switch the anchor TRP for UE 115-c (e.g., the base station or network may switch the anchor TRP from TRP 205-e to TRP 205-f). For example, in some cases, UE 115-c may determine that a signal strength of the received first reference signal is less than a predetermined signal strength threshold and determine to switch an anchor TRP from the first TRP to the second TRP" (i.e., switching TRP.)).
LADDU and Manolakos are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field handover/mobility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LADDU to implement the method of Manolakos of connecting to another TRP in order to reduce latency and signaling overhead (Manolakos, paragraph [0134], “For example, when the anchor TRP fails the device 505 may switch connections to a second TRP rather than performing reconnection procedures with the anchor TRP. Thus, receiving the association may allow device 505 may reduce latency and signaling overhead by avoiding performing a reconnection procedure.”).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LADDU (WO 2021254638 A1) in view of Tenny (US 20180049261 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, LADDU discloses all the limitations of claim 5.
However, LADDU does not explicitly disclose wherein the layer 2 comprises at least one of a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer, a radio-link control (RLC) layer, or a MAC, and the layer 3 comprises a radio resource control (RRC) layer; and wherein the layer 2 operation comprises at least one of: PDCP re-establishment; RLC re-establishment; or MAC reset.
Tenny discloses wherein the layer 2 comprises at least one of a radio-link control (RLC) layer, or a MAC (paragraph [0081], Fig.1, "the UE re-establishes RLC and resets the MAC layer entity. The legacy RLC re-establishment procedure and MAC layer entity reset procedure may be followed unless new RLC and/or MAC layer functionalities are defined in NR system design;" (i.e., discloses layer 2 comprises MAC and RLC.)),
and the layer 3 comprises a radio resource control (RRC) layer (paragraph [0052], "Cell anchor point: a Layer 3 management concept for cell at the RRC layer and S1 interface." (i.e., well known in the art layer 3 comprises RRC layer));
and wherein the layer 2 operation comprises at least one of: RLC re-establishment; or MAC reset (paragraph [0081], Fig.1, " Step 1: A Layer 2 radio link re-establishment procedure is initiated by a UE, and the UE re-establishes RLC and resets the MAC layer entity. The legacy RLC re-establishment procedure and MAC layer entity reset procedure may be followed unless new RLC and/or MAC layer functionalities are defined in NR system design;" (i.e., discloses re-establishment or reset.)).
LADDU and Tenny are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field handover/mobility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LADDU to implement the method of Tenny as that would enable the UE to perform re-establishment and recovery procedure form a radio link failure and/or handover failure thus reducing the downtime the UE faces when there is a failure by reperforming the establishment (Tenny, paragraph [0009], “Practice of the foregoing embodiments enables a Layer 2 link re-establishment and recovery procedure from a radio link failure and/or handover failure,”).
Claim(s) 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LADDU (WO 2021254638 A1) in view of DA SILVA (US 20240098588 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, LADDU discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
However, LADDU does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the one or more executable instructions, to cause the terminal to further perform: receiving a candidate cell configuration and a candidate cell evaluation condition configuration; performing a cell measurement based on the candidate cell configuration; and performing a measurement evaluation based on the candidate cell evaluation condition configuration and reporting a measurement result, wherein the measurement result is used by a network to select a suitable target cell for the terminal.
DA SILVA discloses wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the one or more executable instructions, to cause the terminal to further perform: receiving a candidate cell configuration (par.168, CHO candidate cells) and a candidate cell evaluation condition configuration (par.168, associated triggering conditions) (paragraph [0088], “In some embodiments, the UE receives the configuration as part of the conditional handover configuration, e.g., in an RRCReconfiguration containing a per target candidate cell RRCReconfiguration message to be stored and associated to trigger/execution conditions.” and paragraph [0168], Fig.6, "At step 614, the wireless device receives a CHO configuration comprising one or more CHO candidate cells and associated triggering conditions. The wireless device may obtain the configuration according to any of the embodiments and examples described herein." (i.e., UE receiving candidate cells, which can contain per cell configuration and their trigger conditions.));
performing a cell measurement based on the candidate cell configuration (paragraph [0169], Fig.6, "At step 616, the wireless device generates a measurement report comprising measurement information for the one or more CHO candidate cells. In particular embodiments, the measurement report comprises one or more of: an event triggered measurement report;" (i.e., UE performs measurement.));
and performing a measurement evaluation based on the candidate cell evaluation condition configuration (paragraph [0170], Fig.6, "In particular embodiments, the measurement information comprises one or more of: CHO target cell candidate measurements per cell; CHO target cell candidate list that are fulfilling a condition; and beam measurement information for CHO target cell candidates." (i.e., evaluating the target cell that are fulfilling a condition provided in step 614.))
