DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 12/31/2024 and 07/01/2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, line 8, the limitation “at least the size of the side lobe width” should be changed to “at least a size of the side lobe width” because there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation “the size” in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: The claims are directed to a machine/system/apparatus or a process/method, and therefore satisfy step 1 of the subject matter eligibility test.
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claims recite the following limitations that are directed to judicial exceptions (abstract ideas): “measure a subject thickness in the phase encoding direction using the one-dimensional projection data” in claim 1 and similarly in claim 12; “calculate, based on the subject thickness, an excitation thickness and an excitation position of a saturation pulse applied outside an imaging area within the subject in the phase encoding direction when performing the main imaging” in claim 1 and similarly in claim 12; “measure the subject thickness outside the imaging area in the phase encoding direction based on the signal profile” in claim 3; “specify a position where a signal of the subject becomes a prescribed value in the phase encoding direction based on the signal profile, and measure the subject thickness by measuring a distance between the specified position and an edge position of the imaging area in the phase encoding direction” in claim 4; “calculate the excitation thickness and the excitation position of the saturation pulse based on the subject thickness, a center position of the imaging area, and a size of the imaging area” in claim 5; “calculate a side lobe width of the saturation pulse, and calculate the excitation thickness and the excitation position of the saturation pulse such that the saturation pulse is applied with a space away from the imaging area by at least the size of the side lobe width” in claim 6; “wherein the excitation thickness is a thickness of the saturation pulse in the phase encoding direction” in claim 10; and “wherein the excitation position is a position of the saturation pulse in the phase encoding direction” in claim 11; etc., which recite either mathematical concepts and/or mental processes that can be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pen and paper.
Step 2A, Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea (i.e., the mental processes and/or mathematical concepts) as the generically recited computer elements only amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on the machine. Additional elements include the “processing circuitry” in claims 1-7, and other elements/components capable of performing the mere data gathering steps as claimed (i.e., “acquire one-dimensional projection data in a phase encoding direction of a subject to be a target of main imaging” in claim 1 and similarly in claim 12; “acquire the one-dimensional projection data by collecting the one-dimensional projection data in the phase encoding direction by exciting a slice imaging range including a slice of the subject captured in the main imaging” in claim 2; “acquire a signal profile indicating a signal distribution of the subject in the phase encoding direction from the one-dimensional projection data” in claim 3; “acquire the one-dimensional projection data by generating the one-dimensional projection data in the phase encoding direction from imaging data for positioning the subject collected before performing the main imaging” in claim 7; “wherein the one-dimensional projection data is nuclear magnetic resonance data collected by applying only a gradient magnetic field in the phase encoding direction without applying a gradient magnetic field in a frequency encoding direction and a gradient magnetic field in a slice selective excitation direction” in claim 8; and “wherein the saturation pulse applied outside the imaging area in the phase encoding direction is an outer volume suppression (OVS) pulse” in claim 9), etc., which are components recited at a high level of generality that merely links the judicial exception to a particular technological environment and/or a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea.
Step 2B: For similar reasons set forth above, the additional limitations also do not provide an inventive concept that would be substantially more than the judicial exception. Adding insignificant extra-solutionary activity to the judicial exception, e.g., the mere data gathering steps of the claims in conjunction with an abstract idea, does not qualify as “significantly more” when recited in a claim with a judicial exception.
