Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202221735042.6, filed on 5 July 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8, 10, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nishimori et al. (US 11,715,993 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Nishimori et al. (US 11,715,993 B2) discloses a case, applicable to a compressor, wherein the compressor comprises a compressor body and a compressor controller disposed on the compressor body, wherein the case at least partially covers the compressor controller (Case 1 with drive circuit 30 and motor 20, acting as controllers, on compressor body 10; Col. 2, Lines 50-67; Fig. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 3, Nishimori et al. discloses the case according to claim 1, further comprising a first covering portion and a second covering portion defining a cavity, wherein the compressor controller is at least partially disposed in the cavity (In Examiner Annotated Nishimori Fig. 2: First covering portion A and second covering portion B of 80 defining cavity C with controller 30/20 within C; Col. 5, Lines 36-45; Fig. 1 ).
Examiner Annotated Nishimori Fig. 2
Regarding Claim 4, Nishimori et al. discloses the case according to claim 3, wherein an opening of the first covering portion and an opening of the second covering portion face each other, and the first covering portion and the second covering portion abut against each other (In Examiner Annotated Nishimori Fig. 2: First covering portion A and second covering portion B both have openings A; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Nishimori et al. discloses the case according to claim 1, further comprising a first covering layer and a second covering layer, wherein the first covering layer covers the compressor controller, and the second covering layer covers the first covering layer (First covering layer 80 and second covering layer 50; first covering layer 80 cover controller 20/30 within 40 and second covering layer 50 covers 80; Col. 5, Lines 35-60; Fig. 1-2. First covering layer can also be 81.).
Regarding Claim 10, Nishimori et al. discloses the case according to claim 8, wherein the first covering layer comprises a third covering portion and a fourth covering portion, the third covering portion comprises a third mating end face, the fourth covering portion comprises a fourth mating end face, and the third mating end face and the fourth mating end face are coupled with each other (In Examiner Annotated Nishimori Fig. 1-2: First covering layer 80 with third covering portion A and fourth covering portion B; third covering portion A with third mating end face D coupled to fourth covering portion with end face E).
Regarding Claim 17, Nishimori et al. discloses the case according to claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of first covering layers stacked on each other in a thickness direction of the case; or/and a plurality of second covering layers stacked on each other in the thickness direction (Fig. 1: Plurality of first covering layers 81-82 stacked on each other; Col. 5, Lines 35-45).
Regarding Claim 18, Nishimori et al. discloses the case according to claim 8, further comprising an intermediate layer between the first covering layer and the second covering layer (Intermediate layer 82 between first covering layer 81 and second covering layer 50; Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 19, Nishimori et al. discloses a compressor, comprising a case, wherein the case is applicable to a compressor, the compressor comprises a compressor body and a compressor controller disposed on the compressor body, and the case at least partially covers the compressor controller (Compressor 10 with case 1 and drive circuit 30 and motor 20, acting as controllers, on compressor body 10; Col. 2, Lines 50-67; Fig. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 20, Nishimori et al. discloses a vehicle, comprising a compressor, wherein the compressor comprises a compressor body and a compressor controller disposed on the compressor body, and the compressor controller is at least partially covered by a case (Vehicle 100 with compressor 10 and drive circuit 30 and motor 20, acting as controllers, on compressor body 10 surrounded by case 1; Col. 2, Lines 50-67; Fig. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimori et al. (US 11,715,993 B2).
Regarding Claim 9, Nishimori et al. discloses the case according to claim 8, wherein a hardness of the second covering layer is greater than a hardness of the first covering layer (Hardness of second covering layer 50 greater than hardness of 81-82 of first covering layer 80; Col. 5, Lines 44-57). Nishimori et al. fails to explicitly disclose a thickness of the second covering layer is less than a thickness of the first covering layer. However, this would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of reducing space, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimori et al. (US 11,715,993 B2) in view of Yokoi et al. (US 9,273,683 B2).
