DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 12/31/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Under Step 2A, prong one, the claims recite mathematical concepts, including obtaining or generating a predicted pressure drop value from image derived features, calculating the contribution of portions of a blood vessel to the pressure drop, calculating a simulated pressure value by mathematically removing or neutralizing a contribution, analyzing outputs of machine learning models to determine local contributions and identifying portions or frames based on the resulting calculations. These limitations amount to mathematical calculations and analysis of information. Under Step 2A, prong two, the additional limitations, including obtaining angiographic images, capturing images from different angles, identifying and tracking a blood vessel in the images, selecting particular frames, using first and second ML models, and displaying the resulting vessel, pressure drop or treatment information, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they merely provide data to the mathematical analysis, implement the analysis using generic computer components, and present the results to a user. Although the claims characterize the result as determining a “treatment strategy”, they do not require actually performing or controlling a medical treatment or otherwise effecting a change in the patient’s blood vessel, and they do not recite a particular improvement to the operation of an imaging device, computer or ML technology itself. Rather, the computer and ML models are used as tools to perform the recited calculations and analysis. Under Step 2B, the additional elements, considered individually and as an ordered operation, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the recited processor, ML models, medical image acquisition, vessel tracking, and display perform their ordinary functions of acquiring data, processing data, and displaying results, and no unconventional technological implementation is required by the claims.
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are directed to an abstract idea without additional elements sufficient to integrate the exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept and therefore are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Passerini (US 2021/0085397 A1) in view of Sauer (US 2016/0022371 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Passerini discloses a method for non-invasively determining a treatment strategy for a blood vessel, the method comprising: (Passerini discloses non-invasive assessment and therapy planning for coronary artery disease, particular for diffuse lesions, tandem lesions, and multiple lesions, using image analytics, computational modeling, and machine learning derived hemodynamic quantities, see paragraphs 47 and 49-51 and figure 3. Passerini describes non-invasive therapy planning before and after intervention.)
obtaining a prediction of a total pressure drop value in the blood vessel based on features generated from a plurality of images of the blood vessel, the images representing all anatomic parts of the blood vessel; (Passerini discloses acquiring one or more medical images, including angiography images, extracting geometric features from the images, and extracting features for the entire coronary artery tree or selected branches, see paragraphs 49-51. Passerini further teaches a machine learning architecture in which a “total pressure drop” feature for a stenosis is calculated using proximal and distal pressures and used by a trained regression model, see paragraphs 58-61. Passerini further discloses computing hemodynamic quantities along the coronary tree with machine learning and predicting post treatment pressure drop/vFFR values for multiple virtual PCI scenarios based on image derived features, see paragraphs 79-82. The training data can contain pressure drops for all possible combinations of stenting one or more stenoses.)
calculating a contribution of one or more portions of the blood vessel to the total pressure drop value; (Passerini teaches an ischemic contribution score calculated for finite length coronary segments and teaches modifying the contribution score for segments undergoing stenting, see paragraphs 57 and 79-82.)
Passerini does not clearly characterize its virtual treatment operation as “neutralizing the contribution of a selected portion by setting that portion’s pressure drop contribution to zero; therefore, Passerini fails to specifically disclose based on the calculated contribution, calculating a new simulated total pressure drop value of the blood vessel by neutralizing the contribution of the one or more portions to the total pressure drop value; and displaying to the user information regarding the one or more portions.
In related art, Sauer discloses based on the calculated contribution, calculating a new simulated total pressure drop value of the blood vessel by neutralizing the contribution of the one or more portions to the total pressure drop value; and displaying to the user information regarding the one or more portions. (Sauer teaches that pressure drop values across a plurality of coronary lesions are calculated non-invasively and that individual lesions have individual pressure drops which contribute to the compound pressure drop along a vessel path, see paragraphs 14, 24 and 29-31. Sauer teaches generating different treatment options for serial lesions and states that, for a proposed stenting treatment, the simulated pressure drop across the treated lesion can be set to zero, after which the remaining vessel tree is simulated and the resulting hemodynamic values are recalculated, see paragraph 31.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Sauer into the teachings of Passerini to effectively predict which coronary lesions should be treated in patients having multiple lesions. Sauer teaches that setting the selected lesion’s pressure drop contribution to zero permits evaluation of whether treatment of that lesion would restore acceptable coronary physiology. The combination would allow Passerini’s system to quantify the effect of virtually treating individual lesions before intervention.
