DETAILED ACTION
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. Information Disclosure Statements filed 12/31/2024 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
3. In light of Applicants amendment, the following rejections are new:
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 9-12 and 14-26 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Woodson (US Patent 5,462,644), Ehrensberger et al. (US 20150073491), and Siegel et al. (US 20070286907), Eberli et al. (US 2013/0123756), Sandvik et al. “Direct Electric Current Treatment under Physiological Saline Conditions Kills Staphylococcus epidermidis Biofilms via Electrolytic Generation of Hypochlorous Acid”, Stumm et al. DE102010013718, Wei et al. “Influence of electric current on bacterial viability in wastewater treatment”, Costerton et al.( US Patent 5312813) and Leighton et al. (US 20120227761).
Woodson disclose using an electrolytic method for removing biofilm from implants comprising applying an aqueous liquid medium and applying an electric field to the electrically conductive medium (abstract and claims 1-16). The solutions are electrolyte solutions that contain strong electrolytes such as sodium and calcium (col. 9, lines 24-30). The electrolytic solutions include Clark and Lubs solutions, glycine-HCl, citric acid-Na2HPO4 (col. 9. lines 31-44). The electrolyte solution preferably contains disinfectants or sterilants, such as active chlorines, quaternary ammonium compounds, heavy metals, peroxides and aldehydes (col. 9. lines 50-53). Woodson discloses for treating infected regions in vivo, the electric field may be applied across the effected region by a non-invasive electrical field generating device (col. 3, lines 60-63). Woodson disclose method for disinfecting or sterilizing devices infected with biofilms with an electrolytic solution and applying an electric field (col. 3, lines 22-55). Woodson discloses device (component that is employed as an electrode that is electrically connected to a current or voltage source (see Fig. 3, col. 5, lines 31-40 electrodes 34 and 36 and voltage source 38). Woodson addressed applying aqueous medium which is electrically conductive and used in vivo. For in vivo treatment of biofilm infection, the treatment method may be monitored, for example, by assaying for infecting microorganisms systemically or near the site of biofilm infection.
Woodson et al. does not specifically disclose the dental implant has a portion implanted in a subject and a portion not implanted, using the portion not implanted as a first electrode and a second electrode that is in contact with the aqueous solution or passing current density from the portion not implanted through the surface of the dental implant to generate hydrogen gas bubbles.
Ehrensberger et al. (US 20150073491) disclose this invention can be used for transcutaneous medical devices or medical devices that are contained completely internal when implanted. One such embodiment is shown in FIG. 8. The apparatus 80 comprises a potentiostatic electrical stimulation unit 84. In the case of osseointegrated prosthetic limbs, or dental implants, or external fixator pins the transcutaneous abutment 86 or pin may directly be connected to the potentiostatic electrical stimulation unit 84 so that the implant 82 (including abutment 86) functions as the working electrode. Skin surface electrodes 81 may be carbonized conductive silicone rubber electrodes or gel-type stimulating electrodes would be utilized as the counter electrode and would be connected using wire 83 to the potentiostatic electrical stimulation unit 84. A pellet, wire, or disc-type Ag/AgCl reference electrode 87 would also be placed on the skin 88 in close proximity to the transcutaneous site and would be connected to the potentiostatic electrical stimulation unit 84 (para 0043 and Fig. 8). Alternatively, completely internal implants may be treated in a minimally invasive manner by inserting an electrically conductive material (sterile wire or sterile needle) to contact the implant and connect it, as a working electrode, to an external potentiostatic as shown in Figure 9 (para 0044). Surgical techniques can also be employed to attach to the implant an electrical attachment, such as a sterile wire 94, connected to the implant and implanted such that at any time post-implantation, the electrical attachment can be accessed and connected to a voltage source. Skin surface electrodes 92, such as carbonized conductive silicone rubber electrodes or gel-type stimulating electrodes would be utilized as the counter electrode and would be connected using a lead 93 to the potentiostatic electrical stimulation unit 91. Ehrensberger et al. disclose an apparatus for reducing or preventing the growth of microbes on the surface of an object, the apparatus comprising: a reference electrode; a counter electrode; an electrical lead configured for attachment to the object such that, when attached, the object acts as a working electrode; and a potentiostatic device in electrical communication with the electrical lead, the counter electrode, and the reference electrode, the potentiostatic device configured to: pass electrical current through the working and counter electrodes when the object is attached to the electrical lead; and vary the current through the counter electrode such that the electric potential of the working electrode is substantially constant relative to an electric potential of the reference electrode, and the electric potential of the working electrode is chosen such that the growth of microbes on the object is reduced or prevented. The object is of such material that it can act as a working electrode. In another embodiment, the invention provides a method of reducing the number or preventing the growth of microbes in the tissues or fluids in proximity to the object (para 0007). Dental implants are disclosed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a device such as taught in Woodson to provide electrical current and where a portion is implanted and another is not implanted which and forming an electric current as taught in devices shown in Ehrensberger et al. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of reducing/preventing the growth of microbes and biofilm. Methods for disinfecting or sterilizing devices infected with biofilms with electrolytic solution and applying an electric field are known in the art and the manner at which said electrical current device is applied (i.e., part implanted and other not implanted) are limitations drawn to the device used however, the method is directed to “electrolytic method for removing a biofilm from a component”. The combined teachings of Woodson and Ehrensberger provide such devices for use in methods of removing a biofilm from implants.
