DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant's amendments filed 07/27/26.
The examiner acknowledges the amendments to the claims.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 14-17 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 14, Applicant generally argues that Carrillo does not expressly disclose a device having a distal section/distal end that is “substantially open” since Figure 4A and [0054] (in which Carrillo describes that “device 410 may be open at its distal end 436”) do not establish a size, geometry, or degree of openness of the distal section/distal end 436. However, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies (i.e., size, geometry, degree of openness) are not recited or necessarily required in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The examiner submits that under broadest reasonable interpretation, the term “substantially open” may be interpreted as “essentially open” in the claims, denoting approximation rather than necessarily referring to a degree of magnitude or being “considerably open” in terms of size. The claim limitation “substantially open” also does not necessarily suggest openness relative to the overall distal dimension/circumference of the device. The examiner acknowledges the distinction argued by Applicant but asserts that the degree of openness is not captured by the claim language. For example, the claims do not define the distal end having “an open circumference” (as mentioned in [0007], [0011], [0059] of the present application specification), which would convey the degree of openness of the device at the distal end. Therefore, Carrillo describing that the “device 410 may be open at its distal end 436” reads on the limitation “substantially open”.
Furthermore, Carrillo teaches in [0067] that for any of the devices disclosed, the tip portion (such as tip portion 412 in Figure 4A) “can comprise a bowl shape”, such that “the distal end of the tip portion comprises a circumferential ridge (the rim of the bowl)”. Therefore, the open distal end 436 in Figure 4A would be shaped like a rim of a bowl having an open circumference, which meets the greater degree of openness definition of “substantially open”. Carrillo further teaches that the tip portion can have the bowl shape in an unconstrained, relaxed state, and when deployed within the aneurysm under compressive forces, the tip portion inverts and further opens (see tip portion 512 in Figure 5A; [0067]), which also can be described as “substantially open”.
Applicant further generally argues that Carrillo’s disclosure as a whole does not teach a “substantially open” distal end, noting the embodiment of Figures 6A-6B having a limited central opening, and in [0008] the distal end or tip portion being atraumatic which teaches away from a “substantially open” distal end. Applicant also generally argues that modifying Carrillo to have a “substantially open” distal end would not have been obvious. However, as mentioned above, the device of Carrillo as shown in Figure 4A and discussed in [0054], [0067] anticipates and meets the claim limitation without requiring modification and therefore the rejection is maintained.
Regarding claims 2 and 14-17 and the Xu reference, Applicant generally argues that modifying the distal tip section of Carrillo with a series of loops having apices in Xu would teach away from an atraumatic tip portion and result in a reduced contact area an increased localized pressure on the aneurysm dome and render the device unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. However, a skilled artisan would understand that a certain amount of localized pressure applied to the aneurysm dome by the device would be necessary for ensuring stabilization and preventing dislodgement while still maintaining an atraumatic surface. One of ordinary skill in the art would further understand that having closed loop ends or apices in Carrillo would result in an atraumatic distal surface. As mentioned above, Carrillo teaches a “substantially open” bowl-shaped distal tip section that when deployed within an aneurysm under compressive forces, the distal tip section inverts and further opens (see tip portion 512 in Figure 5A; [0067]). Therefore, the deformed distal tip bowl section in the aneurysm has an increased contact surface area with the aneurysm wall to reduce the amount of pressure on the aneurysm dome (Id.). The examiner submits that the combination of Carrillo and Xu does not render the device unsatisfactory for its intended purpose and so the rejection is maintained.
Regarding claim 5 and the Figulla reference, Applicant generally argues that Figulla is not directed to an aneurysm treatment device, but rather to an occlusion device for an atrial appendage, wherein an aneurysm is substantially different from atrial appendage. However, this is in reference to a specific device described in a patent: “Therefore the anchoring of the aneurysm occlusion device of U.S. Pat. No. 6,168,622 would not be sufficient to fulfill the requirements of an atrial appendage occlusion device” ([0015]; Figulla). In any event, the examiner asserts that the occlusion aspect of Figulla is not relied upon, but rather the teaching of gathering filaments of a device at a proximal end (Figulla; Figures 1-3, [0051], [0055]) is reasonably pertinent to a problem faced by the inventor.