Regarding Claim 2, Nishimori et al. discloses the case according to claim 1. Nishimori et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the case (1; Fig. 1) is integrally molded. However, Yokoi et al. (US 9,273,683 B2) teaches wherein the case is integrally molded (Yokoi: Each half of case 10 comprising 11 and 12 is integrally molded; Col. 4, Lines 50-55; Col. 5, Lines 59-65; Col. 13, Lines 45-57; Fig. 1). Yokoi et al. and Nishimori et al. are in similar fields comprising compressor casings. Modifying Nishimori et al. with teachings of Yokoi et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the case is integrally molded for the purpose of suppressing vibrations (Yokoi: Col. 8, Lines 29-61).
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimori et al. (US 11,715,993 B2) in view of DiFlora et al. (US 5,588,810 A).
Regarding Claim 5, Nishimori et al. discloses the case according to claim 4, wherein the first covering portion comprises a first mating end face, the second covering portion comprises a second mating end face (In Examiner Annotated Nishimori Fig. 1-2: First covering portion A with first mating end face D and second covering portion B with second mating end face E). Nishimori et al. fails to explicitly disclose the first mating end face comprises a first protrusion portion, and the second mating end face comprises a first recessed portion coupling with the first protrusion portion.
Examiner Annotated Nishimori Fig. 1
However, DiFlora et al (US 5,588,810 A) teaches the first mating end face comprises a first protrusion portion, and the second mating end face comprises a first recessed portion coupling with the first protrusion portion (DiFlora: First mating end face 32 of Fig. 1 with first protrusion 36 as a wedge shape couples to second mating end face 30 of Fig. 2 with first recessed portion 38; Col. 3, Lines 60-67; Col. 4, Lines 1-5; Fig. 7). DiFlora et al. and Nishimori et al. are in similar fields comprising noise reducing compressor housings. Modifying Nishimori et al. with teachings of DiFlora et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the first mating end face comprises a first protrusion portion, and the second mating end face comprises a first recessed portion coupling with the first protrusion portion for the purpose of automatically aligning each first and second covering portion (DiFlora: Col. 4, Lines 1-5).
Regarding Claim 6, Nishimori et al. discloses the case according to claim 4, wherein the first covering portion comprises a first mating end face and the second covering portion comprises a second mating end face (In Examiner Annotated Nishimori Fig. 1-2: First covering portion A with first mating end face D and second covering portion B with mating end face E).
Nishimori et al. fails to explicitly disclose a first mating end face having a plurality of first protrusion portions spaced apart in a thickness direction of the case, a second mating end face having a plurality of first recessed portions spaced apart in the thickness direction of the case, wherein the first protrusion portions are coupled to the first recessed portions, respectively.
However, DiFlora et al (US 5,588,810 A) teaches a first mating end face having a plurality of first protrusion portions spaced apart in a thickness direction of the case, a second mating end face having a plurality of first recessed portions spaced apart in the thickness direction of the case, wherein the first protrusion portions are coupled to the first recessed portions, respectively (DiFlora: First mating end face 32 of Fig. 1 with first protrusion 36 as a wedge shape couples to second mating end face 30 of Fig. 2 with first recessed portion 38; Col. 3, Lines 60-67; Col. 4, Lines 1-5; Fig. 7. First protrusion 42 of 32 couples to first recessed portion 54 of 30; Col. 4, Lines 6-35; Fig. 3,6. Protrusion portions 36/42 and recessed portions 38/54 are spaced apart along edge of 30/32). DiFlora et al. and Nishimori et al. are in similar fields comprising noise reducing compressor housings. Modifying Nishimori et al. with teachings of DiFlora et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein a first mating end face having a plurality of first protrusion portions spaced apart in a thickness direction of the case, a second mating end face having a plurality of first recessed portions spaced apart in the thickness direction of the case, wherein the first protrusion portions are coupled to the first recessed portions, respectively for the purpose of automatically aligning and locking each first and second covering portion (DiFlora: Col. 4, Lines 1-5).
Regarding Claim 7, Nishimori et al. as modified by DiFlora et al. disclose the case according to claim 5. Nishimori et al. as modified by DiFlora et al. wherein a height of the first protrusion portion protruding from the first mating end face is h, and h > 4 mm. However, this would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of ensuring a secure mating connection, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 11-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimori et al. (US 11,715,993 B2) in view of Mane et al. (US 2026/0251145 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Nishimori et al. discloses the case according to claim 10, wherein the second covering layer comprises a fifth covering portion and a sixth covering portion, the fifth covering portion comprises a fifth mating end face, the sixth covering portion comprises a sixth mating end face (In Examiner Annotated Nishimori Fig. 1-2: Second covering layer 50 with fifth covering portion 60 and sixth covering portion 70; fifth covering portion 60’s fifth mating end face 61a and sixth covering portion 70’s sixth mating end face F).
