Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 13-14, 16-22, 24-26, 28-32, and 34-36 are objected to because of the following informalities.
• Claim 1, line 10, “an object” should read as “the object”.
• Claim 2, line 2, “a destruction action” should read as “the destruction action”.
• Claim 4, line 2, “a destruction action” should read as “the destruction action”.
• Claim 4, line 5, “a horizontal plane” should read as “the horizontal plane”.
• Claim 4, line 6, “a height” should read as “the height”.
• Claim 4, line 6, “a ground” should read as “the ground”.
• Claim 5, line 2, “a destruction action” should read as “the destruction action”.
• Claim 5, line 5, “a position” should read as “the position”.
• Claim 5, line 5, “a ground” should read as “the ground”.
• Claim 6, line 3, “an ellipsoidal body” should read as “the ellipsoidal body”.
• Claim 7, line 2, “a ground” should read as “the ground”.
• Claim 7, lines 3-4, “a horizontal plane” should read as “the horizontal plane”.
• Claim 8, line 8, “a predetermined shape” should read as “the predetermined shape”.
• Claim 8, line 8, “a predetermined surface” should read as “the predetermined surface”.
• Claim 8, line 10, “a value” should read as “the value”.
• Claim 8, line 10, “an object” should read as “the object”.
• Claim 8, lines 10-11, “a polygon mesh” should read as “the polygon mesh”.
• Claim 8, line 12, “an image” should read as “the image”.
• Claim 13, line 9, “an object” should read as “the object”.
• Claim 14, line 2, “a destruction action” should read as “the destruction action”.
• Claim 16, line 2, “a destruction action” should read as “the destruction action”.
• Claim 16, line 5, “a horizontal plane” should read as “the horizontal plane”.
• Claim 16, line 5, “a height” should read as “the height”.
• Claim 16, line 6, “a ground” should read as “the ground”.
• Claim 17, line 2, “a destruction action” should read as “the destruction action”.
• Claim 17, line 5, “a position” should read as “the position”.
• Claim 17, line 5, “a ground” should read as “the ground”.
• Claim 18, line 3, “an ellipsoidal body” should read as “the ellipsoidal body”.
• Claim 19, line 2, “a ground” should read as “the ground”.
• Claim 19, line 3, “a horizontal plane” should read as “the horizontal plane”.
• Claim 20, line 2, “a memory” should read as “the memory”.
• Claim 20, line 5, “a voxel” should read as “the voxel”.
• Claim 20, line 9, “a value” should read as “the value”.
• Claim 20, line 10, “an object” should read as “the object”.
• Claim 21, line 2, “a single voxel” should read as “the single voxel”.
• Claim 22, lines 2-3, “a destruction action” should read as “the destruction action”.
• Claim 22, line 5, “a voxel” should read as “the voxel”.
• Claim 22, line 5, “a value” should read as “the value”.
• Claim 24, lines 3, 4, 5, and 7, “a voxel” should read as “the voxel”.
• Claim 25, line 9, “an object” should read as “the object”.
• Claim 26, line 2, “a destruction action” should read as “the destruction action”.
• Claim 28, line 2, “a destruction action” should read as “the destruction action”.
• Claim 28, line 5, “a horizontal plane” should read as “the horizontal plane”.
• Claim 28, line 5, “a height” should read as “the height”.
• Claim 28, line 6, “a ground” should read as “the ground”.
• Claim 29, line 2, “a destruction action” should read as “the destruction action”.
• Claim 29, line 5, “a position” should read as “the position”.
• Claim 29, line 5, “a ground” should read as “the ground”.
• Claim 30, line 3, “an ellipsoidal body” should read as “the ellipsoidal body”.
• Claim 31, line 9, “an object” should read as “the object”.
• Claim 32, line 2, “a destruction action” should read as “the destruction action”.
• Claim 34, line 2, “a destruction action” should read as “the destruction action”.
• Claim 34, line 5, “a horizontal plane” should read as “the horizontal plane”.
• Claim 34, line 5, “a height” should read as “the height”.
• Claim 34, lines 5-6, “a ground” should read as “the ground”.
• Claim 35, line 2, “a destruction action” should read as “the destruction action”.
• Claim 35, line 5, “a position” should read as “the position”.
• Claim 35, line 5, “a ground” should read as “the ground”.
• Claim 36, line 3, “an ellipsoidal body” should read as “the ellipsoidal body”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under US 20210258560 A1 (“Adachi”) in view of US 11278795 B2 (“Taura”).
In regards to claim 1, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause ([0073], “the present disclosure can … be realized by a computer … that … executes computer … instructions … on … a … non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”) one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute ([0073], “The computer may comprise one or more processors … to … execute the computer executable instructions”) image processing comprising ([0025], “The information processing apparatus … obtains … information … from the image processing apparatus”): storing, in a memory ([0073], “The storage medium may include … memory”), first volume data that is data for representing a first object in ([0024], “The image processing apparatus … generates object information … based on image data”) a virtual space and holds voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space ([0062], “a volume may be used … the light beam … is emitted from the viewpoint indicated by the field-of-view information … to each voxel in the three-dimensional space … and the flag … is attached to a voxel existing in a space until the light beam … first hits the object”);
moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player;
causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player;
if the destruction action hits the first object, updating the voxel data of a voxel included in ([0062], “the flag …. is attached to a voxel existing in a space until the light beam … first hits the object … A volume of the visible region can be calculated by counting the number of the voxels”) a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”);
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space ([0056], “The area of the occluded region can be calculated by adding up an area of the mesh attached with the flag “0” in the meshes constructing the object.”).
