DETAILED ACTION
Response Date
This Office Action is in response to applicant's response filed on June 01, 2026, from
Non-Final Office Action mailed out on April 06, 2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 10-11, 13, 16-17, 19 and 22-23 have been amended. Claims 2-
3, 8-9, 14-15 and 20-21 have been canceled. Claims 25-32 have been newly added.
Claims 1, 4-6, 7, 10-12, 13, 16-18, 19, 22-23 and 25-32 are pending in the Application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-6, 7, 10-12, 13, 16-18, 19, 22-23 and 25-32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-6, 7, 10-12, 13, 16-18, 19, 22-23 and 25-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 12-15 and 23-25 of U.S. Patent No. US 10804958 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is anticipated by the reference claims.
Claims 1, 4-6, 7, 10-12, 13, 16-18, 19, 22-23 and 25-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-20 and 22-27 of U.S. Patent No. US 12224814 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is anticipated by the reference claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7, 10, 12, 13, 16,18, 19, 22 and 25-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kordasiewicz et al. Pub. No.: US 20120117225 (Hereinafter " Kordasiewicz").
Regarding Claim 1, Kordasiewicz discloses a method comprising:
sending, by a user device, a request for a content item (see paragraph [0060]);
receiving, by the user device, an instruction to download a minimum quantity of blocks of the content item, before initiating playback of the content item wherein the minimum quantity of blocks is based on a quality of service measurement associated with a network connection of the user device (see paragraph [0075] and [0134]);
Wu fails to disclose:
initiating, by the user device and based on receiving at least the minimum quantity of blocks, the playback of the content item (see paragraph [0060]).
Regarding Claim 4, Kordasiewicz discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Kordasiewicz further discloses receiving, based on the quality of service measurement, a quantity of groups of pictures in at least one block of a first portion of content item (see paragraph [0119]).
Regarding Claim 6, Kordasiewicz discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Kordasiewicz discloses further discloses sending the quality of service measurement with the request for the content item (see paragraph [0118]).
Regarding Claim 7, Kordasiewicz discloses an apparatus comprising:
one or more processors (see paragraph [0125]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause (see paragraph [0125]) the apparatus to perform the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, the limitation is being analyzed as discussed with respect
to the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding Claim 12, the limitation is being analyzed as discussed with respect
to the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding Claim 13, Kordasiewicz discloses a system comprising:
a user device and a computing device (see fig.1), wherein the user device comprises:
one or more first processors (see paragraph [0125]); and
first memory storing first instructions that, when executed by the one or more first processors (see paragraph [0125]) cause the user device to:
send, to the computing device, a request for a content item (see paragraph [0060]);
receive an instruction to download a minimum quantity of blocks, of the content item, before initiating playback of the data stream, wherein the minimum quantity of blocks is based on a quality of service measurement associated with a network connection of the user device (see paragraph [0075] and [0134]);
initiate, based on a determination that the first portion of the data stream satisfies receiving at least the minimum quantity of blocks, the playback of the content item (see paragraph [0060]);
wherein the computing device (see fig.1) comprises:
one or more second processors (see paragraph [0125]) and
second memory storing second instructions that, when executed by the one or more second processors (see paragraph [0125]), cause the computing device to:
send, to the user device, the instruction processors (see paragraph [0060]).
Regarding Claim 16, Kordasiewicz discloses the system as discussed in the rejection of claim 13. Kordasiewicz further disclose wherein the first instructions, when executed by the one or more first processors, cause the user device to: receive, based on the quality of service measurement, a quantity of groups of pictures in at least one block of the first portion of the content item (see paragraph [0119]).
Regarding Claim 18, Kordasiewicz discloses the system as discussed in the rejection of claim 13. Kordasiewicz further wherein the first instructions, when executed by the one or more first processors, cause the user device to send the quality of service measurement with the request for the content item (see paragraph [0118]).
Regarding Claim 19, the claim is directed toward embody the method of claim 1 in “one or more non-transitory computer-readable media”. It would have been obvious to embody the procedures of Kordasiewicz discussed with respect to claim 1 in “one or more non-transitory computer-readable media” in order that the instructions could be automatically performed by a processor.
Regarding Claim 22, the claim is directed toward embody the method of claim 4 in “one or more non-transitory computer-readable media”. It would have been obvious to embody the procedures of Kordasiewicz discussed with respect to claim 4 in “one or more non-transitory computer-readable media” in order that the instructions could be automatically performed by a processor.
Regarding Claim 24, the claim is directed toward embody the method of claim 6 in “one or more non-transitory computer-readable media”. It would have been obvious to embody the procedures of Kordasiewicz discussed with respect to claim 6 in “one or more non-transitory computer-readable media” in order that the instructions could be automatically performed by a processor.
Regarding Claim 25, Kordasiewicz discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Kordasiewicz discloses, wherein the instruction changes an initial minimum buffer amount, for initiating playback, to the minimum quantity of blocks (see paragraphs [0077] -[0079]).
Regarding Claim 26, Kordasiewicz discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Kordasiewicz discloses wherein the instruction further indicates a bitrate for downloading the minimum quantity of blocks (see paragraphs [0077] -[0079]).
Regarding Claim 27, the limitation is being analyzed as discussed with respect
to the rejection of claim 25.
Regarding Claim 28, the limitation is being analyzed as discussed with respect
to the rejection of claim 26.
Regarding Claim 29, the limitation is being analyzed as discussed with respect
to the rejection of claim 25.
Regarding Claim 28, the limitation is being analyzed as discussed with
respect to the rejection of claim 30.
Regarding Claim 31, the claim is directed toward embody the method of claim 25 in “one or more non-transitory computer-readable media”. It would have been obvious to embody the procedures of Kordasiewicz discussed with respect to claim 25 in “one or more non-transitory computer-readable media” in order that the instructions could be automatically performed by a processor.
Regarding Claim 32, the claim is directed toward embody the method of claim 26 in “one or more non-transitory computer-readable media”. It would have been obvious to embody the procedures of Kordasiewicz discussed with respect to claim 26 in “one or more non-transitory computer-readable media” in order that the instructions could be automatically performed by a processor.
Claims 5, 11, 17 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kordasiewicz et al. Pub. No.: US 20120117225 (Hereinafter " Kordasiewicz") in view of WU et al. Pub. No.: US 2012/0278449 (Hereinafter "Wu").
Regarding Claim 5, Kordasiewicz discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Kordasiewicz fails to disclose:
receiving a plurality of blocks, each having a payload size of zero, interleaved with one or more blocks of minimum quantity of blocks.
In analogous art, WU teaches
receiving a plurality of blocks, each having a payload size of zero, interleaved with one or more blocks of minimum quantity of blocks (see paragraphs [0051] and [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kordasiewicz with the teaching as taught by WU in order to present the highest quality audiovisual content to the viewer.
Regarding Claim 11, the limitation is being analyzed as discussed with respect
to the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding Claim 17, Kordasiewicz in view of WU discloses the system as discussed in the rejection of claim 13. Wu further disclose wherein the first instructions, when executed by the one or more first processors, cause the user device to: receive a plurality of blocks, each having a payload size of zero, interleaved with one or more blocks of minimum quantity of blocks (see paragraphs [0051] and [0068]).
Regarding Claim 23, the claim is directed toward embody the method of claim 5 in “one or more non-transitory computer-readable media”. It would have been obvious to embody the procedures of Kordasiewicz in discussed with respect to claim 5 in “one or more non-transitory computer-readable media” in order that the instructions could be automatically performed by a processor.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAZAR TILAHUN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/A.T/
April 1, 2026