DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 18811015 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the combination of the dependent and independent copending claims do teach all of the limitations of the instant independent claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foxall USPA_20090047464_A1 in view of Love USPA_20170037567_A1.
1. Regarding Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 14, 10, 11, 18, 20-24, Foxall discloses a carpet (corresponds to claimed mat) that rests upon a floor (corresponds to claimed support surface) having a foam base layer (corresponds to claimed second layer) having an upper surface that is bonded to another foam upper layer (corresponds to claimed first layer) (Abstract).
2. However, Foxall does not disclose claimed magnets. Foxall discloses recesses (corresponds to claimed preformed reliefs) (Foxall Fig. 1B).
3. Love discloses a floor mat that contains a textile and base components (corresponds to two distinct layers) that can be attached to one another by use of magnets that are provided in between said layers such that they are encapsulated between them (Abstract, Fig. 1B). The areas between them will correspond to the claimed channels of instant Claims 21-24.
4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the foam layers, of Foxall, by using magnets between them, as disclosed by Love. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so for greater adhesion.
5. As for the claimed predetermination of location of the magnets, the Examiner respectfully submits it would have been obvious to select locations that are attracted to magnets on the surface. As for the claimed ferromagnetic connection member limitation, this pertain to the floor, not the actual mat to which the product claim is directed to.
6. Regarding Claims 3-5, 16, 19, Foxall in view of Love suggests that the layers can be made of polyethylene (Foxall: Abstract) or EPDM (Love: paragraph 0045).
7. Regarding Claims 6, although not explicitly stated, it is well known to form floor mats according to the shape of the flooring upon which it rests.
8. Regarding Claims 7, 12, 17, Foxall in view of Love suggests using an adhesive (Foxall: paragraph 0041). All other limitations of instant Claim 24 have been rejected above under the rejection of instant Claim 1.
9. Regarding Claims 8, Foxall in view of Love suggests delineates its mat being a single piece (Foxall: Figures).
10. Regarding Claims 9 and 17, Foxall in view of Love suggests using a plastic layer (Foxall: paragraph 0005) that can correspond to the claimed reinforcement layer. By virtue of having this additional layer, it will inherently provide, to some degree, a prevention of tearing in the other two layers. All other limitations of instant Claim 17 have been rejected above under the rejection of instant Claim 1.
11. Regarding Claims 13, 15, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) See MPEP 2114. The claimed limitation of ferromagnetic connection pertains to the support surface and the marine vehicle; both of which are not directed to the product claim of the mat. The remainder of instant Claim 11’s limitations have been rejected under the rejection of instant Claim 1 above.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 July 28, 2026