Taura discloses
a virtual space and holds (column 12, lines 4-6, “The processor … arranges … objects … into the … virtual space”)
moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player (column 15, lines 48-52, “by performing the long depression of the … button … if the … button … is depressed, the connection object … is shortened … and … the player character … is moved”);
causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player (column 17, lines 46-52, “in the … operation mode, … moving the player character … thereby making the connection object … be moved … it is possible to give a damage to the enemy character”);
if the destruction action hits the first object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”),
a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”), the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with (column 15, lines 1-5, “if the … value becomes 0 (zero), the … character … is erased … it cannot make the … character … appear until the … value becomes the maximum value of 100”) a position of the player character (column 19, lines 46-49, “The current position data … is data about position coordinates at the current frame of the characters and the objects capable of moving in the virtual space, such as the player character”)
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character;
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 2, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in front of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, and the predetermined surface is a horizontal plane having a height of a ground with which ([0041], “The … beam … is emitted in a direction of each pixel … where a bottom surface of the quadrangular pyramid … is regarded as an image … The flag … is attached to a surface of the object”) the player character is in contact when the destruction action hits the first object ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”).
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character;
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, and the predetermined surface is a horizontal plane having a height of a ground with which
the player character is in contact when the destruction action hits the first object, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in front of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 3, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the image processing further comprises ([0025], “The information processing apparatus … obtains … information … from the image processing apparatus”), if the destruction action hits the first object, setting a height of the predetermined surface based on the position of the player character, and if the entirety of the predetermined shape is located above the predetermined surface ([0069], “the image processing system … obtains the object information … representing a position and a shape of an object”), the first erasure range is the predetermined shape.
Taura discloses
if the destruction action hits the first object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”), setting a height of the predetermined surface based on the position of the player character (column 12, lines 36-40, “in the … operation mode, the virtual camera is arranged at a position that is … above an arranging plane of the player character … by a predetermined height”), the first erasure range is the predetermined shape (column 15, lines 1-5, “if the … value becomes 0 (zero), the … character … is erased … it cannot make the … character … appear until the … value becomes the maximum value of 100”).
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character;
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, wherein the image processing further comprises, and if the entirety of the predetermined shape is located above the predetermined surface, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, if the destruction action hits the first object, setting a height of the predetermined surface based on the position of the player character, the first erasure range is the predetermined shape, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 4, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in front of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, and if the player character is in the air when the destruction action hits the first object, the predetermined surface is a horizontal plane having a height of a ground located below ([0041], “The … beam … is emitted in a direction of each pixel … where a bottom surface of the quadrangular pyramid … is regarded as an image … The flag … is attached to a surface of the object”) the player character ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”).
Taura discloses
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character (column 17, lines 46-52, “in the … operation mode … moving the player character …, thereby making the … object … be moved … it is possible to give a damage to the enemy character”), the first erasure range is set in front of the player character (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”) when the destruction action hits the first object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”), and if the player character is in the air when the destruction action hits the first object (column 15, lines 51-52, “the player character … is moved while floating in the air”),
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character; and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, the predetermined surface is a horizontal plane having a height of a ground located below
the player character, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in front of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, and if the player character is in the air when the destruction action hits the first object, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 5, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in an obliquely upward direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in the obliquely upward direction of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, and the predetermined surface is a slope which passes through a position on a ground with which ([0041], “The … beam … is emitted in a direction of each pixel … where a bottom surface of the quadrangular pyramid … is regarded as an image … The flag … is attached to a surface of the object”) the player character is in contact when the destruction action hits the first object, and in which the further in a forward direction of the player character the slope is, the higher the slope is ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”).
Taura discloses
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in an obliquely upward direction of the player character (column 13, lines 66-67 and column 14 lines 1-5, “the player character … attacks the enemy character … with a continuous technique or combo … capable of applying a more serious damage in succession to the continuous technique”), the first erasure range is set in the obliquely upward direction of the player character (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”) when the destruction action hits the first object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”)
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character;
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, and the predetermined surface is a slope which passes through a position on a ground with which the player character is in contact when the destruction action hits the first object, and in which the further in a forward direction of the player character the slope is, the higher the slope is, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in an obliquely upward direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in the obliquely upward direction of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 6, Adachi discloses
wherein the predetermined shape is any of a sphere, an ellipsoidal body, and a shape obtained by asymmetrically deforming an ellipsoidal body ([0024], “The object information … represents … a three-dimensional shape of each object”).