Conclusion: Claims 1-12 are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Neji et al. (US 2019/0302208 A1, with publication date 10/03/2019, hereinafter Neji).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Neji discloses a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus (and a corresponding magnetic resonance imaging method), comprising: processing circuitry (see, e.g., Para. [0082], “The MR apparatus may be operable to perform the method described above in relation to the first aspect”, and Para. [0083], “The invention also encompasses a non-transitory, computer-readable medium having instructions recorded thereon which, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform the method of the first aspect”, and Abstract) configured to:
acquire one-dimensional projection data in a phase encoding direction of a subject to be a target of main imaging (see, e.g., Para. [0041], “For at least one of the plurality of MR pulse sequences, the spatially selective preparation pulse may be generated to excite the region of interest of the subject and adjacent regions of the subject”, and Para. [0088-0092], specifically Para. [0091], “MR imaging data is acquired during the generation of the plurality of imaging sequences 105, 107”);
measure a subject thickness in the phase encoding direction using the one-dimensional projection data (see, e.g., Para. [0041], “For at least one of the plurality of MR pulse sequences, the spatially selective preparation pulse may be generated to excite the region of interest of the subject and adjacent regions of the subject. The spatially selective preparation pulse may be arranged to excite, in total, a region of a subject's tissue that has a thickness (T.sub.Total) which is N times the thickness of that tissue imaged by an excitation pulse of the plurality of imaging sequences (T.sub.ROI). N is referred to as “inversion-to-excitation slice thickness” ratio and is defined as N=T.sub.Total/T.sub.ROI. That is, the total thickness of the region excited by the spatially selective preparation pulse (T.sub.Total) may have a thickness N times the thickness of the region of the interest (T.sub.ROI) imaged by the plurality of imaging sequences”, and similarly Para. [0095], where the disclosed “a region of a subject's tissue that has a thickness (T.sub.Total)” that is defined/calculated corresponds to the claimed “subject thickness” that is measured); and
calculate, based on the subject thickness, an excitation thickness and an excitation position of a saturation pulse applied outside an imaging area within the subject in the phase encoding direction when performing the main imaging (see, e.g., Para. [0041], “For at least one of the plurality of MR pulse sequences, the spatially selective preparation pulse may be generated to excite the region of interest of the subject and adjacent regions of the subject. The spatially selective preparation pulse may be arranged to excite, in total, a region of a subject's tissue that has a thickness (T.sub.Total) which is N times the thickness of that tissue imaged by an excitation pulse of the plurality of imaging sequences (T.sub.ROI). N is referred to as “inversion-to-excitation slice thickness” ratio and is defined as N=T.sub.Total/T.sub.ROI. That is, the total thickness of the region excited by the spatially selective preparation pulse (T.sub.Total) may have a thickness N times the thickness of the region of the interest (T.sub.ROI) imaged by the plurality of imaging sequences”, and similarly Para. [0095], where the disclosed “the thickness of that tissue imaged by an excitation pulse of the plurality of imaging sequences (T.sub.ROI)” that is defined/calculated corresponds to the overall excitation region that includes/defines the claimed “excitation thickness” and “excitation position” that is calculated, and Para. [0009], “Here, a saturation pulse refers to a 90 degrees excitation pulse that acts to tip the initial longitudinal magnetization of a subject's tissue into the transverse magnetization plane. The saturation pulse is applied to the whole of the subject, and image acquisition is applied to a selected region or slice of the subject as a whole. The saturation pulse is followed by magnetic spoiling gradients in order to destroy the transverse magnetization”, and Para. [0099], “The present invention is not limited to sequences using inversion pulses 101 and instead the excitation pulse 101 may be saturation pulse”).
Regarding claim 2, Neji discloses the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Neji further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to acquire the one-dimensional projection data by collecting the one-dimensional projection data in the phase encoding direction by exciting a slice imaging range including a slice of the subject captured in the main imaging (see, e.g., Para. [0041], “For at least one of the plurality of MR pulse sequences, the spatially selective preparation pulse may be generated to excite the region of interest of the subject and adjacent regions of the subject”, and Para. [0088-0092], specifically Para. [0089], “The sequence starts by generating a spatially selective preparation pulse 101, 103 for exciting a region of interest of the subject. The generation of the spatially selective preparation pulse 101, 103 is triggered by the ECG pulse 109. The spatially selective preparation pulse comprises an excitation pulse 101 which is an inversion pulse 101 in this example implementation and a magnetic field gradient 103 which is generated along a first spatial axis. In this example implementation, the magnetic field gradient 103 is generated along the slice select axis, and is thus a slice selective magnetic field gradient 103”, and Para. [0091], “MR imaging data is acquired during the generation of the plurality of imaging sequences 105, 107”).
Regarding claim 3, Neji discloses the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Neji further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to acquire a signal profile indicating a signal distribution of the subject in the phase encoding direction from the one-dimensional projection data (see, e.g., Para. [0041], “For at least one of the plurality of MR pulse sequences, the spatially selective preparation pulse may be generated to excite the region of interest of the subject and adjacent regions of the subject”, and Para. [0088-0092], specifically Para. [0091], “MR imaging data is acquired during the generation of the plurality of imaging sequences 105, 107”), and measure the subject thickness outside the imaging area in the phase encoding direction based on the signal profile (see, e.g., Para. [0041], “For at least one of the plurality of MR pulse sequences, the spatially selective preparation pulse may be generated to excite the region of interest of the subject and adjacent regions of the subject. The spatially selective preparation pulse may be arranged to excite, in total, a region of a subject's tissue that has a thickness (T.sub.Total) which is N times the thickness of that tissue imaged by an excitation pulse of the plurality of imaging sequences (T.sub.ROI). N is referred to as “inversion-to-excitation slice thickness” ratio and is defined as N=T.sub.Total/T.sub.ROI. That is, the total thickness of the region excited by the spatially selective preparation pulse (T.sub.Total) may have a thickness N times the thickness of the region of the interest (T.sub.ROI) imaged by the plurality of imaging sequences”, and similarly Para. [0095], where the disclosed “a region of a subject's tissue that has a thickness (T.sub.Total)” that is defined/calculated corresponds to the claimed “subject thickness” that is measured).