Nishimori et al. fails to explicitly disclose the fifth mating end face and the sixth mating end face are coupled with each other. However, Mane et al. (US 2026/0251145 A1) teaches the fifth mating end face and the sixth mating end face are coupled with each other (Examiner Annotated Mane Fig. 21: Fifth mating end face A and sixth mating end face B are directly coupled; Para. 0061; Fig. 2). Mane et al. and Nishimori et al. are in similar fields comprising noise reducing compressor housings. Modifying Nishimori et al. with teachings of Mane et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the fifth mating end face and the sixth mating end face are coupled with each other for the purpose of forming a protective encapsulation system (Mane: Para. 0057-0058).
Examiner Annotated Mane et al. Fig. 21
Regarding Claim 12, Nishimori et al. as modified by Mane et al. disclose the case according to claim 11, wherein a mating surface where the third covering portion couples with the fourth covering portion does not coincide with a mating surface where the fifth covering portion couples with the sixth covering portion (In Examiner Annotated Nishimori Fig. 1-2: Mating surface D-E where third covering portion A couples to fourth covering portion B is centrally located and different from mating surface where fifth covering portion 60 couples to sixth covering portion 70 when modified by Mane et al. to couple together).
Regarding Claim 13, Nishimori et al. as modified by Mane et al. disclose the case according to claim 11, wherein an angle between the third mating end face and the fifth mating end face or between the fourth mating end face and the sixth mating end face is
α
(In Examiner Annotated Nishimori Fig. 2: Third mating end face D and fifth mating end face 61 or between fourth mating end face E and sixth mating end face F appears to be parallel,
α
is 180
°
).
Nishimori et al. as modified by Mane et al. fails to explicitly disclose
α
, and
0
°
<
α
≤
90
°
. However, Mane et al. further teaches wherein an angle between the third mating end face and the fifth mating end face or between the fourth mating end face and the sixth mating end face is
α
, and
0
°
<
α
≤
90
°
(Mane Fig. 2: Since 220a-220b are perpendicular to 210a-b when coupled together, third mating end face of 220a and fifth mating end face of 210a are perpendicular,
α
is 90
°
). Modifying Nishimori et al. as modified by Mane et al. with additional teachings of Mane et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein an angle between the third mating end face and the fifth mating end face or between the fourth mating end face and the sixth mating end face is
α
, and
0
°
<
α
≤
90
°
for the purpose of forming a full perimeter (Mane: Para. 0061), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 14, Nishimori et al. as modified by Mane et al. disclose the case according to claim 11, wherein the third mating end face and the fourth mating end face are coupled at a first mating surface, the fifth mating end face and the sixth mating end face are coupled at a second mating surface, a distance between the first mating surface and the second mating surface is d0 (In Examiner Annotated Nishimori Fig. 1-2: Third mating end face D and fourth mating end face E at a first mating surface; fifth mating end face 61a and mating end face F modified by Mane to directly couple as A-B in Examiner Annotated Mane Fig. 21).
Nishimori et al. as modified by Mane et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein d0, and d0
≥
4 mm. However this would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein a distance between the first mating surface and the second mating surface is d0, and d0
≥
4 mm for the purpose of increasing distance between potential noise leak openings, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 16, Nishimori et al. as modified by Mane et al. disclose the case according to claim 11. Nishimori et al. as modified by Mane et al. fails to explicitly disclose further comprising a flange portion disposed on the fifth covering portion and/or the sixth covering portion and covering an outer edge of the fifth mating end face and/or an outer edge of the sixth mating end face, wherein a width of the flange portion is d2, and d2
≥
4 mm.