Woodson does not disclose the aqueous medium is acid/metallic salt having conductivity.
Siegel et al. disclose in Example 1 a formulation containing 2.45 % Sodium iodine (metal salt), 10 wt % Potassium phosphate monohydrate, 15.8 % Citric acid (organic acid), 0.42 % Sodium perborate monohydrate and water.. Citric acid is an alpha hydroxyl carbonic acid. The pH is 2.2-3.6 which overlaps. Sodium is an alkali metal.
The current density as claimed is not taught.
Eberli et al. (US 2013/0123756) (hereinafter Eberli et al. ) disclose placement of a medical device (i.e., for urological tract) that contains a power source that is operable to apply the current in a manner to generate a surface current density between 10 nA/mm2; 1 nA/mm2=0.001 A/m2) and 10,000. Eberli et al. disclose if the current density is too low, its effect might not be sufficient to reduce bacterial growth and biofilm formation to the desired degree. On the other hand, if the current density is too high, increased electrophoretic and electrolytic/electrochemical effects might lead to undesired side effects (para 0017).
Wei et al. “Influence of electric current on bacterial viability in wastewater treatment” disclose that a current density of 6.2A/m2 and that below this threshold the bactericidal viability was not significantly affected by the electrical current exhibiting less than 10 % of death percentage (see conclusion). When using higher currents, the viability of the bacterial was decreased, which is also related to a more alkaline environment.
Sandvik et al. “Direct Electric Current Treatment under Physiological Saline Conditions Kills Staphylococcus epidermidis Biofilms via Electrolytic Generation of Hypochlorous Acid” disclose that biofilm reductions are dose responsive with increased killing observed with increased current density (see bottom left of page 11).Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that increasing the current density would have the effect of increased killing of the biofilm. The current is recognized as a result effective variable where the higher the current, the increased killing of the biofilm is achieved. This is the same concept disclosed in Wei that with the use of higher currents, the viability of bacteria decreases. Applicants have not demonstrated any criticality to the current density.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to optimize the amount of current density. One would have been motivated to do so because the current density is recognized as an result-effective variable which is optimized to be sufficient to reduce bacterial growth but not too high where there would be undesirable side effects. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Costerton et al.( US Patent 5312813) disclose methods of killing microorganisms from a biofilm on a surface which can be a implanted medical device where the surface is contacted with an aqueous medium containing the biocide and where a voltage is applied across the biofilm sufficient to produce killing of such microorganisms forming the biofilm thus the surface of the “surface expance” is the surface of an implantable device (claims 1, 5, 6, and 9). Thus, Costerton provides a teaching that a aqueous medium as well as the surface of the implant can be treated with a current density to kill microorganisms which make up the biofilm.
