DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 07/28/2026, claim(s) 1, 5, 9, 10, 14 and 16-20 are amended and claim 15 is cancelled per Applicant's request. Therefore, claims 1-14 and 16-20 are presently pending in the application and have been considered as follows.
The following rejections have been withdrawn in light of the amendment:
The rejection of claims 5, 10, 14, 19 and 20 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 12-14 of Applicant’s response, filed 07/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 10, 14, 15, 19 and 20 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. In particular, Applicant’s amendments to the claims has overcome the rejection on record. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over US 20120083208 to Giles et al. (hereinafter “Giles”) in view of US 20090186580 to Kim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/11/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objection
Claim 14 is objected to because the amendment does not comply with 37 CFR 1.121(c). The limitation “ and retaining a connection to the secondary device;” is a newly added claim limitation but has not been previously underlined with the latest claim submission. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 16, the claim recites “after the determining that the operation performed by the user on the second electronic device has been received.” Claim 16 now depends from claim 14. Claim 14 recites receiving an operation performed by a user or a second request and separately determining in response to receiving the operation or the second request to establish a connection. Claim 14 does not recite a determination that the operation has been received. It is therefore unclear what prior “determining” step in claim 14 is referenced by claim 16.
In regard to claims 19, the claim recites that “the secondary device... retaining a connection to the second device.” Claim 19 introduces a “second electronic device” and a “secondary device,” but does not introduce a “second device.” Because of the phrase “second device” could refer to either of the separately recited devices the scope of the limitations is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120083208 to Giles et al. (hereinafter “Giles”) in view of US 20090186580 to Kim
Claim 1
Giles teaches a communication method for a first electronic device, [e.g. Giles; Para. 0013.] the method comprising:
receiving, by the first electronic device, a first message sent by a second electronic device, the first message being used to connect to a secondary device, the first message comprising information for connecting to the secondary device, the secondary device being connected to the second electronic device before the first electronic device receives the first message, and the secondary device being in a connectable state after the first electronic device receives the first message; [e.g. Giles; Para. 0013, 0014, 0043-0053 – Giles teaches the second host device (e.g. first electronic device) receiving a link key (e.g. first message) for pairing to an accessory device (e.g. secondary device) from a first host device (e.g. second electronic device) in response to a wireless connection between the first host and the second host. The secondary device enters a pairing mode (e.g. a connectable state) after the first host provides the pairing information. ] and
connecting, by the first electronic device, to the secondary device based on the first message. [e.g. Giles; Para. 0013, 0014, 0043-0053 – Giles discloses the second host connecting to the accessory device.]
While Giles teaches the method of claim 1, Giles fails to explicitly teach however, Kim teaches:
retaining a connection to the second electronic device; [e.g. Kim; Abstract, Para. 0012, 0013, 0034-0036, 0052-0060 – Kim teaches the Bluetooth headset (e.g. secondary device) transitioning from a wireless connection mode to a pairing mode (e.g. connectable state) while maintaining a wireless connection to a first wireless device (e.g. second electronic device). ].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the features above in the invention as disclosed by Giles with the benefit of facilitating fast and easy multipoint connection establishment.
