DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits for application 19/006407. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 9-14, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TOLLIN (2006/0113504) in view of GARVER (5,901,220)
Regarding Claim 1, TOLLIN teaches A fastener (60)(Fig. 5) structurally configured to secure a component without using tools during installation, comprising: a housing portion (11)(4)(14) including a flange portion (9)(4) and a plunger receiving portion; an actuating portion (7)(8)(15’) coupled with the housing portion (11)(4)(14); wherein the flange portion (11)(4) includes an engagement surface portion structurally configured to engage a mounting surface portion (5) of a component; wherein the actuating portion includes a plunger portion (15’) slidingly received in the plunger receiving portion; wherein the plunger portion has a distal end portion (16) extending out from the plunger receiving portion and a proximal end portion opposite the distal end portion; wherein the actuating portion includes a camming portion (8) pivotally coupled with the proximal end portion of the plunger portion; wherein the distal end portion of the plunger portion (15’) includes a flanged portion (16) having a cross sectional dimension greater than a cross sectional dimension of the plunger receiving portion; wherein the actuating portion includes a biasing portion (17) received on the plunger portion between the flanged portion of the distal end portion of the plunger portion and a distal end portion of the plunger receiving portion; wherein the biasing portion (17) has a larger cross sectional dimension than a cross sectional dimension of a passage of the plunger receiving portion such that the biasing portion is prevented from entering the passage; wherein the biasing portion is configured to be positioned between a biasing portion engaging surface of the plunger receiving portion and a biasing portion engaging surface of the plunger portion (15’); wherein the biasing portion is structurally configured to be compressed in an axial direction between the biasing portion engaging surface of the plunger receiving portion and the biasing portion engaging surface of the plunger portion such that the biasing portion expands in a radially outward direction; wherein the camming portion (8) is configured to be pivotally coupled with the plunger portion (15’) at a pivot portion (10); wherein the camming portion is structurally configured to be moved between a first position and a second position; and wherein the camming portion includes a camming surface portion (8a) configured to engage a cam engaging surface portion (9) of the plunger receiving portion such that when the camming portion (8) moves from the first position to the second position, an engagement between the camming surface portion (8a) and the cam engaging surface portion (9) of the plunger receiving portion results in relative sliding movement between the plunger portion and the plunger receiving portion of the housing portion (11)(4)(14) such that the biasing portion is axially compressed and radially expanded so as to secure a component and providing enhanced installation efficiency and simplicity.
TOLLIN does not teach the fastener securing an electronic component in an enclosure and providing enhanced installation efficiency and simplicity.
GARVER teaches the fastener (72) securing an electronic component in an enclosure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date to use the fastener in TOLLIN to hold an electronic component in an enclosure as in GARVER to make removal and installation more easily done.
Regarding Claim 2, TOLLIN as modified teaches wherein the camming portion (8) includes a retaining portion (flat portions of 8 at each end of the cam)(Fig. 1) structurally configured to retain the camming portion in the first position and the second position.
Regarding Claim 4, TOLLIN as modified teaches wherein the camming portion (8) includes a lever portion (7) structurally configured to be manually actuated to pivot the camming portion.
Regarding Claim 5, TOLLIN teaches a fastener (60)(Fig. 5) structurally configured to secure a component without using tools during installation, comprising: a housing portion (11)(4)(14) including an engagement surface portion and a plunger receiving portion (opening in 11 for 15’); a plunger portion (15’) slidingly received in the plunger receiving portion, the plunger portion having a distal end portion and a proximal end portion opposite the distal end portion; a biasing portion (17) received on the distal end portion of the plunger portion (15’); and a camming portion (8) pivotally coupled with the proximal end portion of the plunger portion (15’) to pivot between a first position and a second position; wherein the biasing portion (17) is structurally configured to be compressed in an axial direction between the plunger receiving portion (opening in 11 for 15’) and a biasing portion (17) engaging surface at the distal end portion of the plunger portion (15’) such that the biasing portion (17) expands in a radially outward direction; and wherein the camming portion (8) includes a camming surface portion (8a) configured to engage a cam engaging surface portion (9) of the plunger receiving portion (opening in 11 for 15’) such that when the camming portion (8) moves from the first position to the second position, an engagement between the camming surface portion (8a) and the cam engaging surface portion (9) of the plunger receiving portion (opening in 11 for 15’) results in relative movement between the plunger portion (15’) relative to the plunger receiving portion such that the biasing portion (17) is axially compressed and radially expanded so as to secure a component and provide enhanced installation efficiency and simplicity.
TOLLIN does not teach a fastener structurally configured to secure an electronic component in an enclosure; wherein the engagement surface portion is structurally configured to engage an electronic component to secure the electronic component to an enclosure; so as to secure an electronic component in an enclosure and provide enhanced installation efficiency and simplicity.
GARVER teaches a fastener (72) structurally configured to secure an electronic component in an enclosure; wherein the engagement surface portion is structurally configured to engage an electronic component to secure the electronic component to an enclosure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date to use the fastener in TOLLIN to hold an electronic component in an enclosure as in GARVER to make removal and installation more easily done.
Regarding Claim 6, TOLLIN as modified teaches wherein the camming portion (8) includes a lever portion (7) structurally configured to be manually actuated to pivot the camming portion (8).
Regarding Claim 7, TOLLIN as modified teaches further including a retaining portion (flat portions of 8 at each end of the cam)(Fig. 1) structurally configured to retain the camming portion (8) in the first position and the second position.
