DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 17 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2, 5 – 11, and 13 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (CN219192311), cited by Applicant. In regard to claim 1, Cheng discloses a height-adjustable seat apparatus comprising a frame (Fig. 1, item 7), a seat (Fig. 1, unnumbered seat), a base attached to the frame, the base including an inner wall that defines, at least in part, a chamber that extends along a first axis, the inner wall defining a plurality of height slots that are spaced along the first axis, each height slot extending parallel to a second axis that is orthogonal to the first axis (Fig. 3, items 2 and 220), a lifting platform attached to the seat, the lifting platform disposed in the chamber and configured to slidably engage the base within the chamber so as to position the seat vertically relative to the base (Fig. 3, item 3), a positioning body slidably disposed on the lifting platform, the positioning body having first and second ends, the second end closer to the inner wall of the base than the first end (Fig. 3, items 41A and 41B), a spring configured to apply a bias force on the positioning body to slide the positioning body in a first direction, parallel to the second axis, from an unlocked position to a locked position (Fig. 3, item 43), and an unlocking platform having an engaged state in which the locking platform mechanically engages the first end of the positioning body to slide the positioning body in a second direction, parallel to the second axis, from the locked position to the unlocked position and a disengaged state in which the locking platform is mechanically disengaged from the first end of the positioning body (Fig. 3, item 30), wherein when the positioning slot is aligned in a same horizontal plane as one of the height slots and the positioning body is in the locked position, the second end of the positioning body is disposed in the one of the height slots to transition the lifting platform into a locked state in which the position of the lifting platform with respect to the base is locked to thereby set a height of the seat, the height corresponding to a vertical position of the one of the height slots along the inner wall of the base, and when the positioning body is in the unlocked position, the second end of the positioning body is not disposed in any of the height slots to transition the lifting platform into an unlocked state in which the lifting platform can slide within the chamber so as to position the seat vertically relative to the base (Figs. 3 and 4).
In regard to claim 2, Cheng discloses a sleeve releasably attached to a first end of the lifting platform, the first end of the lifting platform disposed closer to the seat than a second end of the lifting platform (Fig. 3, top portion of item 3).
In regard to claim 5, Cheng discloses wherein the sleeve includes a linkage body configured to transmit a linkage body force to the unlocking platform (Fig. 4, item 45).
In regard to claim 6, Cheng discloses wherein the lifting platform includes a main body that defines a first sliding groove that extends parallel to the second axis, the positioning body disposed within the first sliding groove (Fig. 3, gap in which items 41A and 41B reside).
In regard to claim 7, Cheng discloses wherein the main body includes an outer wall that is in direct physical contact with the inner wall of the base (Figs. 3 and 6).
In regard to claim 8, Cheng discloses wherein a second sliding groove is defined in the main body, the second sliding groove extending parallel to the first axis, the unlocking platform disposed within the second sliding groove to vertically position the unlocking platform, the second sliding groove extending to the first sliding groove (Fig. 3, inner surface of item 22).
In regard to claim 9, Cheng discloses wherein the lifting platform including first and second ends, the first end of the lifting platform disposed closer to the seat than the second end of the lifting platform, the first end of the lifting platform disposed away from an upper surface of the base, the second end of the lifting platform disposed within the second sliding groove (Figs. 3 and 6).
In regard to claim 10, Cheng discloses wherein the positioning body is a first positioning body, the inner wall is a first inner wall, the height slots are first height slots, and the apparatus further comprises a second positioning body disposed within the first sliding groove, the first and second positioning bodies on opposing sides of the first sliding groove, wherein the base includes a second inner wall that defines, at least in part, the chamber, the second inner wall defining a plurality of second height slots that are spaced along the first axis, each second height slot extending parallel to the second axis and aligned with a respective first height slot (Figs. 3 and 6, items 41A, 41B, and right and left instances of item 220).
In regard to claims 11 and 14, Cheng discloses wherein each of the first and second positioning bodies includes a respective first end and a respective second end, the respective first end disposed further away from a respective inner wall than the respective second end, the respective first end includes a first inclined contact surface, an end face of the unlocking platform includes a pair of second inclined surfaces that are configured to mechanically contact the first inclined contact surface on the respective first end of the first and second positioning bodies, and the respective second end has a complementary shape to respective height slots (Fig. 6, items 411, 412, 421, and 422).
In regard to claim 13, Cheng discloses wherein the respective first and second ends of each of the first and second positioning bodies are connected by a respective connecting piece (Figs. 3 and 6).
In regard to claims 15 and 16, Cheng discloses a pair of apparatuses and a plurality of wheels attached to the frame (Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is allowed.
Claims 3 – 4 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Cheng et al. (CN219192311) discloses a height adjustable seat similar to the instant invention; however Cheng, either alone or in combination, neither discloses nor suggests a height adjustable seat wherein (in regard to claim 3) the first end of the lifting platform includes first and second latches, each of the first and second latches configured to detachably clamp a complementary portion of the sleeve, and (in regard to claims 12 and 17) first and second springs configured to apply a respective bias force on the first and second positioning bodies, respectively, to slide each positioning body outwardly, in a first direction parallel to the second axis, from a respective unlocked position to a respective locked position. These limitations, in combination with each and every other independent claim limitation, are not shown in the currently cited prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Saville et al. (7,789,402) disclose a stroller with seat height adjustment;
Ahnert et al. (8,029,014) disclose a stroller with synchronized seat height adjustment;
Saville et al. (8,128,119) disclose a stroller with foldable frame and adjustable handle;
Zhong (12,630,209) discloses a seat and baby carriage;
Guo et al. (CN204688186) disclose a seat connecting mechanism for a baby carriage.
/JOHN D WALTERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613