and reporting a measurement result, wherein the measurement result is used by a network to select a suitable target cell for the terminal (paragraph [0172], Fig.6, "At step 618, the wireless device transmits the measurement report to a network node. The network node may use the reported information to modify the CHO configuration according to any of the embodiments and examples described herein (e.g., add, modify, and/or delete candidate cells)." And paragraph [0173], “At step 620, the wireless device receives a CHO configuration update from the network node based on the transmitted measurement report.” (i.e., transmit measurement report. Network node selects a suitable target cell by modifying and/or deleting candidate cells.)).
LADDU and DA SILVA are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field handover/mobility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LADDU to implement the method of DA SILVA in order for the UE to report measurement of cells in order to receive a selection of that’s best for the UE to camp on in order to have the best connectivity (DA SILVA, paragraph [0042], “Certain embodiments may provide one or more of the following technical advantages. For example, particular embodiments may provide the network enhanced information about which cells are currently strongest for the UE and changes with respect to those cells. This provides the network the capability to configure the best candidate cells with CHO, which in turn leads to increased robustness and less risk of lost connections and re-establishments.”).
Regarding Claim 17, LADDU discloses all the limitations of claim 16.
However, LADDU does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the one or more executable instructions, to cause the network device to further perform: transmitting a candidate cell configuration and a candidate cell evaluation condition configuration; and receiving a measurement result from the terminal; wherein the measurement result is obtained by performing a cell measurement based on the candidate cell configuration and performing a measurement evaluation based on the candidate cell evaluation condition configuration, and determining a target cell for the terminal.
Da Silva discloses wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the one or more executable instructions, to cause the network device to further perform: transmitting a candidate cell configuration (par.168, CHO candidate cells) and a candidate cell evaluation condition configuration (par.168, associated triggering conditions) (paragraph [0088], “In some embodiments, the UE receives the configuration as part of the conditional handover configuration, e.g., in an RRCReconfiguration containing a per target candidate cell RRCReconfiguration message to be stored and associated to trigger/execution conditions.” and paragraph [0168], Fig.6, "At step 614, the wireless device receives a CHO configuration comprising one or more CHO candidate cells and associated triggering conditions. The wireless device may obtain the configuration according to any of the embodiments and examples described herein." (i.e., UE receiving candidate cells, which can contain per cell configuration and their trigger conditions.));
and receiving a measurement result from the terminal (paragraph [0172], Fig.6, "At step 618, the wireless device transmits the measurement report to a network node. The network node may use the reported information to modify the CHO configuration according to any of the embodiments and examples described herein (e.g., add, modify, and/or delete candidate cells)." (i.e., UE sends measurement report.)),
wherein the measurement result is obtained by performing a cell measurement based on the candidate cell configuration and performing a measurement evaluation based on the candidate cell evaluation condition configuration (paragraph [0169], Fig.6, "At step 616, the wireless device generates a measurement report comprising measurement information for the one or more CHO candidate cells. In particular embodiments, the measurement report comprises one or more of: an event triggered measurement report;" and paragraph [0170], Fig.6, "In particular embodiments, the measurement information comprises one or more of: CHO target cell candidate measurements per cell; CHO target cell candidate list that are fulfilling a condition; and beam measurement information for CHO target cell candidates." and paragraph [0172], Fig.6, "At step 618, the wireless device transmits the measurement report to a network node. The network node may use the reported information to modify the CHO configuration according to any of the embodiments and examples described herein (e.g., add, modify, and/or delete candidate cells)." (i.e., UE performs measurement and evaluating the target cell that are fulfilling a condition provided in step 614.)),
and determining a target cell for the terminal (paragraph [0172], Fig.6, "At step 618, the wireless device transmits the measurement report to a network node. The network node may use the reported information to modify the CHO configuration according to any of the embodiments and examples described herein (e.g., add, modify, and/or delete candidate cells)." And paragraph [0173], “At step 620, the wireless device receives a CHO configuration update from the network node based on the transmitted measurement report.” (i.e., transmit measurement report. Network node selects a suitable target cell by modifying and/or deleting candidate cells.)).
