Detailed Actions
The communications received 12/31/2024 have been filed and considered by the Examiner. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Banzashi et al (US 2018/0230279 A1) hereinafter BAN.
As for claim 1, BAN teaches a cellulosic structure comprising (sheet of ultrafine cellulose fiber) [Abstract; 0130]:
A cellulosic substrate comprises a network of cellulose fibers having hydroxy moieties (cellulose has hydroxy moieties) [0130]; and
Metal ions having a valency of at least three bonded to the hydroxy moieties of the cellulose fibers proximate at least one surface of the cellulosic substrate (Al 3+ as aluminum sulfate which crosslinks with the cellulose, it is understood to cross-link with the hydroxy moieties) [0130].
As for claim 2, BAN teaches claim 1 and it is understood that the hydroxy moieties of cellulose contain both -OH and -COOH groups.
As for claim 3, BAN teaches claim 1 and that the metal ions include 3+ aluminum [0130].
As for claim 4, BAN teaches claim 1 and wherein the substrate is a cellulosic sheet substrate [0130].
As for claims 5-7, BAN teaches claim 4 and as the sheet is dipped in an aqueous solution with aluminum sulfate it is understood that it is applied on at least one edge, at least one of a first/second major surface, and have the metal ions distribute throughout the sheet substrate [0130].
As for claim 8, BAN teaches claim 1 and further comprising one or more barrier layers applied to at least one major surface of the cellulosic substrate (as a barrier film can be stacked on) [0123].
As for claim 9, BAN teaches claim 1 and it is understood that as the cellulosic structure has at least some cellulose, that it can be recycled.
As for claim 10, BAN teaches the method of producing claim 1 [0001; 0074].
As for claim 11, BAN teaches claims 10 and 2.
As for claim 12, BAN teaches claims 10 and 3.
As for claim 13, BAN teaches claims 10 and 4.
As for claim 14, BAN teaches claim 10 and further that the treatment can occur during the pulp preparation stage (during the slurry before sheet formation) [0086].
As for claim 15, BAN teaches claim 10 and wherein the metal treatment stage occurs during the sheet formation stage (as part of a washing) [0085].
As for claim 16, BAN teaches claim 10 and wherein the metal treatment stage occurs after sheet formation [0082].
As for claim 18, BAN teaches claim 10 and it is understood that as the cellulosic structure has at least some cellulose, that it can be recycled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAN.
As for claim 17, BAN teaches claims 10 and BAN further teaches that the treatment with the metal improves the waterproofness [0086; 0123].
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have also applied the metal treatment via dipping after the sheet has a barrier layer in order to generally improve the waterproofness of the resultant sheet with a barrier layer.
Conclusion
/E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1748 /JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748