DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 19/006,300 has a total of 20 claims pending in the application; there are 3 independent claims and 17 dependent claims, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors.
In the response to this Office action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
INFORMATION CONCERNING DRAWINGS
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
STATUS OF CLAIM FOR PRIORITY IN THE APPLICATION
The instant Application No. 19006300 filed 12/31/2024 claims foreign priority to 10-2024-0097680, filed 07/24/2024.
ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF REFERENCES CITED BY APPLICANT
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the applicant’s submission of the Information Disclosure Statement(s) dated 12/31/2024, 7/31/2025, 11/21/2025 and 12/3/2025 is/are acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P 609 C(2), a copy (copies) of the PTOL-1449(s) initialed and dated by the examiner is/are attached to the instant office action.
CLAIM CONSTRUCTION
The present application contains contingent limitations. Applicant is reminded that “the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.” See MPEP 2111.04(II).
See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal No. 2013-007847, 2016 WL 6277792, at *9 (PTAB, Apr. 28, 2016) (precedential) (holding "The Examiner did not need to present evidence of the obviousness of the remaining method steps of the claim that are not required to be performed under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim"); see also Ex parte Katz, Appeal No. 2010-006083, 2011 WL 514314, at *4-5 (BPAI Jan. 27, 2011).” Board Decision pages 5-6, emphasis in original.
It is suggested that the conditional statements be removed. Alternatively, the conditions precedent may be claimed affirmatively in order to give the claims their proper weight.
The “when” statements in method claims 12 and 16 should be amended to require the conditional statement to be met and then perform the claimed functionality. For example, claim 12 should be amended to recite that it is determined that the input memory address corresponds to one of the designated memory addresses and in response to the determination, converting…. Method claim 16 should be amended in a similar manner.
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kotra et al. (US 2023/0205693).
1. An electronic device comprising: a routing register configured to store mapping information that maps each of predetermined designated memory addresses representing a partial area of a memory to a redirected memory address representing another partial area of the memory; and [Kotra teaches “the memory controller 140 includes a PIM register mapping table 142 to facilitate the use of the PIM register file 118 for expediting non-PIM instructions. The PIM register mapping table 142 maps memory locations to PIM registers. For example, to utilize a PIM register as a write buffer for a non-PIM instruction, the memory controller logic 130 remaps (since the address is remapped, it corresponds to the claimed redirected memory address) the write destination of the write data from the target memory location of the non-PIM write instruction to a PIM register.” (par. 0040) (see fig. 1 and related text) where memory device 312 includes PIM registers in PIM unit 352 and physical memory location within a memory row 356 of memory array 350 (see fig. 4 and related text) thus, both the PIM registers and physical address locations in the memory device represent partial areas of the memory device 312 (see pars. 0041, 0051, 0059 and 0064)]
selection logic configured to, when an input memory address comprised in a memory command received from a host processor corresponds to one of the designated memory addresses, convert the input memory address into a redirected memory address that is mapped to the corresponding designated memory address based on the mapping information, [Kotra teaches “ FIG. 1 includes a host device 170 having a processor 132 that includes one or more processor cores 104. While four processor cores are depicted in FIG. 1, it should be understood that the host device 170 can include more or fewer processor cores than depicted. In various examples, the processor cores 104 are CPU cores, GPU cores, or other cores known to those of ordinary skill in the art. The processor cores 104 issue memory instructions or commands to transfer data between the processor 132 and a memory device 180 by, for example, reading data stored in the memory device into a processor cache or writing data in a processor cache to the memory device. “ (par. 0023) where “ the memory controller logic 130 remaps the write destination of the write data from the target memory location of the non-PIM write instruction to a PIM register. The memory controller logic 130 writes the write data to the PIM register using a PIM write command and updates the PIM register mapping table 142 to include an association between that PIM register and the target memory location… Similarly, for example, to utilize a PIM register as an early fetch or prefetch buffer, the memory controller logic 130 loads data from a memory location into a PIM register and updates the PIM register mapping table 142 to include an association between the PIM register and the memory location. When a non-PIM read instruction hits on the PIM register mapping table 142 (i.e., the target memory location of the non-PIM read instruction matches a memory location in the PIM register mapping table 142), the source of the non-PIM read instruction is remapped from the target memory location of the non-PIM read instruction to the PIM register associated with that memory location, and the data is read from the PIM register using a PIM read command.” (par. 0040) thus addresses are remapped or redirected from target memory locations to PIM register locations within the memory device]
wherein the memory command is executed at the converted redirected memory address [Kotra teaches “the memory controller logic 130 drains write instructions to the PIM register file 118 using PIM write commands.” (par. 0034) “the memory controller 310 migrates the first data 322 to the first memory location using a PIM store command. For example, the PIM store command specifies the register index of the PIM register 326 that holds the data 322 and the memory location 324 that is the destination for the write instruction 320.” (par. 0049) “the memory controller 610 reads the data 622 held in the PIM register 626 instead of dispatching the non-PIM read instruction to the memory device 612.” (par. 0059)].
2. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein, when processing in memory (PIM) operations are performed on a target PIM tile of a PIM file corresponding to the converted redirected memory address, a plurality of redirected memory addresses stored in the routing register is updated to a plurality of redirected memory addresses corresponding to a next PIM tile of the PIM file [Kotra teaches “For example, when a PIM instruction reaches the execution unit 150, it can be serialized with other PIM instructions and memory accesses to DRAM targeting the same subset of the physical address space.” (par. 0026) “instructions issued by a processor core to read data from, or write data to, the memory array in the memory device 180 are referred to as ‘non-PIM instructions’… a memory controller that dispatches a PIM command the memory device 180 in response to receiving non-PIM instructions from a processor core 104” (par. 0031) “[0032]… In accordance with the present disclosure, the memory controller 140 utilizes the PIM register file 118 to expedite non-PIM memory instructions, such as read and write instructions, directed to the memory device 180. As described above, the memory controller 140 dispatches PIM commands in response to receiving a PIM instruction from the processor 132. In accordance with the present disclosures, the memory controller 140 dispatches PIM commands that are not based on a PIM instruction received from the processor 132. That is, the memory controller 140 dispatches PIM commands to manage the PIM register file 118 for expediting non-PIM instructions. In some examples, PIM read commands and PIM write commands, along with PIM load commands and PIM store commands, are employed by the memory controller 140 to execute non-PIM read instructions and non-PIM write instructions using the PIM register file 118.” Where “ the memory controller logic 130 remaps the write destination of the write data from the target memory location of the non-PIM write instruction to a PIM register. The memory controller logic 130 writes the write data to the PIM register using a PIM write command and updates the PIM register mapping table 142 to include an association between that PIM register and the target memory location… Similarly, for example, to utilize a PIM register as an early fetch or prefetch buffer, the memory controller logic 130 loads data from a memory location into a PIM register and updates the PIM register mapping table 142 to include an association between the PIM register and the memory location. When a non-PIM read instruction hits on the PIM register mapping table 142 (i.e., the target memory location of the non-PIM read instruction matches a memory location in the PIM register mapping table 142), the source of the non-PIM read instruction is remapped from the target memory location of the non-PIM read instruction to the PIM register associated with that memory location, and the data is read from the PIM register using a PIM read command.” (par. 0040) where multiple PIM registers may be written or read (see figs. 5 and 8 and related text; pars. 0051, 0064)].
3. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein a PIM operation corresponding to the memory command is performed on data at the converted redirected memory address [Kotra teaches “[0032]… In accordance with the present disclosure, the memory controller 140 utilizes the PIM register file 118 to expedite non-PIM memory instructions, such as read and write instructions, directed to the memory device 180. As described above, the memory controller 140 dispatches PIM commands in response to receiving a PIM instruction from the processor 132. In accordance with the present disclosures, the memory controller 140 dispatches PIM commands that are not based on a PIM instruction received from the processor 132. That is, the memory controller 140 dispatches PIM commands to manage the PIM register file 118 for expediting non-PIM instructions. In some examples, PIM read commands and PIM write commands, along with PIM load commands and PIM store commands, are employed by the memory controller 140 to execute non-PIM read instructions and non-PIM write instructions using the PIM register file 118.” Where “ the memory controller logic 130 remaps the write destination of the write data from the target memory location of the non-PIM write instruction to a PIM register. The memory controller logic 130 writes the write data to the PIM register using a PIM write command and updates the PIM register mapping table 142 to include an association between that PIM register and the target memory location… Similarly, for example, to utilize a PIM register as an early fetch or prefetch buffer, the memory controller logic 130 loads data from a memory location into a PIM register and updates the PIM register mapping table 142 to include an association between the PIM register and the memory location. When a non-PIM read instruction hits on the PIM register mapping table 142 (i.e., the target memory location of the non-PIM read instruction matches a memory location in the PIM register mapping table 142), the source of the non-PIM read instruction is remapped from the target memory location of the non-PIM read instruction to the PIM register associated with that memory location, and the data is read from the PIM register using a PIM read command.” (par. 0040)].
4. The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a control register configured to transmit, to the selection logic, an activation signal for the routing register, wherein the selection logic selects one of the input memory address and the mapped redirected memory address according to the activation signal [Kotra teaches “the PIM unit 150 includes control logic 114 for decoding instructions or commands issued from the processor cores 104 (e.g. command decoder), an arithmetic logic unit (ALU) 116 that performs an operation indicated in the PIM instruction, and a PIM register file 118 including a plurality of indexed registers for holding data for load/store operations to memory or intermediate values of ALU computations. In some examples, the ALU 116 is capable performing a limited set of operations relative to the ALUs of the processor cores 104, thus making the ALU 116 less complex to implement and, for example, more suited for an in-memory implementation. A PIM instruction can move data between the PIM registers and the memory array, and it can also trigger computation on this data in the ALU 116.” (par. 0025) where “ the memory controller 140 includes a PIM register mapping table 142 to facilitate the use of the PIM register file 118 for expediting non-PIM instructions. The PIM register mapping table 142 maps memory locations to PIM registers. For example, to utilize a PIM register as a write buffer for a non-PIM instruction, the memory controller logic 130 remaps the write destination of the write data from the target memory location of the non-PIM write instruction to a PIM register. The memory controller logic 130 writes the write data to the PIM register using a PIM write command and updates the PIM register mapping table 142 to include an association between that PIM register and the target memory location... When a non-PIM read instruction hits on the PIM register mapping table 142 (i.e., the target memory location of the non-PIM read instruction matches a memory location in the PIM register mapping table 142), the source of the non-PIM read instruction is remapped from the target memory location of the non-PIM read instruction to the PIM register associated with that memory location, and the data is read from the PIM register using a PIM read command. In some examples, the PIM register mapping table 142 includes multiple entries, where each entry maps a PIM register index to a memory location.” (par. 0040)].
5. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the selection logic is configured to: determine whether the input memory address matches a given address among the designated memory addresses, when the input memory address matches the given address, convert the input memory address into a redirected memory address that is mapped to the given address and output the redirected memory address, and when the input memory address does not match the given address, output the input memory address [Kotra teaches “the memory controller logic 130 drains write instructions to the PIM register file 118 using PIM write commands.” (par. 0034) “the memory controller 310 migrates the first data 322 to the first memory location using a PIM store command. For example, the PIM store command specifies the register index of the PIM register 326 that holds the data 322 and the memory location 324 that is the destination for the write instruction 320.” (par. 0049) “the memory controller 610 reads the data 622 held in the PIM register 626 instead of dispatching the non-PIM read instruction to the memory device 612.” (par. 0059)].
6. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the selection logic is configured to determine whether the input memory address corresponds to one of the designated memory addresses based on some bits of the input memory address [Kotra teaches “In some examples, the PIM register mapping table 142 includes multiple entries, where each entry maps a PIM register index to a memory location.” (par. 0040) “ In such an example, the PIM register mapping table 142 can be organized as a K-way set associative cache (K<N) with a number of sets equal to M. The index bits can be provided by the DRAM bank select bits (from the physical address of a memory instruction) (thus, corresponding to some bits of the input memory address). The remaining physical address bits can serve as a tag. The PIM register index can be stored in each PIM register mapping table entry. “ (par. 0041)].
7. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the mapping information maps each of the predetermined designated memory addresses to the redirected memory address and a processing in memory (PIM) command to be executed at the redirected memory address, and the selection logic is configured to update the memory command to a PIM command that is mapped to the corresponding designated memory address, based on the mapping information [Kotra teaches “[0032]… In accordance with the present disclosure, the memory controller 140 utilizes the PIM register file 118 to expedite non-PIM memory instructions, such as read and write instructions, directed to the memory device 180. As described above, the memory controller 140 dispatches PIM commands in response to receiving a PIM instruction from the processor 132. In accordance with the present disclosures, the memory controller 140 dispatches PIM commands that are not based on a PIM instruction received from the processor 132. That is, the memory controller 140 dispatches PIM commands to manage the PIM register file 118 for expediting non-PIM instructions. In some examples, PIM read commands and PIM write commands, along with PIM load commands and PIM store commands, are employed by the memory controller 140 to execute non-PIM read instructions and non-PIM write instructions using the PIM register file 118.” Where “ the memory controller logic 130 remaps the write destination of the write data from the target memory location of the non-PIM write instruction to a PIM register. The memory controller logic 130 writes the write data to the PIM register using a PIM write command and updates the PIM register mapping table 142 to include an association between that PIM register and the target memory location… Similarly, for example, to utilize a PIM register as an early fetch or prefetch buffer, the memory controller logic 130 loads data from a memory location into a PIM register and updates the PIM register mapping table 142 to include an association between the PIM register and the memory location. When a non-PIM read instruction hits on the PIM register mapping table 142 (i.e., the target memory location of the non-PIM read instruction matches a memory location in the PIM register mapping table 142), the source of the non-PIM read instruction is remapped from the target memory location of the non-PIM read instruction to the PIM register associated with that memory location, and the data is read from the PIM register using a PIM read command.” (par. 0040)].
8. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein non-cacheable access to an area corresponding to the designated memory addresses is allowed in the memory, and cacheable access to an area corresponding to the redirected memory address is allowed in the memory [Kotra teaches “the memory controller logic 130 uses the PIM register file 118 as a memory side cache or prefetch buffer. For example, the memory controller logic 130 can prepopulate, based on a speculative algorithm, the PIM register file 118 with data loaded using a PIM load command. If a non-PIM read instruction hits on the memory side cache, the memory controller logic can read the requested data from the PIM register file 118 using a PIM read command, which is faster than reading from the memory array because there is no need to open a memory row.” (par. 0039)].
9. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the input memory address, designated memory addresses stored in the routing register, and the redirected memory addresses are expressed as row addresses [PIM registers are mapped to memory array rows (see figs. 3-8 and related text) “In some variations, there is a one-to-one mapping between all PIM registers within the memory channel and PIM register mapping table entries. In these implementations, the memory controller 310 updates an entry 406 corresponding to the PIM register 326, which holds the data 322 for the non-PIM write instruction 320, with the memory location 324 identified in the non-PIM write instruction 320… For example, in the example of FIG. 4, the memory controller 310 writes data 322 to PIM Register 1 and stores the PIM register index of PIM Register 1 and physical address 1 in an entry 406 of the PIM register mapping table 404…“ (par. 0050) where “the method of FIG. 5 also includes identifying 502, in the PIM register mapping table 404, a second entry 506 associating a second PIM register 526 with a second memory location 524, wherein the first memory location 324 and the second memory location 524 are included in one memory row. In some implementation, the memory controller 310 determines whether two or more valid entries in the PIM register mapping table 404 are associated with memory locations in the same bank row.” (par. 0051)].
10. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein, in the mapping information, each of the designated memory addresses is one-to-one mapped to a redirected memory address [Kotra teaches “the memory controller 140 includes a PIM register mapping table 142 to facilitate the use of the PIM register file 118 for expediting non-PIM instructions.” (par. 0040) “In some variations, there is a one-to-one mapping between all PIM registers within the memory channel and PIM register mapping table entries. In these implementations, the memory controller 310 updates an entry 406 corresponding to the PIM register 326, which holds the data 322 for the non-PIM write instruction 320, with the memory location 324 identified in the non-PIM write instruction 320… For example, in the example of FIG. 4, the memory controller 310 writes data 322 to PIM Register 1 and stores the PIM register index of PIM Register 1 and physical address 1 in an entry 406 of the PIM register mapping table 404…“ (par. 0050) “See PIM register mapping table (figs. 4-8)].
11. The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: the host processor; and a memory controller configured to generate the memory command in response to a memory request received from the host processor, wherein the routing register and the selection logic are comprised in the memory controller, and the memory receives the converted redirected memory address from the memory controller [Kotra teaches “FIG. 1 includes a host device 170 having a processor 132 that includes one or more processor cores 104. While four processor cores are depicted in FIG. 1, it should be understood that the host device 170 can include more or fewer processor cores than depicted. In various examples, the processor cores 104 are CPU cores, GPU cores, or other cores known to those of ordinary skill in the art. The processor cores 104 issue memory instructions or commands to transfer data between the processor 132 and a memory device 180 by, for example, reading data stored in the memory device into a processor cache or writing data in a processor cache to the memory device. “ (par. 0023) ““ the memory controller logic 130 remaps the write destination of the write data from the target memory location of the non-PIM write instruction to a PIM register. The memory controller logic 130 writes the write data to the PIM register using a PIM write command and updates the PIM register mapping table 142 to include an association between that PIM register and the target memory location… Similarly, for example, to utilize a PIM register as an early fetch or prefetch buffer, the memory controller logic 130 loads data from a memory location into a PIM register and updates the PIM register mapping table 142 to include an association between the PIM register and the memory location. When a non-PIM read instruction hits on the PIM register mapping table 142 (i.e., the target memory location of the non-PIM read instruction matches a memory location in the PIM register mapping table 142), the source of the non-PIM read instruction is remapped from the target memory location of the non-PIM read instruction to the PIM register associated with that memory location, and the data is read from the PIM register using a PIM read command.” (par. 0040) (see figs. 4-8 and related text)].
12. A method of operating an electronic device, the method comprising: determining whether an input memory address comprised in a memory command received from a host processor corresponds to one of predetermined designated memory addresses; and [Kotra teaches “ FIG. 1 includes a host device 170 having a processor 132 that includes one or more processor cores 104. While four processor cores are depicted in FIG. 1, it should be understood that the host device 170 can include more or fewer processor cores than depicted. In various examples, the processor cores 104 are CPU cores, GPU cores, or other cores known to those of ordinary skill in the art. The processor cores 104 issue memory instructions or commands to transfer data between the processor 132 and a memory device 180 by, for example, reading data stored in the memory device into a processor cache or writing data in a processor cache to the memory device.” (par. 0023) “ the memory controller logic 130 remaps the write destination of the write data from the target memory location of the non-PIM write instruction to a PIM register. The memory controller logic 130 writes the write data to the PIM register using a PIM write command and updates the PIM register mapping table 142 to include an association between that PIM register and the target memory location… Similarly, for example, to utilize a PIM register as an early fetch or prefetch buffer, the memory controller logic 130 loads data from a memory location into a PIM register and updates the PIM register mapping table 142 to include an association between the PIM register and the memory location. When a non-PIM read instruction hits on the PIM register mapping table 142 (i.e., the target memory location of the non-PIM read instruction matches a memory location in the PIM register mapping table 142), the source of the non-PIM read instruction is remapped from the target memory location of the non-PIM read instruction to the PIM register associated with that memory location, and the data is read from the PIM register using a PIM read command.” (par. 0040)]
