DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 20 is set forth as depending from “the controller of claim 12,” however claim 12 is a method claim. It appears that this may have been a typographical error and should have been –the controller of claim 13--. For the purposes of further examination claim 20 will be treated as depending from claim 13 rather than claim 12.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figs. 5 and 7-10 include elements which are not black and white line drawings. See MPEP 608.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9-13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walker et al. (US 2014/0264081 A1, Sep. 18, 2014) (hereinafter “Walker”).
Regarding claim 1: Walker discloses a method for registering an image space with a sensor space, comprising: receiving sensor data from a sensor disposed on an instrument within an anatomy ([0047], fig. 4, step 208); determining a position of the instrument in a first coordinate space based on the received sensor data ([0047], fig. 4, step 208, sensor reference frame FRF); receiving image data captured by an imaging system external to the anatomy while the instrument is disposed within the anatomy ([0045]-[0046], fig. 4, step 204); determining a position of the instrument in a second coordinate space based on the received image data ([0044], [0046]-[0047], fig. 4, step 208, fluoroscopy reference frame FF); and determining a mapping between the first coordinate space and the second coordinate space based at least in part on the position of the instrument in the first coordinate space and the position of the instrument in the second coordinate space ([0047]).
Regarding claim 9: Walker discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving additional sensor data from one or more additional sensors proximate to the anatomy ([0080]); determining positions of the one or more additional sensors in the first coordinate space based on the received additional sensor data ([0081]); and determining positions of the one or more additional sensors in the second coordinate space based on the received image data, the mapping between the first coordinate space and the second coordinate space further being determined based at least in part on the positions of the one or more additional sensors in the first coordinate space and the positions of the one or more additional sensors in the second coordinate space ([0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 10: Walker discloses the method of claim 9, wherein at least one of the one or more additional sensors is disposed on the instrument ([0080], fig. 9).
Regarding claim 11: Walker discloses the method of claim 9, wherein at least one of the one or more additional sensors is positioned at a predetermined location external to the anatomy ([0080] - proximal end 904, fig. 9).
Regarding claim 12: Walker discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the positions of the one or more additional sensors in the second coordinate space are determined based on two or more two-dimensional (2D) images captured by the imaging system ([0081], [0084]; [0039] – registration is performed using multiple fluoro images).
Regarding claim 13: Walker discloses a controller for a medical system, comprising: a processing system ([0100]-[0104]); and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processing system ([0100]-[0104]), cause the controller to: receive sensor data from a sensor disposed on an instrument within an anatomy ([0047], fig. 4, step 208); determine a position of the instrument in a first coordinate space based on the received sensor data ([0047], fig. 4, step 208, sensor reference frame FRF); receive image data captured by an imaging system external to the anatomy while the instrument is disposed within the anatomy ([0045]-[0046], fig. 4, step 204); determine a position of the instrument in a second coordinate space based on the received image data ([0044], [0046]-[0047], fig. 4, step 208, fluoroscopy reference frame FF); and determine a mapping between the first coordinate space and the second coordinate space based at least in part on the position of the instrument in the first coordinate space and the position of the instrument in the second coordinate space ([0047]).
Regarding claim 20: Walker discloses the controller of claim 12 (claim 13), wherein execution of the instructions further causes the controller to: receive additional sensor data from one or more additional sensors proximate to the anatomy ([0080]); determine positions of the one or more additional sensors in the first coordinate space based on the received additional sensor data ([0081]); and determine positions of the one or more additional sensors in the second coordinate space based on the received image data, the mapping between the first coordinate space and the second coordinate space further being determined based at least in part on the positions of the one or more additional sensors in the first coordinate space and the positions of the one or more additional sensors in the second coordinate space ([0081]-[0082]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker in view of Johnson et al. (US 2017/0215825 A1, Aug. 3, 2017) (hereinafter “Johnson”).
Regarding claim 2: Walker discloses the method of claim 1, including acquisition of both CT (“pre-operative model” or “3D model”) and fluoroscopy images which may be registered to one another ([0037], [0066]), but is silent on any description of the imaging system including wherein the imaging system is a cone beam computed tomography (CBCT) system.
Johnson, in the same problem solving area of CT and fluoroscopy imaging, discloses a multi-modal system designed for surgery which comprises three imaging modalities include fluoroscopy, 2D Radiography, and Cone-beam CT ([0020]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method of claim 1 using a multi-modal imaging system (including CBCT, which therefore is a “CBCT system”) as taught by Johnson in order to improve efficiency by performing all imaging using the same system without having to move the patient and in view of Johnson’s disclosure that the system was particularly designed for surgery.
Regarding claim 14: Walker discloses the controller of claim 13, including using the controller for acquisition of both CT (“pre-operative model” or “3D model”) and fluoroscopy images which may be registered to one another ([0037], [0066]), but is silent on any description of the imaging system including wherein the imaging system is a cone beam computed tomography (CBCT) system.