LADDU and DA SILVA are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field handover/mobility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LADDU to implement the method of DA SILVA in order for the UE to report measurement of cells in order to receive a selection of that’s best for the UE to camp on in order to have the best connectivity (DA SILVA, paragraph [0042], “Certain embodiments may provide one or more of the following technical advantages. For example, particular embodiments may provide the network enhanced information about which cells are currently strongest for the UE and changes with respect to those cells. This provides the network the capability to configure the best candidate cells with CHO, which in turn leads to increased robustness and less risk of lost connections and re-establishments.”).
Claim(s) 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LADDU (WO 2021254638 A1) in view of Shi (US 20120213089 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, LADDU discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
However, LADDU does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the one or more executable instructions, to cause the terminal to further perform: determining that a handover is successful based on a first condition; or determining that a handover has failed based on a second condition; wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following items: a random access is successful during an operation of a first timer; wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following items: A random access has failed.
Shi discloses wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the one or more executable instructions, to cause the terminal to further perform: determining that a handover is successful based on a first condition (paragraph [0120], Fig.10, "It should be noted that if the UE and base station capabilities allow, the UE also can initiate the random access simultaneously on the component carriers CC3 and CC4. In the present embodiment, the UE initiates the random access on the component carriers CC3 and CC4 in sequence." and paragraph [0121], "Step S1005, before the timer T stops, the UE is successful in the random access on the component carrier CC4, the UE sends on the component carrier CC4 a handover completion message (comprised in an RRC connection reconfiguration completion message) to the base station 2." (i.e., before T stops, the UE is successful in RA.));
or determining that a handover has failed based on a second condition (paragraph [0124], Fig.10, "It should be noted that in the present embodiment, if the UE is not successful in the random access on any one of the CC3 and CC4 before the timer T stops, the UE considers that the handover is failed, deletes configuration on the CC3 and CC4, restores configuration on the component carriers CC1 and CC2, and triggers an RRC connection reestablishment. The RRC connection reestablishment process is the prior art and unnecessary details will not be given herein." (i.e., determining the UE has failed in connecting.));
wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following items: a random access is successful during an operation of a first timer (paragraph [0120], Fig.10, "It should be noted that if the UE and base station capabilities allow, the UE also can initiate the random access simultaneously on the component carriers CC3 and CC4. In the present embodiment, the UE initiates the random access on the component carriers CC3 and CC4 in sequence." and paragraph [0121], "Step S1005, before the timer T stops, the UE is successful in the random access on the component carrier CC4, the UE sends on the component carrier CC4 a handover completion message (comprised in an RRC connection reconfiguration completion message) to the base station 2." (i.e., RA is successful before the timer ends.));
wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following items: A random access has failed (paragraph [0124], Fig.10, "It should be noted that in the present embodiment, if the UE is not successful in the random access on any one of the CC3 and CC4 before the timer T stops, the UE considers that the handover is failed, deletes configuration on the CC3 and CC4, restores configuration on the component carriers CC1 and CC2, and triggers an RRC connection reestablishment. The RRC connection reestablishment process is the prior art and unnecessary details will not be given herein." (i.e., RA failed.)).
LADDU and Shi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field handover/mobility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LADDU to implement the method of Shi in order to notify the base station of progress in handover because Shi discloses of to trigger RRC connection reestablishment of the UE so it does not drop its connection completely thus increasing of maintaining connection to the cellular network (Shi, paragraph [0021], “Further, determining whether handover to the one or more component carriers is successful comprises: before the timer stops, the UE failing to perform the random access on any component carrier designated in the handover message, the UE determining a handover fails and performing an RRC connection reestablishment.”).
Regarding Claim 14, the case scenario directed at a first downlink message was given no patentable weight in claim 13 upon which this claim depends, hence, the limitation’s further defining the optional case scenario are given no patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 15, LADDU in view of Shi discloses all the limitations of claim 13.