when the input memory address corresponds to one of the designated memory addresses, converting the input memory address into a redirected memory address that is mapped to the corresponding designated memory address, based on mapping information stored in a routing register, [Note that the limitations “when…” in method claim 12 are contingent limitations and as such, the condition precedent “when…” may never be reached within the scope of the claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Applicant is reminded that “the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.” See MPEP211.04(II). (see Claim Construction section above). However; Kotra teaches “the memory controller 140 includes a PIM register mapping table 142 to facilitate the use of the PIM register file 118 for expediting non-PIM instructions. The PIM register mapping table 142 maps memory locations to PIM registers. For example, to utilize a PIM register as a write buffer for a non-PIM instruction, the memory controller logic 130 remaps (since the address is remapped, it corresponds to the claimed redirected memory address) the write destination of the write data from the target memory location of the non-PIM write instruction to a PIM register... Similarly, for example, to utilize a PIM register as an early fetch or prefetch buffer, the memory controller logic 130 loads data from a memory location into a PIM register and updates the PIM register mapping table 142 to include an association between the PIM register and the memory location. When a non-PIM read instruction hits on the PIM register mapping table 142 (i.e., the target memory location of the non-PIM read instruction matches a memory location in the PIM register mapping table 142), the source of the non-PIM read instruction is remapped from the target memory location of the non-PIM read instruction to the PIM register associated with that memory location, and the data is read from the PIM register using a PIM read command.” (par. 0040) thus addresses are remapped or redirected from target memory locations to PIM register locations within the memory device” (see fig. 1 and related text) where memory device 312 includes PIM registers in PIM unit 352 and physical memory location within a memory row 356 of memory array 350 (see fig. 4 and related text) (see pars. 0041, 0051, 0059 and 0064)]
wherein the mapping information maps each of the designated memory addresses representing a partial area of a memory to a redirected memory address representing another partial area of the memory, and [Kotra teaches “the memory controller 140 includes a PIM register mapping table 142 to facilitate the use of the PIM register file 118 for expediting non-PIM instructions. The PIM register mapping table 142 maps memory locations to PIM registers. For example, to utilize a PIM register as a write buffer for a non-PIM instruction, the memory controller logic 130 remaps (since the address is remapped, it corresponds to the claimed redirected memory address) the write destination of the write data from the target memory location of the non-PIM write instruction to a PIM register.” (par. 0040) (see fig. 1 and related text) where memory device 312 includes PIM registers in PIM unit 352 and physical memory location within a memory row 356 of memory array 350 (see fig. 4 and related text) thus, both the PIM registers and physical address locations in the memory device represent partial areas of the memory device 312 (see pars. 0041, 0051, 0059 and 0064)]
the memory command is executed at the converted redirected memory address [Kotra teaches “the memory controller logic 130 drains write instructions to the PIM register file 118 using PIM write commands.” (par. 0034) “the memory controller 310 migrates the first data 322 to the first memory location using a PIM store command. For example, the PIM store command specifies the register index of the PIM register 326 that holds the data 322 and the memory location 324 that is the destination for the write instruction 320.” (par. 0049) “the memory controller 610 reads the data 622 held in the PIM register 626 instead of dispatching the non-PIM read instruction to the memory device 612.” (par. 0059)].
13. The method of claim 12, wherein, when processing in memory (PIM) operations are performed on a target PIM tile of a PIM file corresponding to the converted redirected memory address, a plurality of redirected memory addresses stored in the routing register is updated to a plurality of redirected memory addresses corresponding to a next PIM tile of the PIM file [The rationale in the rejection of claim 2 is herein incorporated].
14. The method of claim 12, wherein a processing in memory (PIM) operation corresponding to the memory command is performed on data of the converted redirected memory address [The rationale in the rejection of claim 3 is herein incorporated].
15. The method of claim 12, further comprising: selecting one of the input memory address and the mapped redirected memory address according to the activation signal for the routing register [The rationale in the rejection of claim 4 is herein incorporated].
