DETAILED ACTION
This Office action has been issued in response to amendment filed December 24, 2025.
Claims 1, 17 and 33 have been amended. Currently, claims 1-33 are pending. Applicant’s arguments are carefully and respectfully considered and some are persuasive, while others are not. Accordingly rejections have been removed where arguments were persuasive, but rejections have been maintained where arguments were not persuasive. Also, a new rejections based on the newly added amendments have been set forth. Accordingly, claims 1-33 are rejected and this action has been made FINAL, as necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and arguments presented on 12/14/25 have been fully considered. Amended claims changes the scope of the claimed invention. The remarks and arguments are moot in view of the new ground of rejection presented in this office action.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Semerdzhiev et al. (US 2007/0156789 A1), hereinafter Semerdzhiev in view of Zhou et al.(US 2007/0118553 A1), hereinafter Zhou.
As for claim 1, Semerdzhiev teaches a method implemented in a computing system
comprising a hardware processor and a memory coupled to the hardware processor, the method comprising: at a database system, receiving a first request for one or more database operations, at least a first database operation of the one or more database operations being specified to be performed on a virtual parameterized……object and comprising one or more parameter values; determining, by the database system, that the virtual parameterized…..object is defined in the database system as a virtual representation of a parameterized….object of the remote computing system and the virtual parameterized….object has a virtual database object type that corresponds to a type of the parameterized…..object (see [0036], virtual machine (VM) configuration contains the VM memory settings and the VM parameters, [0109], each instances in the systems are information object, [0041], e.g., VM parameter or to change some service property, [0006], e.g., java parameter are installed in the property, [0029]-[0030], determine J2EE engine behavior and system configurations, which are setting in the database, [0055], e.g., parameterized values, [0086], e.g., database assigned to particular usage of instance, [0128], e.g., memory control hub is responsible for managing various requests, [0124], e.g., a remote computer (e.g., a server) to a requesting computer (e.g., a client));
retrieving…..information for the virtual parameterized….object, the…..information….the virtual parameterized ….object of the database system to a parameterized…..object of a remote computing system, accessed by the database system using data federation, the.…information comprising a…….of at least one parameter of the virtual parameterized …..object to at least one parameter of the parameterized…object; the parameterized….object of the remote computing system storing data defined by a….of the parameterized…..object of the remote computing system and wherein database operations referencing the virtual parameterized….object cause access to the data stored in the parameterized….object of the remote computing system; using the….information, generating a second request for one or more database operations, the second request comprising at least a….database operation corresponding to the at least a first database operation and at least a portion of the one or more parameter values (see [0036], virtual machine with parameters, [0047], configuration can be local or remote database, [0059], e.g., global virtual machine (e.g., federated) parameters are visible inheritable and used from any VM/OS combination. The visibility of a property specified at that level is "all VMs" and "all OSs", [0072], e.g., a parameterized attribute indicates whether the property contain parameterized value and must be passed through a routine, [0097], all the levels are collected in a list and are resolved from the top to the bottom, all the values are combined and evaluated together; [0119], e.g., a database index is configured (or updated) to include the checksums, version numbers, and/or path of the archive deployed in the system, the CFS archive are also stored in the database. Upon a change made in the system (database or CFS), [0128], various requests for system memory access, interfaces and internal storage elements with respect to one another. [0041], [0055], e.g., parameterized values);
sending the second request to the remote computing system, where the remote computing system executes the second request using the parameterized……and the at least a portion of the one or more parameter values to provide execution results; receiving the execution results from the remote computing system; and sending at least a portion of the execution results, or data derived using the execution results in response to the first request (see [0029], separate server nodes are configured, [0128], various requests for system memory access, [0129], e.g., responsible for transferring data to and/or from the computing system, [0055], [0126], e.g., execute instructions to perform whatever software routines the computing system implements).