Costerton et al. disclose methods of killing biofilms on implant surfaces in a patient (abstract) and where an electric field is applied across the surface containing the biofilm (abstract). Costerton et al. disclose the electric field used for potentiating biocidal effect is itself safe and generally easy to generate, either by direct connection to a voltage source, or by magnetic induction (col. lines 58-66). The invention includes a body implantable device designed for use in biofilm reduction, in accordance with the treatment methods disclosed and the device has one or more surfaces, or surface expanses which are exposed to body fluids, and on which biofilm formation can occur. Electrode structure in the device is designed for generating an electric field whose strength is sufficient to produced increased leakage of cellular contents from microorganisms which form the biofilm (col. 10, lines 37-51). The methods are used for treating biofilm infection in the body, by applying an electric filed across an internal biofilm surface and the method is applicable to disease conditions which involves biofilm growth on a natural tissue surface or bio-implant device (col. 9, lines 8-13). In the case of biofilm growth on a surface of a bio-implant device, the device itself is preferably provided with at least one electrode, for applying a non-ground voltage to the electrode. (col. 9, lines 13-17). Electric field is applied via a voltage source (all of column 7 and col. 2, lines 65-68). It is recognized that biofilms adhere to teeth (col. 1, lines 45-48). The polarity of the electrodes are changed (switched) every 64 seconds (Example 3). A pair of electrodes is used and a voltage potential across the electrodes is applied as indicated by + (i.e., anode) and – (i.e., cathode) electric polarity symbols on the electrodes. As seen, ions (charges solute species, indicated by + and – symbols) in the biofilm and surrounding aqueous medium serve as current carriers between the two electrodes with ion migration occurring in the aqueous medium and through the biofilm in the direction of the arrows in the figure (bottom of col, 4- top of col. 5). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to have the component (i.e., implant) employed as an electrode that is electrically connected to a current or voltage source. One would have been motivated to do so to in view of Joshi and Costerton to discharge an electrical current through body fluids of the implantee to generate a beneficial agent for removing biofilm. Electrode structure in the device is designed for generating an electric field whose strength is sufficient to produced increased leakage of cellular contents from microorganisms which form the biofilm. Thus, Costerton provides a teaching that a aqueous medium as well as the surface of the implant can be treated with a current density to kill microorganisms which make up the biofilm.
With regards to formation of hydrogen gas bubbles, Leighton et al. (US 20120227761) disclose methods for cleaning (biofilm) removal of implants and that such cleaning can be achieved by a liquid (e.g., water) containing gas bubbles (para 0114-0115). A method of gas bubble generation that is preferred includes electrochemical in situ generation of gas bubbles by electrolytic decomposition of the water in the liquid flow. The electrical energy electrolytically decomposes water to generate streams of bubbles of both oxygen and hydrogen gas which are directed towards the target surface to be cleaned (para 0086). Therefore, the use of the electrochemical method would provide for production of hydrogen gas bubbles which are known methods for sterilization.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply the solutions of Siegel et al. as the "electrically conductive solution" in Woodson for removing biofilms from implants implanted in subjects as taught by Woodson. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of killing microorganisms that form a biofilm.
The modified Woodson does not disclose carbon dioxide however, Stumm et al. DE102010013718 disclose that the germicidal effect is based on a chemical reaction of the microorganisms with CO2 (bottom of page 2). Thus carbon dioxide is a known germicidal agent.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to further include carbon dioxide in the electrolytic solution for sterilizing because one of ordinary skill in the art recognizes that this is an agent that has a germicidal effect due to its chemical reaction with microorganisms.
4. Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Woodson (US Patent 5,462,644), Ehrensberger et al. (US 20150073491), and Siegel et al. (US 20070286907) ), Eberli et al. (US 2013/0123756), Sandvik et al. “Direct Electric Current Treatment under Physiological Saline Conditions Kills Staphylococcus epidermidis Biofilms via Electrolytic Generation of Hypochlorous Acid”, Stumm et al. DE102010013718, Wei et al. “Influence of electric current on bacterial viability in wastewater treatment”, Costerton et al.( US Patent 5312813) and Leighton et al. (US 20120227761) as applied to claims 9-12 and 14-26 above, and further in view of Taft et al. (US 2012/0196251).
The modified Woodson et al. has been discussed supra. While “media duct that supplies aqueous liquid” is not explicitly taught.
Taft et al. (US 2012/0196251) discloses a treatment element 900 capable of being used with a dental implant part anchored in a patient’s jawbone (see figs. $A-E, 5d, 5g) the treatment element comprising a base body (the body of device 900) having a connecting system adapted to the dental implant part for mechanical.
