DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office action is based on the communications filed December 31, 2024. Claims 1 – 10 are currently pending and considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because while claim 10 is directed to a computer readable storage medium, claim 10 does not exclude transitory embodiments and therefore is directed to signals per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yokota (US 2022/0157284 A1), hereinafter Yokota.
Claim 1: Yokota discloses a sound effect control method (see at least, “The embodiment shows a sound effect imparting device that imparts sound effects as filter effects as an example. The present invention, however, is also applicable to general filter effect imparting devices including a device
that imparts filter effects other than sound effects,” Yokota [0020], “As described above, the filter effect imparting device, the electronic musical instrument, and the control method for the electronic musical instrument according to the present invention can effectively switch filter characteristics,” Yokota [0113]), comprising:
determining an activation filter group and a to-be-activated filter group in a sound effect module (see at least, “The coefficient table 81 stores beforehand multiple sets of a start point and an end point for the respective filter coefficients corresponding to the filter characteristic of the filtering performer. The coefficient table 81 may temporarily store the start point and the end point retrieved from the ROM 12 or the RAM 13 at each operation. The coefficient table 81 itself may be stored in the ROM 12 or the RAM 13,” Yokota [0048], “From the five coefficient tables 81 (81a to 81e) in the five arithmetic blocks 80, a coefficient group for start point and a coefficient group for end point are retrieved. In this embodiment, the coefficient group 1 for the start point is {b10, b11, b12, a11, a12}, and the coefficient group 2 for the end point is {b20, b21, b22, a21, a22}. Herein, the first number after the alphabet in each coefficient indicates the start point or the end point (1: start point, 2: end point), and the second number indicates the order of the coefficient,” Yokota [0049]);
determining at least one intermediate transition filter group according to the activation filter group and the to-be-activated filter group (see at least, “The five filter coefficients output from the filter coefficient calculator 62 to the filtering performer 63 are formularized as the following equations (1) to (5)…,” Yokota [0053], “Thus, the envelope signal is a parameter that specifies a ratio indicating a closeness of the five filter coefficients to the coefficient group 1 as the start point and to the coefficient group 2 as the end point. In the coefficient updating mode, interpolation processing is performed for the five filter coefficients between the coefficient group 1 as the start point and the coefficient group 2 as the end point so that the ratio specified by the envelope signal is satisfied. Thus, interpolation of the filter coefficients is performed between the start point and the end point using the envelope signal, so that the filter coefficients are successively updated while gradually changing from the start point to the end point. That is, the filter coefficients are dynamically updated between the start point and the end point,” Yokota [0054], “In this embodiment, linear interpolation is performed between the start point and the end point. Interpolation is, however, not limited to the linear interpolation. For example, coefficients may be allocated to the start point and the end point individually for separate calculation,” Yokota [0055]); and
stage-by-stage transitioning the activation filter group to the to-be-activated filter group through the at least one intermediate transition filter group in the sound effect module (see at least, “Thus, interpolation of the filter coefficients is performed between the start point and the end point using the envelope signal, so that the filter coefficients are successively updated while gradually changing from the start point to the end point. That is, the filter coefficients are dynamically updated between the start point and the end point,” Yokota [0054], “In this embodiment, linear interpolation is performed between the start point and the end point. Interpolation is, however, not limited to the linear interpolation. For example, coefficients may be allocated to the start point and the end point individually for separate calculation,” Yokota [0055], “Accordingly, as shown in FIG. 7A and FIG. 8, the filter coefficients move between the coefficient group 1 and the coefficient group 2 so as to gradually change from the coefficient group 1 for the start point toward the coefficient group 2 for the end point. The filter characteristics also change between the filter characteristic corresponding to the coefficient group 1 and the filter characteristic corresponding to the coefficient group 2,” Yokota [0089], “The end point of the filter coefficients is then set to a coefficient group 3 that corresponds to the filter characteristic to which the characteristic is instructed to switch. The coefficient group 3 is different from any of the coefficient group 1, the coefficient group 2, and coefficient groups in transition from the coefficient group 1 to the coefficient group 2. Then the envelope signal starts being generated (Step S12: No, S1: No, S3: Yes, S4, S5). Accordingly, the filter coefficients are successively updated toward the coefficient group 3 along with the change of the envelope signal,” Yokota [0092], “Thus, the start point of the filter coefficients are changed from the coefficient group 1 to the coefficient group 2, and the end point of the filter coefficients is changed from the coefficient group 2 to the coefficient group 3. The filter coefficients are then changed from the filter coefficient group 2 to the filter coefficient group 3. The filter characteristics also change between the filter characteristic corresponding to the coefficient group 2 and the filter characteristic corresponding to the coefficient group 3,” Yokota [0093], “Accordingly, the filter coefficients for the wah-wah effect can be successively switched. This enables updates of the filter characteristics while keeping sounds being output,” Yokota [0094]).