Lastly, Applicant arguments, see page 12, filed 07/27/26, with respect to the element (hub or holder 4) or additional connecting element 9 in Figulla not teaching or rendering obvious a proximal end comprising an approximately cylindrical tube wherein the elongate resilient filaments are gathered within the cylindrical tube and wherein the cylindrical tube comprises an aperture, as recited in claim 5, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 5 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carrillo (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0157696).
Regarding claim 1, Carrillo discloses a device for treatment of an aneurysm within a patient's vasculature (shown in several embodiments; Figures 1B-7A, [0010], [0075]), comprising:
a self-expanding resilient permeable shell 110/310/410/510/610/710 (self-expanding resilient mesh having a porosity which is permeable; Figures 1B-7A, [0006]-[0006], [0033], [0046]) comprising a substantially closed proximal end (such as 438 in Figure 4A; [0054]) having a longitudinal axis and a substantially open distal section 436 (Id.); the shell comprising a plurality of elongate resilient filaments having a single-layer braided structure (Id.); and
a first intermediate section 112/312/412/512/612/712 between the distal section (such as open distal section 436 in Figure 4A) and the proximal end (such as closed proximal end 438, Id.), said first intermediate section having a first diameter (such as 426, Id.),
a second intermediate section 114/314/414/514/614/714 between the first intermediate section and the proximal end, said second intermediate section having a second diameter (such as 430, Id.),
a proximal section 116/316/416/516/616/716 between the second intermediate section and the proximal end, said proximal section having a third diameter (such as 432, Id.).
Regarding claim 7, Carrillo discloses a method for treating an aneurysm having an equatorial region and a neck region (shown in several embodiments; Figures 1B-7A, [0010], [0075]), the method comprising:
deploying within the aneurysm 100, 500, 600, or 700, a device comprising:
(i) a resilient mesh structure 110/310/410/510/610/710 formed from one or more filaments ([0033], [0046]), the structure having a delivery shape (Figures 3A, 4B) and a deployed shape capable of conforming to the aneurysm walls (Figures 1B, 5A, 6A, 7A);
(ii) the structure having a single layer of resilient braided mesh ([0033], [0046]) having a substantially open distal end (such as 436 in Figure 4A; [0054]) defining a first circumference and a substantially closed proximal end 438 (Id.) having a gathering section (portion at proximal end that is gathered or grasped via grasping element of a delivery catheter system; [0053]);
(iii) a delivery system detachably coupled to the gathering section (Id.);
(iv) a flange section 116/316/416/516/616/716 defining a second circumference wherein the second circumference is configured to substantially conform to the neck region of the aneurysm (Figures 1B, 5A, 6A, 7A; [0045], [0065], [0070]) wherein the flange section comprises an upper layer (distal facing side, facing dome of aneurysm) and a lower layer (proximal facing side) and a gap between the upper layer and the lower layer (within flange section); and the method further comprising the steps of:
(a) deploying the distal end of the device near the equatorial region (the midpoint of the aneurysm 100 near 103; Figures 1A-1B) of the aneurysm;
(b) deploying the flange section of the device near the neck region (near 108 of aneurysm 100; Id.) of the aneurysm;
(c) detaching the gathering section from the delivery system ([0010]; Figures 1B, 5A, 6A, 7A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carrillo (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0157696) in view of Xu et al., hereinafter “Xu” (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0087681).
Regarding claim 2, Carrillo as modified teaches the claimed device, as discussed above, except for the distal section comprises a series of loops having apices, wherein the proximal end has a longitudinal axis, and wherein at least one of the apices is approximately parallel to the longitudinal axis.
In the same field of art, namely devices for treatment of an aneurysm, in Figures 3A-8, Xu teaches a substantially open distal section 114/214/314/414 and a proximal end (of 120/220/320/420), wherein the distal section comprises a series of loops 30 having apices (Figure 8; [0091]), wherein the proximal end has a longitudinal axis, and wherein at least one of the apices is approximately parallel to the longitudinal axis (Figures 3A, 5A, 6A, 7A, 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Carrillo such that the distal section comprises a series of loops having apices as claimed, as taught by Xu, so that the open distal braided section has an atraumatic circumferential ridge, rather than having sharp free ends of wires at the distal end.