Johnson, in the same problem solving area of CT and fluoroscopy imaging, discloses a multi-modal system designed for surgery which comprises three imaging modalities include fluoroscopy, 2D Radiography, and Cone-beam CT ([0020]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the controller of claim 13 with a multi-modal imaging system (including CBCT, which therefore is a “CBCT system”) as taught by Johnson in order to improve efficiency by performing all imaging using the same system without having to move the patient and in view of Johnson’s disclosure that the system was particularly designed for surgery.
Claim(s) 3-5, 7, 8, 15-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker in view of Eichler et al. (US 2016/0287133 A1, Oct. 6, 2016) (hereinafter “Eichler”).
Regarding claim 3: Walker discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the sensor may be an electromagnetic (EM) sensor disposed within an EM field ([0028] - various sensors including EM sensors may be used, where EM sensors operate using a generated EM field) but is silent on any details regarding the corresponding EM field generator.
Eichler, in the same field of endeavor, discloses navigating a catheter using EM sensors and image guidance ([0016], [0024], [0033]), using EM sensors (sensors 46, 52; [0033]) disposed within an EM field produced by a field generator coupled to a support structure at a known angle, the support structure having a planar surface which supports the anatomy ([0027], fig. 1). Eichler further teaches that the disclosed field generator can be placed on or in the patient table (therefore establishing a fixed coordinate system) without interfering with the imaging system or image quality ([0008]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method of claim 1 using the sensors and field generator of Eichler in order to provide instrument position tracking without interfering with the imaging system or image quality.
Regarding claim 4: Walker and Eichler disclose the method of claim 3. Eichler further discloses wherein the field generator is a tabletop field generator or a window field generator (WFG) having a planar surface that is parallel to the planar surface of the support structure ([0027] - "generator assembly 44 may be located on top of table 20").
Regarding claim 5: Walker and Eichler disclose the method of claim 3. Walker further discloses wherein the determining of the mapping between the first coordinate space and the second coordinate space comprises: estimating, in each of the first coordinate space and the second coordinate space, a first vector orthogonal to the planar surface of the support structure ([0053], fig. 5; see coordinate system axes or "vectors" for all of TRF, RRF, SRF, FRF, FF, PRR shown in fig. 1A; registration may be performed via intermediate structures); estimating, in each of the first coordinate space and the second coordinate space, a second vector parallel to the planar surface of the support structure ([0053], fig. 5; see coordinate system axes or "vectors" for all of TRF, RRF, SRF, FRF, FF, PRR shown in fig. 1A); and determining a transformation matrix that transforms the position of the instrument and the estimated first and second vectors in the second coordinate space to the position of the instrument and the estimated first and second vectors, respectively, in the first coordinate space ([0053]; "first and second vectors" are merely the axes of the coordinate system, and registration maps the two different coordinate systems to a single common coordinate system which means that the "first and second vector" (axes) will be aligned).
Regarding claim 7: Walker and Eichler disclose the method of claim 3. Eichler further discloses wherein the field generator is further coupled to a fiducial board including one or more fiducial markers disposed at predetermined positions relative to the field generator ([0035], [0037]).
Regarding claim 8: Walker and Eichler disclose the method of claim 7. Eichler further discloses determining a position of each of the one or more fiducial markers in the second coordinate space based on the received image data, the mapping between the first coordinate space and the second coordinate space further being determined based at least in part on the positions of the one or more fiducial markers in the second coordinate space and the predetermined positions of the one or more fiducial markers relative to the field generator ([0035], [0037]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 15: Walker discloses the controller of claim 13, wherein the sensor may be an electromagnetic (EM) sensor disposed within an EM field ([0028] - various sensors including EM sensors may be used, where EM sensors operate using a generated EM field) but is silent on any details regarding the corresponding EM field generator.
Eichler, in the same field of endeavor, discloses navigating a catheter using EM sensors and image guidance ([0016], [0024], [0033]), using EM sensors (sensors 46, 52; [0033]) disposed within an EM field produced by a field generator coupled to a support structure at a known angle, the support structure having a planar surface which supports the anatomy ([0027], fig. 1). Eichler further teaches that the disclosed field generator can be placed on or in the patient table (therefore establishing a fixed coordinate system) without interfering with the imaging system or image quality ([0008]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the controller of claim 13 with the sensors and field generator of Eichler in order to provide instrument position tracking without interfering with the imaging system or image quality.
Regarding claim 16: Walker and Eichler disclose the controller of claim 15. Eichler further discloses wherein the field generator is a tabletop field generator or a window field generator (WFG) having a planar surface that is parallel to the planar surface of the support structure ([0027] - "generator assembly 44 may be located on top of table 20").
Regarding claim 17: Walker and Eichler disclose the controller of claim 15. Walker further discloses wherein the determining of the mapping between the first coordinate space and the second coordinate space comprises: estimating, in each of the first coordinate space and the second coordinate space, a first vector orthogonal to the planar surface of the support structure ([0053], fig. 5; see coordinate system axes or "vectors" for all of TRF, RRF, SRF, FRF, FF, PRR shown in fig. 1A; registration may be performed via intermediate structures); estimating, in each of the first coordinate space and the second coordinate space, a second vector parallel to the planar surface of the support structure ([0053], fig. 5; see coordinate system axes or "vectors" for all of TRF, RRF, SRF, FRF, FF, PRR shown in fig. 1A); and determining a transformation matrix that transforms the position of the instrument and the estimated first and second vectors in the second coordinate space to the position of the instrument and the estimated first and second vectors, respectively, in the first coordinate space ([0053]; "first and second vectors" are merely the axes of the coordinate system, and registration maps the two different coordinate systems to a single common coordinate system which means that the "first and second vector" (axes) will be aligned).