However, Mane et al. further teaches comprising a flange portion disposed on the fifth covering portion and/or the sixth covering portion and covering an outer edge of the fifth mating end face and/or an outer edge of the sixth mating end face (Examiner Annotated Mane Fig. 21: See flange on fifth mating end face A and covering outer edge of sixth mating end face B; Fig. 2). Modifying Nishimori et al. as modified by Mane et al. with additional teachings of Mane et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention further comprising a flange portion disposed on the fifth covering portion and/or the sixth covering portion and covering an outer edge of the fifth mating end face and/or an outer edge of the sixth mating end face for the purpose of being a known technique to assemble adjacent components.
Nishimori et al. as modified by Mane et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein a width of the flange portion is d2, and d2
≥
4 mm. However, this would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of increasing distance between potential noise leak openings, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimori et al. (US 11,715,993 B2) in view of Mane et al. (US 2026/0251145 A1) and DiFlora et al. (US 5,588,810 A).
Regarding Claim 15, Nishimori et al. as modified by Mane et al. disclose the case according to claim 11. Nishimori et al. as modified by Mane et al. fails to explicitly disclose further comprising: two first mating segments parallel to each other between the third mating end face and the fourth mating end face (In Examiner Annotated Nishimori Fig. 1: third mating end face C and fourth mating end face D), and two second mating segments parallel to each other between the fifth mating end face and the sixth mating end face (In Examiner Annotated Nishimori Fig. 1: fifth mating end face 61a and sixth mating end face F modified by Mane to directly couple),
wherein the two first mating segments are disposed on an outer peripheral wall of the first covering layer, the two second mating segments are disposed on an outer peripheral wall of the second covering layer, each of the first mating segments is in parallel with a corresponding one of the second mating segments, a distance between a first mating segment adjacent to the third mating end face and a second mating segment adjacent to the fifth mating end face or a distance between a first mating segment adjacent to the fourth mating end face and a second mating segment adjacent to the sixth mating end face is d1, and d1 > 4 mm.
However, DiFlora et al (US 5,588,810 A) teaches further comprising: two first mating segments parallel to each other between the third mating end face and the fourth mating end face, and two second mating segments parallel to each other between the fifth mating end face and the sixth mating end face (DiFlora: mating end face 32 of Fig. 1 with mating segment 36/42 couples to mating end face 30 of Fig. 2 with mating segment portion 38/54; Col. 3, Lines 60-67; Col. 4, Lines 1-5; Fig. 7),
wherein the two first mating segments are disposed on an outer peripheral wall of the first covering layer (Mating segments of DiFlora: Fig. 6-7: 36/42 and 38/54 on outer wall of first covering layer, Examiner Annotated Nishimori Fig. 1: third mating end face C and fourth mating end face D), the two second mating segments are disposed on an outer peripheral wall of the second covering layer (Mating segments of DiFlora: Fig. 6-7: 36/42 and 38/54 on outer wall of second covering layer, Examiner Annotated Nishimori Fig. 1-2: fifth mating end face 61a and sixth mating end face F modified by Mane to directly couple), each of the first mating segments is in parallel with a corresponding one of the second mating segments (Follows as mating surfaces in Examiner Annotated Nishimori Fig. 1-2: D-E and 61a-F, are parallel to one another).
DiFlora et al., Mane et al., and Nishimori et al. are in similar fields comprising noise reducing compressor housings. Modifying Nishimori et al. as modified by Mane et al. with teachings of DiFlora et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further comprise: two first mating segments parallel to each other between the third mating end face and the fourth mating end face, and two second mating segments parallel to each other between the fifth mating end face and the sixth mating end face, wherein the two first mating segments are disposed on an outer peripheral wall of the first covering layer, the two second mating segments are disposed on an outer peripheral wall of the second covering layer, each of the first mating segments is in parallel with a corresponding one of the second mating segments for the purpose of automatically aligning and locking each first and second covering portion (DiFlora: Col. 4, Lines 1-5).
Nishimori et al. as modified by Mane et al. and DiFlora et al. fails to explicitly disclose a distance between a first mating segment adjacent to the third mating end face and a second mating segment adjacent to the fifth mating end face or a distance between a first mating segment adjacent to the fourth mating end face and a second mating segment adjacent to the sixth mating end face is d1, and d1 > 4 mm. However, this would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of increasing distance between potential noise leak openings, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US-11971192-B2, US-9153225-B2, US-10982879-B2.
/JENNIFER B OLSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/DEDEI K HAMMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837