Claim 10
Giles teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein before the connecting, by the first electronic device, to the secondary device based on the first message, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the first electronic device, a second message sent by the second electronic device, wherein the second message is used to determine whether an electronic device connected based on the first message is the secondary device, and the second message comprises one or more of: a public key of the secondary device, identification information of the secondary device, or an identifier of a connection between the secondary device and the second electronic device; [e.g. Giles; Para. 0013, 0014, 0043-0053 – Giles teaches the second host device (e.g. first electronic device) receiving an address/PIN of the accessory device (e.g. second message) for verify the accessory device (e.g. secondary device) from a first host device (e.g. second electronic device). ] and
after the connecting, by the first electronic device, to the secondary device based on the first message, the method further comprises: determining, by the first electronic device based on the second message, that an electronic device connected to the first electronic device is the secondary device. [e.g. Giles; Para. 0006, 0013, 0014, 0043-0053 – Giles teaches cryptographically authenticating the identity of the accessory device after pairing. ]
Claim 14
Giles teaches a communication method for a second electronic device, the method comprising:
connecting, by the second electronic device, to a secondary device; [e.g. Giles; Para. 0013, 0014, 0043-0053 – Giles teaches the first host device (e.g. second electronic device) connecting to an accessory device (e.g. secondary device) ]
receiving, by the second electronic device, an operation performed by a user on the second electronic device or a second request from a first electronic device; determining, by the second electronic device in response to receiving the operation or the second request, to establish a connection between the first electronic device and the secondary device; [e.g. Giles; Para. 0046-0048 – Giles teaches a primary trigger event at the first host, including a simple button push or specific user gesture, that initiates transfer of the accessory pairing to the second host. ]
sending, by the second electronic device, a first message to the first electronic device when the second electronic device determines to establish a connection between the first electronic device and the secondary device; [e.g. Giles; Para. 0013, 0048, 0049, 0055 – Giles teaches sending pairing information, including the unique link key and accessory information, from the first host to the second host in response to the trigger event. ]; and
sending, by the second electronic device, a first indication to the secondary device; the first indication indicating the secondary device enter a connectable state, the first message indicating the first electronic device connect to the secondary device, and the first message comprising information for connecting to the secondary device. [e.g. Giles; Para. 0013, 0014, 0043-0053 – Giles teaches host directed switching and unpairing or disconnection that places the accessory into pairing mode and teaches a host telling an accessory device to switch pairings. Pairing information sent to the receiving host includes the link key, address, PIN used for the new pairing. ]
While Giles teaches the method according to claim 14, Giles fails to explicitly teach however, Kim teaches:
retaining a connection to the secondary device; [e.g. Kim; Abstract, Para. 0012, 0013, 0034-0036, 0052-0060 – Kim teaches the Bluetooth headset (e.g. secondary device) transitioning from a wireless connection mode to a pairing mode (e.g. connectable state) while maintaining a wireless connection to a first wireless device (e.g. second electronic device). ].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the features above in the invention as disclosed by Giles with the benefit of facilitating fast and easy multipoint connection establishment.
Regarding claims 19 and 20 they are device claims essentially corresponding to the above recitations, and they are rejected, at least, for the same reasons.
Claims 2-8, 11-13 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120083208 to Giles et al. (hereinafter “Giles”) in view of US 20090186580 to Kim and further in view of US 20200128620 to Han et al. (hereinafter “Han”)
Claim 2While Giles and Kim teach the method of claim 1 the combination fails to explicitly teach however, Han teaches:
wherein before the receiving, by the first electronic device, the first message sent by the second electronic device, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first electronic device, a first request sent by the second electronic device, wherein the first request is used to share the secondary device to the first electronic device; [e.g. Han; Abstract, Para. 0064-0163, 0168-0176 – Han teaches the first electronic device (e.g. second electronic device) transmitting an empowerment signal (e.g. first request) to assign transmission authority for the communication connection (e.g. share the secondary device) to the second external electronic device (e.g. first electronic device). ] and
sending, by the first electronic device, an acknowledgement message to the second electronic device, wherein the acknowledgement message is used to indicate the second electronic device to determine to establish a connection between the first electronic device and the secondary device. [e.g. Han; Abstract, Para. 0064-0163, 0168-0176 – Han teaches the second external electronic device sending an empowerment approval (e.g. acknowledgement message) to the first electronic device. ]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, the features above in the invention as disclosed by Giles and Kim with the benefit of providing secure seamless handover improving the overall security of the system provided by Giles.