Taft discloses connecting of the base body with the dental implant part and at least one media duct 950 for conducting a cleaning liquid (par. 0090), wherein the base body comprises a first conduction element 916 which forms an electric current path and is connectable with a dental implant part (par. 89-90), wherein the base body further comprises a second conduction element 910 electrically insulated from the first conduction element (pars. 89-90), the second conduction element forming an electric current path to a contact arranged on an end side of the second conducting element (see fig. 4e), the contact being positionable in a region proximate to the dental implant part (see fig. 4e). Taft further teaches wherein the second conduction element is formed by the at least one media duct (see fig.4e, the duct is by the second conduction element 910), wherein the second conduction element is constructed as an electrode mounted on the base body so as to be shiftable in a longitudinal direction substantially parallel to a central longitudinal axis of the base body (see fig 4e, the entire base body including the secondary conduction element, the electrode 910 is shiftable along the longitudinal axis, such that the instrument is moved up and down), with the second conducting element 910 is fixed on the base body so that the contact is positionable. Claim 13 is drawn solely to the device, however, the method is not drawn to a device, just that an electrolytic method for removing a biofilm which requires electrically conductive liquid which can be applied in alternative ways and is present as discussed supra. Nonetheless suppling it with a media duct is clearly envisioned by Taft.
5. Claims 9-12 and 14-26 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Woodson (US Patent 5,462,644), Ehrensberger et al. (US 20150073491), Siegel et al. (US 20070286907), Joshi et al. (US 20080147186) and Costerton et al. (US Patent 5, 312, 813) Eberli et al. (US 2013/0123756), Sandvik et al. “Direct Electric Current Treatment under Physiological Saline Conditions Kills Staphylococcus epidermidis Biofilms via Electrolytic Generation of Hypochlorous Acid”, Stumm et al. DE102010013718, Wei et al. “Influence of electric current on bacterial viability in wastewater treatment”, and Leighton et al. (US 20120227761).
Woodson disclose using an electrolytic method for removing biofilm from implants comprising applying an aqueous liquid medium and applying an electric field to the electrically conductive medium (abstract and claims 1-16). The solutions are electrolyte solutions that contain strong electrolytes such as sodium and calcium (col. 9, lines 24-30). The electrolytic solutions include Clark and Lubs solutions, glycine-HCl, citric acid-Na2HPO4 (col. 9. lines 31-44). The electrolyte solution preferably contains disinfectants or sterilants, such as active chlorines, quaternary ammonium compounds, heavy metals, peroxides and aldehydes (col. 9. lines 50-53). Woodson discloses for treating infected regions in vivo, the electric field may be applied across the effected region by a non-invasive electrical field generating device (col. 3, lines 60-63). Woodson disclose method for disinfecting or sterilizing devices infected with biofilms with an electrolytic solution and applying an electric field (col. 3, lines 22-55). Woodson discloses device (component that is employed as an electrode that is electrically connected to a current or voltage source (see Fig. 3, col. 5, lines 31-40 electrodes 34 and 36 and voltage source 38). Woodson addressed applying aqueous medium which is electrically conductive and used in vivo. For in vivo treatment of biofilm infection, the treatment method may be monitored, for example, by assaying for infecting microorganisms systemically or near the site of biofilm infection.
Woodson et al. does not specifically disclose the device has a portion that is implanted and one not implanted and electrically connecting the portion that is not implanted in the subject with a first electrode that is electrically connected to a current or voltage source, providing a second electrode in contact with the aqueous liquid and is electrically connected to the current or voltage source and forming an electric current between the first and second electrode by supplying a current to one of the first or second electrode whereupon the composition itself functions as a single electrode.