In regards to claim 7, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the image processing further comprises ([0025], “The information processing apparatus … obtains … information … from the image processing apparatus”), if a ground with which ([0041], “The … beam … is emitted in a direction of each pixel … where a bottom surface of the quadrangular pyramid … is regarded as an image … The flag … is attached to a surface of the object”) the player character is in contact ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”) when the destruction action hits the first object is tilted to a horizontal plane, setting the predetermined surface tilted to the horizontal plane.
Taura discloses
when the destruction action hits the first object is tilted to a horizontal plane, setting the predetermined surface tilted to the horizontal plane (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”).
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character;
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, wherein the image processing further comprises, if a ground with which the player character is in contact, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, when the destruction action hits the first object is tilted to a horizontal plane, setting the predetermined surface tilted to the horizontal plane, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 8, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the image processing further comprises ([0025], “The information processing apparatus … obtains … information … from the image processing apparatus”): storing, in the memory ([0073], “The storage medium may include … memory”), second volume data that is data for representing a second object in ([0024], “The image processing apparatus … generates object information … based on image data”) the virtual space and holds the voxel data with respect to each voxel included in a second voxel space placed in the virtual space ([0062], “a volume may be used … the … beam … is emitted from the viewpoint indicated by the field-of-view … to each voxel in the three-dimensional space … and the flag … is attached to a voxel existing in a space until the … beam … first hits the object”);
if the destruction action hits the second object, updating the voxel data of a voxel included in ([0062], “the flag …. is attached to a voxel existing in a space until the … beam … first hits the object … A volume of the visible region can be calculated by counting … the voxels”) a second erasure range that is a range set in accordance with
the position of the player character, has a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character, and is different in size from the first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present;
and further drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the second object based on the second volume data, thereby generating an image of the virtual space ([0056], “The area of the occluded region can be calculated by adding up an area of the mesh attached with the flag “0” in the meshes constructing the object.”).
Taura discloses
the virtual space and holds (column 12, lines 4-6, “The processor … arranges … objects … into the … virtual space”)
if the destruction action hits the second object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”), a second erasure range that is a range set in accordance with (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”) the position of the player character (column 19, lines 46-49, “The current position data … is data about position coordinates at the current frame of the characters and the objects capable of moving in the virtual space, such as the player character”), has a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”), and is different in size from the first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”);
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character;
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, wherein the image processing further comprises: storing, in the memory, second volume data that is data for representing a second object in the voxel data with respect to each voxel included in a second voxel space placed in the virtual space; updating the voxel data of a voxel included in; and further drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the second object based on the second volume data, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, the virtual space and holds if the destruction action hits the second object, a second erasure range that is a range set in accordance with the position of the player character, has a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character, and is different in size from the first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 9, Adachi discloses
wherein a single voxel included in the first volume data and a single voxel included in the second volume data are different from each other in size defined in the virtual space ([0062], “a volume may be used … the … beam … is emitted from the viewpoint indicated by the field-of-view … to each voxel in the three-dimensional space … and the flag … is attached to a voxel existing in a space until the … beam … first hits the object”).
In regards to claim 10, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the image processing further comprises ([0025], “The information processing apparatus … obtains … information … from the image processing apparatus”): causing the player character to perform a destruction action in a down direction based on an operation input of the player, and if the destruction action in the down direction hits the first object, updating the voxel data of a voxel included in ([0062], “the flag …. is attached to a voxel existing in a space until the … beam … first hits the object … A volume of the visible region can be calculated by counting … the voxels”) a third erasure range set below the player character to a value indicating that the first object is not present.
Taura discloses
causing the player character to perform a destruction action in a down direction based on an operation input of the player (column 17, lines 46-52, “in the … operation mode … moving the player character …, thereby making the … object … be moved … it is possible to give a damage to the enemy character”), and if the destruction action in the down direction hits the first object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”), a third erasure range set below the player character to a value indicating that the first object is not present (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”).
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character;
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, wherein the image processing further comprises updating the voxel data of a voxel included in, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, causing the player character to perform a destruction action in a down direction based on an operation input of the player, and if the destruction action in the down direction hits the first object, a third erasure range set below the player character to a value indicating that the first object is not present, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 11, Adachi does not disclose wherein the first object is a terrain in the virtual space.
Taura discloses
wherein the first object is a terrain in the virtual space (column 11, lines 62-65, “the game image includes a background object … the background object means mainly a terrain object arranged in the virtual space.”).
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character;
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, wherein the first object is a terrain in the virtual space, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 12, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the image processing further comprises ([0025], “The information processing apparatus … obtains … information … from the image processing apparatus”): determining a vertex position of a polygon based on the voxel data between a voxel in which the first object is not present and a voxel in which the first object is present ([0062], “a volume may be used … the … beam … is emitted from the viewpoint indicated by the field-of-view … to each voxel in the three-dimensional space … and the flag … is attached to a voxel existing in a space until the … beam … first hits the object”), thereby generating the polygon mesh ([0056], “The area of the occluded region can be calculated by adding up an area of the mesh attached with the flag “0” in the meshes constructing the object.”);
and if the voxel data of a voxel included in the first erasure range is updated, recalculating a vertex of the polygon mesh in a range including a voxel in which at least the voxel data is updated ([0056], “the visibility determination unit … performs visibility determination on each field-of-view information … and calculates an area of the occluded region for each field-of-view information”).
