DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the vertical compressor of claims 8 and 15 and the heat exchanger of claim 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Line 3 recites “the pump”. It is unclear if this is the lubricant pump from claim 4 or the second lubricant pump in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 4-5, 7-9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elson et al., U.S. Patent 7,566,210 in view of Ogata et al., U.S. Patent 8,408,024.
As per claims 1 and 16, Elson et al. disclose a compressor (10) (fig. 1) and method of operating a compressor comprising:
a compressor housing (12, 14, 16) [hermetic shell, caps];
a discharge chamber (23) and an intermediate-pressure chamber (73) [intake chamber] each disposed within the compressor housing (12, 14, 16), the discharge chamber (23) having a first lubricant sump (bottom of 14), and the intermediate- pressure chamber (73) having a second lubricant sump (bottom of 16);
a suction inlet (20) and a discharge outlet (18) formed in the compressor housing;
a compression mechanism (70, 58) [non orbiting, orbiting scroll] disposed within the compressor housing, the compression mechanism (70, 58) configured to suction working fluid from the suction inlet (18) and discharge working fluid into the discharge chamber (23), the compression mechanism including an intermediate injection port (84) [lower scroll intake] fluidly connected to the intermediate-pressure chamber (73); and
a lubricant supply passage (120, 124) extending from the discharge chamber (23) to the intermediate- pressure chamber (73), the lubricant supply passage configured to control a flow of lubricant through the lubricant supply passage from the first lubricant sump to the second lubricant sump (col. 4, line 40 to col. 5, line 45), and
wherein the lubricant in the second lubricant sump (bottom of 16) is supplied to at least the compression mechanism (70, 58).
Elson et al. do not disclose the lubricant supply passage includes a lubricant sump valve.
However, Ogata et al. in their Fluid Machine and Refrigeration Cycle Apparatus invention teach two sumps connected with an oil-equalizing pipe (25) with a valve (25) located in the pipe (25) (fig. 1) (col. 12, lines 44-61). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a valve to the lubricant supply passage of Elson et al., as taught by Ogata et al., for the purpose of more precisely metering lubricant between the sumps or being able to more easily change the amount of flow between the two sumps.
As per claims 4 and 16, Elson et al. and Ogata et al. as set forth above, Elson et al. disclose a lubricant pump (32, 28) [crankshaft, electric motor] (col. 3, lines 4-20) (crankshaft and motor act as a lubricant pump) configured to transfer the lubricant in the second sump (bottom of 16) to the compression mechanism (70, 58).
As per claim 5, Elson et al. and Ogata et al. as set forth above, disclose an intermediate vapor injection inlet (near 70, 58) that is fluidly connected with the intermediate-pressure chamber (73). Low pressure working fluid vapor enters the outer edges of the interlocking scrolls of the compressor mechanism which is considered a vapor injection inlet.
As per claim 8, Elson et al. and Ogata et al. as set forth above, disclose the compressor (10) is a horizontal compressor (abstract), wherein the discharge chamber (23) and the intermediate-pressure chamber (73) are arranged horizontally side-by-side.
As per claim 9, Elson et al. and Ogata et al. as set forth above, Elson et al. as modified, disclose the claimed invention except for the compressor is a vertical compressor, wherein the discharge chamber and the intermediate-pressure chamber are arranged vertically side-by-side. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the compressor as a vertical compressor to better fit inside an enclosure of a system with a smaller footprint, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elson et al., U.S. Patent 7,566,210 in view of Ogata et al., U.S. Patent 8,408,024, further in view of Mlsna et al., U.S Patent Publication 2023/0279860.
As per claim 2, Elson et al. and Ogata et al. as set forth above, Elson et al. as modified, do not disclose the lubricant supply passage includes a lubricant cooler configured to cool the lubricant flowing through the lubricant supply passage. However, Mlsna et al. in their Methods and Systems for Lubricating a Transport Climate Control System Having an Auxiliary Sump teach the use of a lubricant cooler in a climate control circuit (para [0033]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination invention of Elson et al. and Ogata et al., with a lubricant cooler in the lubricant supply passage, as taught by Mlsna et al., for the purpose of preventing lubricant degradation by cooling the lubricant after lubricant cools the compression mechanism.
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elson et al., U.S. Patent 7,566,210 in view of Ogata et al., U.S. Patent 8,408,024, further in view of Schneider et al., U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0175616.
As per claims 3 and 16, Elson et al. and Ogata et al. as set forth above, Elson et al. as modified, do not disclose a lubricant sump sensor configured to detect a lubricant level in the second lubricant sump and a controller, wherein the lubricant sump sensor is configured to send the lubricant level in the second lubricant sump to the controller, and the controller is configured to control the lubricant sump valve so as to adjust the flow of lubricant through the lubricant supply passage based on the lubricant level of the second lubricant sump.