Regarding claim 2, Passerini, as modified by Sauer, discloses the claimed invention wherein the information comprises an indication of the one or more portions and the new simulated total pressure drop value, the method further comprising displaying to the user the information if the new simulated total pressure drop is determined to be within a physiologically healthy range. (Sauer, see paragraphs 26, 29-31 and 36-37)
Regarding claim 3, Passerini, as modified by Sauer, discloses the claimed invention wherein determining which portion of the one or more portions has a most significant contribution to the total pressure drop; and neutralizing the contribution of the determined portion to the total pressure drop value. (Passerini, paragraphs 47 and 79-82; Sauer, paragraphs 29-31)
Regarding claim 4, Passerini, as modified by Sauer, discloses the claimed invention wherein each of the plurality of images is captured from a different angle. (paragraph 87)
Regarding claim 9, Passerini, as modified by Sauer, discloses the claimed invention wherein the features comprise spatial and/or temporal features. (Passerini, paragraphs 49-51 and 58-62)
Regarding claim 11, Passerini, as modified by Sauer, discloses the claimed invention wherein the one or more portions of the blood vessel comprises a healthy part of the blood vessel and a part comprising at least one pathology. (paragraphs 58-61)
Claims 5, 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Passerini in view of Sauer and in further view of Bruch-El (US 2022/0335612 A1).
Consider claim 5, Passerini, as modified by Sauer, discloses the claimed invention except for wherein identifying the blood vessel in each of the plurality of images to track same blood vessels through the plurality of images.
However, in related art, Bruch-El discloses identifying the blood vessel in each of the plurality of images to track same blood vessels through the plurality of images. (paragraphs 12-13 and 56-59)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Bruch-El into the teachings of Passerini and Sauer to maintain correspondence of the same coronary vessel and vascular locations through the difference images.
Regarding claim 8, Passerini, as modified by Sauer and Bruch-El, discloses the claimed invention wherein using data from the images to create a single data representation; (paragraphs 52 and 55) and extracting features from the single data representation, the features for obtaining the prediction of the total pressure drop value. (paragraphs 52-56)
Consider claim 12, Passerini, as modified by Sauer, discloses the claimed invention except for wherein tracking the blood vessel through the plurality of images, each of the images capturing the vessel from a different angle; and determining presence of diffuse disease or multiple lesions in the blood vessel prior to obtaining the prediction of the total pressure drop value of the blood vessel.
In related art, Bruch-El discloses tracking the blood vessel through the plurality of images, each of the images capturing the vessel from a different angle; (paragraphs 12-13 and 54-59, 65 and 77) and determining presence of diffuse disease or multiple lesions in the blood vessel prior to obtaining the prediction of the total pressure drop value of the blood vessel. (paragraphs 49, 53-54 and 91-95)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Bruch-El into the teachings of Passerini and Sauer to maintain correspondence of the same coronary vessel and vascular locations through the difference images.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Passerini, Sauer and Bruch-El and in further view of Lavi (US 2022/0254131 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Passerini, as modified by Sauer and Bruch-El, discloses the claimed invention except for wherein identifying the blood vessel in each of the plurality of images and mapping a full path of a predetermined portion of the vessel in each image.
In related art, Lavi discloses identifying the blood vessel in each of the plurality of images and mapping a full path of a predetermined portion of the vessel in each image. (paragraphs 69, 110 and 113-117)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lavi into the teachings of Passerini, Sauer and Bruch-El to in order to provide a continuous representation of the same coronary vessel through the plurality of images and thereby permit corresponding anatomical locations along the vessel to be consistently identified and analyzed across different views.
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Passerini, Sauer, Bruch-El and Lavi and in further view of Mittal (US 2011/0224542 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Passerini, as modified by Sauer, Bruch-El and Lavi, discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the predetermined portion of the vessel comprises a portion from a beginning of a left main coronary artery (LMCA) until after bifurcations of the artery.
In related art, Mittal discloses the predetermined portion of the vessel comprises a portion from a beginning of a left main coronary artery (LMCA) until after bifurcations of the artery. (paragraphs 25 and 30-31)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Mittal into the teachings of Passerini, Sauer, Bruch-El and Lavi in order to map an anatomically complete coronary path beginning at the left main coronary artery and extending through its bifurcation into the LAD branches, thereby permitting vessel analysis to account for the complete relevant coronary anatomy rather than terminating at a branch point.