16. The method of claim 12, wherein the converting into the redirected memory address comprises: determining whether the input memory address matches a given address among the designated memory addresses, when the input memory address matches the given address, converting the input memory address into a redirected memory address that is mapped to the given address, and when the input memory address does not match the given address, outputting the input memory address [The rationale in the rejection of claim 5 is herein incorporated. Note that in method claim 16, the limitations “when…” are contingent limitations and as such, the condition precedent “when…” may never be reached within the scope of the claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Applicant is reminded that “the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.” See MPEP211.04(II). (see Claim Construction section above)].
17. The method of claim 12, wherein the converting into the redirected memory address comprises: determining whether the input memory address corresponds to one of the designated memory addresses based on some bits of the input memory address [The rationale in the rejection of claim 6 is herein incorporated].
18. The method of claim 12, wherein the converting into the redirected memory address comprises: updating the memory command to a processing in memory (PIM) command that is mapped to the corresponding designated memory address, based on the mapping information that maps each of the predetermined designated memory addresses to the redirected memory address and a PIM command to be executed at the redirected memory address [The rationale in the rejection of claim 7 is herein incorporated].
19. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 12 [The rationale in the rejection of claim 12 is herein incorporated].
20. A memory device comprising: a routing register configured to store mapping information that maps each of predetermined designated memory addresses representing a first region of a memory to a redirected memory address representing a second other region of the memory; and [Kotra teaches “the memory controller 140 includes a PIM register mapping table 142 to facilitate the use of the PIM register file 118 for expediting non-PIM instructions. The PIM register mapping table 142 maps memory locations to PIM registers. For example, to utilize a PIM register as a write buffer for a non-PIM instruction, the memory controller logic 130 remaps (since the address is remapped, it corresponds to the claimed redirected memory address) the write destination of the write data from the target memory location of the non-PIM write instruction to a PIM register.” (par. 0040) (see fig. 1 and related text) where memory device 312 includes PIM registers in PIM unit 352 and physical memory location within a memory row 356 of memory array 350 (see fig. 4 and related text) thus, both the PIM registers and physical address locations in the memory device represent partial areas of the memory device 312 (see pars. 0041, 0051, 0059 and 0064)]
a selection logic configured to determine whether an input memory address received in a memory command corresponds to a given address among the designated memory addresses, [Kotra teaches “ the memory controller logic 130 remaps the write destination of the write data from the target memory location of the non-PIM write instruction to a PIM register. The memory controller logic 130 writes the write data to the PIM register using a PIM write command and updates the PIM register mapping table 142 to include an association between that PIM register and the target memory location… Similarly, for example, to utilize a PIM register as an early fetch or prefetch buffer, the memory controller logic 130 loads data from a memory location into a PIM register and updates the PIM register mapping table 142 to include an association between the PIM register and the memory location. When a non-PIM read instruction hits on the PIM register mapping table 142 (i.e., the target memory location of the non-PIM read instruction matches a memory location in the PIM register mapping table 142), the source of the non-PIM read instruction is remapped from the target memory location of the non-PIM read instruction to the PIM register associated with that memory location, and the data is read from the PIM register using a PIM read command.” (par. 0040) thus addresses are remapped or redirected from target memory locations to PIM register locations within the memory device]]
based on some bits of the input memory address, [Kotra teaches “In some examples, the PIM register mapping table 142 includes multiple entries, where each entry maps a PIM register index to a memory location.” (par. 0040) “ In such an example, the PIM register mapping table 142 can be organized as a K-way set associative cache (K<N) with a number of sets equal to M. The index bits can be provided by the DRAM bank select bits (from the physical address of a memory instruction) (thus, corresponding to some bits of the input memory address). The remaining physical address bits can serve as a tag. The PIM register index can be stored in each PIM register mapping table entry. “ (par. 0041)]
wherein the memory device executes the memory command at the input address when the input address does not correspond to the given address and otherwise executes the memory command at the redirected memory address [Kotra teaches “the memory controller logic 130 drains write instructions to the PIM register file 118 using PIM write commands.” (par. 0034) “the memory controller 310 migrates the first data 322 to the first memory location using a PIM store command. For example, the PIM store command specifies the register index of the PIM register 326 that holds the data 322 and the memory location 324 that is the destination for the write instruction 320.” (par. 0049) where “the memory controller logic 130 uses the PIM register file 118 as a memory side cache or prefetch buffer. For example, the memory controller logic 130 can prepopulate, based on a speculative algorithm, the PIM register file 118 with data loaded using a PIM load command. If a non-PIM read instruction hits on the memory side cache, the memory controller logic can read the requested data from the PIM register file 118 using a PIM read command, which is faster than reading from the memory array because there is no need to open a memory row.” (par. 0039; see par. 0040) “the memory controller 610 reads the data 622 held in the PIM register 626 instead of dispatching the non-PIM read instruction to the memory device 612. In some examples, the memory controller 610 reads the data 622 by dispatching a PIM read command.” (par. 0059) thus, for data not in the PIM register, the memory array is read].