However, Schneider et al. in their Refrigerant Circuit and Refrigerant Compressor invention disclose a refrigerant compressor and teach the use of a base module (60) and a lubricant level sensor (93) to determine precise acquisition of the lubricant level so a lubricant level can be maintained by a processor (82) (paras [0249-0259]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination invention of Elson et al. and Ogata et al. with a controller and a lubricant level sensor, as taught by Schneider et al., for the purpose of precisely knowing the lubricant level in the second lubricant sump so the proper level can consistently be maintained.
Claims 10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elson et al., U.S. Patent 7,566,210 in view of Ogata et al., U.S. Patent 8,408,024, further in view of Salesman et al., U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0378668.
As per claim 10, Elson et al. disclose a compressor (10) including a compressor housing (12, 14, 16);
a discharge chamber (23) and an intermediate-pressure chamber (73) each disposed within the compressor housing, the discharge chamber (23) having a first lubricant sump (bottom of 14), and the intermediate-pressure chamber (73) having a second lubricant sump (bottom of 16);
a suction inlet (20) and a discharge outlet (18) formed in the compressor housing;
a compression mechanism (70, 58) disposed within the compressor housing, the compression mechanism (70, 58) configured to suction working fluid from the suction inlet (18) and discharge working fluid into the discharge chamber (23), the compression mechanism including an intermediate injection port (84) fluidly connected to the intermediate-pressure chamber (73); and
a lubricant supply passage (120, 124) extending from the discharge chamber (23) to the intermediate- pressure chamber (73), the lubricant supply passage configured to control a flow of lubricant through the lubricant supply passage from first lubricant sump (bottom of 14) of the discharge chamber (23) to the second lubricant sump (bottom of 16) of the intermediate pressure-chamber (73), and
wherein the lubricant in the second lubricant sump (bottom of 16) is supplied to at least the compression mechanism (70, 58).
Elson et al. do not disclose the lubricant supply passage includes a lubricant sump valve.
However, Ogata et al. in their Fluid Machine and Refrigeration Cycle Apparatus invention teach two sumps connected with an oil-equalizing pipe (25) with a valve (25) located in the pipe (25) (fig. 1) (col. 12, lines 44-61). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a valve to the lubricant supply passage of Elson et al., as taught by Ogata et al., for the purpose of more precisely metering lubricant between the sumps or being able to more easily change the amount of flow between the two sumps.
Elson et al. do not disclose a heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration (HVACR) system, comprising a working fluid circuit. The working fluid circuit including: a compressor, a condenser, at least one expander, and an evaporator, fluidly connected, wherein a working fluid flows therethrough. However, Salesman et al. in their Lubricant Quality Management for a Compressor invention disclose a heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration (HVACR) system. The system includes a refrigerant circuit including a compressor, condenser, an expansion device and an evaporator fluidly connected (abstract) (fig. 1) (paras [0001-0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a HVACR system to the compressor of Elson et al., as taught by Salesman et al., for the purpose of providing a refrigeration system for cooling a storage space for products that need to be kept cool.
As per claim 13, Elson et al., Ogata et al. and Salesman et al. as set forth above, disclose the claimed invention except for an intermediate vapor injection line that is fluidly connected with the intermediate-pressure chamber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a vapor injection line to the intermediate-pressure chamber for the purpose of collecting refrigerant vapor for any other component in the HVACR system and returning it to the refrigerant supply as low pressure working fluid vapor enters the outer edges of the interlocking scrolls of the compressor mechanism which is considered a vapor injection inlet.
As per claim 14, Elson et al., Ogata et al. and Salesman et al. as set forth above, disclose the compressor (10) is a horizontal compressor (abstract), wherein the discharge chamber (23) and the intermediate-pressure chamber (73) are arranged horizontally side-by-side.
As per claim 15, Elson et al., Ogata et al. and Salesman et al. as set forth above, Elson et al. as modified, disclose the claimed invention except for the compressor is a vertical compressor, wherein the discharge chamber and the intermediate-pressure chamber are arranged vertically side-by-side. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the compressor as a vertical compressor to better fit inside an enclosure of a system with a smaller footprint, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elson et al., U.S. Patent 7,566,210 in view of Ogata et al., U.S. Patent 8,408,024, further in view of Salesman et al., U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0378668, further in view of Mlsna et al., U.S Patent Publication 2023/0279860.