Claims 10 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Passerini and Sauer and in further view of Hampe (US 2023/0394654 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Passerini, as modified by Sauer, discloses the claimed invention except for wherein obtaining, from a first machine learning (ML) model, a prediction of an intermediate value relating to the one or more portions of the blood vessel; inputting the intermediate value to a second ML model to obtain the prediction of the total pressure drop value of the blood vessel; and analyzing calculations of the second ML model to determine the contribution of each portion to the total pressure drop value.
In related art, Hampe discloses obtaining, from a first machine learning (ML) model, a prediction of an intermediate value relating to the one or more portions of the blood vessel; inputting the intermediate value to a second ML model to obtain the prediction of the total pressure drop value of the blood vessel; and analyzing calculations of the second ML model to determine the contribution of each portion to the total pressure drop value. (paragraphs 18-20, 41 and 188-190)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Hampe into the teachings of Passerini and Sauer to allow contribution of individual vessel portions to the aggregate hemodynamic or pressure drop result to be identified and used for lesion specific treatment planning.
For claim 16, see the rejection of claims 1 and 10 above.
For claim 17, see the rejection of claim 1 above.
For claim 18, see the rejection of claim 9 above.
For claim 19, see the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauer in view of Davies (US 2022/0160429 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Sauer discloses a display of a user interface device, the user interface device in communication with a processor (Sauer disclose a computerized system for automated therapy planning having a processor and a display for presenting predicted treatment results to a user. Sauer teaches displaying clinically relevant figures for the various treatment options and interactively presenting the treatment results to assist the user in selecting a stenting option, see paragraphs 36-39 and figure 11.), the display configured to exhibit:
an image of an artery having one or both of diffuse disease and multiple lesion; and (Sauer discloses a coronary artery having multiple serial stenotic lesions, including three serial lesions, and displaying an enlarged model of the patient specific coronary vessel tree showing the stenoses and proposed stent locations, see paragraphs 30, 37-38.)
an indication of a portion of the artery whose contribution to a total pressure drop value of the artery, (Sauer teaches calculating a pressure drop across each individual stenotic lesion and displaying both individual pressure drops across individual lesions and the compound pressure drop across all lesions in one blood flow path, see paragraphs 14, 24 and 36. The, the pressure drop attributable to each individual lesion constitutes that lesion’s contribution to the compound or total pressure drop of the artery. Sauer further displays the particular lesion and corresponding stent location on the coronary artery model, see paragraphs 36-37.) when neutralized, (Sauer teaches predicting the effect of treating a selected stenotic lesion by adjusting the pressure drop across the lesion being stented and setting the pressure drop of that lesion to zero, followed by simulation of blood flow and pressure in the remaining vessel tree, see paragraph 31. Thus, Sauer teaches neutralizing the pressure drop contribution of the selected portion of the artery. Sauer further teaches that after pressure drop contribution of the selected lesion is neutralized, the system recalculates the resulting hemodynamic condition of the vessel. Sauer calculates FFR from the resulting pressure drop and evaluates whether the resulting FFR exceeds a physiological threshold such as 0.8, see paragraphs 26 and 29-31. Sauer further teaches displaying or distinguishing treatment configurations that restore sufficient blood flow, including configurations resulting in FFR values greater than the threshold, see paragraph 36.)
Sauer does not characterize the resulting total pressure drop value itself as being within a physiologically health range. Rather Sauer characterizes the resulting condition in terms of whether FFR exceeds a threshold.
Davies discloses a pressure ratio threshold that represents the transition between pressure ratios representative of a healthy vessel and pressure ratios representative of a vessel having a significant obstruction, and specifically teaches an FFR threshold of 0.80, with values above the threshold representing a vessel for which treatment is not recommended. Davies further teaches that the threshold represents a minimum pressure ratio value that can be considered healthy, and that a target pressure ratio represents a medically acceptable value indicative of efficacious treatment, figures 7-10 and associated text.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Davies into the teachings of Sauer to effectively determine whether a proposed coronary treatment restores physiologically acceptable blood flow. Applying the known physiological threshold to Sauer’s recalculated post treatment pressure drop would have predictably allowed the system to identify and display a portion of the artery whose pressure drop contribution, when neutralized, causes the resulting pressure drop to fall within a physiologically healthy range.
Conclusion
/BOBBAK SAFAIPOUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665