Regarding claim 5, Neji discloses the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Neji further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to calculate the excitation thickness and the excitation position of the saturation pulse based on the subject thickness, a center position of the imaging area, and a size of the imaging area (see, e.g., Para. [0041], “For at least one of the plurality of MR pulse sequences, the spatially selective preparation pulse may be generated to excite the region of interest of the subject and adjacent regions of the subject. The spatially selective preparation pulse may be arranged to excite, in total, a region of a subject's tissue that has a thickness (T.sub.Total) which is N times the thickness of that tissue imaged by an excitation pulse of the plurality of imaging sequences (T.sub.ROI). N is referred to as “inversion-to-excitation slice thickness” ratio and is defined as N=T.sub.Total/T.sub.ROI. That is, the total thickness of the region excited by the spatially selective preparation pulse (T.sub.Total) may have a thickness N times the thickness of the region of the interest (T.sub.ROI) imaged by the plurality of imaging sequences”, and similarly Para. [0095], where the disclosed “the thickness of that tissue imaged by an excitation pulse of the plurality of imaging sequences (T.sub.ROI)” that is defined/calculated corresponds to the overall excitation region that includes/defines the claimed “excitation thickness” and “excitation position” that is calculated, and Para. [0009], “Here, a saturation pulse refers to a 90 degrees excitation pulse that acts to tip the initial longitudinal magnetization of a subject's tissue into the transverse magnetization plane. The saturation pulse is applied to the whole of the subject, and image acquisition is applied to a selected region or slice of the subject as a whole. The saturation pulse is followed by magnetic spoiling gradients in order to destroy the transverse magnetization”, and Para. [0099], “The present invention is not limited to sequences using inversion pulses 101 and instead the excitation pulse 101 may be saturation pulse”).
Regarding claim 7, Neji discloses the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Neji further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to acquire the one-dimensional projection data by generating the one-dimensional projection data in the phase encoding direction from imaging data for positioning the subject collected before performing the main imaging (see, e.g., Para. [0041], “For at least one of the plurality of MR pulse sequences, the spatially selective preparation pulse may be generated to excite the region of interest of the subject and adjacent regions of the subject”, and Para. [0088-0092], specifically Para. [0089], “The sequence starts by generating a spatially selective preparation pulse 101, 103 for exciting a region of interest of the subject. The generation of the spatially selective preparation pulse 101, 103 is triggered by the ECG pulse 109. The spatially selective preparation pulse comprises an excitation pulse 101 which is an inversion pulse 101 in this example implementation and a magnetic field gradient 103 which is generated along a first spatial axis. In this example implementation, the magnetic field gradient 103 is generated along the slice select axis, and is thus a slice selective magnetic field gradient 103”, and Para. [0091], “MR imaging data is acquired during the generation of the plurality of imaging sequences 105, 107”).
Regarding claim 8, Neji discloses the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Neji further discloses wherein the one-dimensional projection data is nuclear magnetic resonance data collected by applying only a gradient magnetic field in the phase encoding direction without applying a gradient magnetic field in a frequency encoding direction and a gradient magnetic field in a slice selective excitation direction (see, e.g., Para. [0041], “For at least one of the plurality of MR pulse sequences, the spatially selective preparation pulse may be generated to excite the region of interest of the subject and adjacent regions of the subject”, and Para. [0088-0092], specifically Para. [0089], “The sequence starts by generating a spatially selective preparation pulse 101, 103 for exciting a region of interest of the subject. The generation of the spatially selective preparation pulse 101, 103 is triggered by the ECG pulse 109. The spatially selective preparation pulse comprises an excitation pulse 101 which is an inversion pulse 101 in this example implementation and a magnetic field gradient 103 which is generated along a first spatial axis. In this example implementation, the magnetic field gradient 103 is generated along the slice select axis, and is thus a slice selective magnetic field gradient 103”, and Para. [0091], “MR imaging data is acquired during the generation of the plurality of imaging sequences 105, 107”).