Taura discloses
determining a vertex position of a polygon based on (column 19, lines 40-41, “The image generation data … is data required for generating an image, such as polygon data”)
and if the voxel data of a voxel included in the first erasure range is updated (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”)
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character;
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, wherein the image processing further comprises the voxel data between a voxel in which the first object is not present and a voxel in which the first object is present, thereby generating the polygon mesh; recalculating a vertex of the polygon mesh in a range including a voxel in which at least the voxel data is updated, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, determining a vertex position of a polygon based on and if the voxel data of a voxel included in the first erasure range is updated, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 13, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
An information processing system comprising: one or more processors ([0073], “The computer may comprise one or more processors … to … execute the computer executable instructions”) that are configured to execute image processing comprising ([0025], “The information processing apparatus … obtains … information … from the image processing apparatus”): storing, in a memory ([0073], “The storage medium may include … memory”), first volume data that is data for representing a first object in ([0024], “The image processing apparatus … generates object information … based on image data”) a virtual space and holds voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space ([0062], “a volume may be used … the light beam … is emitted from the viewpoint indicated by the field-of-view information … to each voxel in the three-dimensional space … and the flag … is attached to a voxel existing in a space until the light beam … first hits the object”);
moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player;
causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player;
if the destruction action hits the first object, updating the voxel data of a voxel included in ([0062], “the flag …. is attached to a voxel existing in a space until the light beam … first hits the object … A volume of the visible region can be calculated by counting the number of the voxels”) a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”);
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space ([0056], “The area of the occluded region can be calculated by adding up an area of the mesh attached with the flag “0” in the meshes constructing the object.”).
Taura discloses
a virtual space and holds (column 12, lines 4-6, “The processor … arranges … objects … into the … virtual space”)
moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player (column 15, lines 48-52, “by performing the long depression of the … button … if the … button … is depressed, the connection object … is shortened … and … the player character … is moved”);
causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player (column 17, lines 46-52, “in the … operation mode, … moving the player character … thereby making the connection object … be moved … it is possible to give a damage to the enemy character”);
if the destruction action hits the first object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”),
a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”), the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with (column 15, lines 1-5, “if the … value becomes 0 (zero), the … character … is erased … it cannot make the … character … appear until the … value becomes the maximum value of 100”) a position of the player character (column 19, lines 46-49, “The current position data … is data about position coordinates at the current frame of the characters and the objects capable of moving in the virtual space, such as the player character”)
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing system comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising: storing in a memory first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character; and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 14, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in front of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, and the predetermined surface is a horizontal plane having a height of a ground with which ([0041], “The … beam … is emitted in a direction of each pixel … where a bottom surface of the quadrangular pyramid … is regarded as an image … The flag … is attached to a surface of the object”) the player character is in contact when the destruction action hits the first object ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”).
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing system comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character; and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, and the predetermined surface is a horizontal plane having a height of a ground with which the player character is in contact when the destruction action hits the first object, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in front of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 15, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the image processing further comprises ([0025], “The information processing apparatus … obtains … information … from the image processing apparatus”): if the destruction action hits the first object, setting a height of the predetermined surface based on the position of the player character, and if the entirety of the predetermined shape is located above the predetermined surface ([0069], “the image processing system … obtains the object information … representing a position and a shape of an object”), setting the predetermined shape as the first erasure range.
Taura discloses
if the destruction action hits the first object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”), setting a height of the predetermined surface based on the position of the player character (column 12, lines 36-40, “in the … operation mode, the virtual camera is arranged at a position that is … above an arranging plane of the player character … by a predetermined height”), setting the predetermined shape as the first erasure range (column 15, lines 1-5, “if the … value becomes 0 (zero), the … character … is erased … it cannot make the … character … appear until the … value becomes the maximum value of 100”).
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing system comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character; and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, wherein the image processing further comprises and if the entirety of the predetermined shape is located above the predetermined surface, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, if the destruction action hits the first object, setting a height of the predetermined surface based on the position of the player character, setting the predetermined shape as the first erasure range, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 16, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in front of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, and if the player character is in the air when the destruction action hits the first object, the predetermined surface is a horizontal plane having a height of a ground located below ([0041], “The … beam … is emitted in a direction of each pixel … where a bottom surface of the quadrangular pyramid … is regarded as an image … The flag … is attached to a surface of the object”) the player character ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”).
Taura discloses
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character (column 17, lines 46-52, “in the … operation mode … moving the player character …, thereby making the … object … be moved … it is possible to give a damage to the enemy character”), the first erasure range is set in front of the player character (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”) when the destruction action hits the first object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”), and if the player character is in the air when the destruction action hits the first object (column 15, lines 51-52, “the player character … is moved while floating in the air”),
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing system comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character;
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, the predetermined surface is a horizontal plane having a height of a ground located below
the player character, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in front of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, and if the player character is in the air when the destruction action hits the first object, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 17, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in an obliquely upward direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in the obliquely upward direction of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, and the predetermined surface is a slope which passes through a position on a ground with which ([0041], “The … beam … is emitted in a direction of each pixel … where a bottom surface of the quadrangular pyramid … is regarded as an image … The flag … is attached to a surface of the object”) the player character is in contact when the destruction action hits the first object, and in which the further in a forward direction of the player character the slope is, the higher the slope is ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”).