Claim 2: Yokota discloses the sound effect control method as described in claim 1, wherein the determining at least one intermediate transition filter group according to the activation filter group and the to-be-activated filter group, comprises: obtaining first parameter information of each filter of a same type comprised in the activation filter group and second parameter information of each filter of a same type comprised in the to-be-activated filter group, wherein filters of a same type comprised in the to-be- activated filter group are in a one-to-one correspondence with filters of a same type comprised in the activation filter group (see at least, “From the five coefficient tables 81 (81a to 81e) in the five arithmetic blocks 80, a coefficient group for start point and a coefficient group for end point are retrieved. In
this embodiment, the coefficient group 1 for the start point is {b10, b11, b12, a11, a12}, and the coefficient group 2 for the end point is {b20, b21, b22, a21, a22}. Herein, the first number after the alphabet in each coefficient indicates the start point or the end point (1: start point, 2: end point), and the second number indicates the order of the coefficient,” Yokota [0049]); determining third parameter information of a corresponding filter of the intermediate transitional filter group according to the corresponding first parameter information and second parameter information (see at least, “The five filter coefficients output from the filter coefficient calculator 62 to the filtering performer 63 are formularized as the following equations (1) to (5)…,” Yokota [0053]); determining each filter of the intermediate transitional filter group in the sound effect module according to the third parameter information (see at least, “Thus, the envelope signal is a parameter that specifies a ratio indicating a closeness of the five filter coefficients to the coefficient group 1 as the start point and to the coefficient group 2 as the end point. In the coefficient updating mode, interpolation processing is performed for the five filter coefficients between the coefficient group 1 as the start point and the coefficient group 2 as the end point so that the ratio specified by the envelope signal is satisfied. Thus, interpolation of the filter coefficients is performed between the start point and the end point using the envelope signal, so that the filter coefficients are successively updated while gradually changing from the start point to the end point. That is, the filter coefficients are dynamically updated between the start point and the end point,” Yokota [0054], “In this embodiment, linear interpolation is performed between the start point and the end point. Interpolation is, however, not limited to the linear interpolation. For example, coefficients may be allocated to the start point and the end point individually for separate calculation,” Yokota [0055]); and the stage-by-stage transitioning the activation filter group to the to-be-activated filter group through the at least one intermediate transition filter group in the sound effect module, comprises: stage-by-stage transitioning each filter of the activation filter group to a corresponding filter of the to-be-activated filter group through a filter corresponding to at least one of the intermediate transition filter groups (see at least, “Thus, interpolation of the filter coefficients is performed between the start point and the end point using the envelope signal, so that the filter coefficients are successively updated while gradually changing from the start point to the end point. That is, the filter coefficients are dynamically updated between the start point and the end point,” Yokota [0054], “In this embodiment, linear interpolation is performed between the start point and the end point. Interpolation is, however, not limited to the linear interpolation. For example, coefficients may be allocated to the start point and the end point individually for separate calculation,” Yokota [0055], “Accordingly, as shown in FIG. 7A and FIG. 8, the filter coefficients move between the coefficient group 1 and the coefficient group 2 so as to gradually change from the coefficient group 1 for the start point toward the coefficient group 2 for the end point. The filter characteristics also change between the filter characteristic corresponding to the coefficient group 1 and the filter characteristic corresponding to the coefficient group 2,” Yokota [0089], “The end point of the filter coefficients is then set to a coefficient group 3 that corresponds to the filter characteristic to which the characteristic is instructed to switch. The coefficient group 3 is different from any of the coefficient group 1, the coefficient group 2, and coefficient groups in transition from the coefficient group 1 to the coefficient group 2. Then the envelope signal starts being generated (Step S12: No, S1: No, S3: Yes, S4, S5). Accordingly, the filter coefficients are successively updated toward the coefficient group 3 along with the change of the envelope signal,” Yokota [0092], “Thus, the start point of the filter coefficients are changed from the coefficient group 1 to the coefficient group 2, and the end point of the filter coefficients is changed from the coefficient group 2 to the coefficient group 3. The filter coefficients are then changed from the filter coefficient group 2 to the filter coefficient group 3. The filter characteristics also change between the filter characteristic corresponding to the coefficient group 2 and the filter characteristic corresponding to the coefficient group 3,” Yokota [0093], “Accordingly, the filter coefficients for the wah-wah effect can be successively switched. This enables updates of the filter characteristics while keeping sounds being output,” Yokota [0094]).