Semerdzhiev teaches the claimed invention but does not explicitly teach the amended claim recited limitations of “parameterized database object; the virtual parameterized database object; mapping information, the mapping information mapping the virtual parameterized database object of the database system to a parameterized database object; the mapping information comprising a mapping of at least one parameter of the virtual parameterized database object to at least one parameter of the parameter database object; the parameter database object of the remote computing system storing data defined by a schema of the parameterized database object of the remote computing system and wherein database operation referencing the virtual parameterized database object cause access to the data stored in the parameterized database object of the remote computing system; using the mapping information; a second database operation; using the parameterized database operation”. Although, Semerdzhiev teaches root level map with dependencies, separate server ([0029, [0105]; VM parameter or to change some service property ([0041], [0117])). However, in the same filed of endeavor, Zhou teaches the amended claim recited limitations of ““parameterized database object; the virtual parameterized database object; mapping information, the mapping information mapping the virtual parameterized database object of the database system to a parameterized database object; the mapping information comprising a mapping of at least one parameter of the virtual parameterized database object to at least one parameter of the parameter database object; the parameter database object of the remote computing system storing data defined by a schema of the parameterized database object of the remote computing system and wherein database operation referencing the virtual parameterized database object cause access to the data stored in the parameterized database object of the remote computing system; using the mapping information; a second database operation; using the parameterized database operation” (see
[0007], e.g., retrieval of data from the relational database often requires query to determine the parameters of other queries required for the hierarchical data output, [0033], [0030], parameterized query and output associated with hierarchical schema, [0041], e.g., relational database instances used in the mapping, [0072], e.g., relational database management system implementations have components located at remote locations and that communicate over a communications network).
Semerdzhiev and Zhou both references teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are from the same field of endeavor, such as database management system, query or request among distributed computing systems, we-based applications accessed by network.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhou’s teaching to Semerdzhiev’s system to retrieve data required to create hierarchical data structures from data contained in relational databases. Thus, maintain complex datasets in relational database management system (RDBMS’s). An efficient data retrieval and less queries help saving resource for one more databases. Also, optimize data transformation from relational databases to hierarchical structures (see Zhou, [0008]-[0009]).
As for claim 17,
The limitations therein have substantially the same scope as claim 1 because claim 17 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage media claim for implementing those steps of claim 1. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected for at least the same reasons as claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhou’s teaching to Semerdzhiev’s system to retrieve data required to create hierarchical data structures from data contained in relational databases. Thus, maintain complex datasets in relational database management system (RDBMS’s). An efficient data retrieval and less queries help saving resource for one more databases. Also, optimize data transformation from relational databases to hierarchical structures (see Zhou, [0008]-[0009]).
As for claim 33,
The limitations therein have substantially the same scope as claim 1 because claim 33 is a method claim and step for determining, retrieving, generating, sending and receiving claim. Semerdzhiev teaches these limitations (see [0029], [0036], [0047]; Also see rejection to claim 1). Therefore, claim 33 is rejected for at least the same reasons as claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhou’s teaching to Semerdzhiev’s system to retrieve data required to create hierarchical data structures from data contained in relational databases. Thus, maintain complex datasets in relational database management system (RDBMS’s). An efficient data retrieval and less queries help saving resource for one more databases. Also, optimize data transformation from relational databases to hierarchical structures (see Zhou, [0008]-[0009]).
As to claim 2, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Semerdzhiev and Zhou teaches:
wherein the first request is sent from a database client (see Semerdzhiev, [0030]).
As to claim 3, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Semerdzhiev and Zhou teaches:
the operations further comprising: determining a constraint for the at least one parameter of the virtual parameterized database object; determining that a value for the at least one parameter of the virtual parameterized data object in the first request complies with the constraint; and including the value in the second request (see Semerdzhiev, [0117], [0128]; Also see Zhou, [0033]).
As to claim 4, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Semerdzhiev and Zhou teaches:
wherein the constraint is a datatype of the first parameter (see Semerdzhiev, [0031], [0051]).
As to claim 5, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Semerdzhiev and Zhou teaches:
wherein the virtual parameterized database object specifies one more parameters of the parameterized database object (see Semerdzhiev, [0028], [0041], [0109]; Also see Zhou, [0007]).
As to claim 6, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Semerdzhiev and Zhou teaches:
further comprising: determining whether the first request comprises values for respective parameters of the one or more parameters; determining that the first request does not comprise a value for a first parameter of the one or more parameters; determining that the first parameter is associated with a default value; and including the default value in the second request (see Semerdzhiev, [0054], [0128]; Also see Zhou, [0057]; Claim 6).
As to claim 7, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Semerdzhiev and Zhou teaches:
further comprising: determining whether the first request comprises values for respective parameters of the one or more parameters; determining that the first request does not comprise a value for a first parameter of the one or more parameters; determining that the first parameter is not associated with a default value; and determining that a value is not required for the first request; wherein the generating the second request proceeds based on the determining that a value is not required for the first parameter (see Semerdzhiev, [0054], [0069], [0128]; Also see Zhou, [0057], claim 6).