Taura discloses
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in an obliquely upward direction of the player character (column 13, lines 66-67 and column 14 lines 1-5, “the player character … attacks the enemy character … with a continuous technique or combo … capable of applying a more serious damage in succession to the continuous technique”), the first erasure range is set in the obliquely upward direction of the player character (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”) when the destruction action hits the first object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”)
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing system comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character; and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, and the predetermined surface is a slope which passes through a position on a ground with which the player character is in contact when the destruction action hits the first object, and in which the further in a forward direction of the player character the slope is, the higher the slope is, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in an obliquely upward direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in the obliquely upward direction of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 18, Adachi discloses
wherein the predetermined shape is any of a sphere, an ellipsoidal body, and a shape obtained by asymmetrically deforming an ellipsoidal body ([0024], “The object information … represents … a three-dimensional shape of each object”).
In regards to claim 19, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the image processing further comprises ([0025], “The information processing apparatus … obtains … information … from the image processing apparatus”), if a ground with which ([0041], “The … beam … is emitted in a direction of each pixel … where a bottom surface of the quadrangular pyramid … is regarded as an image … The flag … is attached to a surface of the object”) the player character is in contact ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”) when the destruction action hits the first object is tilted to a horizontal plane, setting the predetermined surface tilted to the horizontal plane.
Taura discloses
when the destruction action hits the first object is tilted to a horizontal plane, setting the predetermined surface tilted to the horizontal plane (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”).
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing system comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character; and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, wherein the image processing further comprises, if a ground with which the player character is in contact, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, when the destruction action hits the first object is tilted to a horizontal plane, setting the predetermined surface tilted to the horizontal plane, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 20, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the image processing further comprises ([0025], “The information processing apparatus … obtains … information … from the image processing apparatus”): storing, in the memory ([0073], “The storage medium may include … memory”), second volume data that is data for representing a second object in ([0024], “The image processing apparatus … generates object information … based on image data”) the virtual space and holds the voxel data with respect to each voxel included in a second voxel space placed in the virtual space ([0062], “a volume may be used … the … beam … is emitted from the viewpoint indicated by the field-of-view … to each voxel in the three-dimensional space … and the flag … is attached to a voxel existing in a space until the … beam … first hits the object”);
if the destruction action hits the second object, updating the voxel data of a voxel included in ([0062], “the flag …. is attached to a voxel existing in a space until the … beam … first hits the object … A volume of the visible region can be calculated by counting … the voxels”) a second erasure range that is a range set in accordance with
the position of the player character, has a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character, and is different in size from the first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present;
and further drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the second object based on the second volume data, thereby generating an image of the virtual space ([0056], “The area of the occluded region can be calculated by adding up an area of the mesh attached with the flag “0” in the meshes constructing the object.”).
Taura discloses
the virtual space and holds (column 12, lines 4-6, “The processor … arranges … objects … into the … virtual space”)
if the destruction action hits the second object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”), a second erasure range that is a range set in accordance with (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”) the position of the player character (column 19, lines 46-49, “The current position data … is data about position coordinates at the current frame of the characters and the objects capable of moving in the virtual space, such as the player character”), has a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”), and is different in size from the first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”);
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing system comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character; and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, wherein the image processing further comprises: storing, in the memory, second volume data that is data for representing a second object in the voxel data with respect to each voxel included in a second voxel space placed in the virtual space; updating the voxel data of a voxel included in; and further drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the second object based on the second volume data, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, the virtual space and holds if the destruction action hits the second object, a second erasure range that is a range set in accordance with the position of the player character, has a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character, and is different in size from the first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 21, Adachi discloses
wherein a single voxel included in the first volume data and a single voxel included in the second volume data are different from each other in size defined in the virtual space ([0062], “a volume may be used … the … beam … is emitted from the viewpoint indicated by the field-of-view … to each voxel in the three-dimensional space … and the flag … is attached to a voxel existing in a space until the … beam … first hits the object”).
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of an information processing apparatus to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character;
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, wherein the image processing further comprises updating the voxel data of a voxel included in, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, causing the player character to perform a destruction action in a down direction based on an operation input of the player, and if the destruction action in the down direction hits the first object, a third erasure range set below the player character to a value indicating that the first object is not present, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 22, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the image processing further comprises ([0025], “The information processing apparatus … obtains … information … from the image processing apparatus”): causing the player character to perform a destruction action in a down direction based on an operation input of the player, and if the destruction action in the down direction hits the first object, updating the voxel data of a voxel included in ([0062], “the flag …. is attached to a voxel existing in a space until the … beam … first hits the object … A volume of the visible region can be calculated by counting … the voxels”) a third erasure range set below the player character to a value indicating that the first object is not present.