Claim 4: Yokota discloses the sound effect control method as described in claim 2, wherein the first parameter information comprises a first parameter value of each filter comprised in the activation filter group, and the second parameter information comprises a second parameter value of each filter comprised in the to-be-activated filter group (see at least, “From the five coefficient tables 81 (81a to 81e) in the five arithmetic blocks 80, a coefficient group for start point and a coefficient group for end point are retrieved. In this embodiment, the coefficient group 1 for the start point is {b10, b11, b12, a11, a12}, and the coefficient group 2 for the end point is {b20, b21, b22, a21, a22}. Herein, the first number after the alphabet in each coefficient indicates the start point or the end point (1: start point, 2: end point), and the second number indicates the order of the coefficient,” Yokota [0049]); the third parameter information comprises a third parameter value of each filter comprised in the intermediate transition filter group (see at least, “The five filter coefficients output from the filter coefficient calculator 62 to the filtering performer 63 are formularized as the following equations (1) to (5)…,” Yokota [0053]); and each of the first parameter value, the second parameter value, and the third parameter value is one of a cut-off frequency point, a gain, a Q value, and a filter order (see at least, “start point or the end point (1: start point, 2: end point), and the second number indicates the order of the coefficient,” Yokota [0049]); and the determining third parameter information of a corresponding filter of the intermediate transitional filter group according to the corresponding first parameter information and second parameter information, comprises: when the first parameter value, the second parameter value, and the third parameter value are all cut-off frequency points, gains, or Q values, for filters corresponding to the activation filter group and the to-be-activated filter group, performing a linear operation or an exponent operation on the first parameter value and the second parameter value according to the number of intermediate filter groups to obtain the third parameter value of the filter corresponding to each of the intermediate transition filter groups (see at least, “In this embodiment, linear interpolation is performed between the start point and the end point. Interpolation
is, however, not limited to the linear interpolation. For example, coefficients may be allocated to the start point and the end point individually for separate calculation,” Yokota [0055]).
Claim 5: Yokota discloses the sound effect control method as described in claim 4, wherein the first parameter information of each filter comprised in the activation filter group comprises different first parameter values, the second parameter information of each filter comprised in the to-be-activated filter group comprises different second parameter values, and the third parameter information of each filter comprised in the intermediate transition filter group comprises different third parameter values (see at least, “Accordingly, as shown in FIG. 7A and FIG. 8, the filter coefficients move between the coefficient group 1 and the coefficient group 2 so as to gradually change from the coefficient group 1 for the start point toward the coefficient group 2 for the end point. The filter characteristics also change between the filter characteristic corresponding to the coefficient group 1 and the filter characteristic corresponding to the coefficient group 2,” Yokota [0089], “The end point of the filter coefficients is then set to a coefficient group 3 that corresponds to the filter characteristic to which the characteristic is instructed to switch. The coefficient group 3 is different from any of the coefficient group 1, the coefficient group 2, and coefficient groups in transition from the coefficient group 1 to the coefficient group 2. Then the envelope signal starts being generated (Step S12: No, S1: No, S3: Yes, S4, S5). Accordingly, the filter coefficients are successively updated toward the coefficient group 3 along with the change of the envelope signal,” Yokota [0092], “Thus, the start point of the filter coefficients are changed from the coefficient group 1 to the coefficient group 2, and the end point of the filter coefficients is changed from the coefficient group 2 to the coefficient group 3. The filter coefficients are then changed from the filter coefficient group 2 to the filter coefficient group 3. The filter characteristics also change between the filter characteristic corresponding to the coefficient group 2 and the filter characteristic corresponding to the coefficient group 3,” Yokota [0093], “Accordingly, the filter coefficients for the wah-wah effect can be successively switched. This enables updates of the filter characteristics while keeping sounds being output,” Yokota [0094]).
