DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US Pub 2020/0213761) in view of Xiao, Bo (US Pub 2020/0045460).
Regarding claim 1, Xiao ‘761 discloses a speaker comprising:
a vibration system, comprising a voice membrane and a voice coil driving the voice membrane to vibrate (para 0012); and
a magnetic circuit system driving the vibration system to vibrate and sound (para 0011 and 0017); wherein
the voice membrane comprises a diaphragm and a dome fixed with the diaphragm (para 0015, figs. 3 and 4), the dome comprises a main body and a positioning portion bending and extending from an edge of the main body (para 0015-0016, 0019 and figs. 3 and 4),
Xiao ‘761 does not explicitly disclose the positioning portion is used for ensure concentricity of the diaphragm when the diaphragm is integrally formed with the dome.
Xiao ‘460 discloses the positioning portion is used for ensure concentricity of the diaphragm when the diaphragm is integrally formed with the dome (0013, 0015 – discloses integral forming of the dome with an adjoining vibration system member in place of gluing and therefore by intended use (MPEP 2111) Xiao ‘460 is capable of forming the concentricity function when integrally formed; also see para 0019 and fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiao ‘761 with the teachings of Xiao ‘460 in order to avoid “the risk of glue-overflowing and glue-breaking in the gluing process caused by glue bonding while improving the connection strength between them, thereby avoiding the risk of separation between them” (Xiao ‘460, para 0026).
Regarding claim 2, Xiao ‘761 discloses wherein the main body comprises a pair of first edges, a pair of second edges adjacent to the pair of first edges, and arcuate edges, each of the arcuate edges is connected with one of the pair of first edges and one of the pair of second edges that are adjacent (see fig. 4 – 2133 dome body).
Regarding claim 3 Xiao ‘761 discloses wherein the positioning portion is arranged on at least one of the pair of first edges, one of the pair of second edges, or one of the arcuate edges (see fig. 4 and 0015– 2132 connection portion is arranged to a corner of the voice coil 22).
Regarding claim 4, Xiao ‘761 discloses wherein a ratio of a length of the positioning portion extending along the edge of the main body to a circumference of the main body is greater than 5% and less than or equal to 100% (figs. 3, 4 and 0019 – extension portion 2133 extends from 2131 and sits between suspension portion 212 and auxiliary magnet 32 therefore more than 5% ).
Regarding claim 5, Xiao ‘761 discloses wherein a length of the positioning portion bending and extending from the edge of the main body is greater than 0.05 mm (para 0019 ; also the range is within one of ordinary skill in the art “Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation” see MPEP 2144.05 (II) A).
Regarding claim 6, Xiao ’460 discloses wherein the diaphragm comprises a suspension, a first fixing portion connected with an inner peripheral edge of the suspension, a second fixing portion connected with an outer peripheral edge of the suspension, the main body is fixed with the first fixing portion, the positioning portion is arranged at a junction of the suspension and the first fixing portion (para 0019; see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Xiao ’460 discloses wherein a process of the integrated forming comprises one of gluing, hot pressing and injection molding (para 0015, 0003).
Regarding claim 8, Xiao ’460 discloses wherein the magnetic circuit system comprises a yoke (para 0020-0021 yoke 71), a primary magnet located above the yoke (para 0020, 0023 - main magnet 733 of first magnet portion 73), a secondary magnet spaced apart from the primary magnet (para 0020, 0024 - auxiliary magnet 751), a pole plate located above the primary magnet (para 0023 – pole plate 731), and an upper plate surrounding the primary magnet and above the secondary magnet (para 0024 – “The splint 753 is fixed and held at the holder 5, and is stacked on the auxiliary magnet 751. The splint 753 is made of a permeability material. The splint 753 has a through hole. The pole plate 731 is located in the through hole of the splint 753 and is in a same plane as the splint 753.”).
Regarding claim 10, Xiao ‘460 discloses further comprising an electrical connection member provided on the magnetic circuit system, the electrical connection member is fixed with the upper plate, the voice coil is electrically connected to an external circuit via the electrical connection member (para 0014).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NAFIZ E HOQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693