Taura discloses
causing the player character to perform a destruction action in a down direction based on an operation input of the player (column 17, lines 46-52, “in the … operation mode … moving the player character …, thereby making the … object … be moved … it is possible to give a damage to the enemy character”), and if the destruction action in the down direction hits the first object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”), a third erasure range set below the player character to a value indicating that the first object is not present (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”).
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing system comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising: storing in a memory first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character;
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, wherein the image processing further comprises updating the voxel data of a voxel included in, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, causing the player character to perform a destruction action in a down direction based on an operation input of the player, and if the destruction action in the down direction hits the first object, a third erasure range set below the player character to a value indicating that the first object is not present, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 23, Adachi does not disclose wherein the first object is a terrain in the virtual space.
Taura discloses
wherein the first object is a terrain in the virtual space (column 11, lines 62-65, “the game image includes a background object … the background object means mainly a terrain object arranged in the virtual space.”).
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing system comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising: storing in a memory first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character; and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, wherein the first object is a terrain in the virtual space, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 24, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the image processing further comprises ([0025], “The information processing apparatus … obtains … information … from the image processing apparatus”): determining a vertex position of a polygon based on the voxel data between a voxel in which the first object is not present and a voxel in which the first object is present ([0062], “a volume may be used … the … beam … is emitted from the viewpoint indicated by the field-of-view … to each voxel in the three-dimensional space … and the flag … is attached to a voxel existing in a space until the … beam … first hits the object”), thereby generating the polygon mesh ([0056], “The area of the occluded region can be calculated by adding up an area of the mesh attached with the flag “0” in the meshes constructing the object.”);
and if the voxel data of a voxel included in the first erasure range is updated, recalculating a vertex of the polygon mesh in a range including a voxel in which at least the voxel data is updated ([0056], “the visibility determination unit … performs visibility determination on each field-of-view information … and calculates an area of the occluded region for each field-of-view information”).
Taura discloses
determining a vertex position of a polygon based on (column 19, lines 40-41, “The image generation data … is data required for generating an image, such as polygon data”)
and if the voxel data of a voxel included in the first erasure range is updated (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”)
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing system comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising: storing in a memory first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character; and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, wherein the image processing further comprises the voxel data between a voxel in which the first object is not present and a voxel in which the first object is present, thereby generating the polygon mesh; recalculating a vertex of the polygon mesh in a range including a voxel in which at least the voxel data is updated, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, determining a vertex position of a polygon based on and if the voxel data of a voxel included in the first erasure range is updated, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 25, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
An information processing apparatus comprising: one or more processors ([0073], “The computer may comprise one or more processors … to … execute the computer executable instructions”) that are configured to execute image processing comprising ([0025], “The information processing apparatus … obtains … information … from the image processing apparatus”): storing, in a memory ([0073], “The storage medium may include … memory”), first volume data that is data for representing a first object in ([0024], “The image processing apparatus … generates object information … based on image data”) a virtual space and holds voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space ([0062], “a volume may be used … the light beam … is emitted from the viewpoint indicated by the field-of-view information … to each voxel in the three-dimensional space … and the flag … is attached to a voxel existing in a space until the light beam … first hits the object”);
moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player;
causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player;
if the destruction action hits the first object, updating the voxel data of a voxel included in ([0062], “the flag …. is attached to a voxel existing in a space until the light beam … first hits the object … A volume of the visible region can be calculated by counting the number of the voxels”) a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”);
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space ([0056], “The area of the occluded region can be calculated by adding up an area of the mesh attached with the flag “0” in the meshes constructing the object.”).
Taura discloses
a virtual space and holds (column 12, lines 4-6, “The processor … arranges … objects … into the … virtual space”)
moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player (column 15, lines 48-52, “by performing the long depression of the … button … if the … button … is depressed, the connection object … is shortened … and … the player character … is moved”);
causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player (column 17, lines 46-52, “in the … operation mode, … moving the player character … thereby making the connection object … be moved … it is possible to give a damage to the enemy character”);
if the destruction action hits the first object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”),
a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”), the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with (column 15, lines 1-5, “if the … value becomes 0 (zero), the … character … is erased … it cannot make the … character … appear until the … value becomes the maximum value of 100”) a position of the player character (column 19, lines 46-49, “The current position data … is data about position coordinates at the current frame of the characters and the objects capable of moving in the virtual space, such as the player character”)
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing apparatus comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character;
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 26, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in front of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, and the predetermined surface is a horizontal plane having a height of a ground with which ([0041], “The … beam … is emitted in a direction of each pixel … where a bottom surface of the quadrangular pyramid … is regarded as an image … The flag … is attached to a surface of the object”) the player character is in contact when the destruction action hits the first object ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”).
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing apparatus comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character;
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, and the predetermined surface is a horizontal plane having a height of a ground with which
the player character is in contact when the destruction action hits the first object, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in front of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 27, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the image processing further comprises ([0025], “The information processing apparatus … obtains … information … from the image processing apparatus”): if the destruction action hits the first object, setting a height of the predetermined surface based on the position of the player character, and if the entirety of the predetermined shape is located above the predetermined surface ([0069], “the image processing system … obtains the object information … representing a position and a shape of an object”), setting the predetermined shape as the first erasure range.