As per claim 11, Elson et al., Ogata et al. and Salesman et al. as set forth above, Elson et al. as modified, do not disclose the lubricant supply passage includes a lubricant cooler configured to cool the lubricant flowing through the lubricant supply passage. However, Mlsna et al. in their Methods and Systems for Lubricating a Transport Climate Control System Having an Auxiliary Sump teach the use of a lubricant cooler in a climate control circuit (para [0033]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination invention of Elson et al. and Ogata et al., with a lubricant cooler in the lubricant supply passage, as taught by Mlsna et al., for the purpose of preventing lubricant degradation by cooling the lubricant after lubricant cools the compression mechanism.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elson et al., U.S. Patent 7,566,210 in view of Ogata et al., U.S. Patent 8,408,024, further in view of Salesman et al., U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0378668, further in view of Schneider et al., U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0175616.
As per claim 12, Elson et al., Ogata et al. and Salesman et al. as set forth above, Elson et al. as modified, do not disclose a lubricant sump sensor configured to detect a lubricant level in the second lubricant sump and a controller, wherein the lubricant sump sensor is configured to send the lubricant level in the second lubricant sump to the controller, and the controller is configured to control the lubricant sump valve so as to adjust the flow of lubricant through the lubricant supply passage based on the lubricant level of the second lubricant sump.
However, Schneider et al. in their Refrigerant Circuit and Refrigerant Compressor invention disclose a refrigerant compressor and teach the use of a base module (60) and a lubricant level sensor (93) to determine precise acquisition of the lubricant level so a lubricant level can be maintained by a processor (82) (paras [0249-0259]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination invention of Elson et al. and Ogata et al. with a controller and a lubricant level sensor, as taught by Schneider et al., for the purpose of precisely knowing the lubricant level in the second lubricant sump so the proper level can consistently be maintained.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elson et al., U.S. Patent 7,566,210 in view of Ogata et al., U.S. Patent 8,408,024, further in view of Schneider et al., U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0175616, further in view of Gu et al., U.S. Patent 2008/0286118.
As per claim 17, Elson et al., Ogata et al. and Schneider et al. as set forth above, Elson et al. as modified do not disclose operating the compressor at a first speed; and switching the speed from the first speed to a second speed, which is faster than the first speed, wherein the flowrate of lubricant passing through the lubricant supply passage is increased when operating the compressor at the second speed relative to the operation of the compressor at the first speed. However, Gu et al. in their Capacity Modulated Scroll Compressor System and Method invention teach a system and method for modulating capacity of a scroll compressor having a motor includes determining a target capacity of the scroll compressor, operating the motor at a first speed when the target capacity is within a first predetermined capacity and at a second speed when the target capacity is within a second predetermined capacity range
(abstract) (para [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination invention of Elson et al., Ogata et al. and Schneider et al. with two speeds while maintaining proper lubrication capacity, as taught by Gu et al., for the purpose of increasing the efficiency of the overall system while maintaining necessary lubrication volumes to all critical components, ensuring system longevity.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elson et al., U.S. Patent 7,566,210 in view of Ogata et al., U.S. Patent 8,408,024, further in view of Schneider et al., U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0175616, further in view of Mlsna et al., U.S Patent Publication 2023/0279860.
As per claim 18, all limitations have been examined with respect to the apparatus in claims 16 and 2. The method steps disclosed in claims 16 and 2 can clearly perform on the apparatus of claim 18. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale as claims 16 and 2 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest A compressor comprising: a compressor housing; a discharge chamber and an intermediate-pressure chamber each disposed within the compressor housing, the discharge chamber having a first lubricant sump, and the intermediate- pressure chamber having a second lubricant sump; a suction inlet and a discharge outlet formed in the compressor housing; a compression mechanism disposed within the compressor housing, the compression mechanism configured to suction working fluid from the suction inlet and discharge working fluid into the discharge chamber, the compression mechanism including an intermediate injection port fluidly connected to the intermediate-pressure chamber; and a lubricant supply passage extending from the discharge chamber to the intermediate- pressure chamber, the lubricant supply passage including a lubricant sump valve configured to control a flow of lubricant through the lubricant supply passage from the first lubricant sump to the second lubricant sump, and wherein the lubricant in the second lubricant sump is supplied to at least the compression mechanism; further comprising: a third lubricant sump disposed in the intermediate-pressure chamber above the second lubricant sump; a second lubricant pump configured to transfer the lubricant from the second lubricant sump into the third lubricant sump; and a driveshaft including a first end coupled to the compression mechanism, a second end disposed in the third lubricant sump, and a lubricant gallery, the lubricant in the third lubricant sump supplied to the compressor mechanism through the lubricant gallery by rotation of the driveshaft.
The closest art of record is considered to be Elson et al. (Elson ‘210). Elson ‘210 discloses a compressor with a similar lubrication system including a lubricant supply passage connecting two sumps. However, Elson ‘210 does not have a third sump disposed in the intermediate-pressure chamber located above the second sump, the second sump transferring lubricant into the third sump as required in dependent claim 6. Further, it would not have been obvious to do so. For these reasons, in conjunction with the rest of the structure claimed in claims 1 and 6.
/M.K.B/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654