Regarding Claim 9, TOLLIN as modified teaches wherein the distal end portion of the plunger portion includes a flanged portion (16) having a cross-sectional dimension greater than a cross-sectional dimension of the plunger receiving portion (opening in 11 for 15’).
Regarding Claim 10, TOLLIN as modified teaches wherein the biasing portion (17) is received in the plunger portion (15’) between the flanged portion (16) and the plunger receiving portion (opening in 11 for 15’).
Regarding Claim 11, TOLLIN teaches A fastener structurally configured to secure a component without using tools during installation, comprising: a housing portion including an engagement surface portion and a plunger receiving portion; a plunger portion (15’) configured to be received in the plunger receiving portion (opening in 11 for 15’); a biasing portion (17) configured to be received on a distal end portion of the plunger portion; and an operating portion (7)(8) configured to be coupled with the plunger portion (15’); wherein the engagement surface portion is structurally configured to engage a component to secure a component; wherein the biasing portion (17) is structurally configured to be compressed in an axial direction between the plunger receiving portion (opening in 11 for 15’) and a biasing portion engaging surface at the distal end portion of the plunger portion such that the biasing portion expands in a radially outward direction; and wherein movement of the operating portion from a first position to a second position results in relative movement between the plunger portion and the plunger receiving portion (opening in 11 for 15’) such that the biasing portion is axially compressed and radially expanded so as to secure a component and provide enhanced installation efficiency and simplicity.
TOLLIN does not teach a fastener structurally configured to secure an electronic component in an enclosure; wherein the engagement surface portion is structurally configured to engage an electronic component to secure the electronic component to an enclosure.
GARVER teaches a fastener (72) structurally configured to secure an electronic component in an enclosure; wherein the engagement surface portion is structurally configured to engage an electronic component to secure the electronic component to an enclosure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date to use the fastener in TOLLIN to hold an electronic component in an enclosure as in GARVER to make removal and installation more easily done.
Regarding Claim 12, TOLLIN as modified teaches wherein the operating portion includes a camming portion (8) pivotally coupled with a proximal end portion of the plunger portion (15’) to pivot between the first position and the second position.
Regarding Claim 13, TOLLIN as modified teaches wherein the camming portion (8) includes a camming surface portion configured to engage a cam engaging surface (9) portion of the plunger receiving portion (11)(4) such that when the camming portion moves from the first position to the second position, an engagement between the camming surface portion and the cam engaging surface portion of the plunger receiving portion results in relative the movement between the plunger portion relative to the plunger receiving portion.
Regarding Claim 14, TOLLIN as modified teaches wherein the camming portion includes a lever portion (7) structurally configured to be manually actuated to pivot the camming portion (8).
Regarding Claim 17, TOLLIN as modified teaches further including a retaining portion (flat portions of 8 at each end of the cam)(Fig. 1) structurally configured to retain the operating portion in the first position and in the second position.
Regarding Claim 18, TOLLIN as modified teaches wherein the distal end portion of the plunger portion includes a flanged portion (16) having a cross sectional dimension greater than a cross sectional dimension of the plunger receiving portion (opening in 11 for 15’).
Regarding Claim 19, TOLLIN as modified teaches wherein the biasing portion (17) is received in the plunger portion (15’) between the flanged portion (16) and the plunger receiving portion (opening in 11 for 15’).
Regarding Claim 20, TOLLIN as modified teaches wherein the biasing portion (17) has a larger cross sectional dimension than a cross sectional dimension of a passage of the plunger receiving portion (opening in 11 for 15’) such that the biasing portion (17) is prevented from entering the passage.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TOLLIN (2006/0113504) in view of GARVER (5,901,220) and further in view of BENTRIM (2004/0083586)
Regarding Claim 15, TOLLIN as modified does not teach wherein the operating portion (8a) includes a first ramped portion fixed relative to the housing portion and a second ramped portion fixed relative to the plunger portion.
BENTRIM teaches wherein the operating portion (26) includes a first ramped portion fixed relative to the housing portion (15) and a second ramped portion (29) fixed relative to the plunger portion (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date to change the fastener in TOLLIN as modified to change the operating portion and housing portion to the configuration in BENTRIM to make a fastener which can be easily removed and installed by twisting a knob when used in an application which might not have room to operate a lever.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TOLLIN (2006/0113504) in view of GARVER (5,901,220) and BENTRIM (2004/0083586) and further in view of KITZIS (6,722,711).
Regarding Claim 16, TOLLIN as modified does not teach wherein rotation of the first ramped portion relative to the second ramped portion moves the plunger portion to radially compress the biasing portion.
KITZIS teaches wherein rotation of the first ramped portion relative to the second ramped portion moves the plunger portion to radially compress the biasing portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date to change the biasing portion in TOLLIN as modified to the configuration in KITZIS to make a fastener which has a smaller and more easily expandable biasing member.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
wherein the retaining portion includes a first grooved surface portion configured to receive the plunger portion when the camming portion is in the first position such that a user is required to apply a force to remove the plunger portion from the first grooved surface portion in order to move the camming portion out of the first position; and wherein the retaining portion includes a second grooved surface portion configured to receive the plunger portion when the camming portion is in the second position such that a user is required to apply a force to remove the plunger portion from the second grooved surface portion in order to move the camming portion out of the second position with the other elements in Claims 3, 8.
Conclusion
HENRY Y. LIU
Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/HENRY Y LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654