Shi further discloses wherein in a case of a handover failure, the processor is configured to load and execute the one or more executable instructions, to cause the terminal to further perform at least one of: triggering an RRC connection re-establishment (paragraph [0124], Fig.10, "It should be noted that in the present embodiment, if the UE is not successful in the random access on any one of the CC3 and CC4 before the timer T stops, the UE considers that the handover is failed, deletes configuration on the CC3 and CC4, restores configuration on the component carriers CC1 and CC2, and triggers an RRC connection reestablishment. The RRC connection reestablishment process is the prior art and unnecessary details will not be given herein." (i.e., performing reestablishment because of RA failure.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LADDU (WO 2021254638 A1) in view of Pezeshki (US 20210212091 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, LADDU discloses all the limitations of claim 16.
However, LADDU does not disclose herein the processor is configured to load and execute the one or more executable instructions, to cause the network device to further perform: transmitting an association configuration of the candidate cell, wherein the association configuration is used for instructing the terminal to associate a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB).
Pezeshki discloses wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the one or more executable instructions, to cause the network device to further perform: transmitting an association configuration of the candidate cell (paragraph [0139], Fig.11, "Process 1100 begins at block 1110 with the scheduled entity 1000 receiving a communication from a scheduling entity (e.g., a gNB), wherein the communication facilitates a configuration of the scheduled entity 1000 on how to connect with a plurality of candidate cells." (i.e., sending a configuration of the candidate cells.)),
wherein the association configuration is used for instructing the terminal to associate a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB) (paragraph [0050], "In some examples, the base stations 210, 212, and 214/216 may broadcast unified synchronization signals (e.g., unified Primary Synchronization Signals (PSSs), unified Secondary Synchronization Signals (SSSs) and unified Physical Broadcast Channels (PBCH)). The UEs 222, 224, 226, 228, 230, and 232 may receive the unified synchronization signals, derive the carrier frequency and slot timing from the synchronization signals, and in response to deriving timing, transmit an uplink pilot or reference signal." and paragraph [0139], Fig.11, "For example, the communication can provide a configuration of the plurality of candidate cells. In some aspects, the receiving circuitry 1040 can provide the means for receiving the communication. In some aspects, a configuration may include, for each candidate cell, PCI(s), SSB configuration, SCS, RMSI/random access configuration, rate matching patterns, DL/UL TDD configuration, SUL configuration, DL/UL cell frequency locations, DL/UL BWP configuration, PDCCH/PDSCH/PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS configuration, CSI measurement/report configuration, TAG ID, and cross-carrier scheduling configuration." (i.e., par.139 discloses providing a configuration of the candidate cells such as SSB, and par.50 further discloses it may be to associate the synchronization signals with PBCH.)).
LADDU and Pezeshki are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field handover/mobility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LADDU to implement the system of Pezeshki of providing SSB such as PSS and SSS’s and their PBCH in order to improve L1, L2 centric inter-cell mobility (Pezeshki, paragraph [0003], “The technology discussed below relates generally to wireless communication systems, and more particularly, to facilitating mobility within wireless networks. Some aspects relate to improving PHY/L1 and MAC/L2 centric inter-cell mobility, which ensures that a wireless user equipment (UE) is able to change or hand-off from one wireless cell to another wireless cell whenever the UE detects an adjacent wireless cell with better signal quality.”).
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LADDU (WO 2021254638 A1) in view of DA SILVA (US 20240098588 A1) in further view of LI (US 20250113267 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, LADDU discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
However, LADDU does not disclose receiving a candidate cell configuration and a candidate cell evaluation condition configuration; performing a cell measurement based on the candidate cell configuration; and performing a measurement evaluation based on the candidate cell evaluation condition configuration and reporting a measurement result, wherein the measurement result is used by a network to select a suitable target cell for the terminal; wherein the candidate cell configuration comprises at least one of: a secondary cell configuration.