Claim 3While Giles and Kim teach the method of claim 1 the combination fails to explicitly teach however, Han teaches:
wherein before the receiving, by the first electronic device, the first message sent by the second electronic device, the method further comprises: sending, by the first electronic device, a second request to the second electronic device, wherein the second request is used to indicate the second electronic device to determine to establish a connection between the first electronic device and the secondary device. . [e.g. Han; Abstract, Para. 0064-0163, 0168-0176 – Han teaches the second external electronic device sending an empowerment request (e.g. second request) to the first electronic device. ]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, the features above in the invention as disclosed by Giles and Kim with the benefit of providing secure seamless handover improving the overall security of the system provided by Giles.
Claim 4While Giles and Kim teach the method of claim 3 the combination fails to explicitly teach however, Han teaches:
wherein before sending, by the first electronic device, the[e.g. Han; Abstract, Para. 0064-0163, 0168-0176 – Han teaches both the first electronic device and second external electronic device may both be identical smartphones. Han discloses the smartphones displaying an interface comprising a first control, device list and selection interfaces. ] and
the sending, by the first electronic device, the second request to the second electronic device comprising: sending, by the first electronic device, the second request to the second electronic device after receiving an operation performed by the user on the second control. [e.g. Han; Abstract, Para. 0064-0163, 0168-0176 – Han discloses sending an empowerment request based on the second control. ]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, the features above in the invention as disclosed by Giles and Kim with the benefit of providing secure seamless handover improving the overall security of the system provided by Giles.
Claim 5While Giles and Kim teach the method of claim 4 the combination fails to explicitly teach however, Han teaches:
wherein the second request comprises a type of the secondary device and/or the second request includes information indicating that the second request is for sharing first data, and after the connecting by the first electronic device to the secondary device based on the first message, the method further comprises: using, by the first electronic device, the secondary device as an input device or an output device; and when the second request includes information indicating that the second request is for sharing the first data, sending, by the first electronic device, the first data to the secondary device after the first electronic device uses the secondary device as the input device or the output device. [e.g. Han; Abstract, Para. 0064-0163, 0168-0176 – Han teaches the second external electronic device sharing media data and using the first external electronic device as and output device and transmitting the media for output ]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, the features above in the invention as disclosed by Giles and Kim with the benefit of providing secure seamless handover improving the overall security of the system provided by Giles.
Claim 6While Giles and Kim teach the method of claim 5 the combination fails to explicitly teach however, Han teaches:
wherein the first interface is an interface of a first application, the first application is an application for playing a multimedia file, the first data is a multimedia file, the first interface further comprises a third control, and the third control is used to play the first data; and after the connecting, by the first electronic device, to the secondary device, the method further comprises: playing, by the first electronic device, a picture and/or audio of the multimedia file through the secondary device after receiving an operation performed by the user on the third control. [e.g. Han; Abstract, Para. 0064-0163, 0168-0176 – Han teaches both the first electronic device and second external electronic device may both be identical smartphones and both transmit media to be played. ]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, the features above in the invention as disclosed by Giles and Kim with the benefit of providing secure seamless handover improving the overall security of the system provided by Giles.
Claim 7While Giles and Kim teach teaches the method of claim 3 the combination fails to explicitly teach however, Han teaches:
wherein before the sending, by the first electronic device, the second request to the second electronic device, the method further comprises: determining, by the first electronic device, a first distance between the first electronic device and the second electronic device; and establishing, by the first electronic device, a connection to the second electronic device after the first electronic device determines that the first distance is less than a distance threshold; the sending, by the first electronic device, the second request to the second electronic device comprises: sending, by the first electronic device, the second request to the second electronic device through the connection; and the receiving, by the first electronic device, the first message sent by the second electronic device comprises: receiving, by the first electronic device through the connection, the first message sent by the second electronic device. [e.g. Han; Abstract, Para. 0064-0163, 0168-0176 – Han teaches both the first electronic device and second external electronic device may both be identical smartphones. Han teaches that the second external electronic device may send a request to the first electronic device and both transmit media to be played. And transmission of the request is performed based on a specified distance.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, the features above in the invention as disclosed by Giles and Kim with the benefit of providing secure seamless handover improving the overall security of the system provided by Giles.
