DETAILED ACTION
Applicant submitted remarks in response to the latest Office action on 16 July 2026. Therein, Applicant amended claims 1, 3-5, 9, 14, 17, 18 and 20; Applicant did not cancel or add any new claims. The submitted claims have been entered and are considered below.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and related arguments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments and related arguments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
For claim 3, the specification does not provide additional definition or clarity to the term “directly”. While claim 1 may be interpreted to indirectly or directly convert sensor data, the specification does not elaborate on the differences between the converting process/algorithm, so interpreting a difference into the terms remains difficult. The meaning of “directly” as “with nothing between” also fails to provide clarity within the context of converting data, as “indirectly” converting implies that there is something between the converting of data from sensor data to actuator settings. However, the specification fails to address what is between the data and converted settings.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) is maintained for claim 3. To expedite prosecution, significant patentable weight is not given to the term.
Additionally, as applicant implied a difference between “indirectly” and “directly” converting data and the specification failing to provide additional detail regarding the limits and structure of the term, a new rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is given.
Applicant’s amendments and related arguments with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 31 July 2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 3, the specification does not provide additional definition or clarity to the term “directly”. While claim 1 may be interpreted to indirectly or directly convert sensor data, the specification does not elaborate the differences between the converting process/algorithm. Thus, interpreting a difference into the terms remains difficult. Further, the meaning of “directly” as “with nothing between” also fails to provide clarity within the context of converting data, as “indirectly” converting implies that there is something between the converting of data from sensor data to actuator settings. Examiner is not clear on what may or may not be between the data and the converted actuator settings.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
As it was noted in the previous section, the term “directly” is not being given significant patentable weight. Accordingly, there is no substantial difference from the similar limitation defined in claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-12, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0224845) in view of Beckman, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,964,966).
For claim 1, Anderson teaches an electronic system for controlling vibrations and/or inertial forces occurring at a plurality of areas of interest within an operating vehicle, the electronic system comprising circuitry configured to: receive input data comprising sensor data from one or more environment sensors and/or one or more internal sensors (see paras. 0919, 0920); convert the input data into the actuator settings (see paras. 0842, 1048); transmit the actuator settings to the one or more actuators to control vibrations and/or inertial forces occurring at each of the plurality of areas of interest within the vehicle (see paras. 0919, 1048, 1291, 1481).
Anderson does not explicitly disclose the utilization of machine learning. However in a related Invention, Beckman teaches the utilization of a machine learning system that is trained to map the input data to actuator settings for each of one or more actuators (see col. 9:21-10:67). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to modify Anderson with the teaching of Beckman based on a reasonable expectation of success and the motivation to improve the process of using measured vibrations may then be used to generate anti-vibrations that are output at or near the same location that will modify out measured vibrations so that the anti-vibrations may effectively cancel out our reduce the measured vibrations, modify the measured vibrations so they are less destructive (see col. 1:51-56).
With reference to claim 2, Anderson further discloses wherein the input data further comprises external data received via a communication interface (see para. 0471).
Regarding claim 3, Anderson further discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to convert, by using the machine learning system, the sensor data directly into the actuator settings (see para. 0919).
Pertaining to claim 6, Anderson further teaches wherein the plurality of areas of interest are located at least at one of: a seat, a backrest, a headrest, a footrest, or a dashboard of the vehicle (see para. 0997).
Referring to claim 7, Anderson further teaches wherein the received sensor data include road condition data of a road in front of the vehicle, obtained by one or more of: an RGB camera, an infrared camera, a RADAR sensor, a LiDAR sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, and a microphone (see paras. 0384, 0558).
With regards to claim 8, Anderson further discloses wherein the road condition data include an impulse response of a strip of the road (see paras. 0049, 0471).
For claim 9, Anderson further teaches wherein the impulse response is an average of a plurality of impulse responses obtained from other vehicles via vehicle-to-infrastructure communication or vehicle-to-vehicle communication (see para. 0471).
With reference to claim 10, Anderson further discloses wherein the external data comprises map data (see para. 0471).
Regarding claim 11, Anderson further discloses wherein the received sensor data comprises odometry data and/or a weight distribution within the vehicle (see paras. 01435, 0354).
Pertaining to claim 12, Anderson further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to perform sensor fusion on the sensor data (see para. 1401).
For claim 15, Anderson does not explicitly disclose determining the residual vibration. However, determining residual vibrations distributions in flexible systems is well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to include a residual vibration distribution because it is well known that vibrations will gradually fade and based on the motivation to improve ride dynamics by utilizing predictive and reactive sensor data from a number of sources (including redundant sources, which may be combined and used to provide greater accuracy to the overall system) (see para. 0920).
Referring to claim 16, Anderson further teaches wherein the actuators are piezoelectric elements (see para. 1859).
With regards to claim 17, Anderson further teaches wherein the actuators include at least one of: a movable seat of the vehicle, a movable cabin section of the vehicle, or a movable chassis of the vehicle (see para. 0061, 0059, 0296).
For claim 18, Anderson further discloses at least one of the actuators is configured to adjust a stiffness of a material of an equipment of the vehicle (see paras. 0064-0067, 0868, 0911).
Regarding claim 20, the claim defines the same elements and subject matter as those recited in claim 1. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected based on the citations and reasoning outlined above for claim 1.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson, et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0224845) and Beckman, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,964,966), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Allaei (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2006/0106500).
For claim 4, Anderson does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitations. A teaching from Allaei discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to convert the sensor data into a vibration distribution of vibrations occurring at each of the plurality of areas of interest within the vehicle (see para. 0036). It would have been obvious to convert, by means of the machine learning system, the sensor data into a vibration distribution of vibrations occurring at each of the plurality of areas of interest within the vehicle in order to mathematically represent the expected vibrations to be induced into the system based on a reasonable expectation of success and the motivation to improve a method of controlling vibrational energy in a system which is proactively designed into the system, and which takes account of total energy distribution throughout the system (see para. 0010).
Pertaining to claim 5, Anderson further discloses wherein the circuitry is further configured to determine the actuator settings. Allaei teaches that actuator settings based on based on a vibration distribution (see para. 0036).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson, et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0224845) and Beckman, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,964,966), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sridharan, et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0205745).
Pertaining to claim 13, Anderson does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation. A teaching from Sridharan discloses that machine learning may include deep neural networks. It would have been obvious to modify Anderson with the teaching of Sridharan based on a reasonable expectation of success and the motivation to improve communication optimizations for distributed machine learning (see para. 0001).
With regards to claim 14, Sridharan further teaches that machine learning may include reinforcement learning (see para. 0211).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson, et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0224845) and Onimaru, et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0273019), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hansen, et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0320720).
Regarding claim 19, Anderson does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation. A teaching from Hansen discloses the actuator settings control the actuators by applying an inverse-in-phase time-varying signal so as to reduce vibrations (see para. 0076). It would have been obvious to modify Anderson with the teaching of Hansen based on a reasonable expectation of success and the motivation to improve data determination that moves below a resonant frequency to counteract expected vibrations which would change in time reflective of the needs of the system in order to better counteract the vibration overall (see para. 0076).
Conclusion
Examiner previously stated at the end of the previous rejection that Applicant is considered to have implicit knowledge of the entire disclosure once a reference has been cited. The cited figures, columns and lines should not be considered the only relevant teachings. The entire reference must be taken as a whole. This includes any teachings within the reference that were not explicitly cited in the previous Office action. Any new citation of additional teachings of the previously cited art is not a new ground of rejection. Taking the references as a whole, the art supports the new rejection of the currently amended claims.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D TISSOT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663