DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gajic et al. (Publication No. US 20230413029 A1 and Gajic hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Gajic discloses a method for automatically deriving and using a steering of roaming (SoR) policy (i.e. the network may certainly benefit from the continuous monitoring (i.e. the recited automatically deriving) of the trust score/indication of the VPLMNs or NPNs, by using this trust score/indication to prioritize or deprioritize configuration of a PLMN list or NPN list, modifying accordingly the service level agreements and/or adopting dynamically security measures to cope with the risk introduced by lowering the trust score/indication. For example, if an operator-A in country-A has established an agreement with each of 3 operators in country-B (denoted as VPLMN-B1, VPLMN-B2, VPLMN-B3), then based on different roaming and billing aspects, operator-A can configure a UE with a priority list of country-B VPLMNs. Thus, when UE lands in country B, based on the priority list, a certain VPLMN is selected by the UE. Currently, this information is provisioned in the UE via the SoR (Steering or Roaming) procedure (i.e. SoR policy), e.g., as defined in the TS 33.501 (in clause 6.14).) Para [0047] and (i.e. The method 700 can be implemented at any suitable device. For example, the method 700 can be implemented at a third apparatus, which is configured to be implemented at any suitable network function entity, such as the analytics consumer (e.g., SEPP) as shown in FIGS. 2, 3, and 4.) Para [0129], the method comprising: learning a steering of roaming (SoR) policy (i.e. a SoR AF can collect these analytics and prepare the SoR data accordingly. In an embodiment, the SoR AF can request the trust indication of a PLMN or SNPN and receive the trust indication from the NWDAF 402, in a similar way as steps 410 and 430. Then the SoR AF can prepare SoR data related to the PLMN or SNPN based on the trust indication of the PLMN or SNPN. For example, a PLMN with a lower trust score may be moved lower in the prioritized list of preferred PLMNs.) Para [0107] of a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) (i.e. the analytics consumer 301 is an OAM entity, the OAM may also push a policy corresponding to the trust score/indication to the NRF 304, for example, in an case that to the NRF 304 is a home NRF of the given NF. Then the home NRF can apply that policy for discovery and access token requests, thus accordingly restricting or allowing services to NF/MnF/PLMNs. For example, when the local/home NRF is contacted for a discovery of a NF from other PLMN, the local NRF can match a trust score of the NF with requirements of the consumer NF, e.g., filtering out the NFs with a lower trust score. In this example, a policy of the discovery based on trust indications may be received in step 330a. More details about the discovery would be found latter with respect to steps 350 and 360.) Para [0096] and (i.e. assuming the analytics consumer 301 is an OAM entity, the OAM may push a trust score/indication and/or a corresponding policy to a SEPP 306 as shown at step 330b, so as to allow or restrict traffic to NFs/PLMNs/SNPNs. ) Para [0097]; receiving, by a proxy function, an SBI message from a first visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) and relating to an outbound roaming subscriber (i.e. 5G System roaming architecture in the case of home routed scenario with service-based interfaces (i.e. SBI) within the control plane. Function entities referred in the present disclosure, e.g., SEPP (i.e. proxy function), NRF, OAM, NF, AMF (i.e. VPLMN), UE, can be arranged as shown in FIG. 1.) Para [0077]; determining, by the proxy function and using the SoR policy for the HPLMN and parameters from the SBI message, whether the SoR policy indicates that the HPLMN will steer the outbound roaming subscriber to a VPLMN other than the first VPLMN (i.e. if a certain PLMN NF (e.g., AMF) is not behaving correctly, then the SEPP 306 can block traffic coming from that NFs of the PLMN….if the trust score of the PLMN to which the given NF belongs is low (i.e., lower than a predefined threshold), then a policy for blocking traffic from that NF can be determined based on the low trust score.) Para [0098]; and blocking, by the proxy function, the SBI message when the SoR policy indicates that the HPLMN will steer the outbound roaming subscriber to a VPLMN other than the first VPLMN (i.e. the SEPP 306 can provide additional filtering on traffics coming from NFs of different PLMNs, as shown at step 370. For example, if a certain PLMN NF (e.g., AMF) is not behaving correctly, then the SEPP 306 can block traffic coming from that NFs of the PLMN.) Para [0098].