DA Silva discloses further comprising: receiving a candidate cell configuration (par.168, CHO candidate cells) and a candidate cell evaluation condition configuration (par.168, associated triggering conditions) (paragraph [0088], “In some embodiments, the UE receives the configuration as part of the conditional handover configuration, e.g., in an RRCReconfiguration containing a per target candidate cell RRCReconfiguration message to be stored and associated to trigger/execution conditions.” and paragraph [0168], Fig.6, "At step 614, the wireless device receives a CHO configuration comprising one or more CHO candidate cells and associated triggering conditions. The wireless device may obtain the configuration according to any of the embodiments and examples described herein." (i.e., UE receiving candidate cells, which can contain per cell configuration and their trigger conditions.));
performing a cell measurement based on the candidate cell configuration (paragraph [0169], Fig.6, "At step 616, the wireless device generates a measurement report comprising measurement information for the one or more CHO candidate cells. In particular embodiments, the measurement report comprises one or more of: an event triggered measurement report;" (i.e., UE performs measurement.));
and performing a measurement evaluation based on the candidate cell evaluation condition configuration (paragraph [0170], Fig.6, "In particular embodiments, the measurement information comprises one or more of: CHO target cell candidate measurements per cell; CHO target cell candidate list that are fulfilling a condition; and beam measurement information for CHO target cell candidates." (i.e., evaluating the target cell that are fulfilling a condition provided in step 614.)) and
reporting a measurement result, wherein the measurement result is used by a network to select a suitable target cell for the terminal (paragraph [0172], Fig.6, "At step 618, the wireless device transmits the measurement report to a network node. The network node may use the reported information to modify the CHO configuration according to any of the embodiments and examples described herein (e.g., add, modify, and/or delete candidate cells)." and paragraph [0173], “At step 620, the wireless device receives a CHO configuration update from the network node based on the transmitted measurement report.” (i.e., transmit measurement report. Network node selects a suitable target cell by modifying and/or deleting candidate cells.)).
LADDU and DA SILVA are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field handover/mobility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LADDU to implement the method of DA SILVA in order for the UE to report measurement of cells in order to receive a selection of that’s best for the UE to camp on in order to have the best connectivity (DA SILVA, paragraph [0042], “Certain embodiments may provide one or more of the following technical advantages. For example, particular embodiments may provide the network enhanced information about which cells are currently strongest for the UE and changes with respect to those cells. This provides the network the capability to configure the best candidate cells with CHO, which in turn leads to increased robustness and less risk of lost connections and re-establishments.”).
However, LADDU in view of DA SILVA do not disclose wherein the candidate cell configuration comprises at least one of: a secondary cell configuration.
Li discloses wherein the candidate cell configuration comprises at least one of: a secondary cell configuration (paragraph [0032], Fig.1, "Accordingly, the preconfiguration for the CPAC of the secondary cell can be combined with the preconfiguration for the CHO of the primary cell, and when the primary cell is changed through the CHO, the information of the preconfigured secondary cell associated with the post-change primary cell can be used to add or change the secondary cell through the CPAC. In this case, for example, a first base station device that provides a cell serving as a candidate for the primary cell can obtain the preconfiguration information for the CPAC from a second base station device that provides a cell that can be used as a secondary cell when the stated cell is used as the primary cell. Then, for each combination of primary cell and secondary cell when the cell provided by the first base station device itself is used as the primary cell, the first base station device can notify the base station device to which the terminal device 141 is currently connected of the conditions and communication parameters for the CHO and the conditions and communication parameters for the CPAC, and that base station device can then notify the terminal device 141 of the information in the notification." (i.e., discloses a secondary cell for consideration.)).
LADDU in view of DA SILVA and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field handover/mobility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified LADDU to implement the method of Li in order to efficiently configuring a conditional cell change for a combination of a primary cell and a secondary cell (Li, paragraph [0006], “A secondary cell can only be configured in combination with a primary cell. Therefore, when a CHO is performed, the secondary cell may also need to be changed. It may therefore also be necessary to perform preconfiguration for the combination of the primary cell and the secondary cell. However, specific preconfiguration methods for such a combination of a primary cell and a secondary cell have not yet been considered.” and paragraph [0007], “The present invention provides a technique for efficiently configuring a conditional cell change for a combination of a primary cell and a secondary cell.”).
Regarding Claim 8, LADDU in view of DA SILVA in further view of LI discloses all the limitations of claim 7.