Taura discloses
if the destruction action hits the first object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”), setting a height of the predetermined surface based on the position of the player character (column 12, lines 36-40, “in the … operation mode, the virtual camera is arranged at a position that is … above an arranging plane of the player character … by a predetermined height”), setting the predetermined shape as the first erasure range (column 15, lines 1-5, “if the … value becomes 0 (zero), the … character … is erased … it cannot make the … character … appear until the … value becomes the maximum value of 100”).
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing apparatus comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character;
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, wherein the image processing further comprises and if the entirety of the predetermined shape is located above the predetermined surface, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, if the destruction action hits the first object, setting a height of the predetermined surface based on the position of the player character, setting the predetermined shape as the first erasure range, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 28, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in front of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, and if the player character is in the air when the destruction action hits the first object, the predetermined surface is a horizontal plane having a height of a ground located below ([0041], “The … beam … is emitted in a direction of each pixel … where a bottom surface of the quadrangular pyramid … is regarded as an image … The flag … is attached to a surface of the object”) the player character ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”).
Taura discloses
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character (column 17, lines 46-52, “in the … operation mode … moving the player character …, thereby making the … object … be moved … it is possible to give a damage to the enemy character”), the first erasure range is set in front of the player character (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”) when the destruction action hits the first object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”), and if the player character is in the air when the destruction action hits the first object (column 15, lines 51-52, “the player character … is moved while floating in the air”),
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing apparatus comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character;
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, the predetermined surface is a horizontal plane having a height of a ground located below
the player character, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in front of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, and if the player character is in the air when the destruction action hits the first object, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 29, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in an obliquely upward direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in the obliquely upward direction of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, and the predetermined surface is a slope which passes through a position on a ground with which ([0041], “The … beam … is emitted in a direction of each pixel … where a bottom surface of the quadrangular pyramid … is regarded as an image … The flag … is attached to a surface of the object”) the player character is in contact when the destruction action hits the first object, and in which the further in a forward direction of the player character the slope is, the higher the slope is ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”).
Taura discloses
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in an obliquely upward direction of the player character (column 13, lines 66-67 and column 14 lines 1-5, “the player character … attacks the enemy character … with a continuous technique or combo … capable of applying a more serious damage in succession to the continuous technique”), the first erasure range is set in the obliquely upward direction of the player character (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”) when the destruction action hits the first object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”)
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing apparatus comprising: one or more processors that are configured to execute image processing comprising: storing, in a memory, first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character;
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, and the predetermined surface is a slope which passes through a position on a ground with which the player character is in contact when the destruction action hits the first object, and in which the further in a forward direction of the player character the slope is, the higher the slope is, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in an obliquely upward direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in the obliquely upward direction of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 30, Adachi discloses
wherein the predetermined shape is any of a sphere, an ellipsoidal body, and a shape obtained by asymmetrically deforming an ellipsoidal body ([0024], “The object information … represents … a three-dimensional shape of each object”).
In regards to claim 31, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
An information processing method performed by an image processing system ([0025], “The information processing apparatus … obtains … information … from the image processing apparatus”): wherein the information processing system stores ([0073], “The storage medium may include … memory”), first volume data that is data for representing a first object in ([0024], “The image processing apparatus … generates object information … based on image data”) a virtual space and holds voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space ([0062], “a volume may be used … the light beam … is emitted from the viewpoint indicated by the field-of-view information … to each voxel in the three-dimensional space … and the flag … is attached to a voxel existing in a space until the light beam … first hits the object”);
moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player;
causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player;
if the destruction action hits the first object, updating the voxel data of a voxel included in ([0062], “the flag …. is attached to a voxel existing in a space until the light beam … first hits the object … A volume of the visible region can be calculated by counting the number of the voxels”) a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”);
and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space ([0056], “The area of the occluded region can be calculated by adding up an area of the mesh attached with the flag “0” in the meshes constructing the object.”).
Taura discloses
a virtual space and holds (column 12, lines 4-6, “The processor … arranges … objects … into the … virtual space”)
moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player (column 15, lines 48-52, “by performing the long depression of the … button … if the … button … is depressed, the connection object … is shortened … and … the player character … is moved”);
causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player (column 17, lines 46-52, “in the … operation mode, … moving the player character … thereby making the connection object … be moved … it is possible to give a damage to the enemy character”);
if the destruction action hits the first object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”),
a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”), the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with (column 15, lines 1-5, “if the … value becomes 0 (zero), the … character … is erased … it cannot make the … character … appear until the … value becomes the maximum value of 100”) a position of the player character (column 19, lines 46-49, “The current position data … is data about position coordinates at the current frame of the characters and the objects capable of moving in the virtual space, such as the player character”)
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing method performed by an image processing system: wherein the information processing system stores first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character; and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 32, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in front of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, and the predetermined surface is a horizontal plane having a height of a ground with which ([0041], “The … beam … is emitted in a direction of each pixel … where a bottom surface of the quadrangular pyramid … is regarded as an image … The flag … is attached to a surface of the object”) the player character is in contact when the destruction action hits the first object ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”).