Ehrensberger et al. (US 20150073491) disclose this invention can be used for transcutaneous medical devices or medical devices that are contained completely internal when implanted. One such embodiment is shown in FIG. 8. The apparatus 80 comprises a potentiostatic electrical stimulation unit 84. In the case of osseointegrated prosthetic limbs, or dental implants, or external fixator pins the transcutaneous abutment 86 or pin may directly be connected to the potentiostatic electrical stimulation unit 84 so that the implant 82 (including abutment 86) functions as the working electrode. Skin surface electrodes 81 may be carbonized conductive silicone rubber electrodes or gel-type stimulating electrodes would be utilized as the counter electrode and would be connected using wire 83 to the potentiostatic electrical stimulation unit 84. A pellet, wire, or disc-type Ag/AgCl reference electrode 87 would also be placed on the skin 88 in close proximity to the transcutaneous site and would be connected to the potentiostatic electrical stimulation unit 84 (para 0043 and Fig. 8). Alternatively, completely internal implants may be treated in a minimally invasive manner by inserting an electrically conductive material (sterile wire or sterile needle) to contact the implant and connect it, as a working electrode, to an external potentiostatic as shown in Figure 9 (para 0044). Surgical techniques can also be employed to attach to the implant an electrical attachment, such as a sterile wire 94, connected to the implant and implanted such that at any time post-implantation, the electrical attachment can be accessed and connected to a voltage source. Skin surface electrodes 92, such as carbonized conductive silicone rubber electrodes or gel-type stimulating electrodes would be utilized as the counter electrode and would be connected using a lead 93 to the potentiostatic electrical stimulation unit 91. Ehrensberger et al. disclose an apparatus for reducing or preventing the growth of microbes on the surface of an object, the apparatus comprising: a reference electrode; a counter electrode; an electrical lead configured for attachment to the object such that, when attached, the object acts as a working electrode; and a potentiostatic device in electrical communication with the electrical lead, the counter electrode, and the reference electrode, the potentiostatic device configured to: pass electrical current through the working and counter electrodes when the object is attached to the electrical lead; and vary the current through the counter electrode such that the electric potential of the working electrode is substantially constant relative to an electric potential of the reference electrode, and the electric potential of the working electrode is chosen such that the growth of microbes on the object is reduced or prevented. The object is of such material that it can act as a working electrode. In another embodiment, the invention provides a method of reducing the number or preventing the growth of microbes in the tissues or fluids in proximity to the object (para 0007). Dental implants are disclosed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a device such as taught in Woodson to provide electrical current and where a portion is implanted and another is not implanted which contains electrodes which are connected to a voltage source and forming an electric current as taught in devices shown in Ehrensberger et al. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of reducing/preventing the growth of microbes and biofilm. Methods for disinfecting or sterilizing devices infected with biofilms with electrolytic solution and applying an electric field are known in the art and the manner at which said electrical current device is applied (i.e., part implanted and other not implanted) are limitations drawn to the device used however, the method is directed to “electrolytic method for removing a biofilm from a component”. The combined teachings of Woodson and Ehrensberger provide such devices for use in methods of removing a biofilm from implants.
Woodson does not disclose the aqueous medium is acid/metallic salt having a conductivity, for example, of at least 30 mS/cm.
Siegel et al. disclose in Example 1 a formulation containing 2.45 % Sodium iodine (metal salt), 10 wt % Potassium phosphate monohydrate, 15.8 % Citric acid (organic acid), 0.42 % Sodium perborate monohydrate and water. Citric acid is an alpha hydroxyl carbonic acid. The pH is 2.2-3.6 which overlaps. Sodium is an alkali metal.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply the solutions of Siegel et al. as the "electrically conductive solution" in Woodson for removing biofilms from implants implanted in subjects as taught by Woodson. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of killing microorganisms that form a biofilm.
Woodson discloses device (component that is employed as an electrode that is electrically connected to a current or voltage source (see Fig. 3, col. 5, lines 31-40 electrodes 34 and 36 and voltage source 38).
It is believed that Woodson discloses the component is employed as an electrode however, if that is not so, purely arguendo for the completeness of prosecution if Woodson does not explicitly disclose the component is employed as electrode, Joshi et al. (US 20080147186) disclose in another aspect of the invention, a method for providing beneficial agents to the body may include providing an implant and electrochemically generating a beneficial agent. This beneficial agent may be produced by generating an electrical current between electrodes, separated by a substantially solid layer, incorporated into the implant. Joshi et al. disclose in other embodiments, the method may include electrochemically generating the beneficial agent after inserting the implant into the body. Similarly, the beneficial agent may be generated from compounds in the implant, or alternatively, by conducting an electrical current through body fluids of the implantee. Joshi et al. disclose in yet another aspect of the invention, an apparatus for providing beneficial agents to the body includes an implant and a galvanic cell integrated into the implant to generate a beneficial agent. The galvanic cell includes electrodes to discharge an electrical current through body fluids of the implantee to generate a beneficial agent. An electrolyte layer is placed between the electrodes to provide an ion transport mechanism therebetween. The implant has electrodes incorporated into the implant (claim 15 and the electrochemically generating comprises conducting through body fluids (claim 19) and the electrochemically generating comprises generating the beneficial agent after implanting into the body (claim 18). Implants environed include dental implants.