Regarding claim 19: Walker and Eichler disclose the controller of claim 15. Eichler further discloses wherein the field generator is further coupled to a fiducial board including one or more fiducial markers disposed at predetermined positions relative to the field generator ([0035], [0037]), execution of the instructions further causing the controller to: determine a position of each of the one or more fiducial markers in the second coordinate space based on the received image data, the mapping between the first coordinate space and the second coordinate space further being determined based at least in part on the positions of the one or more fiducial markers in the second coordinate space and the predetermined positions of the one or more fiducial markers relative to the field generator ([0035], [0037]-[0038]).
Claim(s) 6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker and Eichler as applied to claims 5 and 17 above, and further in view of Belson (US 2007/0135803 A1, Jun. 14, 2007) (hereinafter “Belson”).
Regarding claim 6: Walker and Eichler disclose the method of claim 5. Walker further discloses wherein the determining of the transformation matrix comprises: determining a heading of the instrument in the first coordinate space based on the received sensor data ([0028]-[0029], [0033] - position and orientation or "heading"); determining a heading of the instrument in the second coordinate space based on the received image data ([0028]-[0029], [0033] - position and orientation or "heading"); and registering the position and orientation of the instrument in the first and second coordinate systems into a single common coordinate system ([0036]-[0037], [0047], [0053], [0078] - "Inherently, though, registration is the method of positioning and orienting a sensor frame in a reference frame.").
However, Walker is silent on the details of the transformation matrix including determining a rotation matrix and a translation matrix that transform the position of the instrument, the heading of the instrument, and the first and second vectors in the second coordinate space to the position of the instrument, the heading of the instrument, and the first and second vectors, respectively, in the first coordinate space.
Belson, in the same field of endeavor, discloses registering the position and orientation of an instrument across multiple coordinate systems including generating a transformation matrix that accounts for all translations, rotations, and scaling (magnification) factors ([0594]). It is noted that “…transform the position of the instrument, the heading of the instrument, and the first and second vectors in the second coordinate space to the position of the instrument, the heading of the instrument, and the first and second vectors, respectively, in the first coordinate space” is simply a description of 3D registration which includes the position and orientation of the tool where the "first and second vectors" are merely the axes of the coordinate systems, and registration maps (via a transformation matrix) the two different coordinate systems to a single common coordinate system which means that the "first and second vector" (axes) will be aligned.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the position and orientation registration of Walker using a translation matrix and a rotation matrix (i.e. a matrix that includes both the translation and rotation) as taught by Belson in order to provide a complete, one-step registration to improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 18: Walker and Eichler disclose the controller of claim 17. Walker further discloses wherein the determining of the transformation matrix comprises: determining a heading of the instrument in the first coordinate space based on the received sensor data ([0028]-[0029], [0033] - position and orientation or "heading"); determining a heading of the instrument in the second coordinate space based on the received image data ([0028]-[0029], [0033] - position and orientation or "heading"); and registering the position and orientation of the instrument in the first and second coordinate systems into a single common coordinate system ([0036]-[0037], [0047], [0053], [0078] - "Inherently, though, registration is the method of positioning and orienting a sensor frame in a reference frame.").
However, Walker is silent on the details of the transformation matrix including determining a rotation matrix and a translation matrix that transform the position of the instrument, the heading of the instrument, and the first and second vectors in the second coordinate space to the position of the instrument, the heading of the instrument, and the first and second vectors, respectively, in the first coordinate space.
Belson, in the same field of endeavor, discloses registering the position and orientation of an instrument across multiple coordinate systems including generating a transformation matrix that accounts for all translations, rotations, and scaling (magnification) factors ([0594]). It is noted that “…transform the position of the instrument, the heading of the instrument, and the first and second vectors in the second coordinate space to the position of the instrument, the heading of the instrument, and the first and second vectors, respectively, in the first coordinate space” is simply a description of 3D registration which includes the position and orientation of the tool where the "first and second vectors" are merely the axes of the coordinate systems, and registration maps (via a transformation matrix) the two different coordinate systems to a single common coordinate system which means that the "first and second vector" (axes) will be aligned.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the position and orientation registration of Walker using a translation matrix and a rotation matrix (i.e. a matrix that includes both the translation and rotation) as taught by Belson in order to provide a complete, one-step registration to improve efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Walker et al. (US 2023/0107693 A1, Apr. 6, 2023) – discloses every limitation of at least claim 1
Wong et al. (US 2014/0276937 A1, Sep. 18, 2014) – discloses every limitation of at least claim 1
Walker et al. (US 2014/0275988 A1, Sep. 18, 2014) – discloses every limitation of at least claim 1
/CAROLYN A PEHLKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799