Claim 7: Yokota discloses the sound effect control method as described in claim 1, wherein the stage-by-stage transitioning the activation filter group to the to-be-activated filter group through the at least one intermediate transition filter group in the sound effect module, comprises: stage-by-stage transitioning the activation filter group to the to-be-activated filter group through the at least one intermediate transition filter group in the sound effect module; wherein in each stage of transition process, the filter group before transition and the filter group after transition perform fade in-out transition according to a preset number of processing frames (see at least, “Accordingly, as shown in FIG. 7A and FIG. 8, the filter coefficients move between the coefficient group 1 and the coefficient group 2 so as to gradually change from the coefficient group 1 for the start point toward the coefficient group 2 for the end point. The filter characteristics also change between the filter characteristic corresponding to the coefficient group 1 and the filter characteristic corresponding to the coefficient group 2,” Yokota [0089], “Herein, when the envelope signal reaches the end point, the values of the envelope signal may not be cleared but the direction of change may be inverted (see alternate long and short dash line in FIG. 7A). Accordingly, the start point and the end point may switch between the coefficient group 1 and the coefficient group 2,”
Yokota [0090], “When the number of times that the envelope signal reaches the end point becomes equal to a predetermined number, the filter coefficients of the coefficient group 2 at the point of time are retained, and the filter coefficients of the coefficient group 2 are set as the start point (Step S10: Yes,
S11),” Yokota [0091], “The end point of the filter coefficients is then set to a coefficient group 3 that corresponds to the filter characteristic to which the characteristic is instructed to switch. The coefficient group 3 is different from any of the coefficient group 1, the coefficient group 2, and coefficient groups in transition from the coefficient group 1 to the coefficient group 2. Then the envelope signal starts being generated (Step S12: No, S1: No, S3: Yes, S4, S5). Accordingly, the filter coefficients are successively updated toward the coefficient group 3 along with the change of the envelope signal,” Yokota [0092], “Thus, the start point of the filter coefficients are changed from the coefficient group 1 to the coefficient group 2, and the end point of the filter coefficients is changed from the coefficient group 2 to the coefficient group 3. The filter coefficients are then changed from the filter coefficient group 2 to the filter coefficient group 3. The filter characteristics also change between the filter characteristic corresponding to the coefficient group 2 and the filter characteristic corresponding to the coefficient group 3,” Yokota [0093], “Accordingly, the filter coefficients for the wah-wah effect can be successively switched. This enables updates of the filter characteristics while keeping sounds being output,” Yokota [0094]).
Claim 9: Yokota discloses an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory communicating with the at least one processor; wherein the memory stores instructions executable by the at least one processor, and the instructions are executed by the at least one processor to enable the at least one processor to perform the sound effect control method as described in claim 1 (see at least, “The embodiment shows a sound effect imparting device that imparts sound effects as filter effects as an example. The present invention, however, is also applicable to general filter effect imparting devices including a device that imparts filter effects other than sound effects,” Yokota [0020], “As shown in FIG. 1, the electronic musical instrument 1 includes: a central processing unit (CPU) 11; a read only memory (ROM) 12; a random access memory (RAM) 13,” Yokota [0023], “The CPU 11 controls the entire electronic musical instrument. The CPU 11 reads programs and data from the ROM 12 that stores various programs and data to execute the programs. The data generated in execution of the programs is stored in the RAM 13 as a work area,” Yokota [0024], “The filter coefficient calculation process is performed as part of filtering performed by the CPU 11 that retrieves and executes a predetermined program,” Yokota [0059]).
Claim 10: Yokota discloses a computer readable storage medium storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements the sound effect control method as described in claim 1 (see at least, “The embodiment shows a sound effect imparting device that imparts sound effects as filter effects as an example. The present invention, however, is also applicable to general filter effect imparting devices including a device that imparts filter effects other than sound effects,” Yokota [0020], “As shown in FIG. 1, the electronic musical instrument 1 includes: a central processing unit (CPU) 11; a read only memory (ROM) 12; a random access memory (RAM) 13,” Yokota [0023], “The CPU 11 controls the entire electronic musical instrument. The CPU 11 reads programs and data from the ROM 12 that stores various programs and data to execute the programs. The data generated in execution of the programs is stored in the RAM 13 as a work area,” Yokota [0024], “The filter coefficient calculation process is performed as part of filtering performed by the CPU 11 that retrieves and executes a predetermined program,” Yokota [0059]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH SAUNDERS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692