Regarding Claim 11, Gajic suggests all the limitations of claim 1 in system form rather than method form. Further Gajic discloses a system (i.e. The network architecture 100 shown in FIG. 1 corresponds to FIG. 4.2.4-3 of the 3GPP TS 23.501. It depicts the 5G System roaming architecture in the case of home routed scenario with service-based interfaces within the control plane. Function entities referred in the present disclosure, e.g., SEPP, NRF, OAM, NF, AMF, UE, can be arranged as shown in FIG. 1.) Para [0077]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 11.
Regarding Claim 2 and Claim 12, Gajic discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively, as discussed above. Further Gajic discloses wherein learning the SoR policy of the HPLMN includes learning the SoR policy from SBI message feeds from the HPLMN (i.e. In case that the target entity is a VPLMN, the NWDAF 202 may collect information on messages exchanged between the VPLMN and other mobile networks (e.g., HPLMNs). In case that the target entity is a SNPN, the NWDAF 202 may collect information on messages exchanged between the SNPN and other mobile networks (e.g., PLMNs and/or SNPNs). For example, as shown at step 220c, the NWDAF 202 may collect information on inter-PLMN-SNPN control signaling between two NFs belonging to different PLMNs/SNPNs. For example, inter-PLMN-SNPN control signaling relates to parameter exchanges, capability negotiation request/response on N32 interface, e.g., information on discarded malformed N32 messages or other anomalies message mismatch such as destination address not belonging to SEPPs or PLMNs, an excessive controlling plan (CP) signaling, etc.) Para [0085] and (i.e. At steps 220a, 220b, 220c, 220d (collectively referred to as step 220), the NWDAF 202 collects data and/or information needed for performing the requested analytics. The NWDAF 202 collects the data needed for performing the requested analytics. The data sources may be different network entities, e.g., NRF, OAM, etc. For example, as shown at step 220a, the NWDAF 202 may collect information (e.g., policies) about the target entity from a NRF 204. As shown at step 220b, the NWDAF 202 may collect information (e.g., configuration management (CM), fault management (FM), performance management (PM)) about the target entity. As shown at step 220d, the NWDAF 202 may collect historical data about the target entity, e.g., abnormal behavior statistics, as contained in ADRF 203.) Para [0084].
Regarding Claim 3 and Claim 13, Gajic discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively, as discussed above. Further Gajic discloses wherein learning the SoR policy includes training a machine learning model to predict whether an outbound roaming subscriber will be steered to a VPLMN other than the first VPLMN (i.e. determine a trust indication per NF/MnF, per PLMN, or per NPN. A trust score may be calculated individually per NF/MnF and/or be aggregated per PLMN (e.g., per visited PLMN (VPLMN)) or NPN, via artificial intelligence, machine learning, or other new analytics mechanisms. For example, a NWDAF may keep of collecting data/information related to a particular PLMN (e.g., denoted as PLMN1), such as how many call failures, call drops, errors, attack or abnormal events received from the PLMN1, and accordingly, provide the trust score of the PLMN1 based on the collected data/information.) Para [0060].
Regarding Claim 4 and Claim 14, Gajic discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively, as discussed above. Further Gajic discloses wherein learning the SoR policy used by the HPLMN includes learning the SoR policy at a network analytics platform (i.e. a network analytics function e.g., network data analytics function (NWDAF)) Para [0056].
