DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 14, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woodland (US 5,927,648).
Regarding claim 1, Woodland discloses a method of installing a modular door panel assembly (Fig. 2) for an aircraft, the method comprising: providing a door surround (67) for a door aperture of the aircraft, wherein the door surround comprises at least a first hole (portion that receives the upper door frame subsection panel 68) in an upper portion of the door surround and a second hole (portion that receives that lower door frame subsection panel) in a lower portion of the door surround, and a strut actuator aperture (strut joint 14 inherently has an aperture to receive the strut 12) below the second hole; inserting a modular upper panel assembly (upper door frame subsection panel 68) into the first hole of the door surround such that a portion of the door surround around the first hole interfaces with the modular upper panel assembly; inserting a modular lower panel assembly (lower door frame subsection panel 68) into the second hole of the door surround such that a portion of the door surround around the second hole interfaces with the modular lower panel assembly; and connecting the door surround with the door aperture of the aircraft to ensure aircraft pressurization (inherent in Woodland; col. 15 line 59 – col. 16 line 5).
Regarding claim 3, Woodland teaches that the door surround is permanently installed since the term “permanently” does not distinguish over Woodland’s door surround which could inherently or explicitly be installed permanently.
Regarding claim 4, Woodland teaches that the door surround is temporarily installed since the term “permanently” does not distinguish over Woodland’s door surround which could inherently or explicitly be installed temporarily.
Regarding claim 5, Woodland discloses interfacing the modular door panel assembly with a control system (81) via a harness assembly (21, 56).
Regarding claim 6, Woodland discloses attaching an articulated stanchion (26) assembly to at least one of the door surround, the modular upper panel assembly, or the modular lower panel assembly.
Regarding claim 7, Woodland discloses attaching a seat (46) to at least one of the door surround (Fig. 8), the modular upper panel assembly, or the modular lower panel assembly.
Regarding claim 8, Woodland discloses incorporating one or more mission components into the modular upper panel assembly (63) or the modular lower panel assembly (64) based on a particular flight mission.
Regarding claim 9, Woodland discloses that the modular upper panel assembly comprises a square window.
Regarding claim 10, Woodland discloses that the modular lower panel assembly comprises a defensive system aperture (through which 64 is mounted).
Regarding claim 11, Woodland inherently discloses configuring the first hole, the second hole, or both the first hole and the second hole individually or together to serve as an emergency egress hatch since the panels 68 of Woodland may be unfastened if desired.
Regarding claim 12, Woodland inherently discloses the panels 68 replacing an existing door.
Regarding claim 13, Woodland discloses connecting the door surround and the door aperture of the aircraft via a retract assembly (col. 10, lines 14 – 45).
Regarding claim 14, Woodland discloses that the retract assembly is configured to allow the door surround to be retracted and stowed (col. 10, lines 14 – 45).
Regarding claim 17, Woodland discloses that the modular door panel assembly further comprises a scanner seat assembly (46), the method further comprising: connecting the scanner seat assembly to a cargo handling system rail, a fuselage or a floor of the aircraft via adaptive mounting fixtures (Figs. 13a – 13d).
Regarding claim 18, Woodland discloses that the scanner seat assembly is configured to be positioned outboard of a path of cargo as the cargo travels forward and aft within the aircraft (Fig. 14 clearly shows that the scanner seat would not be in the path of cargo that would travel forward and aft within the aircraft).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/4/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., aperture positioned below the door surround and configured to interface with an articulated strut to ensure pressurization) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 15, 16, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VALENTINA XAVIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642