The current density is not taught.
Eberli et al. (US 2013/0123756) (hereinafter Eberli et al. ) disclose placement of a medical device (i.e., for urological tract) that contains a power source that is operable to apply the current in a manner to generate a surface current density between 10 nA/mm2; 1 nA/mm2=0.001 A/m2) and 10,000. Eberli et al. disclose if the current density is too low, its effect might not be sufficient to reduce bacterial growth and biofilm formation to the desired degree. On the other hand, if the current density is too high, increased electrophoretic and electrolytic/electrochemical effects might lead to undesired side effects (para 0017).
Wei et al. “Influence of electric current on bacterial viability in wastewater treatment” disclose that a current density of 6.2A/m2 and that below this threshold the bactericidal viability was not significantly affected by the electrical current exhibiting less than 10 % of death percentage (see conclusion). When using higher currents, the viability of the bacterial was decreased, which is also related to a more alkaline environment.
Costerton et al.( US Patent 5312813) disclose methods of killing microorganisms from a biofilm on a surface which can be a implanted medical device where the surface is contacted with an aqueous medium containing the biocide and where a voltage is applied across the biofilm sufficient to produce killing of such microorganisms forming the biofilm thus the surface of the “surface expance” is the surface of an implantable device (claims 1, 5, 6, and 9). Costerton et al. disclose methods of killing biofilms on implant surfaces in a patient (abstract) and where an electric field is applied across the surface containing the biofilm (abstract). Costerton et al. disclose the electric field used for potentiating biocidal effect is itself safe and generally easy to generate, either by direct connection to a voltage source, or by magnetic induction (col. lines 58-66). The invention includes a body implantable device designed for use in biofilm reduction, in accordance with the treatment methods disclosed and the device has one or more surfaces, or surface expanses which are exposed to body fluids, and on which biofilm formation can occur. Electrode structure in the device is designed for generating an electric field whose strength is sufficient to produced increased leakage of cellular contents from microorganisms which form the biofilm (col. 10, lines 37-51). The methods are used for treating biofilm infection in the body, by applying an electric filed across an internal biofilm surface and the method is applicable to disease conditions which involves biofilm growth on a natural tissue surface or bio-implant device (col. 9, lines 8-13). In the case of biofilm growth on a surface of a bio-implant device, the device itself is preferably provided with at least one electrode, for applying a non-ground voltage to the electrode. (col. 9, lines 13-17). Electric field is applied via a voltage source (all of column 7 and col. 2, lines 65-68). It is recognized that biofilms adhere to teeth (col. 1, lines 45-48). The polarity of the electrodes are changed (switched) every 64 seconds (Example 3). A pair of electrodes is used and a voltage potential across the electrodes is applied as indicated by + (i.e., anode) and – (i.e., cathode) electric polarity symbols on the electrodes. As seen, ions (charges solute species, indicated by + and – symbols) in the biofilm and surrounding aqueous medium serve as current carriers between the two electrodes with ion migration occurring in the aqueous medium and through the biofilm in the direction of the arrows in the figure (bottom of col, 4- top of col. 5). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the component (i.e., implant) employed as an electrode that is electrically connected to a current or voltage source. One would have been motivated to do so to in view of Joshi and Costerton to discharge an electrical current through body fluids of the implantee to generate a beneficial agent for removing biofilm. Electrode structure in the device is designed for generating an electric field whose strength is sufficient to produced increased leakage of cellular contents from microorganisms which form the biofilm. Thus, Costerton provides a teaching that a aqueous medium as well as the surface of the implant can be treated with a current density to kill microorganisms which make up the biofilm.