RELEVANT ART CITED BY THE EXAMINER
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited to establish the level of skill in the applicant’s art and those arts considered reasonably pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See MPEP 707.05(c). Aguilera Diez et al. (US 20180074965) teaches “[0023] In general, a pointer chasing command is piggybacked onto a memory request from the requesting/issuing or source node (hereinafter “requesting/issuing node) to a memory node. As an example, the pointer chasing commands are issued with respect to an initial memory request from a requesting/issuing or source node (for example, one of the processors 205.sub.1 to 205.sub.n) to one of the memory nodes 210.sub.1 to 210.sub.n. The pointer chasing command indicates that there is a dependent memory access. An address computing unit 215.sub.1 to 215.sub.n associated with the memory node 210.sub.1 to 210.sub.n computes the dependent memory address and satisfies the memory request or redirects it to the corresponding memory node based on the computed memory address, without having to return to the requesting/issuing node (in this example, one of the processors 205.sub.1 to 205.sub.n). In another example, an intelligent memory node (e.g., a PIM or PNM) triggers these pointer chasing commands and therefore the requesting/issuing node and a final destination node of the pointer chasing commands are intelligent memory nodes. That is, the requesting/issuing node may be a processor, an intelligent memory node or any similar device.”
Song (US 20240143497) teaches “[0289] The command/address decoder 5100 of the PIM device 5000A according to the present embodiment may include the address remapper 5130. The address remapper 5130 may perform a remapping operation for remapping bank addresses of the memory banks in which the weight data are stored during a process for storing the weight data into the first to sixteenth left memory banks BK(0)L-BK(15)L and the first to sixteenth right memory banks BK(0)R-BK(15)R. The address remapper 5130 may perform the remapping operation for a bank address among the bank/row/column address signal BA/RA/CA, which are generated by decoding the addresses transmitted from a host (or a controller) to the command/address decoder 5100, under a certain condition to generate a remapped bank/row/column address signal R_BA/RA/CA. A configuration and an operation of the address remapper 5130 and an output sequence of the plural sets of MAC result data MAC_RSTs according to the operation of the address remapper 5130 will be described more fully later.”
Rogson (US 8347387) teaches “A computer includes a processor. When an instruction to be executed by the processor involves writing to memory, the write can be redirected to a temporary area of memory. The correct amount of data can then be copied from the temporary area to the original target memory address. The advantages of the invention can be achieved, among other possibilities, via re-compiling the program or modifying instructions before execution.” (Abstract).
Wilkerson et al. (US 9583182) teaches “A multi-level memory management circuit can remap data between near and far memory. In one embodiment, a register array stores near memory addresses and far memory addresses mapped to the near memory addresses. The number of entries in the register array is less than the number of pages in near memory. Remapping logic determines that a far memory address of the requested data is absent from the register array and selects an available near memory address from the register array. Remapping logic also initiates writing of the requested data at the far memory address to the selected near memory address. Remapping logic further writes the far memory address to an entry of the register array corresponding to the selected near memory address.”
CLOSING COMMENTS
a. STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
a(1) CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Per the instant office action, claims 1-20 have received a first action on the merits and are subject of a first action non-final.
b. DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
February 10, 2026
/YAIMA RIGOL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2135