Regarding claim 10, Neji discloses the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Neji further discloses wherein the excitation thickness is a thickness of the saturation pulse in the phase encoding direction (see, e.g., Para. [0041], “For at least one of the plurality of MR pulse sequences, the spatially selective preparation pulse may be generated to excite the region of interest of the subject and adjacent regions of the subject. The spatially selective preparation pulse may be arranged to excite, in total, a region of a subject's tissue that has a thickness (T.sub.Total) which is N times the thickness of that tissue imaged by an excitation pulse of the plurality of imaging sequences (T.sub.ROI). N is referred to as “inversion-to-excitation slice thickness” ratio and is defined as N=T.sub.Total/T.sub.ROI. That is, the total thickness of the region excited by the spatially selective preparation pulse (T.sub.Total) may have a thickness N times the thickness of the region of the interest (T.sub.ROI) imaged by the plurality of imaging sequences”, and similarly Para. [0095], where the disclosed “the thickness of that tissue imaged by an excitation pulse of the plurality of imaging sequences (T.sub.ROI)” that is defined/calculated corresponds to the overall excitation region that includes/defines the claimed “excitation thickness” and “excitation position” that is calculated, and Para. [0009], “Here, a saturation pulse refers to a 90 degrees excitation pulse that acts to tip the initial longitudinal magnetization of a subject's tissue into the transverse magnetization plane. The saturation pulse is applied to the whole of the subject, and image acquisition is applied to a selected region or slice of the subject as a whole. The saturation pulse is followed by magnetic spoiling gradients in order to destroy the transverse magnetization”, and Para. [0099], “The present invention is not limited to sequences using inversion pulses 101 and instead the excitation pulse 101 may be saturation pulse”).
Regarding claim 11, Neji discloses the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Neji further discloses wherein the excitation position is a position of the saturation pulse in the phase encoding direction (see, e.g., Para. [0041], “For at least one of the plurality of MR pulse sequences, the spatially selective preparation pulse may be generated to excite the region of interest of the subject and adjacent regions of the subject. The spatially selective preparation pulse may be arranged to excite, in total, a region of a subject's tissue that has a thickness (T.sub.Total) which is N times the thickness of that tissue imaged by an excitation pulse of the plurality of imaging sequences (T.sub.ROI). N is referred to as “inversion-to-excitation slice thickness” ratio and is defined as N=T.sub.Total/T.sub.ROI. That is, the total thickness of the region excited by the spatially selective preparation pulse (T.sub.Total) may have a thickness N times the thickness of the region of the interest (T.sub.ROI) imaged by the plurality of imaging sequences”, and similarly Para. [0095], where the disclosed “the thickness of that tissue imaged by an excitation pulse of the plurality of imaging sequences (T.sub.ROI)” that is defined/calculated corresponds to the overall excitation region that includes/defines the claimed “excitation thickness” and “excitation position” that is calculated, and Para. [0009], “Here, a saturation pulse refers to a 90 degrees excitation pulse that acts to tip the initial longitudinal magnetization of a subject's tissue into the transverse magnetization plane. The saturation pulse is applied to the whole of the subject, and image acquisition is applied to a selected region or slice of the subject as a whole. The saturation pulse is followed by magnetic spoiling gradients in order to destroy the transverse magnetization”, and Para. [0099], “The present invention is not limited to sequences using inversion pulses 101 and instead the excitation pulse 101 may be saturation pulse”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neji (US 2019/0302208 A1), as applied to claim 3 above, in view of Starck, G. (NPL: Starck, G., “Measurement accuracy - Applications in X-ray computed tomography (CT) dose reduction and magnetic resonance spectroscopy (MRS) volume selection”, Departments of Radiation Physics and Radiology, Goteborg University, Oct. 2000, DOI:10.13140/2.1.3776.8484; hereinafter Starck).
Regarding claim 4, Neji discloses the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 3, as set forth above. Neji does not specifically disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to specify a position where a signal of the subject becomes a prescribed value in the phase encoding direction based on the signal profile, and measure the subject thickness by measuring a distance between the specified position and an edge position of the imaging area in the phase encoding direction.