As to claim 8, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Semerdzhiev and Zhou teaches:
further comprising: at the database system, receiving a third request for one or more database operations, at least a first database operation of the one or more database operations being specified for the virtual parameterized database object; determining whether the third request comprises values for respective parameters of the one or more parameters; determining that the third request does not comprise a value for a first parameter of the one or more parameters; determining that the first parameter is not associated with a default value; determining that a value is required for the third request; and sending an error notification in response to the third request (see Semerdzhiev, [0054], [0069], [0127], [0128]; Also see Zhou, [0007], [0033]).
As to claim 9, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Semerdzhiev and Zhou teaches:
wherein at least a first parameter of the one or more parameters modifies a selection of data defined for the parameterized database object (see Semerdzhiev, [0096]; Also see Zhou, [0007]).
As to claim 10, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Semerdzhiev and Zhou teaches:
wherein (1) the parameterized data object is defined with respect to one or more other database objects of the remote computing system, and (2) at least a first parameter of the one or more parameters modifies a value of a data element of at least a first database object of the one or more other database objects (see Semerdzhiev, [0031], [0096]; Also see Zhou, [0033]).
As to claim 11, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Semerdzhiev and Zhou teaches:
wherein the parameterized database object is a parameterized view (see Semerdzhiev, [0125]).
As to claim 12, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Semerdzhiev and Zhou teaches:
wherein the parameterized database object is a user-defined table function and the execution results comprise a results table (see Semerdzhiev, [0017]; Also see Zhou, [0007]).
As to claim 13, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Semerdzhiev and Zhou teaches:
further comprising: receiving a request to create the virtual parameterized database object, the request to create the virtual parameterized database object comprising a name for the virtual parameterized database object, a name of a parameterized database object to be mapped to the virtual parameterized database object, and a location of the parameterized database object; in response to the request to create the virtual parameterized database object, sending a third request to the remote computing system, the third request requesting definitional information about the parameterized database object, the definitional information comprising parameter information; receiving parameter information in response to the third request; and storing the parameter information in a data dictionary in association with the name of the virtual parameterized database object (see Semerdzhiev, [0031], [0119], [0099], [0128]; Also see Zhou, [0033]).
As to claim 14, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Semerdzhiev and Zhou teaches:
wherein the parameter information comprises a number of parameters of the parameterized database object, an order of parameters of the parameterized database object, and datatypes of respective parameters of the parameterized database object (see Semerdzhiev, [0028], [0033]).
As to claim 15, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Semerdzhiev and Zhou teaches:
wherein the request to create the virtual parameterized database object comprises an identifier that a database object to be created is a virtual database object and an identifier of a type of parameterized database object to which the virtual parameterized database object will be mapped (see Semerdzhiev, [0041], [0105]; Also see Zhou, [0007]).
As to claim 16, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Semerdzhiev and Zhou teaches:
wherein the parameterized database object is defined with respect to one or more other database objects of the remote computing system (see Semerdzhiev, [0124]).
Claims 18-32 correspond in scope to claims 2-16 and are similarly rejected.
Prior Arts
7. US 2005/0234878 A1 teaches detailed information about an object, users can utilize parameterized queries to drill down into objects returned in the results set by passing specific values from the result set to the parameterized query and submitting the parameterized query. Identifying the appropriate parameterized query to use for getting detailed information about a specific object (see [0014]).
US 2019/0114181 A1 teaches one or more parameterized queries, generating a data application programming interface based on at least one of the parameterized queries, outputting the generated data application programming interface to the user providing the user-provided query, and storing the generated data application programming interface in a database accessible to one or more additional users ([0004]).
Yang et al,: Construction and research of virtual forest environment based of spatial data; ICBASE, 2021; teaches virtual environment for planning, problems and made scientific collaborative decisions. Realizing fractal geometric modeling include iterated functional system, ramification matrix, partial system, grammar method proposed by oppenheimer (page 109).
Also see, US 20070118553, US 7483890, US 10146834, US 8868594, US 20130166589, US 20150039588, US 20130282746, US 7836065, US 8838750, US 20070156789, US 20070165937, US 7689600, US 9384236, US 20140372466, US 9842137, US 20070156789, US 11322607, these references also read the claim recited limitation. These references are state of the art at the time of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
8. The examiner suggests, in response to this Office action, support being shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application (see 37 C.F.R. § 1.75(d)(1), 37 C.F.R. § 1.83(f)).
9. The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action (see MPEP § 7.96). Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor Boris Gorney can be reached on (571) 270-5626. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or processing is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from the either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DANIEL A KUDDUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154
03/20/26