Status of the Application
Claims 1-10 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. No Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) has been filed with this application.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
identify the following terms in the specification by reference to the drawings, designating the corresponding part or parts therein to which each term applies: “second discharging port” and “discharging shroud” and “first discharging port” and “guiding part” and “dispensing plate”.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“first hinging point” (claim 2)
“guiding part” (claim 2)
“connecting portion” (claim 2)
Claim Interpretation
In regards to claim 2, claim limitations “guiding part” and “connecting portion” have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses generic placeholders “part” and “portion” and coupled with functional language “guiding” and “connecting” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholders are not preceded by a structural modifier.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 1, the limitation “the bottom” lacks antecedent basis in the claim.
Further as per claim 1, the limitation “which is provided with a first discharging port” is ambiguous. Specifically, it is unclear to what particular structure the term “which” refers.
As per claim 2, the following limitations lack antecedent basis in the claims: “the top […] of the accommodating cavity” and “the […] bottom of the accommodating cavity” and “the side wall” and “the accommodating cavity” and “the first hinging point” and “the bottom of the U-shaped accommodating portion” and “the bottoms of the two side walls”.
Further, as per claim 2, claim limitations “guiding part” and “connecting portion” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed functions and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the functions. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Further as per claim 2, the limitation “a second discharging port” appears to be a double inclusion not supported by the specification.
As per claim 4, the limitation “the shape” lacks antecedent basis in the claims.
As per claim 5, the limitation “the second hinging point” lacks antecedent basis in the claims.
As per claim 6, the limitation “the front side of the second transmission part” lacks antecedent basis in the claims.
As per claim 7, the following limitations lack antecedent basis in the claims “the bottom of the second transmission part” and “the top rear side of the sealing slide groove”.
Further as per claim 7, the limitation “food-grade material” is ambiguous. Specifically, there appears no standard by which to measure “food-grade” and the scope of the limitation cannot be determined.
As per claim 9, the terms “bottom” and “top” have unclear antecedent basis. A correction may include: “the handle is a frustum structure that gradually tapers from a bottom of the frustum structure to a top of the frustum structure”.
As per claim 10, the following limitations lack antecedent basis in the claims: “the side of the discharging tray” and “the side” and “U-shaped accommodating portion”.
Further as per claim 10, the limitation “”
Claims 3-8 depend from claim 2 and thus inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Claims 6-8 depend from claim 5 and thus inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Claims 7-8 depend from claim 5 and thus inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Claim 8 depends from claim 7 and thus inherit the deficiencies thereof.
In view of the numerous informalities and indefiniteness issues noted above, although a search of the prior art has been conducted, no meaningful application of prior art against claims 2-8 can be made at this time. This should not be taken as an indication that the claims would be allowable if all of the noted issues are corrected. Where there is a great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of the limitations of a claim, it would not be proper to reject such a claim on the basis of prior art. As stated in In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962), a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 3052381 to Carpigiani.
As per claim 1, and as the examiner can understand the claim, Carpigiani discloses a discharging mechanism for a cold drink dispenser, comprising:
a discharging tray (2), a casing (F), and a handle (13);
the discharging tray is installed on the casing (Fig. 3), the handle is installed on the discharging tray (Fig. 1 & 3), the discharging tray is provided with a second discharging port (6), and the bottom of the discharging tray is provided with a discharging shroud (see Figure A - below) which is provided with a first discharging port (see Figure A - below), and the first discharging port is connected and communicates with the second discharging port (Fig. 3);
the bottom of the handle is provided with a sealing member (14) and a transmission assembly (9), the transmission assembly connects the handle and the sealing member (Fig. 3), the transmission assembly is used to control the movement of the sealing member, and the sealing member is used to control the opening and closing of the second discharging port (Col. 2, ¶ 8; Fig. 3).
Figure A: US 3052381, Fig. 3 - annotated
As per claim 9, Carpigiani further discloses the handle is a frustum structure that gradually tapers from bottom to top (Fig. 1 and 3).
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 8496141 to McKay et al.
As per claim 1, and as the examiner can understand the claim, McKay discloses a discharging mechanism for a cold drink dispenser, comprising:
a discharging tray (14), a casing (16), and a handle (23);
the discharging tray is installed on the casing (Fig. 2), the handle is installed on the discharging tray (Fig. 2), the discharging tray is provided with a second discharging port (16), and the bottom of the discharging tray is provided with a discharging shroud (41) which is provided with a first discharging port (see Figure B - below), and the first discharging port is connected and communicates with the second discharging port (Col. 2, Ln. 57-67);
the bottom of the handle is provided with a sealing member (39) and a transmission assembly (24), the transmission assembly connects the handle and the sealing member (Fig. 2), the transmission assembly is used to control the movement of the sealing member, and the sealing member is used to control the opening and closing of the second discharging port (Col. 3, ¶ 4).
Figure B: US 8496141, Fig. 2 - annotated
As per claim 10, and as the examiner can understand the claim, McKay further discloses wherein a top of a U-shaped accommodating portion is provided with an avoidance slope, which inclines downwards and away from a side of the discharging tray (see Figure C - below).
Figure C: US 8496141, Fig. 1A – annotated
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in FORM PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If any attempt to reach the examiner by telephone is unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Paul Durand, can be reached at (571) 272-4459.
Another resource that is available to applicants is the Patent Data Portal (PDP). Information regarding the status of an application can be obtained from the (PDP) system. For more information about the PDP system, see https://opsg-portal.uspto.gov/OPSGPortal/. Should you have questions on access to the PDP system, please feel free to contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/R.A.G/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/FREDERICK C NICOLAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754