Regarding claim 14, Carrillo discloses a single-layer braided device ([0033], [0046]) for treating an aneurysm, the aneurysm having a wall, wherein the device has a deployed configuration (shown in several embodiments; Figures 1B, A, 6A, 7A, [0075]), the device comprising:
a substantially open distal end (such as 436 in Figure 4A; [0054]);
a first section (such as tip portion 412; Id.) proximal to the distal end;
a second section (such as distal waist 446) proximal to the first section;
a third section (such as portion 414 and/or 416) proximal to the second section;
a closed proximal end 438 ([0054]); and
wherein the first section 412 comprises braided filaments ([0033], [0046]) formed into a disc-shaped structure (412 is flattened; also see 112 in Figure 1B, or 712 in Figure 7A), the second section 446 comprises braided filaments formed into a cylinder-shaped structure (446 is a cylindrical waist), and the third section comprises braided filaments configured to form multiple folded sections (base portion [416 or 516 in Figure 5A] can be compressed or folded to become concave in response to compressive forces of the walls of the aneurysm, wherein either side of the base portion can be considered multiple sections; [0067]) in the deployed configuration.
However, Carrillo does not disclose the open distal end comprising castellated loops.
In the same field of art, namely devices for treatment of an aneurysm, in Figures 3A-8, Xu teaches a substantially open distal section 114/214/314/414 comprising castellated loops 30 (Figure 8; [0091]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Carrillo such that the distal section comprises castellated loops, as taught by Xu, so that the open distal braided section has an atraumatic circumferential ridge, rather than having sharp free ends of wires at the distal end.
Regarding claim 15, Carrillo as modified teaches in the deployed configuration the first section is configured to flip (in Carrillo the first section or tip portion can initially have a bowl shape [such as 412 in Figure 4A] and flip to a deformed configuration [such as 112 in Figure 1B] in response to compressive forces of the walls of the aneurysm) at least partially over the second section (over 446) and wherein at least one of the distal castellated loops comprising the distal end is distally oriented after the first section at least partially flips over the second section. (when 112 flips to the configuration in Figure 1B of Carrillo, the circumferential castellated loops, as taught by Xu, would still be oriented distally towards the dome 107 of the aneurysm).
Regarding claim 16, Carrillo as modified teaches a central axis and an unconstrained configuration wherein in the unconstrained configuration at least one of the loops comprising the distal end is oriented transverse to the central axis of the device, except does not expressly teach the loops being oriented approximately perpendicular to the central axis. However, Carrilllo teaches in [0067]-[0068] that depending on how compressed the tip portion is within a particular aneurysm, the distal end is capable of being oriented transverse to a central axis of the device as it moves towards an inverted configuration, and therefore the loops at the distal end of the tip portion would be oriented in the same manner. In Figures 5C, 6B, 7B, 9 of Xu, the distal tip braided portion is pressed into the dome of the aneurysm wall and is oriented transverse to the central axis of the device, and therefore the loops 30 would be oriented in the same manner. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Carrillo as modified such that the loops are oriented approximately perpendicular to the central axis since the angle of orientation of the loops may be optimized in order to facilitate conforming and anchoring to the dome of the aneurysm, therefore encouraging embolization of the aneurysm.
Regarding claim 17, Carrillo as modified teaches the device is subjected to blood flow in an axis perpendicular to the proximal end, said blood flow generating an axial force, wherein a portion of said axial force is converted to a radial force perpendicular to the wall of the aneurysm through one or more of said sections and wherein an increase to the axial force causes an increase to the radial force. It is noted that the limitation of claim 17 is interpreted as constituting functional claim language, indicating that the claimed device need only be capable of being used in such a manner. Carrillo teaches in [0045]-[0046], [0054], [0065], [0068] that when positioned within the aneurysm, the device may be subjected to blood flow which generates an axial force towards the aneurysm, wherein protruding portions of the device are shaped and have a material stiffness that disrupts flow and increases a radial force against the walls of the aneurysm to prevent migration of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As discussed above in paragraph 10 above, Applicant arguments, see page 12, filed 07/27/26, with respect to the element (hub or holder 4) or additional connecting element 9 in Figulla not teaching or rendering obvious, a proximal end comprising an approximately cylindrical tube wherein the elongate resilient filaments are gathered within the cylindrical tube and wherein the cylindrical tube comprises an aperture, along with the other limitations of claim 5, have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIANE D YABUT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771