DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
The claim elements do not invoke 35 U.S.C. § 112(f).
References
D1: US20150189006 SMUS et al. 2015-07-02
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1.
With regards to claims 1, 9, and 17, the D1 reference discloses the utilization of a display device connection system, comprising: a display device (first device: ¶ 0019 & ¶ 0027; figure 2: 210); a terminal device (second device: ¶ 0019 & ¶ 0027; figure 2: 250); and a cloud server, communicatively connected to the display device and the terminal device (cloud server, 130, connected with first device and the second device over a network: ¶ 0019 & ¶ 0027; figure 2), wherein the display device is configured to broadcast an audio signal comprising an identifier code (the first device sends a token received from the cloud server to the second device ¶ 0048 & ¶ 0049; figure 4: 402); the terminal device is configured to receive the audio signal (¶ 0024: 214 & 254) to obtain the identifier code, and to obtain connection information of the display device corresponding to the identifier code configured, wherein the connection information is from the cloud server, and the terminal device is communicatively connected to the display device according to the connection information (equivalent to the second device receives the token and to obtain verification from the cloud server for establishing a connection with the first device, wherein the token is provided by the cloud server for creating a paired connection between the first device and the second device: ¶ 0047-¶0049, figure 4: 412).
With regards to claims 2, 3, 10, and 11, the D1 reference discloses sending of communication capabilities by the first device to the cloud server & the cloud determines a common communication capability between the first and the second device such as based on battery consumption of the devices, and provide a token to the first device to initiate pairing with the second device: ¶ 0034, ¶ 0036, ¶ 0042, ¶ 0046, ¶ 0047 & ¶ 0048.
With regards to claims 4 and 12, the D1 reference discloses the second device is capable of being connected or disconnected to the first device (¶ 0048 & ¶ 0049).
With regards to claims 5 and 13, the D1 reference discloses user interaction (§0057), and the second terminal is capable or selecting a common communication capability for device pairing (¶ 0035; figure 4: 250).
With regards to claims 6 and 14, the D1 reference discloses it is capable of updating information (¶ 0034).
With regards to claims 7 and 15, the D1 reference discloses it is capable of utilizing ultrasonic frequencies (¶ 0029).
With regards to claims 8 and 16, the D1 reference discloses it is capable of utilizing an Internet Protocol address (¶ 0022 & ¶ 0024).
Examiner Note
Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. However, any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/Daniel Pihulic/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3645