Li further discloses the secondary cell configuration is associated with at least one candidate cell (paragraph [0032], Fig.1, "Accordingly, the preconfiguration for the CPAC of the secondary cell can be combined with the preconfiguration for the CHO of the primary cell, and when the primary cell is changed through the CHO, the information of the preconfigured secondary cell associated with the post-change primary cell can be used to add or change the secondary cell through the CPAC. In this case, for example, a first base station device that provides a cell serving as a candidate for the primary cell can obtain the preconfiguration information for the CPAC from a second base station device that provides a cell that can be used as a secondary cell when the stated cell is used as the primary cell. Then, for each combination of primary cell and secondary cell when the cell provided by the first base station device itself is used as the primary cell, the first base station device can notify the base station device to which the terminal device 141 is currently connected of the conditions and communication parameters for the CHO and the conditions and communication parameters for the CPAC, and that base station device can then notify the terminal device 141 of the information in the notification." (i.e., same explanation as claim 7.)).
Da Silva further discloses wherein the at least one candidate cell uses at least one of identifier (paragraph [0169], Fig.6, "At step 616, the wireless device generates a measurement report comprising measurement information for the one or more CHO candidate cells. In particular embodiments, the measurement report comprises one or more of: an event triggered measurement report; a periodical measurement report; a cell global identity (CGI) report;" (i.e., report comprises a CGI.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LADDU (WO 2021254638 A1) in view of DA SILVA (US 20240098588 A1) in further view of Wu (US 20240380471 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, LADDU in view of DA SILVA discloses all the limitations of claim 11.
However, LADDU in view of DA SILVA do not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the one or more executable instructions, to cause the terminal to further perform at least one of: receiving activation signaling.
Wu discloses wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the one or more executable instructions, to cause the terminal to further perform at least one of: or receiving activation signaling (paragraph [0116], "In some embodiments, a physical layer or a MAC layer of the network node transmits, to the UE, an activation indication for a candidate cell within the one or more candidate cells. The activation indication may include: (1) a physical layer identifier (PCID) of a candidate cell within the one or more candidate cells; or (2) an index of the candidate cell, wherein the index is associated with the PCID of the candidate cell or a CGI of the candidate cell." (i.e., sending an activation indication to the UE.)).
LADDU in view of DA SILVA and Wu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field handover/mobility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified LADDU to implement the system of Wu of sending an activation in order to increase the chances of cell switching as it provides an indication to coordinate a fast lower-layer mobility (Wu, paragraph [0107], “In some embodiments, if the physical layer or the MAC layer of the UE receives the activation indication of the cell switch procedure and if the UE receives the configuration information regarding the CHO procedure, the physical layer or the MAC layer of the UE may indicate the received activation indication to a RRC layer of the UE.”).
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LADDU (WO 2021254638 A1) in view of Pezeshki (US 20210212091 A1) in further view of Wu (US 20240380471 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, LADDU in view of Pezeshki discloses all the limitations of claim 18.
However, LADDU in view of Pezeshki do not disclose wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the one or more executable instructions, to cause the network device to further perform: transmitting activation signaling or deactivation signaling of the association configuration.
Wu discloses wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the one or more executable instructions, to cause the network device to further perform: transmitting activation signaling (paragraph [0116], "In some embodiments, a physical layer or a MAC layer of the network node transmits, to the UE, an activation indication for a candidate cell within the one or more candidate cells. The activation indication may include: (1) a physical layer identifier (PCID) of a candidate cell within the one or more candidate cells; or (2) an index of the candidate cell, wherein the index is associated with the PCID of the candidate cell or a CGI of the candidate cell." (i.e., sending an activation indication to the UE.)).
LADDU in view of Pezeshki and Wu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field handover/mobility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified LADDU to implement the system of Wu of sending an activation in order to increase the chances of cell switching as it provides an indication to coordinate a fast lower-layer mobility (Wu, paragraph [0107], “In some embodiments, if the physical layer or the MAC layer of the UE receives the activation indication of the cell switch procedure and if the UE receives the configuration information regarding the CHO procedure, the physical layer or the MAC layer of the UE may indicate the received activation indication to a RRC layer of the UE.”).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LADDU (WO 2021254638 A1) in view of DA SILVA (US 20240098588 A1) in further view of Song (US 20250071643 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, LADDU in view of Da Silva discloses all the limitations of claim 17.
However, LADDU in view of Da Silva do not disclose wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the one or more executable instructions, to cause the network device to further perform: transmitting a timing advance (TA) configuration of the candidate cell, wherein the TA configuration comprises at least one of an adjustment value.