Claim 8While Giles and Kim teach the method of claim 7 the combination fails to explicitly teach however, Han teaches:
wherein the determining, by the first electronic device, the first distance comprises: receiving, by the first electronic device, a first advertising message sent by the second electronic device, and determining the first distance based on the first advertising message; or sending, by the first electronic device, the first advertising message, and receiving a first response sent by the second electronic device, wherein the first response comprises the first distance, and the first distance is determined by the second electronic device based on the first advertising message. [e.g. Han; Abstract, Para. 0064-0163, 0168-0176 – Han teaches the second external electronic device sending advertising packets.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, the features above in the invention as disclosed by Giles and Kim with the benefit of providing secure seamless handover improving the overall security of the system provided by Giles.
Claim 11-13While Giles and Kim teach the method of claim 1 the combination fails to explicitly teach however, Han teaches:
wherein the first electronic device establishes a Bluetooth connection to the secondary device, and the first electronic device has established a Bluetooth connection to a third electronic device before connecting to the secondary device, and the first electronic device maintains a Bluetooth connection to the third electronic device after being connected to the secondary device. [e.g. Han; Abstract, Para. 0004, 0064-0163, 0168-0176 – Han teaches both the first electronic device and second external electronic device may both be identical smartphones. Han teaches that Bluetooth support multiple connections through which a plurality of electronic devices are connected simultaneously. ]
wherein both the secondary device and the third electronic device are audio output devices. [e.g. Han; Abstract, Para. 0004, 0064-0163, 0168-0176 – Han teaches the secondary and third devices are headsets. ]
wherein both the secondary device and the third electronic device are Bluetooth headsets. [e.g. Han; Abstract, Para. 0004, 0064-0163, 0168-0176 – Han teaches the secondary and third devices are headsets. ]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, the features above in the invention as disclosed by Giles and Kim with the benefit of providing secure seamless handover improving the overall security of the system provided by Giles.
Claim 16
While Giles and Kim teach the method of claim 14 the combination fails to explicitly teach however, Han teaches:
wherein after the determining that the operation performed by the user on the second electronic device has been received, the method further comprises: sending, by the second electronic device, a first request to the first electronic device, wherein the first request is used to share the secondary device to the first electronic device; and after the second electronic device receives an acknowledgement message sent by the first electronic device, determining, by the second electronic device, to establish a connection between the first electronic device and the secondary device. [e.g. Han; Abstract, Para. 0064-0163, 0168-0176 – Han teaches transmitting empowerment request and receiving empowerment approval. ]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, the features above in the invention as disclosed by Giles and Kim with the benefit of providing secure seamless handover improving the overall security of the system provided by Giles.
Claim 17
While Giles and Kim teach the method of claim 14 the combination fails to explicitly teach however, Han teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: after the second electronic device receives the second request from the first electronic device, determining, by the second electronic device, the secondary device according to the second request; and after the second electronic device determines the secondary device, determining, by the second electronic device, to establish a connection between the first electronic device and the secondary device. [e.g. Han; Abstract, Para. 0064-0163, 0168-0176 – Han teaches the receiving empowerment request and handing off a connection between the secondary external electronic device and the first external electronic device. ]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, the features above in the invention as disclosed by Giles and Kim with the benefit of providing secure seamless handover improving the overall security of the system provided by Giles.
Claim 18
While Giles and Kim teach the method of claim 17 the combination fails to explicitly teach however, Han teaches:
method according to claim 17, wherein the second request comprises a type of the secondary device and/or the second request includes information indicating that the second request is for sharing first data; and the determining, by the second electronic device, the secondary device according to the second request comprises: determining, by the second electronic device, the secondary device based on the type of the secondary device and the first data. [e.g. Han; Abstract, Para. 0064-0163, 0168-0176 – Han teaches determining device type of the second external electronic device for outputting media based on compatibility with the first external electronic device. ]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, the features above in the invention as disclosed by Giles and Kim with the benefit of providing secure seamless handover improving the overall security of the system provided by Giles.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER C HARRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432