Regarding Claim 5 and Claim 15, Gajic discloses all the limitations of claims 4 and 14, respectively, as discussed above. Further Gajic discloses determining, by the proxy function whether the SoR policy indicates that the HPLMN will steer the outbound roaming subscriber to a VPLMN other than the first VPLMN includes querying, by the proxy function, the network analytics platform and receiving a response from the network analytics platform indicating whether or not the outbound roaming subscriber will be steered to a VPLMN other than the first VPLMN (i.e. the analytics consumer 301 is an OAM entity, the OAM may push a trust score/indication and/or a corresponding policy to a SEPP 306 as shown at step 330b, so as to allow or restrict traffic to NFs/PLMNs/SNPNs. In an embodiment, the OAM may push a trust indication of a given NF and/or a trust indication of a PLMN/NPN to which the given NF belongs to the SEPP 306. In another embodiment, the SEPP 306 may also directly query the ADRF 303 regarding the trust indication. In another embodiment, the SEPP 306 may also directly query the NWDAF 302 regarding the trust indication. In this sense, the SEPP 306 is an analytics consumer.) Para [0097].
Regarding Claim 6 and Claim 16, Gajic discloses all the limitations of claims 4 and 14, respectively, as discussed above. Further Gajic discloses wherein learning the SoR policy at the network analytics platform includes learning the SoR policy at a network data analytics function (NWDAF) (i.e. a network analytics function e.g., network data analytics function (NWDAF)) Para [0056].
Regarding Claim 7 and Claim 17, Gajic discloses all the limitations of claims 4 and 14, respectively, as discussed above. Further Gajic discloses wherein learning the SoR policy at the network analytics platform includes learning the SoR policy at a stand-alone network analytics platform (i.e. FIG. 4 shows exemplary procedures for utilizing a trust indication of a given target entity (i.e., a communication point) according to embodiments of the present disclosure. It illustrates the case where UDM may be a consumer of analytics provided by the NWDAF) Para [0102] or a network analytics platform that is co- located with a network function (i.e. It depicts the 5G System roaming architecture in the case of home routed scenario with service-based interfaces within the control plane. Function entities referred in the present disclosure, e.g., SEPP, NRF, OAM, NF, AMF, UE, can be arranged as shown in FIG. 1. Although the NWDAF and ADRF are not depicted here for simplicity reasons, they follow the same service-based principles and are described more in details (along with corresponding N.sub.nwdaf and N.sub.adrf interfaces and services) in 3GPP TS 23.288.) Para [0077-78].
Regarding Claim 8 and Claim 18, Gajic discloses all the limitations of claims 4 and 14, respectively, as discussed above. Further Gajic discloses wherein learning the SoR policy at the network analytics platform includes learning the SoR policy using a training dataset that includes data indicating numbers of UEs steered to particular VPLMNs (i.e. a trust indication of a public network integrated NPN (PNI-NPN) closed access group (CAG) may be evaluated. Data originated from NFs and KPIs of the NFs providing services to the group of UEs belonging to particular CAG can be collected. The trust indication of CAG can be evaluated in a similar way as the evaluation of a trust indication of the PLMN. The information to be used to evaluate the trust of a particular CAG would come from an evaluation of the NFs providing services to the group of UEs belonging to that CAG.) Para [0067] , radio access types (i.e. a network following any suitable communication standards, such as Long Term Evolution (LTE), LTE-Advanced (LTE-A), Wideband Code Division Multiple Access (WCDMA), High-Speed Packet Access (HSPA), Narrow Band Internet of Things (NB-IoT), New Radio (NR) and so on. Furthermore, the communications between a terminal device and a network device in one or more mobile networks may be performed according to any suitable generation communication protocols, including, but not limited to, the fifth generation (5G), the future sixth generation (6G) communication protocols, and/or any other protocols either currently known or to be developed in the future.) Para [0039], time parameters (i.e. The time period may be a considered variable time period in the past. In some embodiments, the collection of information and the determination of the trust indication may be performed periodically. Then, the time period may be a cycle of the periodical determining of the trust indication. In some embodiments, the method 500 may further comprise updating a trust