Song discloses wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the one or more executable instructions, to cause the network device to further perform: transmitting a timing advance (TA) configuration of the candidate cell, wherein the TA configuration comprises at least one of an adjustment value (paragraph [0044], Fig.2, "S204: The S-DU performs at least one of the following: sends a first interface message to a Target-Distributed Unit (T-DU), or receives a second interface message, where the first interface message is used to indicate the T-DU to schedule the terminal; and the second interface message includes a Timing Advance (TA) value of a candidate cell," (i.e., sending an a timing advance for a candidate cell.)).
LADDU and Song are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field handover/mobility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LADDU to implement the system of Song in order to improve L1/L2 handover, and improve communication system performance (Song, paragraph [0022], “The first interface message is used to indicate the T-DU to schedule a terminal, to acknowledge completion or failure of handover, thereby avoiding failure of L1/L2 handover of the terminal and improving communication system performance. The second interface message includes a TA value of a candidate cell, and the TA value of the candidate cell is used for uplink synchronization during handover of a terminal, thereby reducing a delay of the uplink synchronization during handover of the terminal, avoiding failure of the L1/L2 handover of the terminal, and improving communication system performance.”).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LADDU (WO 2021254638 A1) in view of DA SILVA (US 20240098588 A1) in view of LI (US 20250113267 A1) in further view of LIU (US 20250048190 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, LADDU in view of DA SILVA in further view of LI discloses all the limitations of claim 7.
LADDU further discloses wherein the first indication information carries TCI state information indicating a TCI state associated with the target cell (paragraph [0061], Fig.2, "So if UE 110 receives a TCI state, e.g., via DCI, wherein the TCI state is associated with said another PCI, the secondary set of TCI states may get activated, wherein the secondary set of TCI states may also relate to said another PCI. In other words, the TCI with different PCI than the PCI of the serving TRP may be used as the mobility trigger." (i.e., UE can also receive TCI state information for a mobility trigger.)).
However, LADDU in view of DA SILVA in further view of LI do not disclose wherein the first indication information carries a target cell identifier indicating that the target cell is at least one of a primary cell.
LIU discloses wherein the first indication information carries a target cell identifier indicating that the target cell is at least one of a primary cell (paragraph [0033], Fig.2, "S202: The terminal receives a conditional handover message, where the conditional handover message includes a configuration for at least one CHO candidate cell and a configuration for at least one CPAC) candidate cell, where the configuration for the CHO candidate cell is used for conditional primary cell change; the configuration for the CPAC candidate cell is used for conditional primary secondary cell addition or change and includes an execution condition…" (i.e., the first message can be about a primary cell addition or change.)).
LADDU in view of DA SILVA in further view of LI and LIU are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field handover/mobility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified LADDU to implement method of LIU in order for the UE to properly change primary cell (LIU, paragraph [0004], “In a process of configuring conditional PSCell addition or change Conditional PSCell Addition or Change (CPAC), a network needs to provide a conditional reconfiguration for CPAC for the terminal, where an execution condition for a CPAC candidate cell is indicated in the CPAC conditional reconfiguration. Otherwise, the terminal cannot perform a CPAC evaluation process, that is, cannot perform PSCell addition and/or change in a process of conditional handover.” And paragraph [0018], “In the embodiments of this application…This help the terminal evaluate the execution condition for the CPAC candidate cell according to the corresponding measurement configuration, so that primary secondary cell addition and/or change can be performed in the process of conditional handover, to improve communication system performance.”).
Other Pertinent References
The Following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Zhang; Yujian et al. "SEAMLESS MOBILITY FOR 5G AND LTE SYSTEMS AND DEVICES." (US 20180302834 A1), Filed 2015-09-25. Relevant Par.34-36, MAC reset.
Jung; Hyejung et al. "MOBILE COMMUNICATION IN MACRO-CELL ASSISTED SMALL CELL NETWORKS." (US 20170311217 A1), Filed 2015-06-24. Relevant Par.42, timing advance value.
YOU; Xin et al. "WIRELESS COMMUNICATION METHOD, TERMINAL DEVICE, AND NETWORK DEVICE." (US 20250056337 A1), Filed 2024-10-28, Priority Date 2022-04-29, Relevant Par.138, 354, 464 TCI of common channel, and activation/deactivation information of a secondary cell.
Conclusion
ERKIN S. ABDULLAEV
Examiner
Art Unit 2648
/ERKIN ABDULLAEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2648
/WESLEY L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2648