However, in the same field of endeavor of medical imaging, Starck discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to specify a position where a signal of the subject becomes a prescribed value in the phase encoding direction based on the signal profile, and measure the subject thickness by measuring a distance between the specified position and an edge position of the imaging area in the phase encoding direction (see, e.g., Pages 37-46, and more particularly, Fig. 10 on pg. 38, where it seems that the “signal profiles in three perpendicular directions” includes the phase-encoding signal profile (Y), and where it seems that the “iVOI size” (i.e., a size of an object could be considered to correspond to a thickness) may be obtained from the broadening/FWHM in the profile (see, for example, pg. 42, under “Volume selection performance”), and where a specified position could include an end point of the FWHM and the “edge position” could correspond to the other point of the FWHM as it would occur at an edge region of the imaging/signal area in the phase encoding profile; also note that in the description of Fig. 10, it is set forth that the iVOI size is 40x40x40 units, and based on the plot in Fig. 10, this does appear to correspond to the FWHM/width of the signal profile in the y/phase encoding profile, so it does seem that a thickness in one direction of the volume is determined by 2 points in the phase encoding profile).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus of Neji by including wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to specify a position where a signal of the subject becomes a prescribed value in the phase encoding direction based on the signal profile, and measure the subject thickness by measuring a distance between the specified position and an edge position of the imaging area in the phase encoding direction, as disclosed by Starck. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the magnetic field homogeneity in the signal source and in order to reduce the deviations in magnetic flux density, as recognized by Starck (see, e.g., Page 46, lines 23-39).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neji (US 2019/0302208 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Harder et al. (US 2012/0025824 A1, with publication date 02/02/2012, hereinafter Harder).
Regarding claim 9, Neji discloses the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above. Neji does not specifically disclose wherein the saturation pulse applied outside the imaging area in the phase encoding direction is an outer volume suppression (OVS) pulse.
However, in the same field of endeavor of magnetic resonance imaging, Harder discloses wherein the saturation pulse applied outside the imaging area in the phase encoding direction is an outer volume suppression (OVS) pulse (see, e.g., Para. [0014], “The regions next to the respective partial region are saturated via spatially selective saturation bands ("Outer Volume Suppression") so that the measurement signals acquired from the corresponding slice have no portion from these saturated regions. The spatial saturation of the regions next to the respective partial region occurs in order to suppress movement artifacts, aliasing artifacts or other interfering image signals”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus of Neji by including wherein the saturation pulse applied outside the imaging area in the phase encoding direction is an outer volume suppression (OVS) pulse, as disclosed by Harder. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to suppress movement artifacts, aliasing artifacts or other interfering image signals, as recognized by Harder (see, e.g., Para. [0014]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 6, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation “wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to calculate a side lobe width of the saturation pulse, and calculate the excitation thickness and the excitation position of the saturation pulse such that the saturation pulse is applied with a space away from the imaging area by at least the size of the side lobe width” (emphasis herein added), as recited in dependent claim 6, in combination with all other claimed elements. Therefore, claim 6 would be allowable in light of the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art Made Of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nishihara et al. (WO 2014/045936 A1) and Riederer et al. (US 2015/0247910 A1) are each in the same field of endeavor of magnetic resonance imaging.
Nishihara et al. (WO 2014/045936 A1) discloses “When the diameter of the main lobe 531 by the 2DRF pulse 501 is X.sub.1 and the diameter of the side lobe 532 is WX.sub.1, the following equations (3) and (4) are established. […] Therefore, if ΔF is determined so that the diameter WX.sub.1 of the side lobe 532 by the 2DRF pulse 501 is equal to the diameter 4X.sub.0 TΔF / TBW.sub.1 of the main lobe 531s of the sub 2DRF pulse 501s, as shown in FIG. The side lobe 532 by the 2DRF pulse 501 and the main lobe 531s of the sub 2DRF pulse 501s are at the same position” (see Pages 15-16 of the machine-generated English translation herein provided by the examiner), in which a determination of the diameter (i.e., thickness) of the side lobe is discussed and optimizing the excitation pulse is discussed; however, it does not appear that this reference teaches that the diameter/thickness/width of the side lobe is ultimately used to calculate the excitation position, etc., as claimed in claim 6; and
Riederer et al. (US 2015/0247910 A1) discloses performing a pulse sequence, etc., “to have a primary two-dimensional cross-correlation 10- to 1000-fold larger than the primary side-lobe” (see Para. [0022]), however, it does not appear that this reference teaches actually defining the excitation pulse position, etc., to be away from the image area, as claimed in claim 6.
Conclusion
/T.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798