Sandvik et al. “Direct Electric Current Treatment under Physiological Saline Conditions Kills Staphylococcus epidermidis Biofilms via Electrolytic Generation of Hypochlorous Acid” disclose that biofilm reductions are dose responsive with increased killing observed with increased current density (see bottom left of page 11).Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that increasing the current density would have the effect of increased killing of the biofilm. The current is recognized as a result effective variable where the higher the current, the increased killing of the biofilm is achieved. This is the same concept disclosed in Wei that with the use of higher currents, the viability of bacteria decreases. Applicants have not demonstrated any criticality to the current density.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to optimize the amount of current density. One would have been motivated to do so because the current density is recognized as an result-effective variable which is optimized to be sufficient to reduce bacterial growth but not too high where there would be undesirable side effects. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With regards to formation of hydrogen gas bubbles, Leighton et al. (US 20120227761) disclose methods for cleaning (biofilm) removal of implants and that such cleaning can be achieved by a liquid (e.g., water) containing gas bubbles (para 0114-0115). A method of gas bubble generation that is preferred includes electrochemical in situ generation of gas bubbles by electrolytic decomposition of the water in the liquid flow. The electrical energy electrolytically decomposes water to generate streams of bubbles of both oxygen and hydrogen gas which are directed towards the target surface to be cleaned (para 0086). Therefore, the use of the electrochemical method would provide for production of hydrogen gas bubbles which are known methods for sterilization.
The modified Woodson does not disclose carbon dioxide however, Stumm et al. DE102010013718 disclose that the germicidal effect is based on a chemical reaction of the microorganisms with CO2 (bottom of page 2). Thus carbon dioxide is a known germicidal agent.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to further include carbon dioxide in the electrolytic solution for sterilizing because one of ordinary skill in the art recognizes that this is an agent that has a germicidal effect due to its chemical reaction with microorganisms.
6. Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Woodson (US Patent 5,462,644), Ehrensberger et al. (US 20150073491), Siegel et al. (US 20070286907), Joshi et al. (US 20080147186) and Costerton et al. (US Patent 5, 312, 813) Eberli et al. (US 2013/0123756), Sandvik et al. “Direct Electric Current Treatment under Physiological Saline Conditions Kills Staphylococcus epidermidis Biofilms via Electrolytic Generation of Hypochlorous Acid”, Stumm et al. DE102010013718, Wei et al. “Influence of electric current on bacterial viability in wastewater treatment”, and Leighton et al. (US 20120227761) as applied to claim 9-12 and 14-26 above, and further in view of Taft et al. (US 2012/0196251).
The modified Woodson et al. has been discussed supra. While “media duct that supplies aqueous liquid” is not explicitly taught.
Taft et al. (US 2012/0196251) discloses a treatment element 900 capable of being used with a dental implant part anchored in a patient’s jawbone (see figs. $A-E, 5d, 5g) the treatment element comprising a base body (the body of device 900) having a connecting system adapted to the dental implant part for mechanical.
Taft discloses connecting of the base body with the dental implant part and at least one media duct 950 for conducting a cleaning liquid (par. 0090), wherein the base body comprises a first conduction element 916 which forms an electric current path and is connectable with a dental implant part (par. 89-90), wherein the base body further comprises a second conduction element 910 electrically insulated from the first conduction element (pars. 89-90), the second conduction element forming an electric current path to a contact arranged on an end side of the second conducting element (see fig. 4e), the contact being positionable in a region proximate to the dental implant part (see fig. 4e). Taft further teaches wherein the second conduction element is formed by the at least one media duct (see fig.4e, the duct is by the second conduction element 910), wherein the second conduction element is constructed as an electrode mounted on the base body so as to be shiftable in a longitudinal direction substantially parallel to a central longitudinal axis of the base body (see fig 4e, the entire base body including the secondary conduction element, the electrode 910 is shiftable along the longitudinal axis, such that the instrument is moved up and down), with the second conducting element 910 is fixed on the base body so that the contact is positionable. Claim 13 is drawn solely to the device, however, the method is not drawn to a device, just that an electrolytic method for removing a biofilm which requires electrically conductive liquid which can be applied in alternative ways and is present as discussed supra. Nonetheless suppling it with a media duct is clearly envisioned by Taft.
CORRESPONDENCE
/DANAH AL-AWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615