indication of the first mobile network with the determined trust indication. The update may be trigged based on different events, e.g., an abnormal behavior of the first mobile network. Alternatively, the update may be performed periodically, e.g., in a cycle same as the time period. The determined trust indication may be provided to a network entity, e.g., a SEPP, a UDM entity, a SoR entity, a NRF entity, an OAM entity, or a FL aggregator.) Para [0116], UE identifying parameters (i.e. , trust scores/indications of visited PLMNs (VPLMNs) are based on messages exchanged between a home PLMN (HPLMN) and VPLMNs (e.g., NFs or MnFs belonging to the VPLMN). For example, the following factors may be taken into account by the HPLMN when building the trust score/indications per VPLMN (roaming/interconnection peer): risk per message (i.e., a message with privacy information (e.g., IMSI (i.e. the recited UE identifying parameter), location)) Para [0045], network slice identifying parameters NSSF (i.e. Network Slice Selection Function) Figure 1, network identifying parameters (i.e. through the request, the analytics consumer 201 may subscribe to a novel analytic type, defined by Analytics ID=“Trust evaluation” for example, by providing information of the desired target entity of the analytics. For example, the analytics consumer 201 may specify an identifier of the target entity, e.g., NF instance ID, NF type, ID of a NF set, ID of a MnF, V-PLMN ID, PLMN ID+NID in the case of SNPN, or CAG ID in the case of PNI-NPN. NID is a network identifier of a SNPN. For example, the analytics consumer 201 may send a message Nnwdaf_AnalyticsSubscription_Subscribe containing an Analytics ID=“Trust evaluation”, and an ID of the target entity.) Para [0083], UE locations (i.e. parameters for evaluation a level of trust of a particular NF instance (e.g., a NF instance) may comprise a geographical location, NF location, software capabilities (such as patch level, software versions), execution history of an instance, configuration compliance (compliance with security policies), and an appropriate use of encryption techniques, and other parameters related to the particular NF instance.) Para [0040] and (i.e. , trust scores/indications of visited PLMNs (VPLMNs) are based on messages exchanged between a home PLMN (HPLMN) and VPLMNs (e.g., NFs or MnFs belonging to the VPLMN). For example, the following factors may be taken into account by the HPLMN when building the trust score/indications per VPLMN (roaming/interconnection peer): risk per message (i.e., a message with privacy information (e.g., IMSI, location (i.e. the recited UE location))) Para [0045], and corresponding SoR decisions (i.e. adjust a PLMN priority list in a UE of the user (via a SoR) based on trust scores) Para [0108].
Regarding Claim 9, Gajic discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Further Gajic discloses the proxy function comprises a service communication proxy (SCP) (i.e. inter-PLMN-SNPN control signaling relates to parameter exchanges, capability negotiation request/response on N32 interface (Examiner notes the following in the specification of the disclosure “Service communication proxies (SCPs) route messages between NF instances” Para [0005].), e.g., information on discarded malformed N32 messages or other anomalies message mismatch such as destination address not belonging to SEPPs or PLMNs, an excessive controlling plan (CP) signaling, etc.) Para [0085] and (i.e. an analytics consumer 201 requests a NWDAF 202 for analytics on a trust indication of a target entity (not shown in FIG. 2). The target entity may be a communication point, such as a NF, a NF set, MnF, PLMN, or NPN (e.g., SNPN, or CAG), etc. An analytics consumer is a network entity which will utilize the trust indication. For example, the analytics consumer may be an OAM entity. In other examples, the analytics consumer may be a UDM, a SEPP of a HPLMN, a SoR, a NRF, or a FL aggregator.) Para [0082].
Regarding Claim 10, Gajic discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Further Gajic discloses wherein the proxy function comprises a security edge protection proxy (SEPP) (i.e. for a derivation of a trust score of PLMN level trust or NPN level, the means/functionality can be hosted in a security edge protection proxy (SEPP)) Para [0056].
Regarding Claim 19, Gajic discloses all the limitations of claim 11, as discussed above. Further Gajic discloses wherein the proxy function comprises a service communication proxy (SCP) or a security edge protection proxy (SEPP) (i.e. for a derivation of a trust score of PLMN level trust or NPN level, the means/functionality can be hosted in a security edge protection proxy (SEPP)) Para [0056].