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing method performed by an image processing system: wherein the information processing system stores first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character; and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, and the predetermined surface is a horizontal plane having a height of a ground with which the player character is in contact when the destruction action hits the first object, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in front of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 33, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
further comprising: if the destruction action hits the first object, setting a height of the predetermined surface based on the position of the player character, and if the entirety of the predetermined shape is located above the predetermined surface ([0069], “the image processing system … obtains the object information … representing a position and a shape of an object”), setting the predetermined shape as the first erasure range.
Taura discloses
if the destruction action hits the first object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”), setting a height of the predetermined surface based on the position of the player character (column 12, lines 36-40, “in the … operation mode, the virtual camera is arranged at a position that is … above an arranging plane of the player character … by a predetermined height”), setting the predetermined shape as the first erasure range (column 15, lines 1-5, “if the … value becomes 0 (zero), the … character … is erased … it cannot make the … character … appear until the … value becomes the maximum value of 100”).
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing method performed by an image processing system: wherein the information processing system stores first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character; and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, wherein the image processing further comprises, and if the entirety of the predetermined shape is located above the predetermined surface, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, if the destruction action hits the first object, setting a height of the predetermined surface based on the position of the player character, the first erasure range is the predetermined shape, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 34, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in front of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, and if the player character is in the air when the destruction action hits the first object, the predetermined surface is a horizontal plane having a height of a ground located below ([0041], “The … beam … is emitted in a direction of each pixel … where a bottom surface of the quadrangular pyramid … is regarded as an image … The flag … is attached to a surface of the object”) the player character ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”).
Taura discloses
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character (column 17, lines 46-52, “in the … operation mode … moving the player character …, thereby making the … object … be moved … it is possible to give a damage to the enemy character”), the first erasure range is set in front of the player character (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”) when the destruction action hits the first object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”), and if the player character is in the air when the destruction action hits the first object (column 15, lines 51-52, “the player character … is moved while floating in the air”),
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing method performed by an image processing system: wherein the information processing system stores first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character; and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, the predetermined surface is a horizontal plane having a height of a ground located below the player character, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in a front direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in front of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, and if the player character is in the air when the destruction action hits the first object, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 35, Adachi discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in an obliquely upward direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in the obliquely upward direction of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, and the predetermined surface is a slope which passes through a position on a ground with which ([0041], “The … beam … is emitted in a direction of each pixel … where a bottom surface of the quadrangular pyramid … is regarded as an image … The flag … is attached to a surface of the object”) the player character is in contact when the destruction action hits the first object, and in which the further in a forward direction of the player character the slope is, the higher the slope is ([0039], “Positions and shapes of the players … are represented by the object information”).
Taura discloses
wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in an obliquely upward direction of the player character (column 13, lines 66-67 and column 14 lines 1-5, “the player character … attacks the enemy character … with a continuous technique or combo … capable of applying a more serious damage in succession to the continuous technique”), the first erasure range is set in the obliquely upward direction of the player character (column 20, lines 60-61, “the … object … is erased with erasure of the … character”) when the destruction action hits the first object (column 13, lines 63-66, “the player operates the … button … to apply a damage effectively”)
Adachi and Taura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of image processing and game information processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an information processing method performed by an image processing system: wherein the information processing system stores first volume data that is data for representing a first object in voxel data indicating presence of an object with respect to each voxel included in a first voxel space placed in the virtual space updating the voxel data of a voxel included in and having a shape obtained by excluding from a predetermined shape a range below a predetermined surface set based on the position of the player character; and based on the first volume data, at least drawing a polygon mesh representing a surface of the first object, thereby generating an image of the virtual space, and the predetermined surface is a slope which passes through a position on a ground with which the player character is in contact when the destruction action hits the first object, and in which the further in a forward direction of the player character the slope is, the higher the slope is, as disclosed by Adachi, a virtual space and holds moving a player character on the first object based on an operation input of a player; causing the player character to perform a destruction action based on an operation input of the player; if the destruction action hits the first object, a first erasure range to a value indicating that an object is not present, the first erasure range being a range set in accordance with a position of the player character, wherein the destruction action is a destruction action in an obliquely upward direction of the player character, the first erasure range is set in the obliquely upward direction of the player character when the destruction action hits the first object, as disclosed by Taura, to provide a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a virtual space, a button, an object, a player character, an operation mode, and position coordinates for a storage medium, an information processing system, an information processing apparatus, and a game controlling method, in which one or two characters can be controlled according to an operation of a player.
In regards to claim 36, Adachi discloses
wherein the predetermined shape is any of a sphere, an ellipsoidal body, and a shape obtained by asymmetrically deforming an ellipsoidal body ([0024], “The object information … represents … a three-dimensional shape of each object”).
Contact Information
examiner should be directed to Lisa Antoine whose telephone number is
(571) 272-4252 and whose email address is lantoine@uspto.gov. The examiner can be reached Monday-Thursday, 7:30 am – 5:30 pm CT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Xuan Thai, can be reached on (571) 272-7147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Publication Information
obtained from the Patent Center. Unpublished application information in the Patent
Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in the
Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about the
Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in
DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC)
at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LISA H ANTOINE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715