Regarding Claim 20, Gajic suggests all the limitations of claim 1 in CRM form rather than method form. Further Gajic discloses a computer readable medium (i.e. The computer executable instructions may be stored on a computer readable medium, for example, non-transitory computer readable medium) Para [0148]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 20.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gajic et al. (US Publication No. US 20230413029 A1) “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR DETERMINING AND UTILIZING A TRUST INDICATION IN MOBILE NETWORKS” (December 21, 2023) is directed to collecting information on messages exchanged between a first mobile network and a second mobile network during a time period; and determining a trust indication of the first mobile network at least based on the collected information. The trust indication of the first mobile network indicates a level of trustworthiness of the first mobile network.
Sood et al. (US Publication No. US 20220330004 A1) “ENFORCEMENT OF STEERING OF ROAMING FOR USER EQUIPMENT VIA A PROXY” (October 13, 2024) is directed to enforcing a steering of roaming (SoR) decision. More particularly, enforcing the SoR decision includes receiving, at a proxy and from a user equipment (UE) located in a visitor network, a registration message to register with a home network, the registration message including an identifier of the visitor network. The proxy routes the registration message to a steering controller to determine a SoR policy decision. The proxy then enforces the SoR policy decision of the steering controller.
Won (US Publication No. US 20220264283 A1) “METHOD, APPARATUS, AND COMPUTER PROGRAM PRODUCT TO FACILITATE CONTROL OF TERMINAL TIMING INFORMATION WITHIN A NETWORK” (August 18, 2022) is directed to facilitate identification of user equipment that supports connected mode control information for controlling a time to stay in a public land mobile network. Determinations of whether a user equipment supports connected mode control information may be received by a unified data management function via a unified data repository, or a steering of roaming application function, that may be configured with a permanent equipment identifier database. User equipment that supports connected mode control information may cause transmission, via a visited public land mobile network, of an indication that the user equipment supports connected mode control information to a unified data management function associated with a home public land mobile network. An indication that the user equipment supports connected mode control information may be transmitted via a steering of roaming transparent container configured as a secured container.
Kuppelur et al. (US Publication No. US 20220312360 A1) “STEERING OF ROAMING CHECK DURING MOBILITY REGISTRATION” (September 29, 2022) is directed to steering of roaming (SoR) information during a user equipment (UE) mobility registration process. In other systems and methods, instead of triggering mobility and periodic registration, a UE performs initial registration until a valid SoR is received in a visited country or network as long as a subscriber identification module (SIM) or a universal SIM (USIM) of the UE indicates that the UE is expected to receive SoR information due to initial registration in a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN).
Kim et al. (US Publication No. US 20250203423 A1) “METHOD AND APPARATUS OF TERMINAL IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM” (June 19, 2025) is directed to operating a node in a wireless communication system, and the method may include determining whether or not a terminal registered to a network is a first type terminal, based on the terminal being the first type terminal, determining to collect terminal measurement information and measured cell information, transmitting an indication to collect the terminal measurement information and the measured cell information to the terminal, receiving the measurement information and the measured cell information which are measured by the terminal, based on the obtained measurement information and the measured cell information, determining whether or not to use a signal threshold and the signal threshold, and transmitting the determined signal threshold to the terminal.
Yau et al. (US Patent No. US 10834571 B1) “Steering Of Roaming For 5G Core Roaming In An Internet Packet Exchange Network” (November 10, 2020) is directed to implementing Steering of Roaming for 5G core roaming in an Internet Packet Exchange (IPX) network. A Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP)/2 Proxy is deployed in an IPX network. The HTTP/2 Proxy receives N32-f request message from a Visited Public Land Mobile Network (VPLMN). The N32-f request has an embedded N12 authorization request message or an embedded N8 registration request message. If VPLMN is a non-preferred roaming partner, the HTTP/2 Proxy appends a patch-request to N32-f request message and routes it to the Home Public Land Mobile Network (HPLMN). The patch-request causes the home Security Edge Protection Proxy (hSEPP) to replace Mobile Country Code (MCC) or Mobile Network Code (MNC) value with a predefined value that will trigger a rejection from HPLMN. The mobile device will select another VPLMN. If the VPLMN is a preferred roaming partner, the HTTP/2 Proxy routes the request without appending a patch-request.
Conclusion
/IYONDA L LEWIS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Iyonda.Lewis@USPTO.gov
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647